Sunday, August 31, 2008

Call to shut down Malaysia Today

Some agree with MCMC. In his posting Malaysia Today deserves to be shut down!, Ashraf Abdullah writes :
... Raja Petra Kamarudin has committed blasphemy, a crime no Muslim can tolerate. The site should be shut down for good and Raja Petra should be charged under Syariah laws ... in Iran, he would be sentenced to death.
If Ashraf has support, that support is inaudible. Khairy Jamaluddin, in his posting In defense of those who despise me, condemns the MCMC's move even though he has no kind words for RPK or Malaysia Today.
... In his incessant desire to concoct sensationalism, (RPK) often peddles half-truths and occasionally, outright lies. The inability to judiciously moderate comments also results in racially and religiously offensive remarks being posted without any restriction by the web master.
Nevertheless, none of these should justify an attempt at outright censorship.
Uncle Yap, a blogger from across the Second Link, makes his stand clear in Singaporeans to help fight Malaysian Blog Ban here.

47 comments:

1. Anonymous5:32 pm

this is not Iran.you can censor the website, but not RPK. (hey look, mirrored websites! YAY)

why MCMC doesnt censor those anti-malay, anti-chinese, anti this and that website?

so to that whats-his-name-green color blog (im self censoring myself from reading his blog) , im giving you the finger.

2. This is a sick government....always twisting and turning...to do things only for UMNO's advantage...and never for Malaysians and country.
    They will promote one sided news...to program the minds of those who have no other means to check out the facts.
    They will create fear ..provocations and low down sickening sodomy accusations..no where else in the developed world will do....to their enemies.....not once....but twice over..when first time is proven falsely accused....they still do it......hoping half pass sixes malays will believe.
    And now.....Malaysia Today blog....WHY???
    RPK is the only blogger they fear most....RPK can influence...is brave and daring....and he is one hell of a writer.
    He writes various subjects that no one dare to touch...and I see none are so call offensive. If so....charge him in court....but no.....they close his blog down.
    They simply cannot deal with truths and best ..shut it up.
    Shame on them...to copy American flag....supposedly to be inspired for freedom of speeches and rights.
    What hypocrites they are!!
    So now ....you have another UMNO act...to make sure...no such thing as...freedom of speeches. Just listen to them and trust them.
    What is the real reason??
    It is the 2 million new educated voters registered for next election....the main reason.
    They want them..to have no famous RPK.
    But UMNO will have in coming!
    The more they apply all unfair and unwarranted actions...the more powerful Malaysians will become....to spread what RPK want Malaysians to know.
    We will stand by RPK.
    We will stand by him....through thick and thin.
    No way..can UMNO control internet..simply no way.
    They allow on line gambling...sez shows...but not RPK!!
    UMNO is at it's lowest and desperate position....always talking fair playing grounds...fair to all races..this and that...and look how unfair and bloody low down weird sickos ... they can be.

3. Anonymous5:47 pm

Ashraf Abdullah's comment is so laughable, I cannot imagine we still have this sort of specimen living in a civil society. Obviously, he has no idea what Democracy means with his narrow mindedness...basing his argument on a Iran regime's governance. Wake up, we are in the 21st century, don't bring us back to your stoned age mentality.

4. Anonymous6:03 pm

This Ashraf can speak for himself but not for the rest of Muslims.
    I don't always agree with Rj Petra but shutting MT down is an insult to the readers of MT. We can read with a pinch of salt and a dash of pepper.

5. Anonymous6:35 pm

When is this Football head common pariah RPK gonna be charged by court and thrown into Prison?
    If he is bankrupt, why is he not roaming in his underwear?

6. Anonymous6:40 pm

Where, oh where and how, oh how did RPK do that?!

Methinks `someone' is just desperate for more hits to his `tak laku' blog.

Nuff said, for Ashraf doesn't deserve more attention and consideration than this.

7. Anonymous6:49 pm

Anonymous said…

Light-up the Candles now but the justice for all ISA detainees come the new Malaysia soon.

