Tuesday, March 25, 2008

Adik-Abang in MCA

Ka Ting hands over to Ka Chuan. MCA president Ong Ka Ting's refusal to accept any Cabinet post after MCA's poor showing in the PRU12 may have conveniently paved the way for his Abang, Ong Ka Chuan, to be appointed to one [here]. It so happened that the Prime Minister has made Ka Chuan the Housing and Local Governments Minister, the Adik's former portfolio.

In the meantime, Ka Ting will focus on rebuilding, reshaping, redefining MCA until his term as president expires in 2012. By that time, Ka Chuan would have enough Cabinet experience. He may even decide to make way for someone else to fill up his Secretarty-General post while he moves up.

Will there be another Adik-Abang handover in 2012?

39 comments:

1. What's so special about this Ministry?

Special interest?

Not enough tsunami, aah?

2. Anonymous2:27 am

in MCA they have adik-abang, people can accept.

in DAP, they have father-son-wife, people can accept

in UMNO, they have FIL-SIL, and they call it chronies. Why cant they accept?

3. Adalah dimaklumkan portal internet Mykmu.net berhasrat untuk mengadakan
    satu forum ilmu untuk membicarakan keadaan UMNO selepas pilihan raya
    umum
    2008 lalu.
    Umum mengetahui dalam pilihan raya lalu, UMNO dan Barisan Nasional
    kehilangan majoriti besar di kebanyakan kawasan dan tewas di lima buah
    negeri.

Justeru forum ini ingin melihat perspektif UMNO terhadap kekalahan yang
    lalu, faktor kekalahan dan apakah perubahan-perubahan yang perlu dibuat
    untuk mengembalikan keyakinan rakyat terhadap UMNO dan Barisan
    Nasional.
    Forum ini akan diadakan mengikut butiran berikut:
    Tarikh : 1 APRIL 2008
    Masa : 9.00 pagi
    Tempat : Hotel Singgahsana, Petaling Jaya
    Ucaptama : Ybhg. Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad.

Cadangan Panelis Forum:

Moderator:
    Datuk Ahmad A. Talib

1. YB. Datuk Seri Dr. Mohamad Khir bin Toyo
    Ahli Majlis Kerja Tertinggi UMNO, merangkap ADUn Sungai Panjang

2. YB. Datuk Dr. Mukhriz Mahathir
    EXCO Pemuda UMNO Malaysia merangkap Ahli Parlimen Jerlun

3. YB Datuk Dr. Fuad Zarkashi, Ketua Penerangan UMNO Johor

4. no issue here, bro. If OKC performs well and MCA does equally so, there's every chance we get to see both brothers in the cabinet. that is IF, BN gets it right the next GE around.

5. Anonymous2:53 am

HALLO, THIS COUNTRY BELONG TO THE RAKYAT.... IS POLITICS A FAMILY BUSINESS? THE RAKYAT ALREADY SHOW THEY ARE SICK OF THIS CRONYISM.... NOW THE PM DOES IT AGAIN !!!! WHAT IS WRONG WITH U MORONS !!!!!!

6. Anonymous3:33 am

yoda, because SIL did this:

http://www.theedgedaily.com/cms/content.jsp?id=com.tms.cms.article.Article_d7f07895-cb73c03a-6691da00-963b375d

7. Anonymous3:34 am

yoda, because SIL did this:

http://www.theedgedaily.com/cms/content.jsp?id=com.tms.cms.article.Article_d7f07895-cb73c03a-6691da00-963b375d

8. Anonymous3:38 am

The idea is that the two brothers will take turn to become president of MCA until they retire and then their sons will take over from them.

9. Anonymous5:27 am

Err.. Rocky..

What about father and son relationship in DAP? :-)

Malay Women in Malaysia

10. Anonymous6:50 am

I RATHER LIKE KA CHUAN'S DEMEANOUR AND HE SPEAKS WELL. LET'S GIVE THE GUY A CHANCE.

NEPOTISM IS A PROTECTIVE MECHANISM BY WHICH ONE TAKES INTO ONE'S POWER CIRCLE TRUSTED MEMBERS OF THE FAMILY. CRONYISM IS WHEN ONE DISTRIBUTES FAVOURS TO ONE'S FRIENDS.

AS A CHARACTERISTIC OF HUMAN SOCIETY I FIND IT UNDERSTANDABLE.

WHO DO YOU TRUST BUT THE CLOSEST MEMBERS OF YOUR FAMILY - SON, BROTHER, FATHER?

WHO DO YOU HELP BUT YOUR CLOSEST FAMILY AND FRIENDS?

