Monday, February 18, 2008

DAP's Fong "crisis"

"Serious internal crisis", says Najib. To rub salt to the DAP's injury, the Deputy Umno President even described Fong Po Kuan a "capable MP".
Fong, 35, dealt the Perak DAP a severe blow when she refused to defend her Batu Gajah seat, publicly citing problems with the state's DAP bosses and colleagues.
What a shame. I wonder if the DAP has enough time and resources to repair the damage done. There's also talk of money politics, but if you read her latest posting .on Chamber of Thoughts ... [yes, Fong has a blog]]:

Thank you, Voters of Batu Gajah Parliamentary Constituency

Time really flies. The second term as elected representative of Batu Gajah has just ended. It was a term with lots of ups and downs. What a challenge and experience in life!
Dear voters of Batu Gajah Parliamentary constituency, thank you so much for all the support which you have given to me and DAP. I would also like to apologise if I have done or said anything which hurt you during this two terms as your elected representative.
The power is now returned to the people. Let us deny Barisan Nasional 2/3 majority for a better Malaysia for all Malaysians. Please vote for DAP!

28 comments:

1. Anonymous7:13 pm

Lim Kit Siang Snr is ensuring that the Lim dynasty is propogated by clearing out possible rivals and paving the way for his son to take over the reins!
    This trend is also visible with the Gerakan godfather.
    The MIC boss tried to do the same but his offspring can barely make the grade with the mess in MAICA as a result of his mismanagement.

2. Anonymous7:24 pm

Pak Lah should thank to Lim Kit Siang's DAP as well and not only the Penang Chinese only.

3. Anonymous7:41 pm

VELY TEMPTING...

BN MPs - NO NEED TO USE BRAIN + LESS WORK + MORE KANTAU + BIG BUCKS.

WHY WASTE TIME IN DAP, JOIN THE UMNO RUNNING DOGS

4. Anonymous8:02 pm

What a Wally!

The dynamic and nepotistic duo of KS and GE really know how to inspire confidence. Not only are they experts at complaining, but also highly gifted when it comes to parachuting into other people's turf.... I am sure that this is a good policy for a potential future Government....

At least PAS only calls people names...

What's PKR??

5. Anonymous8:29 pm

anyway why is she so upset about moving to johor and being closer to her husband, the DAP bosses are doing her a favour by transferring her kan... after all she so popular put anywhere oso can win what, kalau tak percaya tanya jeff ooi, mana mana letak dia pun OK....

6. Anonymous8:41 pm

Rockyfella, the DAP is short of brainpower and suffers from colour-blindness. Why I say like dat? They are not thinking of the long term. No wonder the Malays think of them as basically a Chinese chauvinist party of shorted sighted (look at them - all in specs!) nincompoops and dimwits.

You reckon what I do if I am Lim Kit Siang the supremo? His silly and naive soonyboy is no better! I shall not quarrel with AI about who goes where?

If you want to put your KeAdILan guy in my sure-win long-held sweetspot, go ahead, you can have it and I shall forego magnanimously to you, no quarrels at all. If you win, the BA wins and the DAP wins, also. The victory rubs bothways. If KeADILAN lose, in another five years time, DAP can take it up from there and KeADILan ought to have no two ways about it. Vice versa in other places with PAS et al.

For showing such wisdom and generosity, my dear Kit Siang, people will feel sorry for you and perceive of you as a BIG MAN, not s shortsighted and greedy asshole lost on the vision of the rainbow at the end of a rainy day. You get the BIG PICTURE, Kit Siang. You and your big brains?

For God's sake, for our children's sake, bring my darling-gal Fong Po Kuan (my sweetheart) back into the big picture. What the heck's wrong with your kind?!

Otherwise, what I can do is only to ask for her hand in marriage and to get her to take care of my babies - I expect 6 out of her, no two ways about that. You and your stupid DAP goons prefer her to stay forever a simple housewife to me?