Where is the justice & freedom of expression because all our MSM News are suppressed or spun, where have the Truth and Merdeka gone to, perhaps the goons under BN Government, ok??? Malaysia is going backwards after 51 years instead of going forward under the Racist UMNO, calling the “Chinese Squatters” to leave and “Babi Cabinet” if Anwar wins Permantang Pauh and if he forms the Pakatan Rakyats’ Federal Government. What independence is there when there is none but a Police State in the making and where is the Justice for Altantuya and those in the ISA detention without trial or rights of appeal to seek natural justice???
    The UMNO Government is afraid that more cans of worms will be spilled by RPK and therefore they banned his blogsite which is a futile attempt to block information in this IT age, of course this is because of this Present Moronic Government is corrupt and dirty therefore on the pretext of helping the Rakyats, they could extract more money from the Budget Deficit and with most of the Deficit Money coming from Petronas. Look for example at the Crystal Mosque’s and Mariner Club’s Fiasco in Terengganu’s Billions in Wang Ehsan, Billions had been lost as white elephants. The cancellation of the Johore Scenic Bridge, Penang Second Bridge and LRT Projects at the whims and fancies of the Flip Flop, Incompetent and Sleeping PeeM at the last minutes is wasting Multi Millions Ringgits in Public Funds had shown proof of the PeeM’s mismanagement of the Government and wastage of the Public Financial Resources and all these wasted funds could not be salvaged to aid and assist the Malaysian Poor Citizens of all races. If Malaysia still keep him in power it will further damage and erode the Wealth of our Nation and our National Wealth could be decimated in no time.
    The same could happen to all the empty promises of aid and help to the Rakyats these could all be lip service only unless it is monitored by reputable NGOs. On the irreversible Food Prices inflation, the unnecessary Moronic previous price hike on Petrol & Diesel had caused great permanent damage to the Food Price Structure and even if the price cut to Petrol and Diesel revert to their original prices prior to their hike, it will not revert the Food prices back to their original state and only the PeeM is to be solely blamed for his unwarranted Fuel Price Hike. His 2009 budget did not help the Rakyats’ quelled their immediate hardship suffered nor did that help them solve their Transport Problems immediately with multiple schemes but none available immediately with all the empty rhetorics but nothing concrete that could solve their immediate problems after years of neglect from this incompetent sleeping PeeM. As it is he is still sleeping and still unaware of what the 27 Million Rakyats wanted, needed and aspired to have coming soon??? Come Sept 16, 2008 send him home to sleep forever he is no longer needed.

8. Anonymous7:02 pm

hi rocky,

before these *by-standers* nonchalantly say blasphemy has been committed against Allah; the authorities should confidently come up with the so-called statements/proof of such act.

creative

9. Anonymous7:19 pm

Malaysia Today is not the first and only site blocked by the govt.

There have many. The general rule is "offensive" sites must be shut down.

10. Anonymous7:25 pm

Ashraf

Bodoh!!! Only those coward and with inferiority complex are afraid of debate! You are not related to Najib and Hishamuddin, are you?

My support for RPK, but let it be known post GE RPK is a different person.

MT is no more open and fair. It ban commentators not align to its political thinking but allowed the nasty racist commentators on.

No pro-BN comentator are allowed to post their view. BN-side bloggers are no more linked.

Maybe free and independece is when only opposition voice is allowed. Equal hypocrits!!!!!!!!!

11. Anonymous7:37 pm

"Raja Petra Kamarudin has committed blasphemy, a crime no Muslim can tolerate."

Ashraf Abdullah shud know that to simply say things in the name of God and Islam without basis is a bigger 'shirik'. Where does it talk about blasphemy? And even if there is blasphemy isnt it the realm of The Almighty instead of an Ashraf or an Abdullah?

I am a Muslim. I can tolerate what Raja Petra has said. Or is Ashraf now saying that I am not a Muslim anymore. But that is not possible Ashraf, because according to the law in this country, once a Muslim I must remain a Muslim. There is nothing I can do that can make me a non Muslim. So I am a Muslim. I am happy to be a Muslim. And I dont think Raja Petra has committted any blasphemy. I can tolerate what he has said.

"Raja Petra should be charged under Syariah laws ... in Iran, he would be sentenced to death"

So Ashraf that wud make you really happy I suppose. To see your fellow Muslim brother hang or get sentenced to death just for writing words? And you call yourself a Muslim?

Ashraf there are stupid satans. There are psychotic satans. There are poor, non productive and pauper satans. But the grandest of all are stupid, psychotic, poor, non productive and pauper satans.

12. cant ask about religion, cant ask about god, cant ask anything.... cant ask myself... eternal damnation awaiting...

13. Bro,

I dun support d move by MCMC as no matter wat Pete says in his blog its already understood dat 'We Agree To Disagree' Let us make d judgement on an articles ourself n further more dis Wide Web World is a virtual reality,..heheh..wat can I say..(",)

STOP INTERNET CENSOR!!

SAY NO TO NWO!! SAY BYE TO AnWar & PLah!!

p.s Selamat Hari Merdeka & Selamat Menyambut Ramadhan Al-Mubarok to you bro and all dos observing d fasting.. :)

14. Awww...

The UncleYap's link has got something wrong... kindly fix it... :)

15. the little red dot is always watching the northern neighbour ... wonder if there are vested interests??