PROVIDED OF COURSE THEY HAVE ALL THE NECESSARY QUALIFICATIONS, AND THEY STAND IN LINE LIKE THE REST OF US!

A QUESTION TO ASK IS DO YOU DENY FAMILY AND FRIENDS THEIR DEMOCRATIC AND LEGAL RIGHTS JUST BECAUSE THEY ARE CLOSE TO YOU?

11. Anonymous7:04 am

Luckily for the Political Tsunami or we would see a lot of such politics starting from PM with the Father-in-law & Son-in-law, Papa to Son in LKY Gerekan and so the LLS's MCA.

12. The Multi-Racial Malaysia would have been a wonderful place to live in if words-actions of hatred among the people are nicked in the bud.

Sadly, MCA have failed in the last 50 years to stand up to the Big-Brother policy makers when discriminatory policies are used widely.

Sadly, such culture of TOEING THE LINES SO AS TO KEEP HIGH POSITION SAFE, are long practiced by MCA.

The Genetic seeds helming the party further ingrained such POSITION CLAMOURING culture in the whole of MCA further, for many more years.

MCA would continue to be a SALESMAN FOR PACIFIER, whenever UMNO introduce and implement whatever discriminatory policy, so that they could be recognised as GOOD-BROTHER.

MCA would continue to ignore the frustrations, and unhappiness of the people, so as to remain MIGHTILY SAFE within Barisan.

The people welcome a bigger tsunami, to wipe out clean the RACIST doggys of UMNO.

13. MCA has never changed since its formation days in the premerdeka days.
    You must have "Guanxi" (good relationship)to get financial aids,scholoarships,positions and
    etc.
    What OKT did to OKC is just another proof to the public that,in MCA, "guanxi" overrides everythings.

14. Anonymous8:54 am

I have no issue with so-called family dynasties,provided each family member has gone through political baptism on their own merit. Those who are capable will survive and prosper on their own, those less so may not. Those living on their family name and connections will soon be weeded out when put to the ultimate test - public acceptance. Natural selection is such that no one family can continuously throw up superior genes forever.

15. Anonymous9:13 am

Lim Guan Eng, Lim Kit Siang, Betty Lim also anak beranak lah in Parliament. WHY they can and MCA Cant. Also itu Karpal Singh and his son also and Datin Wan Azizah and her daughter ALL Can what?

16. Anonymous9:59 am

Anyone can be a Minister in M'sia even without the qualifications...all you need is a brotherlah to take care of you..

What about that WEE KA SIONG ? Can't even write a proper letter in English...deputy education...some education policy we will see.

Not to mention corruption practises before the GE 2004. I am sure he has not stop since...only a matter of time the past will catch up with you, WEE...in the meantime sleep well...

17. i am disgusted with the ong brothers' passing of batons... however, i think the father and son thing in DAP is not an issue as i can read and see for myself - that they are really trying to improve the state of this country and are definitely better than the rest (of the FIL and SIL and DIL and etc)!?!

LKS and LGE should not be compared with the rest of these people like the ongs and the SIL.

on another note, i am very disappointed to read that PKR is accepting MPs from UMNO who wants to jump ship. :( that sucks.... i feel the imminent formation of another BN.... :(

how can PKR say that the voters will not feel betrayed (cause all they want is change)? well, i wanted a change in new faces, new spirit. not former BN MPs who can't live without power and position. PKR.... why lah?

18. Anonymous10:08 am

Dear Yoda,

that is bcoz SIL is a racist bastard and after one thing only, that is to be a PM. he married Nori not bcoz he truly love her but bcoz he wanted to become PM. he has hidden agenda. my god!! FIL is really sleeping. even normal rakyat like us know this and he doesn't. Nori, for malaysian's sake, pls leave that bastard. he is no good for you. u deserve better. a true gentleman.

u know how many of my friends plan to leave the country if he ever become a Prime Minister.

19. Anonymous10:58 am

Only Capable & Ethical to be chosen!
    ====================================
    Then it doesn't matter FIL or SIL, Father-Son-Wife, or Brotherhood involved.
    OKT & OKC are not in this category!!
    PM to allow OKC in is surely not Capable too!
    Will OKC chase after the defaults of OKT on abandon projects?
    ----------
    Abandon Project - 2004
    http://hba.org.my/articles/buyer_watch/2006/blind.htm
    227 housing projects abandoned involving 75,356 houses worth RM7 billion
    http://hba.org.my/articles/buyer_watch/2006/buck.htm
    2,326 housing projects abandoned during the course of the Eighth Malaysia Plan
    ----------

To put three Acts (HDA, STA, Building Common Property Maintenance & Management Act(2006))into one as in Singapore which started already in 2004?
    “Building Maintenance and Strata Management Act 2004″ http://statutes.agc.gov.sg/non_version/cgi-bin/cgi_legdisp.pl?actno=2004-ACT-47-N

To Chase after the Bully of Local Government in Manipulating the Reserved Land and those officers involved?
    Such as for Subang Jaya
    - the Subang Ria Park
    - the 58.3 ha of the Reserved Land
    - the Club house of Wangsa Baiduri that gone into an Hotel?

