Friday, September 19, 2008

Free all 65!

update Friday afternoon
Kok's out, read here. But 64 still in there.

Original story:
See the list of ISA detainees here.

Sixty-five. Don't forget, there are 65 of them in there. The name at the very top of the list is Yazid Sufaat, a businessman in his previous life, an alleged Jemaah Islamiah member, arrested in Dec 2001 and detained in Kamunting ever since. Laila's husband Mat Shah Mohd Satray, here, is the fifth-longest detainee. The Hindraf 5 were detained in Dec last year while RPK and Theresa Kok are spending their second week under ISA.

Don't forget. And don't allow the Government to forget.
SIGN THE PETITION, here.
Nobody deserves detention without trial.

p.s. Signature no 1077 is mine

Note: 10,662 people have been arrested under the ISA in the past 44 years, 4,139 were issued with formal detention orders and 2,066 were served with restriction orders governing their activities and where they live.

36 comments:

1. This comment has been removed by the author.

2. Anonymous8:32 am

Rocky

The economy is in shit that’s the fact. The BN have become such arrogant there are still defending how well our economy is performing I am not sure where these idiots are living. Don’t talk about how impressive our economic growth even a dumb guy knew this is all due to our commodities prices but how bout unemployment and the cost of living. Do you know what I am thinking we need to make certain things which would teach these arrogant BN leaders and cronies the 1st I would urge all Malaysian to withdraw all their money from these local banks example Maybank and CIMB and put them in foreign own banks don’t support these BN cronies . If there dare to put an innoce blogger under ISA for just asking Malaysian to put the flag downsize what the hell could do If I urge Malaysian to boycott all these business under BN cronies .

3. This comment has been removed by the author.

4. Instead of PUKUL GENDANG terlalu taksub dengan ABOLISHING ISA, Abg Rocky should also need to create awareness to our people how to save and prepared ourself dengan kejatuhan ekonomi AMERIKA yang sememangnya akan juga melanda kita..(akan jadi makin teruk la jika ikut cadangan Brother Anwar ikut IMF)..

Political obligation you already done now it is time for you to do your ECONOMICAL AWARENESS obligation to all of us..

May allah bless you..amin

5. Anonymous9:50 am

No.1, I dont agree with your statement "Free all 65". These people who are very likely to be criminals but the question is whether they are not. So, I definitely wont want to free terorrist who are a treat to normal people.

To me this kind of behaviour is irresponsible from your part.

You should say "Put All 65 on Trial" rather than free all. Use the law to prosecute and if they are not found guilty then let them go.

Have a bit more sense rocky. Dont just go on emotions. Seems like you are now trying to use your blogging power for irresponsible behaviour. In times like this, we need more sensible influential people no someone who would bring mess to the whole system. Hope you take note about this.

6. Don't sign the petition,.... yet. Here's why.

By signing the petition, you agree to the use of the ISA without trial on 'armed terrorists and those out to topple the government by force," while our stand should be for the abolition of this draconian law.

My reasons here: http://mrsmith2.blogspot.com/

7. Anonymous10:36 am

Hi Rocky,

Signed the petition (#3437).

Also created a simple ANTI-ISA logo to help spread the cause. It's nothing much but it's the least that we could do.

You can download the logo here if you want and feel free to use it in any which way you see fit.

Consider it our small contribution to help free all 65!

8. Anonymous10:42 am

Fellow Malaysians,

The response so far has not been good in my opinion. There's nothing to fear, please. Let us get 100,000 signatures. The sad part is the number of Malays sigining the peition is low.

Remember, the ISA is not about race. It transcends that barrier. It is about the torture of a fellow human being being kept away from thEir loved ones without trial or proper charges. THAT IS CRUEL INDEED.

SING NOW!!

democrat

9. Dear Rocky,
    No one deserves to be held under ISA, unless he wants to overthrow the government by force... or uses violent means to achieve his end -- whether racial, religious or other beliefs.
    Read the preamble to the ISA.
    Peace to all!

10. Anonymous11:03 am

Bro Rocky,

It was a pleasure of finally meeting you last night. Sorry couldn't stay much longer. Hope we can meet again someday.

11. Salam,

Thanks Rocky Bru..

saya sudahpun linkkan petisyen tersebut. Sama2lah kita doakan pembebesan mereka.

12. Anonymous1:53 pm

This is my comment which I posted in Laila's blog.

Puan Laila,
    I reached your blog through Rocky's - a must visit / read blog daily.

