Friday, May 16, 2008

Lingam, Adnan and Tan

Malaysia's de facto Judicial Appointment Commission?
If the reports by the Royal Commission of Inquiry into the Lingam video clip were to be believed, then we actually already had a Judicial Appointment Commission! The questionable members of this de factor commission in question are: VK Lingam, Tengku Adnan and Vincent Tan.

What they allegedly did was to advise the Prime Minister then, Dr Mahathir, on the appointment of the Chief of Justice. (read HERE)

Mahathir, however, has gone on record to ssay that he got the views of people (not just the CJ) on the appointment of Superior judges. For this, I suppose, the Commission found the former PM had a "narrow interpretation" to the meaning of the word "consultation" in the appointment and promotion of judges. See Article 122 of the Constitution, excerpts below:
The Lord President of the Supreme Court, the Chief Justice of the High Courts and ... the other judges of the supreme court and of the High Courts shall be appointed by the Yang di pertuan Agong, acting on the advice of the PM, after the consulting the conference of Rulers.
I expect the journalists to ask Pak Lah if he's going to retain Ku Nan as Umno sec-gen now that he's been found guilty by the Commission.

39 comments:

1. Anonymous12:47 pm

I dont remember any government leader ever resigned or sacked for such technicalities!

There is no such honour amongst our politicians.

2. Salam Brader,

PR 1 - BN 0

3. Mahathir's Judicial Appointment Commission terdiri dari kartunis-kartunis negara iaitu L.A.T.

4. And since Zaid Ibrahim backtracked on his words, initially proposing a bipartisan new Judicial Commission before retracting his words (or someone snappped his undies and brought him to his UMNO senses)...we will now be able look forward to a DE FARTO Judicial Appointments Commission...and you can bet it will STINK like hell as well...

5. Anonymous1:33 pm

Technicalities camana lak?

Jelas dari keputusan commission yg Tengku Adnan didapati bersalah.

Kalau UMNO ada integriti, UMNO akan pecat Tengku Adnan.

Kalau UMNO takde integriti, maka tak dipecatlah ianya tu.

Semudah itu saja.

6. Anonymous2:11 pm

Who is drunk now Tengku Adnan..?!

7. Anonymous2:13 pm

the ball is in AG's court now...or shall i say are there balls in his pants?

8. Anonymous3:35 pm

aaah...let's hope we can have a de jure commission real soon!

nuraina

9. Anonymous3:57 pm

You must not expect Pak Lah to do anything on Tg Nan. He even appointed bekas ex-Ketua Bahagian found guilty og money politik to be his minister!! What do you expect of Pak Lah!! Of all you know he'll appoint Lingam as AG!!! and Vincent Tan as MOF3!!!

10. I am happy that Tun is still around to see all this. First Tun Salleh Abbas and now this. I am sure many more to come. As for Tengku Adnan, lets see whether Pak Lah "walk the talk". Lets sit back and enjoy.

11. Anonymous4:45 pm

Badawi : Tak tau... I not yet read the report lagi... tunggu i baca, then i will decide...

Standard reply from the blardy useless a**hole.

POOORDAH!!!

12. It all boils down to Maha Firaun.

He set the tone and gave his cronies the power to interfere with and compromise badly the Judiciary, in exchange for? Everybody knows!

They should go after him first as all roads lead to Rome (or is it Cairo or Putrajaya or 89th Floor Twin Towers, in this case?). lol

I hear that becoz he is a Tun, he cannot be sent to prison. But that should not stop us from finding him guilty. Perhaps, he can be sentenced to do community service, plant more trees or something!

13. Anonymous5:17 pm

The AG said earlier (last year) that Fairuz did nothing wrong. Mahathir didn't consult the Rulers because he took away all their mandates and scared them shit. So he was in a cahoot with a evil clique of Kettuanan Melayu (Chinese, Malays and Indian thieves) and that's who he has operated. Today, he thinks people are stupid and he continues to make jokes regarding his rape of the judiciary.

14. Anonymous5:19 pm

Tak de bola lah...

you ve seen this animal for 50 years - mana lah de bola?

15. Anonymous5:35 pm

The Attorney General is as guilty as hell, too!

He should also be brought to book!

Well done to our PM Badawi so far. As he continues in this vein to reform the judiciary to its former glory i will sing praises for him.

