Sunday, February 17, 2008

Statesman Mahathir

M for mobbed. Harakah and TVSmith were both there and impressed by the reception this Malaysian statesman received yesterday.
Here for TV's pictures; here for Harakah's report.

41 comments:

1. I was there. Must be one of the most inspiring speech on that subject.

Here is my account of it.

Dr Mahathir Told Muslims to Acknowledge Their Fault

2. Syeikh At Tantawi, the Azhar University Rector was there at UIA.

He happened to be in Malaysia for the Azhar Alumni Multaqa. God, he endorsed Islam Hadhari. Fine, it is okay conceptually.

Here is my take on Islam Hadhari.

Dato Seri, What is Civilisational about Islam Hadhari?

He wants to campaign on Islam Hadhari but how many of us actually understand Islam Hadhari.

3. Anonymous11:51 am

M for Marvellous!

4. Anonymous11:59 am

here is a link from mykmu forummer..
    http://hangdunking.blogspot.com/

5. Anonymous12:34 pm

Maybe you're looking it at a different angle. It could be Islam Ada Had Ada Hari !

6. Anonymous12:36 pm

Did I hear him correctly regarding Ulama's interpretationof Quran? But isn't it he too was part of the problem (in Malaysia)? Didn't he interpretate the constitution to suit his political agenda? Like declaring this his Islamic State or the various amendment to suit his agenda.

7. Anonymous12:40 pm

Pak Rocky

I have just one comment on TDM's time as PM.

It is neatly encapsulated in a full-page report in today's Singapore Sunday Times - "Judging Lingam - Testimony about judge-fixing leaves KL judiciary's reputation in tatters".

As a loyal Malaysian, I am ashamed to read something like this in a prominent regional newspaper.

In a comment on TDM, the report said:

"...Tun Dr Mahathir was dragged into the storm because many lawyers and political observers privately blame him for allegedly destroying the integrity of the judiciary during his 22 years in power.

"They claim the independence of the judiciary began to erode after he sacked the respected chief justice (then called lord president) Tun Salleh Abbas, and two Supreme Court justices in 1988..."

TDM may have done many good things for Malaysia, but this single action in the case of Salleh Abbas has had far-reaching repercussions on what happened in Malaysia post-1988. The fallout is still continuing.

And in a sign that the government is not too bothered about the Royal Commission of Inquiry, the report quoted an aide to Pak Lah (Datuk Wan Farid Salleh, a political secretary to the PM) as saying:

"If you go to a village and talk about Lingam, they will probably ask you whether he is an Indian movie star".

If this is indeed the attitude of the rural grassroots to such a key issue as the judiciary, the bedrock of Umno support, then this election is going to be a big non-event, no matter how much the opposition huffs and puffs.

Sad, isn't it?

8. Anonymous3:37 pm

Why does so many people treat TDM with such awe and respect, think of him as some hero.
    All these problems were started by him,
    The only thing I can give a little respect to him is that at least he has some fairness.
    Judge appointments (see Lingam), Money politics, Enriching his cronies, and more.
    If he has done great for our nation we should be even bigger or greater economically than S’pore, as we have much, much more and greater natural resources than S’pore.
    Why compare with our other corrupted neighbouring countries for.
    Can’t even beat a tiny nation of 2 million.
    Even now he still wants BN to rule despite their inadequacies, corruptions, failures.
    Still defend using the ISA. He should be ISAed for all the misdeeds he done – see how he likes the ISA then.
    Sickens me to see such ‘hero’ admired.

9. Saya kira kita semua merasa kehilangan YABhg Tun Dr Mahathir, seorang yang berbicara sesuatu secara jujur dan berterus-terang. Cara ini memudahkan rakyat memahami tindakan kerajaan. Sekurang-kurangnya YABhg Tun membuatkan kita faham dan appreciate sesuatu keputusan, walaupun kita mungkin tidak bersetuju dengan keputusan itu. YABhg Tun, teruskanlah berbicara. Salam.

10. Anonymous7:37 pm

anonymous 3:37 PM

You are conveniently forgetting the fact that Singapore is a compact city-state, almost ethnically homogeneous, with no significant rural sector or pockets of abject poverty.

Sure, Malaysia could have progressed faster if the governments after Merdeka had concentrated development efforts on the major towns, cities and urban areas and let the rural areas/agricultural sector slide into oblivion.

Maybe the Klang Valley and Penang would be on par with Singapore by now.

But what of the rest of the country?

How do you bridge the urban-rural divide and ensure that all sectors of the population benefit from economic development?

Or are you saying that the free market and unfettered capitalism should rule and that the weaker, less qualified, educated and less capable should be pushed to the wall and marginalised?