Could not contained my tears even as I was typing this comment while gong through the list posted by Rocky.

Your husband , abang Mat Shah and Suhaimi are my brother, Nan's usrah friends. Our family, especially my mom knows them quite well.

We were talking about abang Mat Shah yesterday while preparing for buka puasa after reading about Suhaimi's news in Suara Keadilan.

We thought abang Mat Shah has been released last year. Now, I know it was Ghani - another of their friends.

My doa is with you. Let me know if I can be of any assistance.

How can I enjoy my raya all these years without feeling a little bit of guilt ... if only I know how's yours and others suffer.

Alawiyah
    Kampong Pandan

13. Anonymous2:34 pm

I say yes to ISA!

14. Anonymous3:11 pm

Free terrorist ...???? I DONT THINK SO .. I would feel much safer is all terrorist is under ISA. Fikirla sebelum bebaskan anyone.

Would you all feel safer if terrorists out in the street than in lockup somewhere ?

June

15. Anonymous3:12 pm

Anonymous 9.50am,

You don't know what you are talking about. We don't want the ISA - which measn detention without trial. Rocky says free them first, they have been held illegally away from their loved ones.

release first, then try them if you think they have violated any laws.

People like anonymous 9.50am are those who split hairs..this is not the time.

Democrat

16. Anonymous4:44 pm

Democrat seems to just support blindly.

I still rather have terorrist in detention than let them out. Yes no to ISA but no freedom for them unless proven not guilty. Fair trial but no lose canons outthere!

17. Anonymous5:38 pm

wats happening in the city, i just got a call from a friend, saying lots of policemen and she advised to go home soon.

selva

18. Anonymous6:10 pm

I'm in a fix here. On one hand, I oppose detention without trial. On the other hand, I can't help but feel afraid if people alleged to be JI members are released. But if they're not JI members, then a great injustice would have been imposed on them. If it were me in there and I've been wrongly accused of doing things I did not, my life would have been wasted away for nothing. I try to see it from that point of view too.

Lawyers argue that current laws are adequate to deal with these things. If you have proof that they are indeed terrorists, charge them in court. Thing with terrorist cells, it seems, is that they cover their tracks very well and in many cases, it is almost impossible to proof that a terrorist is a terrorist. Say they arrest Osama bin Laden today and charge him in court but the authorities cannot link him directly to any terrorist acts committed around the world. Of course we wouldn't know if Osama is indeed a terrorist as claimed by certian parties but this guy has made video clips advocating very scary things. So, do we let him go just because there is no adequate evidence to convict him?

19. I posted this on Kerp's blog, and he told me to forward it to other blogs. here it is:

when rpk accused najib, they brought rpk in. when the reporter accused ahmad, they brought the reporter in. then when saifool accused anwar they brought anwar in. when toyol accused teresa, they brought her in. B***ard flers losing trend la.. even CSIs are gonna have a hard time understanding their pattern.

20. dear rocky,
    I do not think i'll sign the petition,all this hu ha just because Teresa and RPK is inside.All this while the rest of 63(excluding Teresa and RPK)has been inside for such a long time,nobody bothers at all.Looks like M'sian are seasonal in their support,theres no preseverence the struggle.

21. Anonymous8:03 pm

Dear Profit,

I do not know where have you been all this while. One thing for sure, I've been reading harakah online, suara keadilan, sinar and other source of news where slogan "hapuskan ISA" and the like has been appearing many many times.

The meaning of this words is simply we, the rakyat do not want ISA. Believe me, if you read carefully, it won't take long to understand the words.

22. Anonymous8:26 pm

It was on TV just now... Teresa said the charges; stop Azan, take out 30% of duit Zakat for non-muslim, and turunkan papan tanda jawi is not a threat to national security... heheheh...

wanna get back in ah???

I'm not against ISA... I'm sure before they enforced ISA to anyone they already thing the good and the bad... I do not want parang sampai anyone's kepala then only we take action...

no..no..no....

23. Anonymous1:53 am

BANG, BOLEH BAGI TAHU DALAM RAMAI-RAMAI 65 ORANG ISA YANG TERHUMBAN DALAM LOKAP TU, BERAPA RAMAI YANG KENA SUMBAT MASUK OLEH APA NAMA YANG ABANG SUKA PAKAI TU, STATESMAN? THE TUN? BOLEH BAGI TAHU SIKIT? -ADEK

24. Anonymous9:55 am

You're losing your mind Rocky,asking for those releases. Tak masuk akal. You'll be happy won't you, if this country is lawless. People can do whatever they want. I don't agree with abolishing the ISA. We need it. Ordinary peace loving Malaysians need not worry about being caught by the ISA. Stop being irresponsible.