BTW, Po Kuan (I love you, I really do) shouldn't give up the struggle too easily. You still need to learn the ropes of political-savvyness. Too bad, Ms Bhutto died too early. Otherwise, you could've learn the tricks from her. Fate and destiny differs though. I cannot blame you.

I perceive my "ordinary-housewife" Fong Po Kuan, being as it should be, the politician, will stand a better chance for woman-power in the BA. So, my dear PO KUAN, DO NOT, I say, DO NOT GIVE UP - so easily. Fight, lock stock and barrel.

Your future is OUR FUTURE.

Message to Po Kuan (personally) - if you read this, will you marry me?

7. Anonymous9:47 pm

don't buy all the barisan media crap concerning the Opossition. Investigate it and get to the source.

8. Anonymous9:49 pm

jeffooi is taking on koh tsu koon. if koh is ousted, it will be political end for koh like chong eu last time = damn disgrace! no more CM, more MP and no more gerakan boss. and jeff will become overnight celebrity! and why that koh to field at jelutong, last time that place kononnya belongs to karpal singh! maybe koh wants to be legend......

9. There is one thing common about all DAP "leaders" or respected MPs. They all resign in acrimonious situations.

There was Lee Lam Thye, Then you had Wee of Bukit Bintang, Hu Sepang, a few others and now Fong!

Maybe Lim Kit Siang can answer this, did all of these people have similar or different motives, symptoms, reasons for leaving? And all of them left at the worst possible times.

Obviously DAP is also filled with little War Lords who think they can do better. But they will never stick their necks out, but try to take over other people's hard sweat and tears.

Who next? Theresa Kok?

10. Anonymous10:06 pm

She just wanna have a normal life. Whats wrong with that eh? She just got married you know so priorities are now different.

Maybe she'll have a kid or two, go on a tour, see a movie, you know, like what normal people do.

No more gunfights with the Kinabatangan Orang-utan Kid or the Jerai Jackass or the One-Eyed Cyclops Tax Dodger.

Time to hang up the 6-shooter and ride into the sunset.

Have a good retirement, amigo. Vaya con dios. I am gonna miss you.

The Chow Kit Cowboy.

11. Anonymous10:46 pm

This type of things happen very often when GE is around the corner. From the 'body language' of Fong Poh Kuan during her press conference, it shows 'something amiss' from her normal self. If internal conflict were so serious, I guess she should say out more specifically.

I hope my observation is strong, if not, then many people will be very disappointed of her to put on such 'act'. Politicians of integrity are very few left in Malaysia.

12. Anonymous11:01 pm

This is just one of the example why I keep harping on the obvious need for the opposition parties to evolve, instead of expecting the voters to change.

Perhaps a total change in the the Leadership of DAP, PAS, PKR and others is timely, even if they secure many seats in the coming election, that is likely to represent disgruntled votes. For comparison, look at the Australian Labour party. The diminishing support under the leadership of the ineffective Kim Beazely, Simon Crean or the uninhibited Mark Latham (how on earth this person could ever be elected as a party president really perplex me!!) was reversed by Kevin Rudd. I believe, Mr. Kevin Rudd factor alone contribute significantly to Labour winning the election, akin, to the support to AAB in 2004.

It puzzle me that DAP could be so naive to allow this upheaval. However, I believe Fong would easily win in other Chinese majority constituent.

BN that has been ruling Malaysia for the past 50 years would probably afford to have upheavals and turmoils. The coalition is evidently very strong, happened to be in complete control of the media and also almost every government machineries.

13. Anonymous11:14 pm

As if Najib knows S!

14. Anonymous1:12 am

What are the knots only those involved know!
    Is matter been decided with rational considerations from all angles
    or emotional more?

Pro and Cons may be considered from following factors:

1. Has DAP laid a good foundation for her to start in the new Constituency?
    2. Will she be getting another offer if she lost?
    3. Is the move providing a better future for DAP as a whole, such as LKS having his son around to help better DAP and a chance of getting another seat and another good experience for her to know the new constituency for another progress?
    4. Will she be benefited by being closer to her husband?

