Sunday, April 27, 2008

No keris-wielding in December

Umno Youth leader apologises. Someone asked me at Pak Samad's birthday do last night what I thought would happen at the Umno General Assembly in December. We were waiting for after-dinner coffee and for the arrival of the the PM. Badawi, who had said he wanted to come and see Pak Samad, did not turn up. He did call Pak Samad to apologize and to wish him well.

I didn't answer the question but I was thinking that after this a p o l o g y, one thing that will surely not take place at the Umno general assembly in December is "keris-wielding". Nor at any Umno meeting in future.

The apology, to me, is most pathetic. For years the modern Malay have wielded the keris at weddings, traditional ceremonies, and cultural shows and never had to apologize. Because we know how to do it properly. There is nothing wrong with the keris-wielding picture; it's how Hishammuddin did it that was probably so wrong. He should be made to produce a manual on "How not to cause others great discomfort with the harmless act of unsheathing, and wielding, the keris".

Sebab nila setitik, abih susu sebelanga (One bad apple spoils the whole bunch).

By the way, I do believe there were more than just one bad apple in this keris story.

79 comments:

1. That is about the most intelligent honest comment we have heard about this stupid thing . Just imagine if you are the yang Berhormat . Malaysia will fly , truly the world

2. Anonymous1:38 pm

I'm waiting for Khairy Jamaluddin Abu Bakar to apologise to all Malaysian for what he had done to us. He owe us that apology!

3. Anonymous2:10 pm

Bru,

I am neither racist nor try to incite sentiments. As for me, Keris is very much the symbol and tradition of Malay custom. Weildin the Keris is OK but why the non-malays see it as a threat?

For instance, how about the Wushu? Using thier weapon? How about kungfu? How about the Iban using blowpipe?

We have to respect all !!!

This is Malaysia, from Tanah Melayu it evolved. Please respect the custom of Malay and the history of Malaysia.

Nothing wrong because pistols, C4 and monopoly is far a threat as compared to Keris.

Does the non Malay also wanted the Weilding of Keris and Kissing the Keris to be scrapped during installation AGONG of Sulatans also? Tell the truth.

4. Why Hisham wants to apologize?
    He had sheathed the keris
    He had done that so many times
    Now he said he is sorry…..

Najib did it in 1987
    Maybe it runs in their families
    I wish it doesn’t repeat it
    It shows no class though has education

Sometimes I think
    Education makes a man
    Sometimes I wish
    Education doesn’t make man play and play
    Until the line of truth barely knows the barrier

It takes March 8
    BN leaders quickly swallowed pride and faces
    Telling people they will do right
    When you look around
    They hide it well

The BN leaders know
    The streets aren’t lined up of gold
    The glitter seems to get away
    They can’t sleep thinking about the frogs
    Croaking after a night rainy fall

So you hear “I am the pm for all people”
    When comes to projects
    All kinds of excuses heaped on the opposing state governments
    Is there anything new in BN rule?

They are the ‘great pretenders’
    They feed the masses needs
    And people just fall for it
    ‘It is better late than never’

The vision is for all Malaysians
    No class distinction no obstacle
    No color of skin no color of religion
    Just you and me, others and foreigners
    In Malaysia
    We walk and work as a team

Do you hear a keris?
    It’s the bright sky
    The beautiful smile
    The people marching by

5. Anonymous2:31 pm

It is the context or attitude with which the keris was wielded, and the nature of the response it drew (recall: "Bila Dato' nak gunakan keris tu?") that is the source of dismay and consternation.

The keris itself was never a problem, nor is the act of displaying it. Its cultural meaning and value is obvious. The display of the keris purely to symbolise the Malay spirit or "semangat", given that UMNO is a Malay nationalist political party, may be understandable.

However, the intent with which it was raised and what Hishamuddin was implying is highly questionable, and seemed racially insensitive. He may have wanted to inspire enthusiasm or buy political mileage, but certainly not at the expense of other ethnic groups or by making it seem that it is alright to be racially insensitive.

With love, from Paris.

6. I have no problem if they waive the keris, but not when some MP asked when it was going to be used surrounded by applaus. This means it was waived in such a manner to incite hatred.

Race based parties have to go!! seriously....if republican or democratic parties were raced based, imagine if some john doe brought a rifle in their national convention and waived it in the air while another delegate asks him when he was going to use it...sounds strange doesnt it?

Its happening here. An apology is not enough. Damage is done. Time to fuck off Hishamuddin. Is it true you have a RM$1 million ringgit car on a civil service salary?

7. Anonymous3:02 pm

That apology is too late! There was a window of opportunity when the issue was hot but that has long past.

There are many that will not accept this apology, not only because of its lateness but also because of its futility, seeing the damage has already been done.

Of course Mr Wong of the Star has defended the apology in today's editorial.That's hardly surprising.

8. Dear anonymous,

It is your shallow appreciation of the context in which the keris was wielded that you don't understand how it caused uneasines among the non-Malays. Read Rocky's take on it more carefully, and perhaps you would begin to have enlightenment.

It is the context in which it was wielded that was deemed to be insensitive and offensive. It became to offensive that the current Agong did NOT unsheathe the keris during his coronation, and didn't even kiss it while it was sheathed. He just raised it up respectfully with both hands.

It is utter disrespect by Kerismuddin that made the Agong forego the royal tradition. Can you imagine the conflict His Royal Highness must have been going through just because of the silly antics of a racist politician?

9. Anonymous3:12 pm

it is true that people's memory is so short. i agree with rocky people can go around wielding their krises since it is a custom.
    as a malaysian i appreciate
    everybody's unique custom. the chief minister of sarawak when he goes to visit an iban longhouse is even given a spear to spike at a piglet. that's how far racial understanding in that State has evolved.in peninsular malaysia, that would have caused a riot. the problem with hisham is that he wielded it and uttered damaging racist statements which really were part of the reasons why BN failed to win the two third majority. i rmember hisham's father was a genteel leader and a much loved figure for multi racial harmony.what hishamuddin did would even cause his father tun hussein onn to turn in his grave. however, it is good that he has apologised. it shows that he is a gentleman too. like father like son. now please dont point fingers since everybody makes mistake. it is just so human.

10. Anonymous3:13 pm

Actually the symbol of UMNO is not the keris but the crutch which they have defended. So next time they should be wiedling the crutch.

11. As a non-Malay, I had nothing against the keris. In fact, I proudly gave a gold-plated keris(from Royal Selangor, of course)as a parting gift to my former boss whom was an American. I explained that he deserved it as it symbolised a true warrior whom withhold fairness, justice and truth...in the context of being the boss of the company. Not with this stupid & uneducated Min-of-Edu. His type of selfish mentality for his own political agenda is the caused of pathetic education mess in this country. Shouldn't the Perlis guy who said "when are you going to be using it?" be apologising as well? His insincere apology was proven when he said 'IF" to non-malay. The moral thing Krisman should do is to resign from all post...otherwise..PR will be happy come GE-13. Krisman isn't PM-material.

12. Anonymous3:31 pm

Aiyah...the keris is totally symbolic la.To have it in ceremonies or not should'nt be a problem.Neither should
    it cause or solve any problems to anybody. To solve their problems ,people now will use the C4 laa not the keris....hehehhe..
    ..jangan mareh..

13. Anonymous3:33 pm

Leave the 'heritage symbol' of raising the keris to our Agong and let the Malays use the keris as tradition dictates at weddings and cultural events.

Non-Malays understand what the keris meant to the Malay community BUT Umno politicians like Kerismudin, Khairy and Najib sent the wrong signal when they raised the keris at Umno assembly and in 1985.

It is Umno politics of abusing the keris to wave it in front of non-Malays and arrogantly screaming 'ketuanan Melayu' that irked non-Malays.