Hold it against me PM should i renege on my word.

16. Anonymous5:41 pm

Let see if Patail has the guts to take the proper next step, that is tp prosecute Mahathir and his dirty group of crooks!

Zaid Ibrahim, it's your show to prove you are genuine.

17. Anonymous6:07 pm

Mahathir is the main culprit. He is an expert in giving excuses.

18. Relax lah brothers/sisters don't get too heated up, baru keluar sahja report ini and has anyone of you read it thoroughly yet? Tup, tup dah nak salahkan Tun Mahathir, anyway baru cabinet instruct AG to start investigation sahja. I bet you people it will take months to investigate and if comes to a trial it will take years more.Be Prepared to be dissapointed lah.

Hmm and this story about Tun Mahathir angkat Dollah jadi PM is sounding more and more like this peribahasa melayu "macam melepaskan anjing tersepit" lah.

19. Anonymous9:42 pm

Dont think the AG has the guts to charge Vincent,Adnan or Lingam. He has only guts to charge the poor 31 Malaysian Poor Indians for murder and the evidence...a large piece of ROCK. And charge amended and some dropped after Samy and the Flip flop PM intervene....Crazy or stupid?
    Its just a tit for tat by badawi against Dr.M..... Anyway its the way the Govt is runned by BN...oooops ..sorry...UMNO!!!!!!!!!!!

20. Anonymous10:41 pm

Don't dilly dally ... Bring out all, and every, skeleton out of the cupboard asap. TQ.

21. Anonymous10:50 pm

The people caused the political tsunami to happen om March 8. No one, not even many of the victorious MPs, believed it could happened before the event. But happened it did!

Now, no one may believe a Judiciary Tsunami may happen. But happen it will, if the rakyat wants it to happen. So, do we want it to happen? Do we want a Judiciary Tsunami here now?

If so, let us work for it. Let each want of us make our desire known. Write, speak, blog, lobby, do whatever you can!!!!

Get your MPs to keep fighting for the Commission's Recommendations to be implemented.

22. Anonymous11:28 pm

Oh man, what a disaster!! The domino effects on this report are infinito....

What would be exciting is for some bloggers to dig up old cases where Lingam and these 2 judges had presided in their courtrooms. The truth of whether justice was truly served then or not, especially when they lost in these cases.

The ultimate of the court rooms dramas.

23. Anonymous11:34 pm

Hi Rocky

I like your direction of thought - "then we actually already had a Judicial Appointment Commission! The questionable members of this de factor commission in question are: VK Lingam, Tengku Adnan and Vincent Tan."

But these guys were never "appointment" they directly influence the purported "listener" to meet their own ends. One of them have an Ayer Molek and a Cumarasamy to square with now....
    The other had the PM . Forget about correctx3 - he has left the building.

24. Lest us forget that Dr. M and five others are entitled to be presumed innocent until proven otherwise. Moreover, proper and thorough investigation is still yet to be commenced. In the name of justice, they must not be unfairly subject to the trial by the media or public perception. Yet, at the same time, there must not be any doubt whatsoever that the cardinal legal principle of Equality before Law is compromised due to their status or reputation.
    (http://www.veonszu.wordpress.com)

25. Anonymous1:59 am

Impound their passports ?

26. Anonymous2:02 am

Aaaah! A Malay, an Indian, A Chinese.

M-I-C.

Thats Malaysia Truly Asia for you.

27. Anonymous2:37 am

Woww...what a rumble....
    All four of the country's main political stalwarts are lashing out and being hit at the same time.Other politicians not left out too.It is almost like a free for all now.....
    Among others...
    TDM with this Judiciary crisis.
    PakLah..with his endless list of scandals..
    DSAI and his Jewish/Wolfowitz connections.
    Najid and the blowned up case.
    What more can we ask...adrenalins are pumping..the cresendo keeps picking up..
    Man.. this just like watching WWF wrestling at its climax.
    All the players put in a closed cage..the loud rock music goes on..
    and..LETTTs..RUMBLEEEEEEE!!
    ...hehhee jangan mareh..

28. Anonymous10:07 am

Oh my god, how forgetful I am....the famous late MGG Pillai defamation case!!!The judgement was flawed!!!