Malaysian Malaysia perhaps?

16. Anonymous9:00 pm

http://margeemar.blogspot.com/2008/08/beware-fake-malaysia-today-site-is-trap.html

BEWARE: FAKE MALAYSIA TODAY SITE IS A TRAP!
    The Malaysia Today website has been hacked and defaced. This follows a report by Malaysiakini that following a directive from the Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission (MCMC), internet service providers are not allowing access to Malaysia Today.
    Just as this happened, the Malaysia Today site http://www.malaysia-today.net/ went off line.

Then, lo and behold this new ‘Malaysia Today’ site appeared http://www.malaysiatoday.com/
    This Scribe was rather suspicious and checked out the site. Guess what folks, a Little Black Bird informed The Scribe that this is a phony Malaysia Today site set up by the Boyz in Blue to track down those who were leaving their comments on Malaysia Today.

Remember the raid the Police made a few days ago on RPK’s home? The BN/Umno regime and their lap dogs the Police, were frustrated that RPK, like the true Patriot and Gentleman he is, refused to reveal the IP Addresses of those giving their comments in Malaysia Today.

17. Anonymous9:46 pm

Re-KJ's posting In defense of those who despise me. I think for the first time KJ is making sense. This is a smart way for the Bible says in Luke 16:There was a rich man whose steward was reported for fraudulent service. He summoned the steward and asked "what is this I hear about you? I want you to render an account of your service for it is to be terminated.
    The steward said to himself: What am I to do now that my master is going to dismiss me. I am not strong enough to do hard work and I am ashamed to beg. I must make sure that when I lose this job, there will be people to welcome me into their house.
    So he called his master's debtors one by one. He asked the first "How much do you owe my master?' The reply was "A hundred jars of oil." The steward said:"sit down quickly and write there fifty" To the second, he put the same question. The answer was:A thousand bushels of wheat. Then he said:"Take you bill and write eight hundred.
    The master commended this steward for his astuteness.
    Johnny Chiam

18. Anonymous10:02 pm

The correct Uncle Yap - News URL is

http://uncleyap-news.blogspot.com/2008/08/singaporeans-to-help-fight-malaysian.html

19. Actually it is pretty simple, if you don't like his writings, don't go to his blog. That's it, there's no reason to block it. A blog is like a house, if you don't like what's the people in that house is doing, don't go and look at it.

What's the real problem here? Anything that deemed offensive should be block? Well, why don't jail all those who said the government is useless??? That's offensive to the government. Offensive is an easy word to use, but offensive to who??? RPK didn't invite you all to read his blog, you go there on your own accord just like porn sites!

MCMC visited and read the articles on his own accord, and he was offended. Whose fault? You can't please everyone!

20. Anonymous10:25 pm

My view is that, Islam is the religion where most people have wrong perception with, where most people tend to link terrorism with Islam since the 911 incident.

Anyone of you know the reason why this wrong perception? To me, it is because Muslims tend to close their minds when non-Muslims want to discuss about Islam. Muslims tend to use 'sensitivity' as the reason to avoid discussion and tend to use threat to disrupt such discussions. The recent case being the open forum organised by the Malaysian Bar Council.

I personally found it awkward why this can be the case since if Muslim can open up their mind in explaining Islam to non-Muslim, such attitude can bring better understanding and goodwill to non-Muslim.

Frankly, I admire RPK's open-mindedness in this and I must admit I learn the true teaching of Islam by reading his articles. His recent article which touches on "amar maaruf, nahi munkar; which means to uphold truth and oppose evil -- is mandatory in Islam" teaches me that Islam is a religion that encourages its umat to uphold truth and oppose evil. This means a lot to me that Islam is actually a beautiful religion.

As for those Muslims who suggested closing down of MT, I wish they can come out to explain the exact reasons for that, maybe you have valid reasons for that.

Can some of you here(or even Ashraf) explain why Ashraf Abdullah claimed that "Raja Petra Kamarudin has committed blasphemy, a crime no Muslim can tolerate."?

I can understand some of you maybe emotionally affected by RPK's bluntness, but 'emotion' can never help in clearing up the air.

Again, I admire RPK able to put his views about Islam in the blogsphere and let us know the what 'true' Islam is all abount.