Make no mistake, Malaysia is not an easy country to administer.

You can benchmark yourself against Singapore, but never make the mistake of thinking that Malaysia and Singapore are the same. They are not. And the sooner we get rid of that romantic fiction, the better.

11. Anonymous7:47 pm

i suspect after Suharto's death, the old man is a different man (his attitude towards ulama is a real change than it was during his prime time)

but I also suspect that the text was written by some IIUM ulamas (the university that hosted the talk)

12. Anonymous7:59 pm

'Dr Mahathir Told Muslims to Acknowledge Their Faults' as you can read in http://malaysianunplug.blogspot.com/2008/02/why-barisan-nasionals-two-third-23.html

Dr. Mahathir should in fact acknowledge his faults during cross examine in RCI for Lingam video.

Apparently, he forgot his 'Meminpin Melalui Teladan'.

13. Anonymous9:16 pm

anon 3:37PM.. well..y dont u just migrate to spore if u love it so much..

14. Anonymous9:35 pm

Mamak Tongkang is what he is - Mamak Tongkang - nothing more - nothing less.

why the damn big hype - a crook is a crook - why glorify him - just because he recognises and critisices another crook - everyone is idolising him!

Mamak Tongkang is the mother of all misfortunes of this nation - he criminalised honesty, intergrity and fidelity.

devilsadvocate

15. Anonymous9:56 pm

He's a living legend...people will remember him for the next 100 years

16. Anonymous11:04 pm

Mahathir was once called a Firaun, a terrible name to call any Muslims, for his rule.
    Listening to him postulate about interpreting the Quran is like dropping into any clinic with a male muslim doctor and asking their opinion.
    They may be doctors but quranic interpretation is a science by itself and these doctors, the one from Alor Setar coutned, may not be the most qualified person to discuss it.
    Just because he has read the quran in English or Malay does not make him an expert and qualified to discuss it further.
    Dr, Leave the interpreting of the quran to those who know what they are doing, don't get too full of of yourself..it can rub off on your children, daughters are especially susceptible

17. Anonymous11:50 pm

Sudahlah, statesman apa,

telling other people acknowledge mistake, dia tu patut di kepala barisan.... mengaku dulu hang tu punya silap yang kita Malaysia jadi teruk dengan politik wang, dan rasuah dan segala masalah....kalau tak mau mengaku tok sah dok celupar buka mulut suruh orang lain mengaku silap... Orang PAS dah lama cakap dah benda ni... ilmuan Islam dari negara lain pun dah lama cerita dah benda ni, bukan benda baru yang hang cakap tu , tak payahlah nak tunjuk pandai pulak...

Rocky, kat mana yang great sangat seruan orang tua ni? tak mau seru dia mengaku silap dia dulu ka?

18. Anonymous12:20 am

Hidup Tun!

Now, what is statesman in BM, anyone?

19. Anonymous5:28 am

tommy asked... Now, what is statesman in BM, anyone?

Negarawan.

yang satu-satunya!

20. Anonymous6:07 am

statesman = negarawan

21. Anonymous7:37 am

Statesman, what happened to "masa Nabi mana ada gillete", the cruel axing of ulama Dato Ishak Baharum, the scores of innocents unjustly incarcerated under ISA to bow down to Bush and the families and businesses destroyed as a result wthout a second thought because despite the bravado, still have to lick the US shoes...

Yes, no family political dynasty, but who need one, when you have a huge family EMPIRE built from daddy being PM..Kencana, MISC bailout guna duit rakyat, pembinaan Sepang F1 which is now a private racetrack built with OUR rakyat's money for Mirzan and Azman and geng to race their expensive cars on weekends, and etc2?

What about the inaction against the corrupt Umno and BN members during his tenure? What about the expose on the shameless manipulation and pimping of the judiciary?

What about all that? Are we going to just forgive and forget? Because we are reaping what was sowed now. Macam kita didik anak cara salah, lepas tu dah teenager, dah ada cucu, baru nak bentuk balik? Sorila...dah terlambat.

Tantawi is tantamount to..well I better not say it, buat dosa kering je. But we all know what Tantawi is about. Bacalah sendiri:

http://www.answers.com/topic/muhammad-sayyid-al-tantawi-4

22. Anonymous8:00 am

This Mamakthir had screwed up our democratic system big time and now Malaysia is in a despotic country.

Thanks to Mamakthir.

Mamakthir had ruled Malaysia as if Malaysia belonged to his grandfather... plundering the wealth, oppressing, suppressing and exploiting the Malaysian people to the hilt.

Malaysia will never be a developed or respectable country if this Mamakthir is still living freely and hedonistically.

Why?