Every time they did that Umno members started screaming for non-Malay blood with their fiery speeches.

The keris is a non issue but it is Umno and not the Malay community as a whole, who make it into an issue.

14. Anonymous3:35 pm

Whether the continuity of unsheathing and kissing the keris is done at UMNO GAs and other royal events or not, doesn't bother me much really.

It's the words and message of Hishammuddin and UMNO behind the keris that did the damage. And the fella has yet to apoligize for inciting great racial tension that very day. The half hearted apology is riddled with hypocrisy and arrogance, it's like an insult to Malaysians.

15. The Keris like any other weapons can be regarded as symbols of power, protection, strength and terror. Depending on how we present them, and the manner we demonstrate. With the body language and words accompanying the "symbol", there could be hundreds of interpretation. The point in question about Hisham's act, was clearly a demonstration of power, ego and threat. His apology was not, I repeat NOT sincere. He gave in 10% and took back 100%. A typical racist he is and you just can't change a leopard's spots. Mahathir and Najib are just as racist. Not forgetting the current sex maniac JJ who is a master racist.

16. Anonymous3:59 pm

"For instance, how about the Wushu? Using thier weapon? How about kungfu? How about the Iban using blowpipe?

We have to respect all !!!"

- Maybe I'm not following the news about the Keris incident but I'm sure that while he was holding his keris, he was shouting something while someone shouting about shedding chinese blood?

As a malay myself, I'm soooo ashamed of this so call bangsa UMNO Melayu ELITE, konon! We do have Keris in our ceremony like bersanding but we DON'T shout like mad men looking for blood while holding our keris! Only a low IQ person will do it.

And please don't compare Wushu and Iban blowpipe, it's all out of the context, and not relevant! If you still insist that you're right, you might want to highlight ninjistu, karate, taekwando, silat harimau bintang, football etc
    while you at it.

17. Anonymous4:03 pm

Alahai Rocky,

We all agree and know that there has never been a problem with the use of the keris as a Malay ceremonial object. That has never been the issue lah.

The problem is that Dato' Hishamuddin Hussein used it to make unacceptably irresponsible and insensitive connotations about non-Malay Malaysians that drew equally reprehensible, supportive responses from other UMNO members.

Kalau begini sikap dan mentaliti pemimpin-pemimpin UMNO, yang dihitung pemimpin-pemimpin besar komuniti Melayu, then they are very dangerous people because they foster racist and divisive mentalities amongst the Malay people, especially the youths!

Bila UMNO nak berubah?

18. Anonymous4:13 pm

dear anon 210pm...

you and najib and hisham and KJ probably still don't get it. The non malays in this country do not have a problem with the kris....

it is only when you scream blood with an unsheathed kris foaming at the mouth that worries us. And that this comes from seniors minister and leaders of the UMNO....is doubly worrisome.

For that matter if Ka Ting bring out his broad sword in MCA meeting as swing around like a madman..and asking for blood..I will be the first to tell him to f*ckoff.

Your defense of the kris mad man is pathetic.

And i have never seen or heard during the installation of Sultans and Agong..their Majesties will draw the kris and ask for blood. I think you are being very naughty to equate Hisham's antics with royalty.

His unrefined behaviour at UMNO Youth assembly should be condemned by all peace loving Malaysian irrespective of race.

19. Anonymous4:14 pm

Can you imagine whaat would have happened if the roles were reversed, if a chinese had waved a sword and threatened to soak it in malay blood, we would have had another may 13 , pure and simple. no insult meant. do you remember the suquoi school incident, some umno thugs threatened to want to burn the chinese assembly hall, the taiwan based Malaysian chinese student who changed the lyrics of the negara-ku,and a lot of other incidents where threats were issued and you could see some people going into trance, froathing at mouth, rolling their eyes and whatever else. some times it makes me wonder whether the umno putras are actually adults because of their childish and juvenile antics. For better or for worse we are all Malaysians and are here to stay, so it's time for the morons of umno to accept that.
    such nfantile antics, grow up lah umno, jangan macam budak kechil.

20. Anonymous4:42 pm

"(I apologise) to the non-Malays for making them feel apprehensive about (the keris) symbol, and to the Malays for not being able to defend our symbol of heritage..."

Is that even an apology? Correct me if i'm wrong but it seems like he's saying, "I'm sorry that you (non-Malays) are offended and I'm sorry to tell you (Malays) that I cannot wave my keris around anymore".

He might as well have just kept quiet and let the issue die.

21. Anonymous4:44 pm

Calling Khairy Jamaluddin ...

Let's not ask whether you are MAIN enough but do you have the nuts between the thighs to do it.

Count down 999, 998, 997 ...

22. Anonymous5:10 pm

We will bathe this Keris with the CHINESE blood.-Najib

So,you all malays have to understand why it has evolved to become an offensive symbol.There's nothing wrong with Keris but how the keris is wielded itself.

23. According to Aliran, the UMNO youth chief has not acknowledged the error of his actions. He had merely expressed his apology to people who were stupid enough to be afraid when the keris was used as a symbol by him. He has forgotten about the seditious, threatening and provocative utterances which accompanied his actions.

There is no issue on the choice of any object or weapon as a party symbol. But it is indefensible for any leader or his supporters to use the weapon to threaten violence on the people under their governance.

As for the "apology" ...was it in writing or was it misquoted by the MSM.

Pax.

24. Anonymous5:21 pm

Now that he has said sorry, everybody should just accept it and MOVE ON! What's with the whinning? Of course if he or some idiot does it again, than let's all just hammer the bugger to pulp ok.

Whether Hishammuddin is sincere or not in his apology, the fact of the matter is he has apologized and everyone should be gracious enough to accept it. I being a non-muslim have no problem with the keris but waving of keris and talking rubbish is a BIG BIG problem all thanks to Najib and his bright idea of bathing the keris in Chinese blood while waving it. This I must say will never be erased from the non-malays brain. No amount of sorry, sincere or otherwise can make it right ever again.

As for the Agong doing it, well, if anyone noticed his installation which was broadcast over Nat Geo, the Agong didnt do the norm this round. All the Agong did was raise the keris above his head without taking it out. No kissing or waving or talking rubbish! Now, that is what I call a sensitive Agong who is very aware what he should and shouldnt do for his subjects.

25. They don't know how to hold the keris properly. Nothing to be afraid of. Lagipun berapa ramai orang Melayu yang pandai main keris sekarang? So it is as good as holding a piece of bread and to soak it in sup kambing.

If you plan to use a weapon, please lah, belajar how to use it properly. Otherwise, makan diri. Sekarang dah kena kat Hishammudin. Kalau belajar pegang betul2, memang tak akan minta ma'af. Sebab orang yang pandai pegang keris jiwa dia dah lain.

26. Anonymous6:05 pm

Orang dah minta maaf tu, maafkanlah dia. Kita Malaysian bukannya sombong sangat. Apa hal pun, sekiranya dia masih tak ubah lifestyle ke arah yang lebih 'sihat', yang reflect his position as Education Minister - then my vote still go for an opposition party.

27. Anonymous6:07 pm

If Malays have to give up their symbols of Malayness, will the Chinese give up their symbols of the afterlife as in the enormous size of their graves, as you can witness in Johor ( just how many Malay politicians did they bribe to acquire that land?) And will the Indians submit to a kind of demographic rationalisation of their temples - i.e build one to cater to a certain minimum number of practising believers. I have travelled in south India and I have never seen the dense distribution of temples as can be seen in certain states in Malaya.

28. Anonymous6:12 pm

Hey i dont mind if Lim KIt Siang and Karpal Singh would like to display their Sword and Dagger....
    KAH, KAH, KAH.............

