Friday, October 19, 2007

Former MP takes 4

pix by Jeff Ooi

The four:
1. The lawyer Kanagalingam
2. The CJ Ahmad Fairuz
3. The Minister Nazri Aziz and
4. The Malaysian Government.

Today, 11 am, Suhakam office. Former MP for Bukit Bintang Wee Choo Keong, whose name was mentioned by lawyer Lingam in a 2002 videotaped phone conversation (allegedly with the now-Chief of Justice), is striking back.

Around eleven this morning, the lawyer-politician is expected to lodge a formal complaint with the Human Rights Commission (Suhakam) against the four above-mentioned parties for alleged infringement of his human rights. In the complaint, Wee will quote several Articles in the Federal Constitution, the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, and the United Nations Charter.

In 1995 Wee was disqualified as an Member of Parliament by the Election Judge, Dato' Sri Ahmad Fairuz bin Dato' Shekh Abdul Halim, as the CJ then was. Fairuz subsequently appointed the loser of the election as the MP for Bukit Bintang.

Wee has called for the setting up of a Royal Commission by the Government to investigate into the contents of the video clip and has made publis his unhappiness with the terms of reference of the three-men Investigative Committee set up to probe the Lingam tape.

12 comments:

1. This sounds like a case that is right up Suhakam's street.

Let's hope that this much maligned body can do something about protecting one's rights or - dare I say - correcting an abuse of human rights.

2. dear rocky..

its common in malaysia for the judiciary and executive(parliament) to be mixed up in favor of BE END government.

worry no more...it will continue as long as they ruled the country.

3. The question is, will SUHAKAM do anything about the report or will it say it is beyond its power and jurisdiction?
    In short what can SUHAKAN do? Nothing.

4. They say strike it while the iron is hot
    So the other party can’t hide
    No more excuses telling the audience
    The truth will come out
    When angels come to help

The BN government is covering up
    Every road with so many stop signs
    This is to irritate the drivers
    Until the drivers forget to take the road
    Everything will then become normal

No response on the video clip
    Nazri barks up the wrong tree
    The road signs he never sees
    Put it up by his own colleagues

Every road leads to Putrajaya
    The good, the bad and the ugly
    Putting up signs directing away the truth
    When people converge
    Nobody knows what to do
    So many signs telling lopsided stories
    One can’t tell the truth or lie

The people get the message
    It is time something is done for change
    Lawyer Wee perhaps will add the spark
    Then the whole domino effect runs

The BN knows the wall cracks
    Long time ago
    When promises and slogans
    Said done never executed
    It leaves a sour taste in the mouth

5. Anonymous10:30 am

sorry wee. the loud mouth strikes again rying to flush out the real source. he has said again that if the real source does not appear, the tape cannot be authenticated and therefore the case wll be closed.
    bollocks loud mouth. you dont need the source. simply ask for some technicians to verify the tape is not duped. my only guess is that you want to get to the source, compromise him/her and do a discredit dance subsequently. with the press, police, ACA and CJ behind you, you will then crucify the source.
    Simply if the tape is a fake, why is the CJ keeping mum and doesnt even dare to issue a denial. So is that Lingam fella.
    Go on with your charade, loud mouth. a person with a little bit of intelligence will see thru your intent.

6. Anonymous3:53 pm

Rocky

The CJ Tun Ahmad Fairuz did issue a statemetn in respond to the video clip initially that he has no comments. A day later Nazri , the loud mouth told the press that the CJ told him that it was not the CJ on the othersied of the converssation. What a stupid minister, who try so hard to be the Minsiter of Law but actually a a longkang minister.

Let see what Suhakam is going to do on this. I am sure that if Suhakam plays monkey WEE will take this matter further to the United Nations perhaps. I hope that Wee will not stop at SUHAKAM.

Anyway SUHAKAM have all the power and have special section in the Human RIght Act (section 15) to protect witnesses. So let see whether SUHAKAM has the balls to act or it is just the tools of the government.

7. Anonymous4:05 pm

What is the Bar Council is doing? After the lawyer walked in September, the Bar Council seemd to be very happy with the appoinmentof the Three MAn Panel, who has done nothing.

Bar Council wakes up, please do something to clean up the judiciary.

8. Well, well, well,

The political intrigue emanating from this video exposure is certainly getting more interesting.

NA, the defacto law minister, is trying his darndest to 'close the case' due to no feedback from the public towards the overtures put forth by the independent 3-man panel who 'sat' through three weeks, tweedling their thumbs.

And this is just to authenticate the genuineness of the video, not the crap that came with it.

Might as well 'Google for evidence' with a first generation PC i.e. it will be aeons before anything turns up and everybody would have lost the plot.

Btw does anybody know what was said by the other party to VKL and if so, have a 'genuine' record of it? ACA?

What was PKR thinking?

Good luck, WCK, with Suhakam.

9. Anonymous6:29 pm

After Nam Wee,now it is Wee and hopefully,come GE, WE will oust the dickheads!!!!

Today,I read the NST (gave up buying since Kali's elevation,but tumpang baca in the kedai kopi)and the asshole Nazri uttered something to the effect "......case closed".

If I had been given the choice recently to name one of the Seven Wonders of the World, MY CHOICE WOULD HAVE BEEN NAZRI -he makes us wonder most of the times !

Regards
    Rastaman-JB

10. Anonymous10:23 pm

Surprisingly at the time (1995) when Wee was disqualified by Ahmad Fairuz, the Election Judge, and MCA candidate, Lee Chong Meng,was appointed by Tun Ahmad Fairuz as the elected MP, Lim Kit Siang did not bother to organise protest against Ahmads Fairuz's shcoking decision, like what he had done when his son got into trouble with the law.

So Lim Kit Siang has forfeited his right to speak on th eissue of hte judiciary. A politician that is worth his while, would have organised mass protest agaisnt Ahmads Fairuz's for appoiont a loser in the general election to be MP.

As usual that is Lim Kit Siang style of democracy ands nepotism.

So Lim Kit Siang hasshould not now criticising Ahmad Fairuz

11. Anonymous10:48 pm

can someone wikipedia this crooked CJ. of course together with the gang of judges named in the video. dont forget the Eusoff fella who has a nice holiday together with this lingam.
    let the future generation knows this. death will not erase their shame.

12. Anonymous2:05 am

Dear Rocky

I am wondering why Lim Kit Siang, the so-called chmapion of democracy, transparency and anti-nepotism did not answer why when Tun Ahmad Fairuz (election Judge) disqualified Wee as MP for Bukit Bintang and appointed BN Candidate as MP, he and his cronies in the DAP did not bother to protest about this undemocratic act of Ahamd Fairuz.

Surely, veteran politician like Lim Kit Siang should have known better that MPs are elected by the voters and not appointed by election Judge.

Lim Kit Siang, you are a fraud in politic. You picked and chose and what issue to take up. You do not base your actions on principles.

Malaysians will take note of your poltiic based on nepotism. I am sure that if Lim Guan Eng was the Bukit Bintang MP then, the whole DAP will be mobilised to protest against Ahmad Fairuz decision.

Voters must be careful of DAP under Lim Kit Siang and son. They are only fighting for their own interests - Lim Dynasty.

Please vote for Keadilan and PAS. DAP is just a father and son party!