If Mamakthir had committed all the crimes in Malaysia with impunity, other politicians will follow suit committing all sorts of crimes Mamakthir and yet can still live in glamorous styles without worrying going to jail.

This precedent must be rectified!

Mamakthir MUST be prosecuted, sent to jail eternally and all his and children's stolen assets must be confiscated and returned to the Malaysian people.

Else, the Malaysian people can forget about democracy in Malaysia and let the politicians (ruling & opposition) sodomizing big time indefinitely.

23. Anonymous8:06 am

This Mamakthir had screwed up our democratic system big time and now Malaysia is in a despotic country.

Thanks to Mamakthir.

Mamakthir had ruled Malaysia as if Malaysia belonged to his grandfather... plundering the wealth, oppressing, suppressing and exploiting the Malaysian people to the hilt.

Malaysia will never be a developed or respectable country if this Mamakthir is still living freely and hedonistically.

Why?

If Mamakthir had committed all the crimes in Malaysia with impunity, other politicians will follow suit committing all sorts of crimes like Mamakthir and yet can still live in glamorous styles without worrying going to jail.

This precedent must be rectified!

Mamakthir MUST be prosecuted, sent to jail eternally and all his and children's stolen assets must be confiscated and returned to the Malaysian people.

Else, the Malaysian people can forget about democracy in Malaysia and let the politicians (ruling & opposition) sodomizing big time indefinitely.

24. Anonymous9:30 am

Tommy,

In Malay, its 'Negarawan'.

25. Anonymous9:51 am

Kepala tahi la Mahathir, pasal engkau la jadi macam nie. Ass...

26. Anonymous10:49 am

It seems so many cyberbloopers attacking your blogspot whenever you mention about TDM.

Their boss must have hate TDM more than the oppositions.

It seems TDM is more powerful compared to oppositions combine together.

Now that's what I call a negarawan.

27. Anonymous12:38 pm

If Muslims are to acknowledge their Faults, this Speech of his should be an endless list of his Confession!

Part of it can be found in:
    http://malikimtiaz.blogspot.com/2008/02/at-face-value.html

If he learned Qu'ran well he should asked Politicians to acknowledge their Faults!
    Qu'ran and many "bibles" are to preach human to behave with hearts and souls without restriction to race and location on earth!
    http://malikimtiaz.blogspot.com/2007/10/forgive-me.html

If he is trying to relate the defending "ourselves" mentioned in Qu'ran to the depending of "weapons" as reported in his speech,
    My God! Lucky for Malaysian to have stopped him out of PM sometime ago or Malaysia could have joined the weapon race as in many Muslim countries!!

Provoking Muslim politically than necessary had ruined many human Rights of "God Blessed" countries like Iran, Iraq, Saudi Arab, and many others with oil!
    The seeds had started by MHT in Malaysia long time ago!
    Be Watchful!!
    ---------------------------------------
    Giving the "privilege" by a Muslim University to MTH to continue misleading Muslim is really awful!!

28. Anonymous12:41 pm

no wonder the cyberblooper so busy sending counter comments on TDM on his visit to UIA.

take a look at those photos at mykmu.net ( tumpang sikit rocky )- macam masa Bersih pulak.

and one of the comment on Dollah visit to UM recently:

Sgt contras dgn lawatan si dogol ke UM semasa hari Alumni UM baru2 ni. Kapasiti dewan boleh muat lebih kurang 3000 dan yg hadir sekitar 1700. UM mempunyai alumni sekitar 150,000 dan ALUMNI sebenar yg hadir kurang 200 org yang lainya semuanya pelajar dan staf yg kena paksa hadir termasuk saya sendiri.

Bila Rafiah Salim berucap ramai juga dgr dan beri tepukan. ......Pabila PM mula cakap......lepas lima minit ramai keluar dewan. Sekali sekala ada sedikit tepukan.

Berbeza dgn majlis Tun di UIAM....Tun amat di sayangi dan disanjungi walau tiada jawatan skrg. Dari video nampak mcm stampede dan berebut utk salam.

29. Anonymous12:44 pm

anon 3:37PM
    I agree with you!
    ----------------------------------------
    RURAL & URBAN??
    ----------------------------------------
    skilgannon1066,

Malaysia could be better than Singapore with many rural to support the Growth of Urban
    but they are
    cut by the Toll
    cut by the import of many agricultural products
    cut by "hi-tech" Bio-tech" and not even agro-tech to feed only 20million folks!
    cut by government revenue to the Space but not even on flooding that came oftenly in many land
    putting dividers among people by Race and Religion instead of mutual understanding
    cut by the Government controlling Media for Truth to People irrespective of Urban or Rural.
    same for the lack of education with resources at the mercy of Politicians instead of normally steady planned developments
    Urban developing only with Concrete and abuses of Human Rights
    Anything for bridges from Rural to Urban to be built for?
    When Hills and Greenland are manipulated hands in hands by Government officers and Developers
    URBAN RESIDENTS NEED BRIDGES TO RURAL FOR THEIR GREEN LUNGS!!
    http://www.savetamanmelawatihill.com/

The Oil Revenue should be channeled to the Urban & Rural
    but they had been siphoned!!
    To the People of Malaysia, they are not better off than Singapore if to talk of natural resources!
    The material and conditions for building Malaysia had been blocked!!