21. Anonymous10:37 pm

there is paranoid happening in BolehLand... after a spate of swearings turning it into
    SwearLand the witch hunt by sore losers is to pit fear and threats to bloggers. no xtian not the least me got pissed off by the antithesis documentary by some fanatical arabic muslim doing an ala 'fitnah' movie condemning my religion. i think the government is trying to play God and also turn Swearland to Fearland.. threaten us with words of fear or snoop on us bloggers is a sign of a government losing grip of power and wielding a communist ala medieval inquisition method of suppressing truths and let them continue their sinful ways. by shutting MT and use threatening and sleazy ways of threats to the citizens they can continue to abuse their power perpetuate their sins of corruption - the latest audit report has continued to reinforcce the kind of SINS BEING COMMITTED AGAIN AND AGAIN AGAINST THE PEOPLE BUT THE EX NST reporter WHICH IS THE SLAVE OF THE BN UMNOPUTRA GOVERNMENT is like a leopard can never change his spot. to him the government is Godand always right... IRAN? hey ashraf if u find peace and purity there go live there why not somalia or stay with the taliban? i am sure they will welcome a sinless hypocrite.here in Bolehland soon to be fearland we dont trust MSM or the news that the government feeds us. as a journalist u have failed to be fair so don't preach to us about truth. pls ask MSMC to shut down the gaming sites and those illegal MLM sites, even the stockmarket it encourages gambling you know plus government blogs who spew racist slur at anyone who disagree with them... threatening someone is a sign of lack of maturity of thought, intellect and inability to understand, see someone's viewpoint and accept differences.. truth of any religion is decided by the power and government of the day...

22. i think ass-raf has the right to say what his sensitized brain thinks. whatever...

that is the spirit. if mcmc would take the role of cyberpolice, his site would be one of those banned too. in fact, so many of the blogs does comment on this so called ' sensitive issues'. i bet that all the ISPs would not have the resource to block all the blogs.

23. Anonymous10:52 pm

So Rocky

Tell us whether you support a website that carries comments which belittle the Prophet?

It will be easier for us to decide why kind of Muslim you are

24. RPK has already gone to jail for what he has written. Given what we have seen of what people have been capable of, he has also exposed himself to possible harm and you know how our security resources are like. What more can one ask of anyone whose writings, controversial though they may seem, have lent a new dimension to the going-on's in recent months?

This country is in this present state because for too long people have been kept from saying out. If we take exception about what he writes, then it remains for those he writes against to come out and rebut him point by point. Why haven't they right up to now, except to label his writings seditious and libellious? They should qualify in what way, and provide their proofs, like he has done, to show he was incorrect. They have not. In fact their silence is deafening and attracts suspicion.

Even when you read about his writings on religion, running across is use of the brain, logic and sensitivity about the human condition. Why don't those who take exception about what he wrote also use the same tools to rebut him point by point?

Because there has been no checks and balances against Umno for so many years, this country is facing so many problems. Problems of money disappearing, favours specially granted, careers and even lives terminated. Aren't these things a million times worse than someone writing something of which some percent of truth is ingrained? After all, can there be smoke without fire?

When we swallow everything that the government or the religious leaders say, when we open ourselves to just accepting people who write for them in order to maintain some status quo, how then can there be changes made to improve the situation we are in? People like RPK, Nades and so on just blow the bugles to wake everyone up. They may be on their own mission but their mission comes at a time when the government and certain VIPs are getting off scot free from too many coincidences of malfeances. If what they rake up exposes culprits whose actions would otherwise be covered up by the combined machinery of politics, government and enforcement, then what do we have left to protect the safety of this country's rakyat, rights and property, let alone the integrity of our nation?

There should be more RPK's to build up the pressure for change.

Notice this merdeka so few flags are up, and the fireworks are shorter. Notice how the Auditor-General's report comes out again but only after the budget is passed. There is so much shit shown up in the report that if the rakyat had known of it, checks-and-balances would have been demanded before the budget is to be approved. Each year the losses and leakages increase in size and frequency. How can this go on?

This is the situation. A few hundred years ago, a frenchman wrote:

'i may disagree with what you write, but i shall defend your right to write it.'

Any one of RPK's enemies can say that?

If one day the tables are turned, and those in power today are out, wouldn't they too want to be able to say their minds to protest any misdeeds they find?

This post, simple, written with one-eye, a few fingers, and a sleepy spinal cord.

goodnight.

25. Anonymous11:37 pm

Ashraaf, your favourite motherland, Iran, will soon be turned into a giant carpark by Mr.Obama of which 1/3 of it will each be allocated equally to Tesco, Wal-mart & Carrefour to extend their free car parking space.

"Carpark" means 5 nuclear bombs of 170 Kilotons each will be detonated 5km above the most populous areas of Iran and then Mr.Ashraaf, we shall see whether any more actions can be taken for the blasphemous acts which you have describe.