29. talk about poor bloody judgment man...
    why cant he just shut his mouth on the subject.....
    what we have are pirats for leaders, they committ all sorts of crimes and acts of debauchery and they turn around and say, we do all this for you.... for Malay rights....
    thanks to them for equalling al their greed and lust with Malay Rights, now everyone looks dirty on Malay Rights,

Its enough to even make someone like me start blogging

http://marahku.blogspot.com/

30. Anonymous6:34 pm

Why the sandiwara when he is so reluctant?
    If BN had won, does it mean it is not necessary to say sorry?
    It all boils down to sincerity.
    People were pissed off not because of the display of the keris but the manner of conduct in his speech. He just didn't get it.

31. Anon@4.42

Dude, you took the words right outta my keyboard!

We non-Malays have absolutely no problems with people waving and hoisting the keris around. We only have a problem when someone incites hatred and is being racist while doing so.

32. Anonymous6:49 pm

TELL THIS BROKEBACK MOUNTAIN GUY TO GO KISS SOME HIND END...

33. Anonymous7:01 pm

BETTER LATE THEN NEVER!! hOEVER WE NEARLY LOST THE ELECTION!!WHY CAN'T hISHAM APOLOGISE EARLIER IE BEFORE THE GE? UTHINK WIELDING/KISSING OF KERIS IS NOTHING IF DONE IN NORMAL CIRCUMSTANCES. IN WHAT CONTACT HISHAM DID THAT DURING PAU 2006.ALOT OF SENSITIVE ISSUES WERE RAISED AND IT WAS BEAMED LIVE!!!

ANYWAY HISHAM IS CONSIDERED UNFIT TO HOLD ANY POST IN UMNO, WHAT MORE VP!!!!!!

34. Anonymous7:02 pm

We have seen so often Yang Dipertuan Agong kissing the keris andthe only feeling we got was respect. But when Kerismuddin and SIL and Lalalala and C4 did it, it was with differnt meaning since C4 said time to bathe the keris with blood. And kept remnding the malaysian to shutup and swallow whatever injustice thrown at them by threatening another May 13. The ex Pm was a master in this though he didn't weild a keris.

35. Anonymous7:25 pm

Most probably Hishamuddin did not really understand the symbolism, heritage, traditions and protocol of the "Keris".

This is because he is a Johorean and a tru-blue Johorean do not related to the "Keris", at all. Neither do they relate to the tanjak and baju-Melayu songket (full suit).

Look at the Johor Royal Court. No one every seen anyone who is in the presence of HRH Sultan of Johor, doning the tanjak, baju-Melayu songket full suit and of course, the "Keris".

HRH Sultan of Johor, since Maharaja Seri Sultan Abu Bakar had NEVER WORN the baju-Melayu songket, tanjak and Keris in any regalia or formal event. Infact, HRH introduced and popularised the songkok amongst the Malays, which how a true-blue Johorean Malay is dressed, even one is made the groom and bersanding, at the most auspicious occasions.

That is why, most probably Hishamuddin had no qualms about apologising for the "Keris" issue.

P/S FYI:

BTW, none of the men in my family ever wore the tanjak, baju-Melayu songket and Keris, when we get married in Johor. We wear the baju-Melayu Teluk Belanga, "bunga-tabor", songkok (with the cheeky "bulu ayam" perched) and songket, being worn as "dagang luor".

36. Anonymous7:32 pm

Alahai Hisham Onn, saya setuju dgn 'pathetic' Rocky kerana keris adalah simbol kebanggaan dan kedaulatan org Melayu sejak BERATUS tahun lamanya. Sememangnya tidak timbul masalah julang keris di majlis istiadat org melayu selama ini. Masalahnya adalah Umno dan org Melayu memberi ruang kpd penyangak dan bangsat spt Kali dan Hisham Aun di NSTP dan konco2 spy Kali iaitu Brenden Pariah yang bersekongkol dgn Khairy untuk menghancurkan Umno dan org Melayu. Jadi berwaspadalah org Melayu kerana akhir2 ini DKK sebangsa Kali aktif menghentam dan mempersoalkan kedaulatan bangsa Melayu...

37. Anonymous7:40 pm

Hishammudin bukan sahaja lambat tetapi juga lewat dan lembab ketika memohon maaf dalam isu keris. Takut kepada bayang2, akur kepada perintah ketua adalah antara faktor Hishammudin yang terkenal lembek seperti ketuanya terpaksa melafazkan maaf. Dan itu tidak menjatuhkan maruah Melayu kata Najib. Yup, sejak bersekongkol dengan Altantuya, memang kemelayuan Najib hanya tinggal 1%, darah Tun Razak yang mengalir sudah kering, yang ada darah bacul dan pengkhianat bangsa Melayu.

Hisahmmudin yang sebelum ini mempertahnakan tindakannya menghunus keris kini terpaksa menjilat semula ludahnya, lebih busuk dari anjing yang terjelir lidahnya.

Propaganda isu keris menyebabkan BN tewas adalah propaganda wakil BN yang sengaja mencari alasan untuk menyalahkan UMNO, adalah tidak mamtang dan menganggap orang bukan Melayu di Malaysia terlalu bodoh dan terpengaruh dengan isu keris, bagi mereka itu tidak menjadi kudispun. Mereka lebih menumpukan kepada isu ekonomi dan bagaimana Pak Lah yang lembek gagal menanganinya.

Isu keris adalah isu cerita dongeng purba rakyat dan alangkah bodohnya Ketua Pemuda UMNO Malaysia terpedaya lalu memohon maaf.

Memang tidak memalukan, tetapi mampu dan memadai untuk menjatuhkan kemaluan Hishamudin dan Najib.

38. Anonymous7:43 pm

i am sorry. i am a malay. i live in housing area where got all - indians, chinese, and fellow malays - as my neighbours.

but hisham's apology was stupid, i would say.

i have nothing to say about keris weilding is the reason or one of the reason we lost last PRU. or keris is regarded as a 'threat' by the others which again, is the stupid-est kind of a scapegoat.

and ahh.. rocky, ur page is the best testimony of which tells the world that 'underground' but realiable media of bloggers in malaysia, is very likeable, up to date, and i would go to the extend of, very high credibility.

see that SIL kissing the keris? the very keris he said the reason BN lost last PRU.

now i want somebody..put this pic to the mainstream media. and see what SIL got to say.

ps- the reason we lost (5 states) is because of indecisiveness, lack of economy progress, deceiving news and media. thats it.

39. Anonymous8:17 pm

"It is the context or attitude with which the keris was wielded, and the nature of the response it drew (recall: "Bila Dato' nak gunakan keris tu?") that is the source of dismay and consternation.

The keris itself was never a problem, nor is the act of displaying it. Its cultural meaning and value is obvious. The display of the keris purely to symbolise the Malay spirit or "semangat", given that UMNO is a Malay nationalist political party, may be understandable.

However, the intent with which it was raised and what Hishamuddin was implying is highly questionable, and seemed racially insensitive. He may have wanted to inspire enthusiasm or buy political mileage, but certainly not at the expense of other ethnic groups or by making it seem that it is alright to be racially insensitive.

With love, from Paris." - Dato' Shake

I totally agree with Dato Shake. And to this person who waved the keris, sorry,your apology is not accepted.

This person had wielded the keris many times, knowing fully well that each time he wielded the keris, he hurts the feelings of the non-Malays. Not only that he did not see the need to apologise, he had arrogantly continued to do so without regard to the feeling of the non-Malays.

Perhaps, if the BN had won the 12th GE big, such apology is still a non-issue to him?

40. Hisham did a mistake, he has said sorry for the way he wielded the kris and its underlying message that did frighthen the other non malay citizens.Hisham took a damned long time to admit it but he did it nevertheless and I congratulate him, its better late than never.