WILL OKC DO IT?
    Then at least OKT, LHB will have to be caught!!
    And many who have malpractice in Land Alienation with many of UNMO/BN in!!

OKC had started barking instead of doing his work!
    http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2008/3/13/election2008/20631398&sec=election2008
    so he is the same kind of OKT!

OKT had gone but his Shadow remains!!
    (Cannot say "his Soul remains" as that had long been sold!!)

20. Anonymous11:13 am

MCA are nothing but a bunch of running dogs.

21. Anonymous11:14 am

"LKS and LGE should not be compared with the rest of these people like the ongs and the SIL."

----- LGE was even ISAed for the sake of this country, how dare you compare him with the other??????????

22. Anonymous11:20 am

Correct, correct, correct. MCA must redefine its role to meet the changing times. It cannot just confine itself to playing the welfare role to the Chinese community, or to quenching each of the fires fanned up by the UNMO ultras. In its current form, the community perceives it as a gutless and voiceless partner in the BN, tagging along with the whims and fancies of the arrogant UMNO. Last but not least, it has to realise that the Chinese community now regards the chocolate it dishes out each time there is an election as an insult to their intelligence.

23. Anonymous11:23 am

Salam Bro, off-topic - I refer to your earlier post on 'fire fighting' by pm, with ref to the terengganu saga.

The most sensible comment to-date came from Ku Li - is it possible to publish his media statement (24/3) in full? The Star had a super condensed version, as expected.

24. Anonymous11:32 am

PAK LAH : OK, GUYS GE12 CARNIVAL IS OVER & THOSE IDIOTS RAKYAT GAVE US ANOTHER 5 YEARS...

LETS GO ON WITH OUR 'RASUAH'ING...

http://universitipts.com/index.php/site/comments/f1_lego_depco/

25. Anonymous11:46 am

bro, there is a possibility of another handing over to 'Ong' family.

Looking at the current population pattern, chinese represents only 26% of total malaysian population as compared to malay, 65%. Their voice is getting outnumbered.

This is not to discount their importance in malaysia, but back to the issue above, mca needs firm control and to be strong enough to face any type of tsunami in the future. they need a good clan to hold the chinese community together.Could be 'ong', 'wong', 'koh' or who knows.

Just like the old days, how they formed a bank in malaya like kwong yik bank. socially, they are much more dynamic as compared to malay society.

However, this trend of family politic can also be transformed into another disasterous result.

UMNO for example, is a perfect definition of 'KA PUT'. Power, money and corruption are becoming their main course. These monkeys are still browsing through a dictionary since 1957 looking for meaning of 'unity', the word they used to identify themselves. Finally, they found keris.

26. Families ties, friendship and connections
    Reality in the any episode of a journey
    One can’t forget; one can’t simply ignore
    This is the way where passing baton to run a company

Likewise in politics
    Nobody wants to pass the gravy train spot to someone else
    It is always back to relationship knowing the rules
    The wealth that sprinkle into the eyes

One can agree
    It is done for the people
    Without monetary rewards
    It is service to humanity
    Bridging the needs of the poor
    Helping to balance the right and wrong

One shouldn’t agree
    When it is for personal well being
    When one wants to lord over others
    When one wants the power to enslave
    Then it shouldn’t be allowed to form
    As the foundation to represent………

MCA only fights for wealth
    On position and power game
    Look at their leaders
    It is greed of power
    And titled names…………..

MCA leaders don’t fight
    As Dr Ling said before
    MCA worked quietly behind back doors
    To me MCA is a toothless tiger
    Now the people gave them a few shots
    These leaders run into the jungle

It is time they forget about race party
    Learn the lessons in the GE12 poll
    It has come to a single base entity
    A party for all Malaysians

27. Anonymous12:06 pm

amanda is right, the opposition should not accept people from BN. These people did not have strong principles of life, and PKR wants them to lead the party members? OMG!