And if you are not careful, Mr.Obama may decide to move along next to Saudi Arabia during the Haj as Americans have still not forgotten September 11.

26. Anonymous11:37 pm

Anyone who said 'Iran this and Iran that' should consider migrating to Iran and live out his/her fantasy happily ever after. Bye2 and don't send postcard please. Just leave Malaysia Today alone. w9

27. RPK can make a very good Ustaz if he chooses to be one. He is a good role model.

"..amar maaruf, nahi munkar; which means to uphold truth and oppose evil -- is mandatory in Islam. What I am doing is what Islam stipulates." ~ RPK

28. What a load of bull from Ashraf!

29. guys.
    this Asshraft just looking for attention like KJ. just ignore his comment.

30. Anonymous7:09 am

RPK should be the PM, let him feel the burden of keeping a peacefull M'sia.

1/2FRoyalty

31. What a pathetic display by these beings who call themselves men. All interested only for their own gains, egos, agendas, DESIRES.

All in the name of freedom, rights, religion, nation.

RPK is not an innocent, defenseless being. Najib is not an innocent defenseless being. Anwar is not too. And neither is Khairy, or Pak Lah or Tun or the likes of them. They all know exactly what they are doing. For the nation or for self glory or popularity or lust or greed and for that they have to answer to ALLAH. And that is INEVITABLE.

None. NOT ONE, man, politician, leader, activist has fought for the the right of an innocent.

This Ramadhan I am reminded of some of the vilest and cruelest acts perpetrated by Muslims on their fellow human beings almost exactly a year ago. During the blessed month of Ramadhan too.

Nurin and Altantuya.

Lest we forget.

Grown men and women jumping up and down defending and protecting those other grown men playing games for their own benefit.

All the discussion and hysteria about MCMC's action on RPK.

What about MCMC's INACTION? Why isn't anyone defending the rights of Nurin? The post mortem pictures spread on the internet by the very people entrusted to protect and serve hardly stirred a hornets' nest and such discussion and debate.

She was horrifically violated and butchered by a monster amongst us. And then cruelly violated again by members of our police force who plastered pictures of her cut open in the morgue and the damage done for the world to see and the pervert to rejoice.

Where is the MCMC's role in all this? Isn't it a major obscenity and violation of victims' and their families' rights?

Why isn't anyone kicking up a fuss about HER rights?

DID SHE HAVE A CHOICE?

RPK HAS A CHOICE. NAJIB HAS A CHOICE. ANWAR HAS A CHOICE. THE GOVT HAS A CHOICE. TO LISTEN OR NOT TO LISTEN TO THE PEOPLE.

THESE GROWN MEN AND WOMEN ALL MADE THEIR CHOICES.

SO WHY ARE WE BUSY PROTECTING THEM?

The real victims are the likes of NUrin.

And millions of other kids abused daily on the "FREE" net.

THOSE ARE THE ONES THE MCMC SHOULD BE PROTECTING.

THE CULPRITS WHO COMMIT GROTESQUE ACTS AGAINST CHILDREN AND WOMEN ON THE INTERNET SHOULD BE TARGETED BY THE MCMC!

AND SO TOO THE PEOPLE WHO HELP SPREAD SUCH ACTS OF HORROR SUCH AS THE POST MORTEM PICS CULPRITS!

HAVE WE ALL FORGOTTEN THE REAL PURPOSE OF GOVERNMENT AND ALL ITS MACHINERY?

IS IT FOR PROTECTING THE RAKYAT OR THE LEADERS' INTERESTS?

And please, spare me the bull about blasphemy and all.

The greatest blasphemy is to allow injustice to run rampant.

ALLAH SWT WILL PROTECT HIS DEEN AND HIS QURAN NO MATTER WHAT THE HYPOCRITES OR THE ENEMIES OF ISLAM TRY TO SAY OR DO.

HE NEEDS NO PROTECTION FROM THE LIKES OF US!

32. Anonymous10:47 am

Ashraf Abdullah is just finding his way into the blogging fraternity. The MCMC action has nothing to do with Islam, which RPK has written so many times before in MT. The actual reason is the photocopies of letters with Najib's DPM letterhead directly instructing Pos Malaysia Berhad to give an aviation contract to a disqualified Najib's croony. UMNO is now almost history because of their completely corrupted leaders ... Wali Kota

33. Anonymous10:51 am

oris,

Yes, I agree. Ashraf is just keen for attention. There's no sincerity in him.

I suspect Rocky is also trying to help a friend here - trying to drive some traffic to Ashraf's "TAK LAKU" site.

Just checked just now - only 4 miserable comments. He probably wrote them himself HAHAHA!! That asshole didn't publish my comment.

