Wednesday, November 21, 2007

Royal Commission: Who should not be appointed

NOT WANTED. Prominent lawyer Malik Imtiaz, who is president of the National Human Rights Society (Hakam), has called for comprehensive mandate be given to the Royal Commission of Enquiry that will look into the V.K Lingam's video clip.

Malik also spelt out the persons who SHOULD NOT be asked to be members the Commission:
  • Any Chief Justice since Tun Abdul Hamid, including Tun Hamid himself;
  • Retired judges who served Tun Eusoff Chin, Tun Mohamed Dzaiddin and Tun Ahmad Fairuz;
  • Any judge currently serving as such;
  • Any person closely connected with the Government and/or who served the Mahathir Administration and/or the Badawi Administration or still serves. This would include former Attorney Generals; and/or
  • Any person who might be perceived to have grievances against the Government and/or the Judicial Administration in the period from 1988. This would include Tun Salleh Abbas and any of the members of the Judiciary penalized in the 1988 attack on the Judiciary.
Read his other thoughts on the Commission here.

24 comments:

1. Anonymous2:18 am

CUT TO THE CHASE, MAN!

So, who should be on the Royal Commission?

Malik himself?

2. Anonymous6:31 am

DYMM Raja Azlan Shah should head the Royal Commission.

3. Anonymous6:45 am

Mahathir ruled for 22 years. So it is only those ex Government, Judges and law practitioners older than 77 years old that qualify. Make sense?

What the hell is this lawyer trying to talk cock?

Is Malik and his "friends" only fit and proper to be on the Royal Commission?

That long list is practically an accusation on the integrity of every one of those people. What evidence and basis for his questioning them all?

Retired judge Dato Siti Norma and Dato Malik will be excluded. Bar Council used to "lobby" for these two for promotion. (Opps .... Bar Council don't lobby or broker, thats unethical. They only suggested strongly. He he he ...) Is he saying Bar Council's prefered choice has no integrity since they convicted ANwar Ibrahim? Didn't meet their expectations?

(BTW Bar Council don't practise nepotism. Bar Chairman and Gopal Sri Ram, whose name seemed to crop up favourably whenever issue of Judicial promotion come up, just happen to be niece and uncle. Tak fair lah anak saudara hakim ada right nak jadi Bar Council Chairman.)

Who is his preferences? (Careful trick question) Human rights lawyers? Interfaith issues lawyers like Harris Ibrahim?

Sudah lah lawyers, only profession that claim defending crooks as honourable!

4. Anonymous8:38 am

1. Should all those "suspects" be at least under the "strict" investigation of ACA, the Police, AG and the Bar Council?
    Therefore, the Royal Commission should be the one at least seeing that the four in their "Strict" performance.

2. Then, basically, there are rules and regulations and procedures of these four to be followed but to be fine tuned or consolidated by the Royal Commission when necessary.

Otherwise, existing rules and regulations will suddenly be renewed or even replaced. This will surely put existing rules and regulations in puzzle when something similar came out. Or, the four will wait to pass the buckets to the RC!

3. While doing such investigating, an important task of RC was to lay out and publicized the Code of Practice with penalty for the judiciary system to tackle the following well-known "culture" of
    - intention ...delays by courts and lawyers, with a time frame.
    e.g. A piece of Suggested Statement of Facts & Issues can take years to deliver!!
    - time frame for all the filings to the courts.
    e.g. a piece of notify to act cannot be found after months or close to a year after filing.
    - more electronic time booking and filing system.
    Shouldn't the court system or "Superior" Judge be worse than a clinic, or, the "professional" lawyers are worse than a patients to be qualified with an appointment?

The RC should investigate what were wrong but also to suggest the prevention for the future.

5. I got a headache
    Thinking who should be
    In the team for the Royal Commission of Inquiry

Every known person
    Past and present have direct linked to the establishment
    So where does one start getting the caliber people?

Maybe should look for law lecturers
    In universities or private colleges
    Fresh faces new impetus perhaps
    New perspective to collate information

Maybe the government should request
    The retired judges from Commonwealth countries
    To show unbiased view and report
    On the board of the Royal Commission of Inquiry

The flip flop pm will announce soon
    Hold our breaths for something refreshing
    Or else it is another covering up
    Camouflage as the Royal Commission

Nothing beats the truth
    What we do and say in the end
    For the light will shine in the darkness

6. Anonymous9:39 am

agree with Malik. and what he said is cutting the chase for those who can't or refuse to see it.

Have HRH Raja Nazrin as the chairman. and two other respected individual who are clean and seen to be clean.

7. Bro,

Ada application form? Can I nominate myself?

8. Anonymous10:32 am

Why not appoint foreigners also? I mean, not just the 'Mat Salleh' type only...
    And i don't think Malik should be there also. Better he remain independent to check and balance the commision, just in case if they too are biased.
    But I agree with Lim Kit Siang that HRH Raja Nazrin Shah should lead the commision. After all, he is 'royal'.