The Kris has been around for very long, long time and its significance to the Malays will continue with or without Hisham or UMNO youth nonsense about why and how they wielded it during previous or future UMNO gatherings.

41. Anonymous8:21 pm

I'm with bunnies on this one.

No time to dwell on things that won't change.

Besides, I don't think Hishammuddin even SAID that it won't happen again. He just kept quiet and smiled when someone asked him that question.(or did he just laugh out? I forget..)

Michelle

42. Anonymous8:42 pm

Najib should also apologise for wanting to bathe his keris in Chinese blood in a rally in 1987.
    This nearly caused a race riot which resulted in Operation Lalang.
    Najib was never punished for that one act and we will never forget that event.
    We non malays also dread the day he becomes PM.

43. Anonymous9:03 pm

Now that Hisap has apologised, is Najis going to apologise as well? Didn't he start the tradition of threatening to spill Chinese blood in UMNO? Maybe he is still waiting for the opportunity to do it. Maybe that is why he is stirring up racial tension in Selangor over the 'babi issue'.

44. Anonymous9:08 pm

OK, WILL ACCEPT HIS APOLOGY IF HE DO A HARA-KIRI WITH HIS KERIS...

45. Anonymous9:13 pm

Sebenarnya,keris itu hanyalah alat sahaja untuk mempertahankan diri sekiranya dilawan..
    keris adalah seni..
    apabila seseorang menteri mengatakan bahawa ada sesetengah org yg memperalatkan isu keris...sebenarnya siapa yang mainkan dulu...
    sila renung secara rasional..
    keris tidak jadi masalah kalau mahu ditonjolkan sebagai alat budaya tetapi adalah salah kalau ditonjolkan secara silap..

For myself,am just embarassed with the whole episode about the 'keris'

50thn sudah cukup matang untuk mendidik sesiapa yang tidak tahu apa itu keris..

tetapi kini nampaknya sudah berlutut...?
    so who is the malay warrior?

For myself,i dah lama migrate...and for your information the keris episode caught international media.

Doesn't they feel embarassed? and not forgetting 8.42pm statement..

Ya i was only 3 years old at that time when my mum tild me bout the story...

That's scary

46. Jamal_ Trex, I'm in total agreement to your comment. If i may add Jamal, he should also return to the rakyat whatever he has taken from us

47. Anonymous9:37 pm

Another case of leg on the accelerator and hand on the handbrake!

Hishammuddin did the right thing by apologising but his action loses much of its impact when, in the very next breath, he apologised to the Malays for his failure to uphold the Malay symbol.

Why did he take the step to apologise when he is not truly convinced he ought to do it? What made him want to offer the apology? Was he thinking of the of his grand-father and father, on what they had done and what they stood for and how different he is from them? Or was it his conscience telling him that peace and harmony amongst the races is important for the well-being of the nation? Or was his good sense telling him that he had not set a good example for the youngsters under his care? Or did his own sense of guilt finally convict him? Or was it his love for the nation?

Or did he do it for political reasons? Is he trying to deflect blame for the loss suffered by UMNO in the recent election? Is this a pre-emptive move as he may want to stand for a VP post?

By qualifying his apology, his sincerity has become suspect. Even those detractors, who were prepared to forgive, now, also, sense the apology is given very grudingly. The politician in him carries more sway than the sense of human decency in him. Politicians will always be politicians, they cannot see beyond their own egos.

Syed Ali of Cheras UMNO division opined that it was not necessary for Hishammuddin to apologise. He says he sees no difference between the Agong holding up the keris and kissing it in his investiture and what Hishammuddin has done. This shows Syed Ali does not understand the non-Malays. And it also reveals he does not know how to see things in its proper context. When the Agong does the act, it is done in the context of tradition of the Malay Monarchy. The non-Malays have no argument against that. We respect the constitution. But when Hishammuddin did it in was done in a very different context and atmospere. He did it in the UMNO Youth General assembly where the non-Malays were made the punching-bags. This is what the non-Malays cannot accept. There is a vast difference between the two.

48. Anonymous9:43 pm

Memalukan!!

Ternyata telurnya sudah hilang, digengam, diramas dan dikasikan oleh sekumpulan pendatang yang sudah berlagak tuan rumah !!

Buyong.

49. This buffooon of a son of a former Prime Minister is such a bloody joke, he doesn' even know it when he is sounding contradictory and stupid. Maybe he knows that he is so stupid and that he assumes that that is a normal state of mind for himself that he goes on to assume that everyone else must also be the same.

Only such a state of mind can expect his apology to stand. He expects that it is just the act of unsheathing the keris that is contentious. He completely ignores the fact that we also listen to, see on TV, and read all that crap of shit that they say preceding the unsheathing of the keris and the atmosphere that is created culminating in the unsheathing of the keris. So f course the nons are rightfully offended and threatened.

But so long as Kerismuddin continues with his assumptions and UMNO Youth and the rest of the headless UMNO chicken continue with this menatality, it is o.k with me. Soon we shall see them in opposition.

50. I am unsheathing my keris right now, right here.

You got a problem with that? Bite my keris.

Now who wants to suck it?

51. Anonymous10:22 pm

Dulu si Hishamuddin dan KJ dah explain pasal kepentingan keris pada orang Melayu. Katanya, ia adalah adat bagi orang Melayu, ia adalah simbol bagi orang Melayu dan sebagainya....tup, tup dia minta maaf. Apapasal ni. Yang kau explain tu kau karang je ke?. Mengapa perlu minta maaf, kalau ia budaya, simbol dan keagungan Melayu. Hishamuddin, lai lema fokir sama ada kau kena letak jawatan atau tidak. Kalau kau rasa kau masih relevan dalam UMNo, duduklah kat situ, tapi kalau kau rasa yanmg kau dah tak relevan, terpulang lah, tepuk dada tanya selera.

52. Bukan keris yang menjadi isu. Bagaimana Ketua Pemuda dan Timbalan Ketua Pemuda UMNO berucap semasa perhimpunan UMNO dengan nada tidak mahu kaum bukan melayu mempersoalkan agenda melayu dan kemudiannya menghunus, mencium dan menjulang keris itu yang dianggap sebagai perbuatan mengancam kaum bukan melayu - menjadi isu kini. Jangan ada pihak yang cuba putar belitkan fakta ini kerana ketua parti lain dan juga seluruh rakyat juga menjadi saksi.

Saya amat kesal isu keris ini tidak dijelaskan dengan betul. Semua pihak seolah-olah menganggap bahawa keris adalah punca utama kemarahan orang bukan melayu kepada Ketua Pemuda serta timbalannya.

Sebenarnya, keangkuhan serta kebiadapan Pemuda UMNO lah sebenarnya yang patut menjadi isu. Bukannya keris. Tidak ada yang istimewa pada keris dan tidak ada bezanya dengan barang lain. Jika penyapu diambil dan dicium oleh Ketua Pemuda serta timbalannya, adakah ianya akan menjadi isu?

53. Kenyataan maaf secara terbuka keris-muddin sebenarnya sudah pun terlambat. Apakah beliau akan minta maaf jika BN mencapai kemenangan besar seperti tahun 2004?

Kata Lim Kit Siang dalam blognya, mohon maaf daripada Hishammudin itu masih belum cukup ikhlas kerana beliau masih menetapkan syarat-syarat tertentu....

Tidak kiralah hendak minta maaf atau tidak, dengan bersyarat atau tidak, sudah terlambat atau tidak, Hishammuddin memang sudah tidak dipercayai lagi sebagai seorang pemimpin yang mampu meneruskan kepimpinan negara seperti ayahnya.

Biarpun minta maaf 100 kali pun, rakyat tetap tidak akan memaafkannya. Kenapa sampai hari ini, tidak seorang pun di kalangan pemimpin BN, terutama sekali MCA dan MIC memberikan kenyataan bahawa mereka telah menerima maaf daripada Hishamuudin itu?