Face the fact, Ashraf: YOU JUST DON'T HAVE IT!!

34. Anonymous11:12 am

I have heard people say that converts always want to appear more Muslim than those born as Muslims. Ashraf Abdullah aka Sivakumar Kuttan before conversion, appears to be telling all that he is more Muslim than his born as Muslim brethrens.

You may be a true Muslim now I woudn't dare question that as only Allah will know decide on that. But for you to use islam to question RPK raises lots of questions. Leave RPK to Allah...and in my words, it's between RPK and God. PERIOD

And one more thing, let us learn not to throw stones at others from glasshouses because the peace amy be shattered.

May peace be with you, bro Sivakumar Kuttan

Democrat

35. Anonymous6:13 pm

When RPK was jailed, I posted an article RPK in jail, serves him right

I think there it a clear separation between the freedom to speak ones mind and the consequences of speaking that mind.

Shutting down the MT blog site addresses neither and simply demonstrates how mentaly bankrupt the leadership is in dealing with their current crisis.

By arresting a blogger - in this case RPK, it put the issue into sharp focus, that is how far can one go before the line of sedition is crossed.

By blocking MT only confuses the issue. Is it what RPK says that is offensive? or Is it the fact he is able to reach so many people that is the issue?

In this genius stroke by MCMC (and not by the Government lol) the message is clear - MCMC has just redefine its charter.

This is the vision and mission of MCMC and the jist is to promote fair and open competition in communications.

Vision
    A globally competitive, efficient and increasingly self-regulating communications and multimedia industry generating growth to meet the economic and social needs of Malaysia.

Mission
    We are committed to :

a. Promoting access to communications and multimedia services;
    b. Ensuring consumers enjoy choice and a satisfactory level of services at affordable prices;
    c. Providing transparent regulatory processes to facilitate fair competition and efficiency in the industry;
    d. Ensuring best use of spectrum and number resources; and
    e. Consulting regularly with consumers and service providers and facilitating industry collaboration.

36. Anonymous6:40 pm

If Raja Petra has sinned against our Prophet via his blog, we must act. If this Ashraf is accussing Raja Petra of blasphemy that he did not commit, we must ask him to apologize for his error.

When it comes to the Prophet, as a Muslim there is not compromise and shutting down a blogsite in the name of Muhammad is nothing.

Remember Salman Rusdie and remember the Danish cartoons? We were all clear on those cases and where we stood. So let us be clear on the Raja Petra case also.

From Two Sense

37. Anonymous7:14 pm

Me... Only Better,

This is what puzzled me why Muslim like to mention 'enemies' of Islam. May I know who are the 'enemies' of Islam?

In whatever religions, there shouldn't be any enemy at all. My religion teaches me to be forgiving even if my enemy did something bad to me.

38. Anonymous7:48 pm

"In Iran...etc"...

That's why Iran's one of the arseholes of the modern world.

- Sword O' Might.

39. Anonymous10:33 pm

rocky, it is really worried, to express our feeling, mcmc might barred me from the internet!!! he he he

zamri

40. Anonymous11:51 pm

It is quite possible that many readers of Malaysia Today read it just for entertainment. This is because a discerning reader would quickly see that many of the claims in that blog are way over the top.

But for the authorities to ban MT shows that the authorities are being petty-minded, cowardly and incompetent. Wouldn't it be a better and fairer act for them to start their own blog to counter what they consider as untruths in MT.

To ban MT outright like that suggests that these high-handed, ham-fisted people are either very afraid of what is written in MT (which therefore means that the Malaysia Today articles are true) or that these people are intellectually inferior and lack the incompetence to counter and refute the claims in MT.

Blogsurfer

41. Anonymous12:16 am

Since we're talking about "blocking websites" I'm bringing to attention something that I had just seen via Malaysia Today. It's a post in Asia Sentinal by one Jed Yoong http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/12058/84/

I'm rather concerned about two things here:
    (1) As the title implies
    (2) The accuracy of the report.

It's either one of these: We are heading for or close to big trouble OR The writer should be reprimanded "for being Chicken Little" here. And scaring some of us unnecessarily

After reading and weighing things, I feel the writer here is a bit irresponsible with this write-up.