9. Anonymous10:37 am

May I suggest, none other that "Khairy Jamaluddin"... hehehe
    So you see...

Any Chief Justice since Tun Abdul Hamid, including Tun Hamid himself;
    Retired judges who served Tun Eusoff Chin, Tun Mohamed Dzaiddin and Tun Ahmad Fairuz;
    KJ NO CHIEF JUDGE (HE IS MORE POWERFUL THAN THEM ALL)

Any judge currently serving as such;
    (AGAIN, HE AIN'T ANY JUDGE)

Any person closely connected with the Government and/or who served the Mahathir Administration and/or the Badawi Administration or still serves. This would include former Attorney Generals;
    (HE OFFICIALLY HAVE NOTHING TO DO WITH THE CURRENT GOVERNMENT, ONLY AN INNOCENT SON-IN-LAW!... AND TUN DR M GOVERNMENT? NO WAY HE IS PART OF TUN DR M)

and/or
    Any person who might be perceived to have grievances against the Government and/or the Judicial Administration in the period from 1988. This would include Tun Salleh Abbas and any of the members of the Judiciary penalized in the 1988 attack on the Judiciary
    (HE NEVER GRIEVE AGAINST THEM)

So how, Kera Jantan as Royal Commision chief?

10. Anonymous11:12 am

yes malik, and why not cos the rest look like scoundrels

11. Anonymous11:48 am

I asked this question to the man himself at his own blog.Until today no answer from him. Hmm a case of No Action Talk Only (NATO)
    Bob From Kucing

12. But what about Bloggers like you and me? Also the likes of Anak Merdeka and Helen...Only half employed or mostly ladies -- we need dole:(

13. Anonymous12:12 pm

Aiya....who's left? ROFLMAO..

KC Vohrah can ah? James Foong? How many judges from Salleh Abbas's time onwards can be perceived to be neutral, including Salleh himself?

Too bad Eusoffe Abdoolcader put a gun to his head. Wud have loved to see him on this commission. but then, going by Malik's conditions, he wudn't qualify either.

wot about Sultan Azlan Shah? heheh, then this will really be a royal commission.

14. Anonymous12:46 pm

so who should be on the royal comission?

malik imtiaz himself the saviour of Malaysia's law?

rocky bru himself?

anwar ibrahim and all opposition leaders who are clean in the eyes of opposition members?

and perhap Tun Salleh abas Himself...who will surely will be unbiased as he is the most righteous legal mind ever produced by Malaysia?

so who actually?

drmuzi

15. Anonymous3:11 pm

What about DATO SYED AHMED IDID the "retired" high court judge??

16. Anonymous3:43 pm

Do you know why there are countless lawyer jokes? Perhaps lawyers are not the most respected people in society..
    Brunt council is right, Gopa is a favourite with the bar council isn't he and it is common knowledge in legal circles that the bar council lobbied for Siti Norma and Datuk Malik...
    Malik Imtiaz is just so full of himself...
    sigh

17. Anonymous9:58 pm

Yo people!

What his saying is...we already are in a position of no hope! Hopeless...Everyone is tainted!

HGJ

18. Anonymous2:25 am

galadriel, how sure are you that eusoffe put a gun to his head?

That the gun was beside his corpse is one thing, but someone might have dun the job. We can be sure, can we?

19. Anonymous1:58 pm

to zainal a.kassim,

p lah promosi uptrend hang tu!!!

20. Anonymous3:09 pm

RC need an act to keep Whistle Blower protect!
    if this cannot be in place
    even God in place cannot act!

If amendment can propose for the EC Chief
    shouldn't the above be acted?

Then Heads from Commonwealth
    (which I guess Malik was trying to lead)
    should be engaged to help!

A report which including the Commonwealth cannot reject
    so be above PKT a bit!
    http://news.yahoo.com/s/nm/20071123/ts_nm/pakistan_dc_161

21. Anonymous9:45 pm

The composition of the royal commission doesn't have to be restricted to only judges and lawyers. I ccould think of many individuals from other professions....but definitley not politicians, whether from ruling or opposition parties, including those retired. Would definitely not be Malik or Malik Imtiaz, whom we would supsect to already have a preconceived idea about the tape...and would not be impartial.

22. Anonymous8:10 am

Royal ommission: Who should not be appointed by Malik Imtiaz is perfecly acceptable so that the outcome of the Commission is not challenged on ground of biasness.

Let's be careful on the selection. I believe we have enough good men around. I am sure we all want to give new brand and meaning to the words Integrity and ethics.

23. Rocky's note: This comment was originally left by Anon at 4.50pm. Anon, I had to delete the first paragraph. We can't accuse one of taking money when we don't have evidence to support that claim. Thank you.
    -----------------------------------------------

Anon 4.50pm said ....

Sri Ram cannot be on the panel.

The best is to get a well known retired judge from England to head the commission. We must not only make sure that the members of the commission are fair people, they must also look like fair people.

So Sir Ram you have no chance after all. Just pretend to sit as court of appela judge and dispense your questionable justice.