Sebelum pilihanraya, MCA sudah tahu keris Hishamuddin itu akan membawa padah kepada parti mereka. Ternyata inilah pengajaran kepada mereka.

Keris itu adalah lambang keberanian dan kekuasaan bangsa Melayu. Memang tidak dapat dinafikan. Tetapi apakah perlu menghunus dan mencium di depan khalayak ramai?

Kalaulah ia melambangkan keberanian dan kekuasaan bangsa Melayu, kenapa pula hendak minta maaf?

Inilah dikatakan jangan terlalu angkuh dan apabila suka bermain api tanpa berfikir, pemimpin seperti Hishamuddin ini pasti dibenci ahli parti dan rakyat.

Episod keris ini seharusnya menjadi pengajaran kepada semua orang politik khasnya ahli-ahli UMNO dan juga ahli-ahli politik lain yang suka membangkitkan isu-isu sentimen tanpa memikirkan perasaan dan hati kaum lain.

54. Anonymous11:39 pm

Well... Najip and Hisham both has indeed uses Keris in the way of "Evil". These 2 idiot had done enough damages on Keris symbolism, heritage, traditions. Umno had failed the Malay calture, the have failed to protects "Keris".

Najip ..... non malay still haven't forget what you did in 1987. At least Kerismuddin is dare says "sorry" now. What abt you ? ... you are indeed super ultimate "Coward"

55. Anonymous11:41 pm

For the two kris-wielders to fully appreciate the "pain" and anguish their actions caused the non-Malays, they should shove the kris up their a-holes and then give it a twist.

Never do it again like they did. It insults us Malays too for insulting our culture and heritage. In Japan, they would have to commit "seppuku". Or worse still, cut off their bolas.

Boy am I angry. Minister of Education summore.

56. Anonymous12:14 am

Tahniah Bru kerana tunjuk gambar Khairy, menantu Dolah Badwi, julang keris. Sebenarnya Hishamudin Hussein (HH)terperangkap dgn konspirasi Khairy dan Kalimullah yang menggunakan NSTP dgn komentar muka depan NST & BH untuk menjatuhkan HH dan seterusnya untuk menempelak timbalan presiden Umno Najib yang juga merupakan sepupu HH. Alasan Kalimullah mengenai julang keris dan roboh kuil oleh Khir Toyo (KT) melalui komentar NST/BH ialah utk tutup kelemahan Dolah & Khairy yang semua tahu adalah penyebab kekalahan BN dlm PRU12. Khairy tahu Najib, HH dan KT adalah penghalang kpd kuasa Dolah terus menerajui Umno/BN. Tahniah kpd Tun Mahathir yang terus menerus beri peringatan kpd Umno utk melakukan pembaharuan dlm Umno sehingga Ku Li, Muhyiddin, Mukriz dan byk Umno negeri mula bertindak. Malangnya, Najib dan HH tidak terdaya untuk bertindak keatas Dolah dan Khairy. Tidak hairan jika Mahathir sokong Kuli, Muhyiddin, Mukhriz, Khir Toyo untuk tentang Dolah, Najib, Hishamudin Hussein, Khairy dlm pemilihan parti Disember ini. Sudah pasti Umno berpecah dan berkubur selepas itu kerana itulah yang dinantikan pihak lawan dan spy Kalimullah di seberang sana. Bertindaklah U M N O demi masa depan negara.

57. Anonymous12:42 am

Dear All,

After reading most of the comments, my conclusion is for Keris-sham-mudin to apologize to the keris. He has done a great disservice to the keris that will take years to un-do. IN my opinion, he has sinned against the keris!!

58. Anonymous1:19 am

An apology for an issue perceived as the cause for BN's poor result in PRU12. Before this it was the so called judiciary reform that had to be done immediately to garner the support of the rakyat.

Really! what about the other issues that caused dissatisfaction of Malaysian? Why aren't those issues addressed first. This apology and other actions so far are mere smoke screen.

By the don't worry, BN will retake all of their lost seats in PRU13, in fact BN will win with bigger majority and surpassed the 2004 elections. Ya right!

59. Anonymous1:35 am

Blogger Veritas at savingyesterday.blogspot.com quotes Benjamin Disraeli [Never apologize for showing feeling. When you do so, you apologize for the truth] and slams hisham for not being genuine.
    True. I don't think he really believes in his words.

60. Anonymous1:59 am

The keris is the symbol of Malay existence, it should be regarded as such. Kerismudin incite the situation and make him looked like a panglima..panglima auwww kut?Kerismudin should now replace the keris with C4, he most definitely will get it easily...what are families for?

61. Anonymous2:01 am

as you have correctly described it Rocky, it was one of the most pathetic and insincerest apologies of the pernicious kind.

when a politician uses words like "if i had offended... when he is well aware that it did, only demonstrates the lowlife mentality and deceit that embodies within and of the distaste felt be those who witness this whole pride-laden spectacle.

and as to your comment that keris kissing is accepted by other communities as a common cultural practise.... i suggest you do further research from the people who are non-Malays.

even the Sikhs have a practice in their religious ritual in brandishing the sword, and so do the Chinese and Indians. many have chosen to relegate such demonstration within a closed and selective domain, namely in special circumstances that require it.

such outdated practices such as keris brandishing should be gradualy replaced by other expressions. when confrontational expressions are manifested in the name of culture and/or religion, it does not necessarily make it sacred.

culture and tradition are never etched in stone, unless the Malays still hold to the "biar mati anak, jangan mati adat" paradigm. some adats need to die a natural death while some children with new traditions and revisions of the old need to be cherished to live without being killed in the name of "adat".

this is not to say that we must all become so politically-correct, but that we have the highest good in mind with regard to those who do not embrace such convictions as valid or relevant in a muli-racial, multi-religous society.

if at all the Malay community insist on brandishing the keris in public funtions espcially among non-Malay, and non-Muslim peoples, then an equal right should be given to both Chinese, Indian, Kadazan, Iban and other ethnic groups of Malaysia to brandish their swords and ethnocentric battle cries and "hakka" as that of the indigenous Maori peoples.

then we can all as malaysians brandish our cultural battle cries, and in doing so we will discover one very significant thing - it is always easier to preach tolerance to those of another culture and ethnic background without necessarily respecting or inherently practising it

62. Anonymous6:45 am

Maybe Kerismuddin may also want get the facts right.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kris

63. "(I apologise) to the non-Malays for making them feel apprehensive about (the keris) symbol, and to the Malays for not being able to defend our symbol of heritage..."

He should refer to us Malaysians & apologise for thinking that we are stupid. His 'apology' seemed terpaksa. If he does not believe is his apology, don't say it but resign. Mr Minister, your leadership is shallow and seemed to be based on your old man's name. Grow up and be a man!

We will still remember this charade till the next election.

64. Anonymous2:40 pm

He should also apologise to the Malays and the Sultans for abusing the kris for his political ambition.

And why on Hisham..why not KJ..and not least Najib. He is public enemy no 1, when it comes to kris waving. No one will forget 1987.

Najib must never become PM

65. It is not the wielding of the keris that has become the issue. The way, the mood, the gesture and the body languange that speak of them all. Yes, during His Majesty's the YDA's installation the keris wss wielded and kissed. There was nothing wrong with that. Keris is a symbol of strength, courage and manhood to the Malays and there's nothing wrong with that. But I still remember way back in 1987 while I was at Padang Merbok in Kuala Lumpur how Najib Tun Abdul Razak wielded the keris and accompanied by shout that the keris would be soaked with Chinese blood if the Chinese were to continue to deny the 'Ketuanan Melayu'. This is what I mean by mood. The harmless keris is nothing but an instrument.