BTW I'll lay my cards face up - I'm sympathetic to PR; especially PAS. But that doesn't mean I'll accept anything and everything that is anti-BN/Federal Government. Now, let's see the title:

Government leaders appear increasingly likely to dare unrest by seeking to jail Anwar Ibrahim

This title alone is enough to create uproar and unrest in many pro-PR supporters. Let's see what Jed Yoong has to say to back this up:

Jed Yoong
    - Asia Sentinel

[Cut & Paste]
    Government leaders appear increasingly likely to dare unrest by seeking to jail Anwar Ibrahim

Despite a convincing electoral victory that returned Anwar Ibrahim to Parliament a week ago as opposition leader, it is growing increasingly certain that stalwarts in the United Malays National Organisation intend to try to put him in jail over allegations of sodomy by a former aide in his office.

Here's how; according to the writer:

The vehicle to do it is a bill rushed through the parliament that will compel Anwar to provide a fresh sample of DNA in the case, which was brought by Mohd Saiful Bukhari Azlan, who lodged a police report at the end of June charging that the former deputy prime minister and finance minister had raped him in a luxury apartment in the Mont Kiara district in Kuala Lumpur.

The bill was tabled for second reading in Parliament last week on the day Anwar won an overwhelming victory in the Permatang Puah by-election that returned him to electoral politics. Home Minister Syed Hamid Albar told reporters the timing was only coincidental. Under its provisions, it provides for compulsory extraction of DNA in sexual abuse cases. Anyone refusing to give a sample would be liable to a fine of up to RM10,000 and a possible year in prison.

Anwar has refused to provide the sample, saying that it will be used to fabricate evidence and that the government already has his profile from 1998.
    The government says the sample from that time is too old. Anwar has said he has an unshakeable alibi for the time the offense allegedly took place. The physician who examined Saiful issued a medical report and a statutory declaration saying there was no evidence of sodomy. Nonetheless, the government, in the end, charged Anwar for consensual sodomy, which is punishable by up to 20 years in jail, although it didn’t charge Saiful for engaging in consensual sex.

Now Jed Yoong speculates:

If Anwar is arrested, say observers in Kuala Lumpur, there is a likelihood of riots.

Wait a minute!
    WHY would Anwar be arrested?! The bill has yet to be passed and gazetted. This process takes time. But from the title and the above sentence, it's as if "this won't be too long".

[Flashbacks to 1998 street demonstrations deleted for brevity. The write-up continues...]

Abdullah Badawi, facing a rising insurrection within UMNO, called for unity Sunday as his government continued to crumble. Anwar has vowed to bring down the government by the middle of this month and take over as prime minister. Concern is rising within the party that if Anwar does indeed take over, he will wreak vengeance on those at the top of the party who brought the charges against him this time and previously when he served six years in prison on similar charges. He has repeatedly accused the government, and particularly the judiciary, of corruption. Deputy Prime Minister Najib Tun Razak appears to be a particular target.

Okay, I believe the above is `fair comment' enough, although many Umno/BN supporters will vehemently argue with the "government continued to crumble" part.

[Flashbacks of previous trial; and current make-up of parliament deleted for brevity - You folks should just see the write-up in full at the link above]

Let's continue with the writer's reasoning on his assertions of "Malaysian politics descends into chaos".

The decision to go after Anwar on the sexual perversion charges is viewed by many as a sign of the ruling coalition’s weakness instead of playing a waiting game in the parliament. There is a considerable likelihood that the opposition coalition will come apart, given enough time, because of the philosophical disparities between them. Leaders of PAS have already asserted that the fundamentalist Islamic party should lead the Pakatan coalition because it has greater Malay membership than Anwar’s party, Parti Keadilan, and that it has the right to the premiership. PAS leaders have complained that they have not been given enough say in the local governments that the opposition overthrew in the March elections. Having PAS in charge of the government would be anathema to the other two parties in the coalition, particularly the DAP, but also to a large extent Anwar’s own party, which is made up of middle-class Malays who find PAS’s brand of Islam too restrictive.

This doesn't explain the "chaos" part at all. But maybe the writer will tell about this one below...

Thus Anwar himself is in somewhat of a race against time. If he doesn’t get his 30 supposed members of the Barisan to defect to his side before Sept. 16, as he promised, he faces the possibility that his coalition will weaken – although he could be girded by three more by-elections. Losing candidates in three districts in the states of Perlis, Kedah and Sabah have all filed court challenges seeking to overturn elections. An UMNO source says they could indeed be overturned and, given the current malaise with the government over inflation, corruption and other issues, there is a good chance that the opposition would sweep the seats, making Abdullah Badawi’s position even more precarious.

This is quite into the future. And still the story does not yet justify the "politics descending into chaos" title. I'm getting impatient here! Here's the last paragraph - the writer had better tie things up:

Adding to that, Bernama, the government-owned news service, reported last week that an UMNO branch on the island of Langkawi passed a resolution last week asking the octogenarian former prime minister Mahathir Mohamad and his wife, Siti Hasmah Mohd Ali, to return to the party that a furious Mahathir quit in May after a royal commission recommended that he be investigated for improper judicial appointments. A Melaka UMNO branch supported voted to support the resolution as well. Mahathir has offered to rejoin the party in an effort, he says, to save it.