"Law is order in liberty, and without order liberty is social chaos."

25. Anonymous10:15 am

anon 8.26pm..

Yes if Teresa does'nt think its a threat to national security, then it must be a threat to her own security.

Cakap la lagi banyak2..kita tengok je ape nak jadi...jadi lah..

Jebat-Still alive and kicking.

26. Bro, I think we all ought to have a reality check here, don't you think we have enough criminals roaming this country already? Two days ago somebody got shot in kl gang land style, another person got killed and his body burnt in JB before that a minor was kidnapped then bmurdered and burnt in JB as well.

Some of those under detention under the ISA are considered a threat to the country's security, there could be REAL terrorist among them even bomb makers, who could wreck havoc on the general population and cause extreme panic and uncertainty. So I say lets trust the police on this one. Lets not open another Pandora's Box. Let the police decide when to release the ISA detainees. We the ordinary public does not have the security information that the police have.

I am all for the ISA, look what happened when the three people got detained RPK, Kok and Tan... suddenly all racially and religiouly sensitive talks stopped.

27. Anonymous6:57 am

As an ordinary Malaysian, I just want to live in a simple peaceful and normal life not to be bent by some provocative sentiments ignited by some moronic racial politicians with their so-called glorified heroic action supported by their die hards fanatics...

When our country economic is at stake..you fucking people still bz over this filthy pest that can bring more colleteral damages with their stupid words & actions..

I FULLY SUPPORT ISA LAW...we ordinary people have nothing to be afraid of this law...we are more afraid of the consequences outcome from what the issues these morons trying to put fuel to flame..

Prevention is always better than cure... its always better to removed a cancer parts than suffer the risk of having it affected to the whole body.

Our country will be better off without this kind of pest:
    1- Terorrist JI/KMM
    2- Racial terorrist - HINDRAF
    3- Racial politicians.
    4- Blogger yg fikir dgn kepala lutut terus ke mulut

SAY YES TO ISA!
    Western freedom of expression..liberalisation..equality ideologies..? yeah, right..my ass..next time let the hell break loose too, moronic plutorian!

Ask the people of Iraq whether they are happier living under Saddam or under the protection of USA army?!

28. Anonymous9:55 am

Including those JI suspect????

29. Anonymous4:41 pm

While on this ISA subject,I mean to provoke some deeper thinking-hopefully).
    It sort of began when those Hindraf guys got it, there was a build-up of protest.*URGENCY was NOT there.
    Then when Kok,Tan and RPK got took in too..ANY petition was a BIG yes.**URGENCY was IN.

After that, when Kok and Tan gets out,petition comes under debates, bickering begins-some tries to sound like lawyers,some say it’s not enough.***URGENCY went OUT.

Now go figure.

Yazid Sufaat, Suhaimi Mokhtar, Dr Abdullah Daud, Shamsuddin Sulaiman, Mat Shah Mohd Satray, Abdul Murad Sudin, Zaini Zakaria, Zainun Rashid, Wan Amin Wan Hamat, Sulaiman Suramin, Sufian Salih, Mohd Khaider Kadran, Hasim Talib, Zakaria Samad, Ahmad Zakaria, Terhamid Dahalan, Abdul Rahman Ahmad, Mahfudi Saifudin, Mulyadi, Arifin, Mat Tarmizi Zakaria, Artas Burhanudin, Francis Indanan, Mohd Nazri Dollah, Mohd Arsad Patangari, Adzmi Pindatun, Idris Lanama, Aboud Ghafar Shahril, Jeknal Adil, Binsali Omar, Husin Alih, Yussof Mohd Salam, Ahmad Jamal Azahari, Pakana Selama, Kasem Dayama, Shaykinar Guat, Argadi Andoyok, Ng How Chuang, Ng Keat Seng, Mohd Azuan Aniffa, Mohd Faizol Shamsuddin, Zulfikli Abu Bakar, Zulfikli Marzuki, Amir Hussain, Mohd Nasir Ismail, Ahmad Kamil Hanafiah, Muh Amir Hanafiah, Tan Choon Chin, Mavalavan, Lian Kok Heng, Sundaraj Vijay, San Khaing, Shadul Islam, Abdul Sattar Sarjoon, Faycal Mamdouh, Mohamad Nakhrakhel, Muhammad Shuaib Hazral Bilal, Muhammad Zahid Zahir Shah, T Vasanthakumar, P Uthayakumar, R Kenghadharan, V Ganabatirau, M Manoharan,RAJA PETRA KAMARUDIN!