The way Hishamudin had wielded it that matters. Yes, we Iban also carry our swords everywhere we go but we never wielded it the way Hishamnudin did his unless we are going for a battle. Our 'duku Ilang' or the parang ilang is a symbol of our courage, strength and gallantry.

But of course to an Iban like myself, the way he (Hishamudin) had wielded it and followed by his shout, there is nothing to make me construe that he had got the courage and gallantry. The way he did it was just like like a coward devoid of any mark of a hero.

Nonetheless, I always enjoy the way Hang Tuah and hang Jebat fought with their keris as portrayed in Tan Sri P.Ramlee's movie. I think Hishamudin Tun Hussein should learn form that movie to emulate a real Malay hero and not just wielded the same with meaningless shout.

66. Anonymous4:24 pm

you are right. umno gives malays a bad name. satu belanga punya susu dah rosak. the whole world knows about this wielding story. only in umno, where stupidity rules. Bangang punya hisham.

67. Anonymous4:45 pm

Yes as an Indian I have great respect for the kris. But some wanted to show how powerful they are. Sorry to tell we are not scared nor cowed.

68. Anonymous4:51 pm

How true RocKy!!!
    It's not the act itself but the manner it was done, and let's not add that "war-cry" accompanying the waving frenzy...these people just don't learn, do they?

And SIL who had a hand in all these, is hiding behind whose bum at the mo?

69. Anonymous5:28 pm

Kerismudin, better use that keris to slaugther the pigs in sepang and anywhere in Malaysia....bathed with pig bloods...
    I hate pigs but some people still want to weight it on tolerance scale.. the pigs are filthy bunch of organic living sewerage truck that some people still consume as a source of protein and stand proud about it..

I think 'pigs weilding' is also offending the Malays...

...why anything from one side is consider offensive to others but not the other way around..? Cheap talk about equality...

eat shit.

70. Anonymous5:32 pm

People, beware. Non-Malays don't have a problem with the keris-wielding, they only have a problem with the statements that went with it. An apology for the act and not the words means master manipulators manipulate the Malays into thinking that the non-Malays do not like the keris-wielding. Keep your eyes open!!

71. Anonymous11:16 pm

To Anonymous 2:10PM,

From the way you've written or posted your comments, I gather that you are a Malay. Guess what, so am I.

What is wrong with the picture of Hishamuddin wielding a keris and thrusting it upwards into nothingness. Malays of all people should realize, what Hishamuddin's gesture actually meant. To me even without the chants of Malay superiority, the only thing I perceive it as, "A threat against those who oppose them".

Wearing your keris, to your blissful wedding is fine. Watching a pair of silat performers perform their "thang" while wielding silat is another thing.

Wielding a keris and thrusting it up in the air is at most disrepective of those who are not Malays.

It's all about racial and religious tolerance, and this should be the last thing you want to do, by a ""prominent"" UMNO/BN/M'sian Minister.

72. Anonymous11:20 pm

i agree with rocky. there is no to apologise about the use of keris. Its the manner how the not so intelligent individual use the keris that got people worked up.
    But he decided to apoligise after the tsunami taht hit Umno..its a shame that it took the tsunami to make him realise how DUMB he was.
    btw we heard that his pol sec akbar khan, another dungu, has opted out.

73. Keris wielding is no harm but what irritated the public was the way he did it.Nobody was threathened because he was just a weak human being.

People were irritated due to his arrogance and disrespecful,he did it once and he continued to do it without being told to cease doing it as if he was great like Alexander the great.

74. Anonymous9:06 am

This Najib fella,
    not only he offended the chinese.. but also the orang asli in pahang...
    he is a typical racist...a default mind set.. but many out there also among Malaysian are the same ..the only thing is that these people never made it public & everytime deny it..secretely cultivating dangerous ideology..

talk about silver spoon breed...lust for wealth, power & not to forget sex :P
    ..that's how these clowns were raised.. (that included Khairi & Hishamuddin too..)

75. I agreed, when can Rocky Bru be YB?
    Next GE13?

I am not offended by cultural related ceremony, what the Joker did was to show and to cause fear. What the joker did was term as "De-sensitized"

江山易改,本性难移

The joker will never change, let make sure we vote him out next (If no rigging of Vote lah)

Read my comment about it here:
    http://shiokguy.blogspot.com/2008/04/keris-apology.html

Shiok Guy

76. Apsal sampai kena mintak maaf ??? ... bukan ada yang terbunuh pun !! Keris is keris, sekadar lambang dalam mesyuarat parti Melayu je zaman sekarang ni, hunus pun depan Melayu yang jadik perwakilan bukan kat bangsa lain pun, yang lain lain tu tengok depan tv, apa ada hal.... adohhhhhhh laaaa

77. Anonymous10:58 pm

As you have correctly described it, Rockyfella, it was the most pathetic and insincerest apology of the pernicious kind. "(I apologise) to the non-Malays if they feel apprehensive and offended about (the keris) symbol, and to the Malays, I am ashamed for not being able to defend our symbol of heritage...the keris." The half-hearted apology is riddled with hypocrisy and arrogance; it's like an insult to Malaysians.

He should give us another two more apologies. One for not referring to us as Malaysians and also, say sorry for thinking that we are dumb and stupid. His 'apology' seemed such a superficial sham. If he does not believe in his apology, better don't say it. It belies the fact his leadership is shallow and seemed to bring the names of his ancestral forebears - Tun Hussein Onn and Dato Onn Jaafar - into ill-repute and disdain. The pathetic Minister of Education's father was a genteel leader and a much-loved figure for multi-racial goodwill and harmony. What Hishamuddin did would even cause his poor old man to turn in his grave.

The keris is a symbol of strength, courage and honour to the Malays and there's nothing wrong with that. But, people, do remember way back in 1987 at Padang Merbok in Kuala Lumpur, Najib Tun Abdul Razak did wield the keris up high, accompanied by shouts that the weapon would be soaked with Chinese blood if they continue to deny the Malays of 'Ketuanan Melayu'. The harmless keris was first manipulated by Najib Razak to hoodwink the Malays into thinking that the non-Malays were challenging their special rights. Now, the Malays are led to believe once again, this time by the honourable (really?) Minister of Education (also UMNO Youth Wing president) that the non-Malays do not like the keris-wielding (and this again is like denying the Malays of their special rights!). Folks out there, keep your eyes open and read between the lines.

The way Hishamuddin had wielded the keris is what that matters. Yes, even our Iban brothers of East Malaysia carry their swords everywhere they go, hunting for food or whatever, but they never wielded it the way Hishamnudin did. The Ibans believed they are more civilised now and don't go about beheading people anymore. The 'duku ilang' (or the parang ilang) is a symbol of their tribe's courage, strength and gallantry. Likewise, even the Indian Malaysians had great respect for the keris as an instrument of empowerment.

But some people like Hishamuddin wanted to show how arrogant and powerful they are. Sorry to tell no one is scared nor cowed by such childish pranks anymore. Every sane person will remember this charade. He should also apologise to the Malays and the Malay rulers for abusing the keris for his political ambition and naivete.It is not the wielding of the keris that has become the issue. The way, the mood, the gesture and the body language speak of his utter stupidity and the people who cheered him on in Umno-land.

And why on Hisham only, you may ask, why not KJ; and not least Najib Razak? The latter is Public Enemy No.1, when it comes to keris waving. Now we are suffering the explosive nightmares of C4 everywhere. But no one will forget 1987. Najib must never become PM. It's a clear and present danger to all of us.