So, the general consideration is if it only benefiting LKS and his son,
    or DAP at a whole
    or just Risking Fong and not benefiting her from any angles?

It could spell a communication problem when all pros and cons are not openly discussed among the parties and mutual understanding not reached!

Another fundamental consideration is if Parachuting should be encouraged and beneficial to both Candidate and Voters?
    Personally, I disagree!
    If DAP had taken the Priority of their Candidate more
    while Candidate taking the Priority of Party more,
    the crisis can more easily be solved than the reverse!

Hope both parties can think it over and solve the crisis for better mutual understanding and best strategy!

Good Luck to DAP & Fong!

15. Politics stuff of hardened shelf
    When you knock it, you hear the echo
    Silently ringing into the far distance
    You never know where it hides

If you know
    There shouldn’t be election
    Electing representatives to monitor and manage the country
    And the ways of life in the economy

Politics isn’t for self glory
    One must get the priority right
    It is to serve the people and nation
    This is the honest truth

Yet human traits
    When greed and power in their hands
    The eyes and minds seem to collide
    Like the rolling waves hitting the hard sandy beach
    It splashes and wets the whole coastline……

The good hard working ones
    They don’t last in a mile
    They are knocked off one by one
    By the planted gangs camouflaged as team officials
    They are gone before they could protest

Unless they hard working politicians
    Stand up and fight their belief
    It isn’t about party loyalty
    It is about the people they represent
    Work hard for the people
    They make sure the hard working ones return
    Every election so the party benefits
    Do the party leaders understand it?

Fong Po Kuan should return
    Cry with thousand tears
    Now she should change her mind
    Fight the good mile once again

Fong Po Kuan shouldn’t run away
    Internal squabbles are nothing new
    Even in MCA, MIC, Gerakan and UMNO
    There are people who couldn’t wait
    It is just a headache in one’s pursuit
    Of servicing the people and country

The silent slashing cuts
    The “House of flying daggers” makes the marks
    By people who want to get their hands
    On the power on a sliver platter

Nothing to hide
    Fong you done a good job in Elephant Stone
    You should return once more
    Why let party squabbles make you run?

Don’t stay at home be a good housewife
    You should fight it out for the people
    Your talent and hard working ethics count
    In serving the constituency and country

Yeah I know you cried
    Fong go out and try
    Elephant Stone needs you
    The country wants you in Parliament
    To kick some asses in the males

Won’t you change your mind?
    Let the voters decide for you
    I am sure they will send you in
    The biggest majority votes
    In your life!

16. 'They' must've something on her.
    She've been *'LeeLamThyed'. Do you smell the same stink that happened to CSL? MaChAi's handiwork yet again.

*LeeLamThyed;
    the act of being extorted into pulling out of a political party.

17. Anonymous11:02 am

Its a real pity about Ms. Fong, actually, she's really made herself very endearing to a lot of us common folks and to quit becos of internal party conflicts via press conference just about break a lot of hearts and spirits out there.

Can someone suggest how I'm going to resume my advocating for more opposition presence in the Parliament and denying BN the majority with this recent charade!?

18. Anonymous12:05 pm

This was democracy ala Lim Kit Siang and son. Both are trying to kill the DAP. I wonder why? It is always the case that when the ground is fertile for the opposition Lim Kit Siang and son will screw it up. The BN should thank Lim Kit Siang for the political chaos.

I hope that the Penang voters will throw these two out of politics because they are weakening the opposition.

The voters should now look at the qualities of candidate and not be forced upon to vote for them just because they stand under the flag of the DAP.

Lets all be united and vote against Lim Kit Siang, Lim Guan Eng and Khairy to save Malaysia from politics of tyrany.

19. Anonymous1:00 pm

My Question to Po Kuan "We are ppl who know not much about politics and depend on ppl like you to be our voice and defend our rights in that vicious sea. We are grateful that you withstood all the challanges put forth on our behalf, but won't you do it further for us?We trust you and stand behind your cause...but why step back now on account of personal differences Po Kuan - just when we need you most to deny Barisan 2/3 majority?" A sister of your beloved alma mater - MGS IPOH!