Many disappointed with Malaysia had MM2H to elsewhere besides Singapore!
    Many commenter in blogs could already be MM2H reversed!!
    Hoping Malaysia to be comparable to Singapore is only the minimum spot!!

30. Anonymous1:03 pm

For the sake of thinking Malaysians, don’t call this man a "Statesman". He should be referred to as the "Butcher". The man who butchered almost every independent institution in this country. The man who butchered life in Malaysia as we knew it, before his ascension to the premiership.

Pray tell me Rocky, what is your agenda in sucking up to this butcher??? You seem like a reasonably intelligent individual.

It is simply inconsistent to on one hand crow on about the ills that plague our country and on the hand suggest that the butcher may possibly be our saviour.

He is the very man that caused and perpetuated the ills that you speak of. Badawi, KJ, Lingam, Eusoff Chin, Ling Liong Sik and people of that ilk are permeate and thrive in our society today because over 21 years the butcher created an environment that was suitable for their survival. Simply put, the Malaysia that we have today is the creature of Mahathir.

You have the choice of approving this comment for publication. That is your privilege as the moderator of this blog. Nonetheless, I await your response with bated breath. I hope you are not stricken with selective amnesia like your mentor.

BYW, I am no BN cybertrooper. Just a curious and appalled individual.

31. Anonymous2:00 pm

Anon: 1.03PM
    So who is the statesman?
    The life who was butchered before his ascension to the premiership?

32. Anonymous3:03 pm

Anon 1.03

another cyberblooper at work. go to pro khairy blog lah

33. Anonymous4:33 pm

sharing 12:44 PM

I am sorry, but I don't get your argument/s.

My point is that there is no logical basis to compare Malaysia against Singapore.

Pak Lah talked about apples and grapes for those who compare the 2 countries. In his limited way, he wasn't too far wrong!

Malaysia could have been much, much more than what it is now. But it could have never used the same measures as Singapore to achieve rapid economic development.

34. Anonymous8:23 pm

Kepada mereka mereka yang mahukan pandangan dan perspektif yang seimbang tentang Tun, silalah lawat laman blok Malik Imtiaz dan bacalah rentetan mutakhir beliau dan juga komen mereka yang merayap di sana

35. Anonymous10:22 pm

"Anwar beat himself up in pprison in order to gain sympathy"

36. Anonymous10:27 pm

Lingam is also a statesman !

37. Dr M the real deal hero. my hero, my only PM and forever will be!

38. Anonymous12:53 pm

This "Mamakthir" are thousands ways thousands ways better than the PKR's homo and DAP's Lim Kiss Shit...

a Mamak vs a homo vs a racist Chinese?

the Mamak never lost...

39. Anonymous1:03 pm

skillgannon,
    this sharing fella once I labelled this goon a self proclaimed intelletual being in delusion and having post partum syndrome, but he never learned a lesson,
    he is in corrupt state-of-mind, not statesman

40. Anonymous4:16 pm

there seem to be a lot of kiss ass here! but again this is Malaysia

41. Anonymous7:42 pm

skilgannon,

1. My last post was to response to your
    "How do you bridge the urban-rural divide and ensure that all sectors of the population benefit from economic development?
    Make no mistake, Malaysia is not an easy country to administer."

where I comment that Malaysia has better starting points than Singapore with better resources and rural to work. I believe Malaysia could work better than Singapore.

I believe while you said 4:33 PM
    "Malaysia could have been much, much more than what it is now."
    you are in agree to my saying.

2. As to your point of bridging Rural & Urban, I believe my comment is clear that they should benefit from each other but the Government has blocked the many possibilities!

3. I believe many logical comparisons are available such as the efficiency of the Government, the cost of operation, or the investment of EPF, natural resources, education, housing, etc..

4. As to your comment of
    "But it could have never used the same measures as Singapore to achieve rapid economic development."

Some measure could be used by Malaysia which are not a patent of Singapore but many countries putting Human Rights, financial, EPF, Government efficiency or corruption as priority.

such as comments found in
    http://maverickysm.blogspot.com/2008/02/of-sour-grapes-and-green-apples.html

Thanks for providing me a chance to explain!