Wednesday, April 23, 2008

Rustam A. Sani, 1944-2008

Patriot and Intellectual.
"In Rustam we had a true patriot, one whose love for the country is pure. It is so because it came from the head as well as the heart. It is patriotism unadulterated by the pursuit of material wealth, public adulation, or political power." - M. Bakri Musa

From half a world away in California, M. Bakri Musa sends us a posting here on how he remembers Rustam Sani (pic), who died this morning.
Rustam ran the Vox Populi and Suaraku. His last posting was on April 21.

update:
RUSTAM's last books “Failed Nation? Concerns of Malaysian Nationalist” and “Social Roots of the Malay Left” will be launched this Saturday by Anwar Ibrahim.

Date: 26 April 2008 (Saturday)

Time: 3.00pm – 5.00pm

Venue: Seminar Hall, Perpustakaan Raja Tun Uda

Persiaran Bandaraya

40572, Shah Alam, Selangor

15 comments:

1. Anonymous4:10 pm

My deepest condolences to the family.

God bless the deceased soul. Al-Fatihah.

2. Salam Brader,

1. 3 x Al-Fatihah for Allahyarham.

2. Atleast he secured already to see Allah.

3. Now where and when we are.

http://www.penyokong-kj.blogspot.com

3. My condolences to the family!

4. Anonymous5:10 pm

Condolences to the family. A loss to the thinking community of Malaysia.
    :(

5. My deepest condolences to the family.

God bless the deceased soul. Al-Fatihah.

6. Anonymous5:40 pm

Berita yang amat mendukacitakan.

7. Salam takziah dari the legend, shah alam..

8. Anonymous5:49 pm

May The Soul of Rustam Sani Rest In Eternal Peace.I had the opportunity of interviewing him on a morning talk show breakfast program many years ago.

Talking about the faithful departed brings to mind the seven (Soldiers)Privates, who are charged with the murder of their colleague Private Mohd.Sharizal Mod Shafie earlier this month.

There seems to be an unwarranted fairplay, and it's anyone's guess why only these young soldiers should be charged.If we rightly remember that this case was initially reported to be accidental.Why was there cover up in the first instance.
    Was the military trying to cover up something.
    This could also be a case of abettment at the highest degree.Should the powers that be also be brought to court for interrogation.

This could possibly not be the last of such cases, that are more often than not swept under the carpet.What had happened to other cases.We hear of former ministers been charged with various types of crimes at current times, and its not so out of fashion when we are making progress in leaps and bounds, such as the ASEAN INTEGRITY DIALOGUE etcetera why not look into simple day to day events that occur around us and stretch that accountability.

These soldiers are the fall guys , what about their commanding officers, are they to be absolved of all responsibilities ???

What about the officers that tried to cover up, who are those in the higher ranks that are covering up for them ???
    Do say something...there are a few good men who would like to speak...

9. My deepest condolences to Azrani and family.

Azrani was once with the New Straits Times. He and Joceline Tan liked to park themselves at the PC near the subs desk at ext 392 (circa 98-99 maybe).

The spot was also where Fariq Rahman, Husin Rahman and yours truly used to lepak.

Allahyarham Rustam was the offspring of one of the nation's foremost journalists-cum-politicians.

May Allah bless their souls.

Al-Fatihah

10. Anonymous5:59 pm

Al-Fatiha.

We don't say he died (for a Muslim). We say he/she passed on to Allah's Mercy. (Ke Rahmatullah).

Wassalam

11. Anonymous6:19 pm

My condolences to the family. He was a great man with great ideas...salute!

12. Anonymous10:49 pm

Al-Fatihah!

The nation shares this big loss with his widow and family. My deepest condolences to them.

His going is so sudden, but we should bersyukur that he shared so much of himself with us through his work.

13. Anonymous12:02 am

Rustam was a quick witted guy. When he didn't get the chair(professorship) at UKM due to some gerrymandering, he told me he actually wanted a table!

14. Al-fatihah.

Rustam is a great patriot with great wisdom. He will be deeply missed.

Deepest condolences to the family.

15. Anonymous4:43 am

Dear Bro Rocky,
    Please consider placing arwah's "Suaraku" blog in your blog list. I know his views might not be shared by most bloggers in your list (for he was not a pro-Mahathir blogger) and of course he won't be around to update that blog anymore.. However, in my humble opinion, he DESERVES to be in your blog list, and as a loyal reader of your blog, I beg you to consider this suggestion.

Thank you, Bro.