- Asia Sentinel

Sorry to the writer and Asia Sentinel here; but I can't see where "Malaysian politics is heading towards chaos"! I may not be a political journalist but I know enough to say that the title and introduction fall WAY short of being certified.

So what is the writer and Asia Sentinel trying to do here? Perhaps someone more politically savvy than I am can help me to understand what the writer is claiming. What have I missed?

42. If MT and Raja Petra really committed blasphemy .
    For sure PAS will be the first to ticks him off.
    There will be mass calls from ulamaks, uztaz , labi or lebai,Tok Janggut , Pak agama , jais, mais, kais,bais , Karachi will be on fire and a personal call from Osama Bin Ladin lah!
    Please observes carefully, did any of the above happened?
    The answer is a NO , nothing like that happened.
    If blasphemy did occurred , you think the action taken will be just a lame simple blockage of Malaysia Today?And RPK can still be able to writes or types at home by now?

The umno government have nothing else to throw at RPK ...umno have the guns but no more ammo.
    Means umno have the people but no brains. Now umno is using religion as their weapon .
    Notices the trend now?..najib make use of religion , saifool too .
    However religion is not my game, i aint part of your muslim war.
    Not my game but its of our concern.

Blasphemy?.....RPK sure kena masuk ISA again!

43. Anonymous5:31 am

Cendana287,

JedYoong is not a very nice person, if you were to ask sopo bloggers, including Rocku and Zorro.

She is suspected of being unstable of character. In her blog, she called her ex-blogging friends "Nazis" and is known to hate Umno.

She worked for the DAP's newsletter Rocket for a while but had to leave. She worked with the Star after that but had to leave.

I'm not sure if she has gone to see a psychiatric, but she should. And those who swallow what she writes need their heads inspected also.

Jack Yoong

44. True malaysian,

enemies of Islam : those who wage war physical and propaganda; against Islam in the guise of "fighting terrorism", "freedom" nad "democracy"...

Any nation which unilaterally decides to annihilate Muslims (and others) under the guise of freedom and democracy, and who attempt to forcefeed us (at shock and awe-point) how we should practice a form of Islam acceptable to THEM, is an enemy of Islam....

45. Anonymous11:43 am

@Jack Yoong

THANKS for providing some insights here, Jack.

Oh, so "Jed" is a "she"! Who would have guessed.

BTW I'm not denying that "big changes" might be going on. And Ahirudin's latest post shows that those states seem to have upped the ante here for Sept 16... So, big changes might happen indeed.

However, I don't quite like the way the Asia Sentinel and writer have crafted the write-up into ... of mentioning "political chaos" when there is none, and creating some worry. "fluid political movements" might have been more accurate, although it's less "headline- grabbing".

46. Anonymous1:17 pm

Podah la Ashraf! Or shud I say Sivakumar Kuttan?

U stopped thinking critically when u embraced Islam? You are no credit to the religion, man! And u can call urself a journalist..

I have more respect for that posturing KayJay in this case.

Yes, there are a lot of stuff in malaysia today that you have to take with a pinch of salt.

But there are a lot of filthy propaganda on TV and newspapers anyway. I take rock salt when I watch TV.

Depa buat takpe.

I say we need MORE PEOPLE LIKE RPK.
    Say what you like, but there has to be enough people to play the same nasty game against the scumbags who rule Malaysia.

They are just afraid of losing status quo. And stupid as well. That is why these heavy handed tactics.

Why, if you shut down malaysia today, there won't be others springing up?

Bebal betul la depa ni.Tak sedar sedar diri lagi.

47. Anonymous5:25 pm

Me... Only Better,

Thanks for your response, but I am still blur...I can't see anyone wage war against Islam, at least so far as Malaysia is concerned.

Pardon me if I offend you in any way, non-Muslim in Malaysia, as far as I am concerned are all aware that Islam is the official religion of the country and no one challenge this fact. Our intentions are to get to know more about 'our' country official religion, but open discussion on Islam was so much curtailed by Muslims themselves, then how would you expect non-Muslim Malaysian to know well about Islam?

Muslim should put their suspicions aside when come to questions raised by their fellow non-Muslim Malaysians. No one is waging war against Islam and no bad motive is behind such inter-faiths discussions.

Willingness of Muslims to open up their minds will create goodwill and understanding amongst us.

You agree, Me...Only Better?