The non-Malays in this country do not have a problem with the keris....we must learn to see things in its proper context. When the Agong does the act of kissing the keris, it is done in the context of tradition of the Malay monarchy. The keris is the symbol of Malay existence and pride, it should be duly regarded as such. The non-Malays have no argument against that. We are all steeped in traditions and cultural practices ourselves. We respect the Constitution of the country per se. But what Hishamuddin did, it was done in a very different and blatant context and atmospere. He did it in the UMNO Youth General Assembly where the non-Malays were made the bogey-men and scapegoats of the Malay's backwardness. This is what the non-Malays cannot accept. This buffoon of a son of a former Prime Minister is such a bloody joke, he doesn' even know it when he sounds contradictory and stupid. Maybe he knows that he is so stupid and that he assumes that that is a normal state of mind for himself that he goes on to assume that everyone else must also be the same. When a politician like the former Prime Minister's son uses words like "if i had offended...when in actual fact he did and of course he is well aware that it did, it only demonstrates the low-life mentality and deceit that embodies within and of the contempt and distaste felt be those who witnessed this whole egoist spectacle.

He expects that it is just the act of unsheathing the keris that is contentious. He completely ignores the fact that we also listen to, see on TV, and read all that crap that they say preceding the unsheathing of the keris and the atmosphere that was created culminating in the unsheathing of the keris.

These idiots and charlatans had done profound damage on the symbolism, heritage and tradition associated with the display of the keris. Umno had failed the Malay culture and customs big-time. Actually, they have failed to protect and uphold the honour of the keris. For these wretched keris-wielders to fully appreciate the pain and anguish their insane actions caused the non-Malays, they should shove the keris up their arse-holes and then give it a twist for effect.

It embarasses the Malays too for thinking their leaders are a shameless lot for insulting our Malay culture and heritage. In Japan, they would have commited "seppuku". Or worse still, cut off their screwballs.

After reading most of the comments in this blog article, my conclusion is for Hishamuddin to apologize to the venerable keris itself - the symbol of Malay honour and dignity. He has done a great disservice to the keris that will take years to un-do and disabuse. In my opinion, he has sinned against the keris! An apology for an issue perceived as the primary cause for BN's poor results in PRU12? Really! what about the other issues that caused so much disaffection and dissatisfaction amongst all Malaysians? Why aren't those issues addressed first and foremost. This apology and other actions/inactions so far are mere smoke screens behind the wielding of the keris!.

Hishamuddin, shame on you! It worries us when, foaming at the mouth, you scream blood with an unsheathed kris held on high. As the Minsietr of Education, how are we to disbuse our school-going kids to refrain from racial hatred and violence. No wonder hooliganism and bullying is on therise inside and outside our wretched school system. And that it comes about from seniors ministers and so-called leaders of the UMNO cohorts...like you, is doubly worrisome. We non-Malays have absolutely no problems with people waving and hoisting the keris around. We only have a problem when someone like you incites racial hatred and violence, and is being a racist bigot while doing so. Can you imagine what would happen if the roles were reversed. If a Chinaman had waved a sword at a public rally and threatened to soak it in Malay blood, we would have had another May 13 , pure and simple, no insult meant to our Malay brothers. That is what UMNO had wanted all along anyway. Do you still remember the Suqiu incident when some fascist Umno thugs threatened to want to burn the Selangor Chinese Assembly Hall, the Taiwan-based Chinese Malaysian student who changed the lyrics of the Negara-ku to befit the trying times we lived in ,and a lot of other racist incidents where threats were issued and you could see some people working themselves silly into a frenzy, frothing and foaming at the corners of their mouths, rolling their blood-shot eyes and screaming for blood. Sometimes it makes us wonder whether the Umnoputras are not rather irrational and insane people because of their childish and juvenile antics. For better or worse, we are all Malaysians and we are here to stay, so it's time for the morons of Umno-land to recognise and accept that this country is "tanah tumpahnya darahku" as we sang every Friday and Monday in our schools. Now, Mr. Najib, do we still bathe this sacred keris with the vile and impure Chinese blood that is swine-tainted and filled of "babi" pork fat.

There is no issue on the choice of any object or weapon as a party symbol. But it is inexcusable and indefensible for any leader or his supporters to use the symbol as a weapon to threaten violence on the very people who voted them in and those under their governance. I being a non-Muslim have no problem with the keris but waving of keris and talking rubbish is a VERY BIG AND SERIOUS problem no thanks to Najib Razak (and his stupid homo cousin) and their dump idea of bathing the keris in Chinese blood while waving it. Do you want us to believe the Islamic faith encouraged racial hatred and violence, Mr. Najib Tun Abdul Razak? This I must say will never be erased from the non-Malays brain. No amount of sorry, sincere or otherwise, can make it right ever again. We have seen so often the Yang Di Pertuan Agong kissing the keris and the only feeling we got for him was awe and respect. But when Hishamuddin, SIL KJ and the Mongol Slayer did it, it was with a totally different meaning and they kept reminding the other Malaysians to shut up and swallow whatever injustices thrown at them by threatening another bloody May 13. The ex Mamak PM was a kung-fu master in this racist strategy though he didn't wield a keris. Rumours had it that as a young naughty boy, his Kerala (India)-originated old man once threatened to shove a keris up his arse and twist it for good measure. That is why Mahathir hated the sight of a keris wherever he goes.This bozo Hishamuddin had wielded the keris many times, knowing fully well that each time he wielded the keris, he hurts the feelings of the non-Malays and he obviously enjoys the sight of their helplessness. Not only that he did not see the need to apologise, he had arrogantly continued to do so, ever so often, without regard to the feelings of the non-Malays.

Perhaps, if the BN had won the 12th GE big, such an apology is a non-issue to him? BTW, the keris has been around for a very long time and its significance to the Malays will continue with or without Hisham (or UMNO Youth) to brag about his impotence. Najib Razak should also apologise for wanting to bathe his keris in Chinese blood in the rally in 1987 that almost culminate in a race riot pitting the Malays against the non-Malays and thereafter became a convenient excuse for Mahathir to launch Operasi Lalang that stifled and destroyed our democratic institutions of a free press and an independent judiciary. Najib Razak was never punished for that one act and we will never forget that event.The non-Malays also dread the day he becomes PM. Didn't he start the tradition of threatening to spill Chinese blood in UMNO? Maybe he is still waiting for the opportunity to do so again. Maybe that is why he is stirring up racial tension in Selangor over the 'babi issue'.

OK, WE WILL ACCEPT AN APOLOGY IF HE, NAJIB RAZAK DO A HARA-KIRI WITH HIS KERIS...WE DO NOT NEED HIM AS THE NEXT PM! BETTER IF HE USE C4 on HIMSELF B4 HE DO IT 2 US.

Hishammuddin did the right thing by apologising but his action loses much of its impact when, in the very next breath, he apologised to the Malays for his failure to uphold the Malay symbol. Or did he do it for obvious political reasons? Talking of stealth and subterfuge, maybe he is trying to deflect blame onto the Malays for the loss and near-defeat suffered by UMNO in the recent election? Is this a pre-emptive move as he may want to stand for a VP post - playing to the racist gallery once again? People, watch his next sinister move.

By qualifying his apology, his sincerity has become suspect. Even those detractors, who were prepared to forgive, now, also, sense the apology is given very begrudingly. The politician in him carries more sway than the sense of human decency in him. Politicians will always be politicians, they cannot see beyond their own egos. To all our Malay brothers, we have to understand why the keris has evolved to become an offensive symbol. There's nothing wrong with the keris but how the keris is wielded and manipulated to serve a hideous political agenda by racist Umnoputra bigots. Why the sandiwara when he is so reluctant? If the wretched BN regime had won, does it mean it is not necessary to say sorry? It all boils down to sincerity. If it is Ketuanan Melayu they seek, why even bother? It is a big slap on the face for the Malays they proclaim to protect.