30. Anonymous4:44 pm

It sort of began when those Hindraf guys got it, there was a build-up of protest.*URGENCY was NOT there.
    Then when Kok,Tan and RPK got took in too..ANY petition was a BIG yes.**URGENCY was IN.

After that, when Kok and Tan gets out,petition comes under debates, bickering begins-some tries to sound like lawyers,some say it’s not enough.***URGENCY went OUT.

Now go figure.

Yazid Sufaat, Suhaimi Mokhtar, Dr Abdullah Daud, Shamsuddin Sulaiman, Mat Shah Mohd Satray, Abdul Murad Sudin, Zaini Zakaria, Zainun Rashid, Wan Amin Wan Hamat, Sulaiman Suramin, Sufian Salih, Mohd Khaider Kadran, Hasim Talib, Zakaria Samad, Ahmad Zakaria, Terhamid Dahalan, Abdul Rahman Ahmad, Mahfudi Saifudin, Mulyadi, Arifin, Mat Tarmizi Zakaria, Artas Burhanudin, Francis Indanan, Mohd Nazri Dollah, Mohd Arsad Patangari, Adzmi Pindatun, Idris Lanama, Aboud Ghafar Shahril, Jeknal Adil, Binsali Omar, Husin Alih, Yussof Mohd Salam, Ahmad Jamal Azahari, Pakana Selama, Kasem Dayama, Shaykinar Guat, Argadi Andoyok, Ng How Chuang, Ng Keat Seng, Mohd Azuan Aniffa, Mohd Faizol Shamsuddin, Zulfikli Abu Bakar, Zulfikli Marzuki, Amir Hussain, Mohd Nasir Ismail, Ahmad Kamil Hanafiah, Muh Amir Hanafiah, Tan Choon Chin, Mavalavan, Lian Kok Heng, Sundaraj Vijay, San Khaing, Shadul Islam, Abdul Sattar Sarjoon, Faycal Mamdouh, Mohamad Nakhrakhel, Muhammad Shuaib Hazral Bilal, Muhammad Zahid Zahir Shah, T Vasanthakumar, P Uthayakumar, R Kenghadharan, V Ganabatirau, M Manoharan,RAJA PETRA KAMARUDIN!

MANKOK

31. Anonymous4:51 pm

Now go figure.

32. Anonymous11:42 pm

After that, when Kok and Tan gets out,petition comes under debates, bickering begins-some tries to sound like lawyers,some say it’s not enough.***URGENCY went OUT the door.

Now go figure...

Mankok

33. Anonymous9:14 am

i will sign if not for the way the letter is written. Why specifically stressed for Raja Petra and teressa kok and hindarf leaders? The way the letter is wriiten, which is biased and politically motivated is NOT going to help all the detainees. A waste of time indeed!

WanitaBangsa

34. Anonymous4:05 pm

Whatever amount of suggestion,proposal, argument, debate, media expose going on on the ISA now, is definitely NOT at same level as during when Tan and Kok was inside.(..Kok even got to talk about the food)
    The fact is showing up that; level of commitment to help brother or sister Malaysian differs according to the color of your Malaysian skin and if you speak Mandarin or not. (Dont mean to be Racial)

see earlier comment:
    Mankok Says:
    September 22, 2008 at 10:14 pm
    Then when Kok,Tan and RPK got took in too..ANY petition was a BIG yes.**URGENCY was BIG TIME HOOHAA!!.

After that, when Kok and Tan gets out,petition comes under debates, bickering begins-some tries to sound like lawyers,some say it’s not enough.***URGENCY went OUT the door.

See the list and hope you smell it.
    Now go figure out.

35. Anonymous7:29 pm

Face the Malaysian ISA facts.
    It’s a No No if detainee is kind of light colored.
    It’s makes a lot of noise if datainee is kind of darker.
    It’s not seen, not heard (not even bothered),if detainee muslim-more so a brown muslim,assumed and confirmed as “terrorist”-seen the list?read their stories?

All the high and mighty human right c***-talk…my foot
    -Mankok