28. Anonymous12:35 pm

ha2, okc the next MCA president. teh next storm is coming. once the new state government compiles all the information, its exposure time. lets see how the BN politicinas gonna defend themselves. missing documents not gonna help them much.
    adios amigo, ong dynasty. you guys have screwed the rakyat long enough. time to bade farewell.

29. Anonymous1:28 pm

It is acceptable to have family members if they are capable. They must be clean from any corruption, bias, misuse of power and etc. However, we all know full well that in the govt, when you have the position, you will gain material wealth from means that is not right. You will decide who will get the contract and etc. So, we should not encourage that in govt.

30. Anonymous1:49 pm

When okt became mca's president, he appointed his dear brother okc mca's secretary-general, Perak mca chairman, principal of mca's School of Political Studies, etc...now Minister...MCA memebers must be stupid to accept this.

31. Anonymous2:02 pm

Nothing wrong with family ties in politics. Son of famous politician generally gets instant recognition and that is useful. However they have to climb up properly, not get plucked out of obscurity and be given a top post. Never even heard of SIL or OKT's brother, and then next thing you know, they are top guns. Not the same with LKY / LKS / Karpal's offsprings, and rightful to be pissed of by it.

By the way, just want to take this opportunity to express my personal opinion, SIL is a scum.

32. Anonymous3:01 pm

3 gerakan hotshot eyeing the Chief Minister post. each tries to present himself with humility. behind the scenes, the power brokers were working overtime trying to put their man on the job.
    but, never in their mind, the ultimate deciders are the rakyat. 3 of them were booted out.
    Ong junior can plan but the landmines are too many for the elder to evade. lets see what comes out with the years of abuse of state resources from the BN politicians. viola, dont be surprise there be a bombshell and elder Ong has to go.

33. Abang - Adik political game we all know way before 2007 MCA election already...

Chua Soi Lek got wallop with one-Dong and gone for good; no more threatening Abang - Adik.

Coming 2012, MCA will no longer be relevant. Then you may see Samy Velu as President of MCA.

In Malaysian political scene, anything can happen... Samy Velu can become MCA President, but I cannot wait to see Ong Ka Chuan sitting in MIC General Assembly as its President.

We wait and see... for year 2012!

34. Anonymous7:51 pm

Rockfella,

I have said it before and I shall say it again. Ong Ka Ting is currently helming the breakaway faction, Team A2. He has stealthily put all his cronies in place at every strategic position before GE12. He has usurped the power base of Ling Liong Sik who installed him a lackey with the former ex MCA head honcho playing the role of puppet master bent on putting his son in power at a later stage, understudying Chua Soi Lek.

Ong Ka Ting is smart enough to see through the wheelings and dealings, and being an ambitious man himself after tasting power and fame, decided he is not about to give in to his former boss's demands. Dr. Chua Soi Lek's downfall, the guy was meant to be MCA President after Ong Ka Ting cedes leadership control, is entirely "engineered" by Ong Ka Ting and his goons.

Currently the other faction, Team B (with the departure of Chan Kong Choy) is docile and weak. Only Ong Tee Keat may be able to put up a struggle to put paid Ong Ka Ting's plans to install his own brother on the throne. Will Ong decides to do battle? Let's watch how the political power-play unfolds this coming MCA general assembly.

As far as we ordinary citizens are concerned, this country remains mired in NEPOTISM, CRONYISM AND CORRUPTION AND THE MCA IN ITS PRESENT INCARNATION IS NO EXCEPTION whatever they tried to do to pull wool over our eyes. It is presently a spent force, post GE12.

35. Anonymous8:12 pm

Food for thoughts.

Which father and son team(@dynasty, brothers team, SIL, FIL team etc) jail or arrested under ISA????

a. UMNO b. BN c. opposition d. none of the above.

36. Anonymous8:26 pm

Ong ka Ting and Ong ka Chuan hold the record of being the biggest adik/abang bodek/ampu team of Pak Lah.

37. Anonymous8:33 pm

want to know why ka ting pass baton to ka chuan for the post as Ministry of housing n local gomen??? look around and yoy will get the answer...

38. Anonymous12:12 pm

Ka chuan will lose in the next election. The Porn video dr will see to that.

39. Anonymous3:46 pm

Since the administrative capital of the country is Putrajaya ((which was carved out from the state of Selangor, anyway) why not return the so- called Wilayah Persekutuan Kuala Lumpur backed to Selangor.

For all intend and purpose the capital of Malaysia is Putrajaya, like Canberra to Australia.

Then we solve two major issues;
    1. We do not need Kementerian WP. If that Zulhisham insist he continue to be the Minister, them move his office and scope of operation to Labuan.
    2. We do not need to elect a Mayor.