29. Anonymous10:12 am

Anonymous,
    We are asking too much from AAB to investigate all these smelly events that took place during TDM'S time. We can see he has appointed corrupt people back to the cabinet, maybe these people has their hands on his balls and are blackmailing him. Remember all the baggages he has to carry from brothers, family, son and son in-law, and not forgetting TDM, he may have the biggest claw on AAB's balls. Believe me, this Lingam case will also be swept under the carpet, unless AAB finally has the guts to quit and let the shit hit the fence. Sadly AAB is as much a corward as his ASSHOLE deputy who most definitely has got his balls in a jam. (BALLS ?)

30. Go ahead, I am bored already with all the shenanigan, find them guilty already and then jailed them or shamed them, this include Tun Mahathir, then the puppet masters can open that proverbial bottle of champagne and claim victory and then hopefully they will all die of heart attack.
    Incidentally, or sadly, everything that I wish usually will come true this is me a curse or a blessing I do not know. Thus far I have not wish certain people to die a miserable death yet but looks like I will have to, for the sake of the country and my race! Malaysian that is Shanghaidickhead, before you open your gap!

31. Salam Bro ...

Org tua2 dulu ada cakap jangan bermain api ... nanti terbakar diri ..

utk su-kj .. yakin betul PR menang ek ... jangan bermulanya episod permulaan bagi kehancuran udah lah ...

p/s: berapa agaknya bayaran utk setiap ahli Suruhanjaya Siasatan ni ??? bro tahu tak ??

32. Anonymous7:48 pm

veon,

now u know how anwar felt huh. This is wat i call karma. and its not even anwar's doing.

33. Anonymous8:31 pm

This adnan mf is a real corrupt asshole. 5 years ago when I was on a project with city hall, he used political connections to instruct DBKL to close off chow kit so that his 'friends' and business patners could start building a mall there with vested interest.

This 'muslim' dog even got the balls to be on berjaya sports toto gambling board. So much about being muslim. So much about being UMNO. I wonder if he uses 'gambling' money to feed his kids and buy condoms to fuck his wife at nite.

34. Anonymous8:22 am

The damage's been done... and only in Malaysia Boleh! country is that possible. Way back in the 80s, in with his political survival seriously challenged, Mahathir brought our judiciary into great disrepute and over the years, that blighted institution has been mired in rot and corruption. We are now the laughing stock of the world when it comes to judicial integrity and independence.

Our judges may as well quit and sell goreng pisang by the roadside - no thanks to Mahathir and his unholy Gang of Five (or...is it Six?). Apparently it opened the Pandora Box whereby the entire wretched UMNO/BN government fed on the gravy train of total disregard for human decency and fairness.

35. Anonymous8:22 am

The damage's been done... and only in Malaysia Boleh! country is that possible. Way back in the 80s, in with his political survival seriously challenged, Mahathir brought our judiciary into great disrepute and over the years, that blighted institution has been mired in rot and corruption. We are now the laughing stock of the world when it comes to judicial integrity and independence.

Our judges may as well quit and sell goreng pisang by the roadside - no thanks to Mahathir and his unholy Gang of Five (or...is it Six?). Apparently it opened the Pandora Box whereby the entire wretched UMNO/BN government fed on the gravy train of total disregard for human decency and fairness.

36. Anonymous6:12 pm

Isn't Pooordah something worn by muslim women?

37. Anonymous10:45 pm

DO THE THE MEMBERS OF THE COMMISSION WORK VOLUNTARILY OR BEING PAID? IF THEY ARE BEING PAID, HOW MUCH? AND WHO PAID THEM? ARE THERE ANY EXTRAS???????? AND +++++++

PLZ BE TRANSPARENT ON THIS!

MR BURNT.

38. Waa.. so many judges here. Trying to further influence the inquiry findings? Are we drunk yet?

The truth is there is not much case here. Probably dismissed - That was PM prerogative. He can put a donkey if he wanted to. 20+ years running a country, and somebody is trying to tell us that this tyrant can't make his own decision.

And the fact it was leaked, it seems that spin doctors are trying to distract the real issues.

I can't recall DrM having level 4 boys. Yeah, boys telling him what to do.

In fact, no body can really tell him what to do.

He's a tyrant, like most of us would like to think of him.

Some real irony here...

The tyrant is smiling...

39. BREAKING NEWS

TDM leave UMNO !

http://edyesdotcom.blogspot.com/2008/05/dr-mahathir-keluar-umno.html