For that matter if Ong Ka Ting decides to put on two "six-footer" red-roasted pig for display at the front lobby entrance to Wisma MCA and bring out his broad wu-shu sword in the annual MCA General Assembly meeting and swing himself around like a berserk madman... and asking for Malay blood...I will be the first to tell him to please f*ckoff. BTW, it is ancient Chinese custom to display a red-roasted pig or two at the front entrance whenever there is a big festival. Then only the rich can afford it. But as it is now, we seldom or rarely do so. The tradition itself is dying away with the new generations of Chinese Malaysians.

I bet we have ever seen or heard during the installation of any Sultan (and Agong) their Majesties drawing the keris and asking for the blood of their subjects. It is unthinkable to equate Hishamuddin's antics with royalty. As for the Agong doing it, kissing the keris, if anyone noticed his installation which was broadcast over National Geographic, the Agong did not do the norm this round. All he did was just to raise the keris above his head without taking it out. No kissing or waving or talking rubbish! Now, that is what I call a sensitive Agong who is very aware what he should (and should not do) to his subjects and all the people around the world watching his becoming the supreme ruler of our proud country. He did not send out the wrong message with the keris. Did he say: "with thy keris, I thee slaughter"?

Sad to say,what we have are pirates and bandits for leaders in those wretched UMNOputras and their impotent BN goons. They commit all sorts of crimes and acts of debauchery and they turn around and say, we do all this for you, the Malays.... we protect your Malay rights....Thanks or no thanks to them for equalling all their greed and lust with Malay rights and "Ketuanan Melayu". Now everyone looks dirty on Malay rights. These bastards really put our Malay brothers in a quandary.

People were pissed off not because of the display of the keris but the manner of conduct in Hishamuddin's speech. He just didn't get it. His unrefined and uncouth behaviour at all past UMNO assemblies should be righteously condemned by all peace-loving Malaysian irrespective of race, colour or creed.

I am neither racist nor trying to incite hateful sentiments by condemning him. As for me, the keris is very much the symbol and tradition of our Malay brothers. Some are baffled that the non-Malays see the keris as a threat. They wonder does the non-Malays also want the wielding of the keris and the "kissing the keris" protocol to be scrapped during installation of the Agung and other Malay rulers also? To tell the truth, the non-Malays have absolutely no right to protest the sanctity of the existence of the keris. They do recognise the keris as a royal symbol of the Malay's existence and dignity.

It is however the context or attitude with which the keris was wielded, and the nature of the response it drew (recall: "Bila Dato' nak gunakan keris tu?") that is the source of dismay and uneasiness among the non-Malays. It is the context in which it was wielded that was deemed to be insensitive and offensive. It became so offensive that the current Agong DID NOT even bother to unsheathe the keris during his coronation, and didn't even kiss it while it was sheathed. His Majesty just raised it up respectfully with both hands. It is utter disrespect and stupidity by Hishamuddin that made our Agong decided to forego a long-cherished royal tradition and custom. Can you imagine the conflict and consternation His Royal Highness must have endured just because of the silly antics of a racist politician? Our dear Agung rightfully deserved to raise the keris unsheathed as it symbolised a true warrior who uphold fairness, justice and the truth...in the context of being the supreme ruler of all the peoples of this beloved country of ours. Leave the 'heritage symbol' of raising the keris to our Agong and let the Malays use the keris as tradition dictates at weddings and cultural events.

Non-Malays understand what the keris meant to the Malay community BUT wretched Umno goons like Hishamuddin, Khairy and Najib Razak sent out the wrong signals and imbue negative vibes. It is Umno politics of abusing the keris to wave it in front of the non-Malays and arrogantly screaming 'Ketuanan Melayu' that irked and unsettled the non-Malays. The point in question about Hishamuddin's act, was clearly a demonstration of power, ego and threat. His apology was not, I repeat NOT sincere. He gave in 10% and wanted to take back 100%. A typical racist he is and you just can't change a leopard's spots. Kalau begini sikap dan mentaliti pemimpin UMNO, yang dihitung pemimpin besar komuniti Melayu, then they are very dangerous people because they foster racist and divisive mentalities amongst the Malays, especially the youths! Bila UMNO nak berubah? Atau kalah lagi di PRU13?

The keris itself was never a problem, nor is the act of displaying it. Its cultural meaning and value is obvious. The display of the keris is purely to symbolise the Malay spirit or "semangat", given that UMNO is a Malay nationalist political party, may be understandable. But then again, the intent with which it was raised and what Hishamuddin was implying is highly questionable, and seemed racially insensitive. He may have wanted to inspire enthusiasm or seek political mileage, but certainly not at the expense of other ethnic groups or by making it seem that it is alright to be racially insensitive.

I have no problem if they wave the keris as a customary object, but not when some MPs asked when it was going to be used, surrounded by frenzied applause reminiscent of a 1940s Nazi Party rally. This means it was waved in such a manner as to incite racial hatred and violence. As a Malaysian, we must accept and appreciate everybody's unique customs and traditions. Remember the chief minister of Sarawak when he goes to visit an Iban longhouse is even given a spear to spike at a piglet. That's how far goodwill and racial understanding in that State has evolved. In peninsular Malaysia, that would have caused a race riot or even a holy war. The problem with Hishamuddin is that he wielded the keris and uttered insanely racist statements which really were part of the reasons why BN failed miserably to win the two-thirds majority they desperately hoped for. What is wrong with the picture of Hishamuddin wielding a keris and thrusting it upwards into nothingness. Malays of all people should realize, what Hishamuddin's arrogant gesture actually meant. To me even without the chants of Malay superiority (Ketuanan Melayu), the only thing I perceive it as, "A threat against those who oppose us, we are UMNO - protectors of the Malays".It's all about racial and religious tolerance, and this should be the last thing you want to do, by a prominent UMNO/BN Minister.

Even during the Yang Di Pertuan Agung's installation, the keris was wielded and kissed with respect as tradition dictates. There was nothing wrong with that. The people of Malaysia, meaning all of us, respect the Agung. For when he kisses the keris, he tells us that by doing so he pledges to uphold the laws of this country and to exercise his powers fairly and justly, without fear or favour.

People, let's learn to disabuse ourselves of the political machinations manipulated and imposed upon the sanctity of the honourable keris. A symbol of respect and honour in the land of Malaysia. Daulat Tuanku. Daulat Malaysia. Tanah tumpahnya darahku.

Note: The above long-winded stuff is Wiki-ed from all you good folks' comments. Thanks, people.

78. Anonymous11:02 am

if a keris weilding jihadist is witnessed by the rakyaat brandishing his keris and postulating it in a manner that he is passionate and provocative in the sense to draw blood of some perceived "enemies" of the "kaum and marauh Melayua", what are the non_malay, non-Muslim rakyat to make out of it?

are we to go back to the mainstream media or television and say to ourself Ameen? anti-Chinese and anti-Indian and anti-Malaysian ethnicity bashing and bullying is not an issue any quarter can justify in the name of political-correctness or so-called national unity.

it is the mark of a vibrant democracy to condemn veiled threats against non-Malay races, and/or religous groups.

Just as Malays and Muslims take threats against their race and faith seriously, the feelings and rights of non-Malay and non-Muslim Malaysian must not be taken for granted.

the whole excercise of Hishamuddin's apology was insincere and impotent. it was liken to the practice of cutting a people's nose and giving them a rose to smell.

Umno and Barisan Nasional politcians need a crash course on etiquitte and more importantly how to convey a sincere apology without making it stink like clandestine belacan.

79. Anonymous11:09 am

What a pity there will be no keris-wielding in December or in future. It is the keris-wielding and rabble rousing that got UMNO clobbered by the votes. It is the keris-wielding that got BN to lose their two-third majority.

I say, go on, wayang some more. More call for shedding on Chinese blood. Then UMNO will be history...