20. Anonymous2:24 pm

They never highlight BN internal current crisis. Even Dol also cannot solve. Calling the kettle black kunun.

21. Anonymous2:50 pm

There in a press conference is no space in DAP for good people. So Jeff Ooi and Tony Pua please take note.

We don't want to see Jeff Ooi and Tony Pua saying the same thing in a press conference few years down the road.
    lessed with position.
    Please do not expect Lim Kit Siang to change because he has been a dictator throughout his life and only interested in installing his or his sons cronies in the right places to protect his son.

Jeff Ooi nad Tony Pua please carry the balls of the two Lims and both of you will be but please forget about principles in the DAP. There is no room for principles either.

22. This infighting within DAP is joining the cronyist ranks of UMNO and Barisan Nasional.

How do you expect to garner votes when there is no unity within yourselves?

How I still feel Fong Po Kuan should not leave. Not now.

23. Anonymous5:20 pm

VOTE FOR THE BARISAN RAKYAT... DAP + PKR + PAS + PSM + MDP + ...

FPK, DON'T EVEN BOTHER TO RECONSIDER - THE PARTY MUST ALWAYS & MUST BE BIGGER THAN ANY INDIVIDUAL.

HOLDING THE PARTY AT RANSOM AT THIS CRITICAL MOMENT SPEAK MUCH ABOUT YOU.

WHAT YOU DONE IS THE MOST DESPICABLE & UNGRATEFUL ACT OF AN INDIVIDUAL WE HAVE SEEN THUS FAR.

SINCERELY, ASK YOUR GOODSELF WHAT HAVE YOU CONTRIBUTE AS A MP TO THE BETTERMENT OF BATU GAJAH AND REST OF MALAYSIANS.

AS A MP YOU PROCLAIMS THAT YOU STAND UP AGAINST ANY INJUSTICES...
    BUT... DO YOU, REALLY?

IN YOUR FOLLOWING POSTINGS...

http://pokuan.blogsome.com/2008/02/04/little-napoleans-in-the-market/#comments

SPEAK VOLUME ABOUT YOURSELF AS A MP...

JUST TOO HAPPY TO RENDER YOURSELF AS A CURIOUS BYSTANDER AND WITHOUT BOTHERING TO LIFT A FINGER TO ASSIST WHEN SITUATION DEMANDED.

PLEASE GO... GO AND SEEK GREENER PASTURE ELSEWHERE.

... BARISAN RAKYAT

24. oh dear po kuan.
    what a pity. you're one of DAP's finest.

Field day for the BN to further discredit the DAP.

25. Anonymous5:43 pm

anon 12.05...

'pohdah', 'tan hoi', 'take-a-hike'...

be a good running dog, your master looking for you.

fpk, don't eat and sh*t at the same place.

26. It would appear that women would only make great leaders after their menopause. Eg Indira Ganhdi, Margarette Thatchers, Golda Meir etc.

Ms Fong, pls don't make my observation come true in your case. If must overlook the nitpicking individuals and issues and look at the bigger picture.

27. Anonymous3:41 pm

http://blog.limkitsiang.com/2008/02/22/po-kuan-returns/

Po Kuan returns!
    Friday, February 22nd, 2008

NEWS FLASH!
    Press Conference announcement in Ipoh (2pm).

http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/78428

Po Kuan to defend Batu Gajah
    Feb 22, 08 2:17pm

At a press conference in her constituency today, Fong said that she was ready to contest Batu Gajah, a seat which she has served for the past two terms.

- Dramatic reversal by Fong
    - Press conference in Batu Gajah

28. Anonymous11:46 am

When you look at the whole political scenario, there's a load of rubbish in BN becos our own opposition is just as bad. Even when they are not ruling the country, they already have so much squabbling. Problem is there are no credible opponents for the BN to even worry about losing two thirds.... and the same story goes on and on