Friday, October 26, 2007

3 cops died in the line of duty and the PM says ...

"These were brave men. Men who risked their lives to make this country of ours safer. I have told the IGP that his men must not rest until the cop killers are found and sent to the gallows. This country will not be threatend by the bullets of these drug syndicates. We will not let these three heroes died in vain!"
Well, actually, the PM didn't say that. I made it up. What Abdullah Ahmad Badawi said was that he was disappointed with the police ambush strategy. Not the best of PR lines in a time like this but, well, read here.
"... the approach (used last night) was not right. If they had done it differently, including asking other squads to provide back-up, then they could have surrounded the suspects properly and used loud-hailers to instruct them to come out. Then only the police could say that they were prepared (for the operation)."
Earlier, the IGP said the police will investigate to establish if the raid was done according to procedures. Gosh. Shouldn't he be saying that he will not leave any stone unturned until the killers who gunned down his men are brought in.
Read what he said here.

53 comments:

1. 2 or 3 brader. I'd just saw NTV7 news which said 2+2

2. Anonymous9:02 pm

It would appear that the two brave policemen had died in vain. Their bravery has now been seen as stupidity. What a Prime Minister! Urgghhhhhhh...!

3. Anonymous9:21 pm

"
    Musa said currently, only personnel and officers carrying out dangerous tasks and operations were supplied with bullet-proof vests due to the shortage of the jackets.

The IGP said he would request for more bullet-proof vests to be supplied to police personnel and officers including those conducting patrols.
    "

We can spend US$ 30 million just to send one Angkasawan into space but we cannot afford bullet vests?

The police now wants to investigate whether the raid was carried "according to procedures".

Heck. They didn't have a proper plan for the raid? No back-up? Insufficient personnel? # lives lost because of possible incompetence. Heads must roll.

4. Their statements are a reflection of where their priorities lie - form over substance.

5. Salam bro,

I don't want to read what the PM or his stooge said; what I partially heard on the TV and reading from your accounts, is enough to make me puke!

What does the PM know about police raiding strategy? Granted he was - at one point of time - an Interior Security Minister, but that does mean he knows about police tactics!

And his stooge? As the IGP, he should have been briefed already even before the news broke out!

6. Anonymous11:24 pm

That was one too many.It seems they were prepared.
    A mole perhaps?
    Hope they use the services of CSI- Sungei Buloh and not the forensic experts from the Alantuya case.It is like David Copperfield...now you see; now you don't.

7. Anonymous12:21 am

Pity the poor cops! Always kena kutuk but who weeps for them when they get shot in the line of duty?

That narcoleptic fool of a PM, what more to say lah? Fresh after pawing Michelle Yeoh, he's now busy smooching little girls, from what I saw in the NST or Star today.

The look on that little girl's face!! What confusion for her, after all the advice drummed to little kids about not letting strangers touch them because of what happened to Nurin.

Someone should tell Groper that politicians kiss babies, not little girls.

8. Pilots and crew of our much vaunted air force die in planes of suspect maintenance and airworthiness, blame the pilots. Policeman die in the line of duty, its their fault. What were the coppers supposed to do? Make a requisition for bullet proof jackets before acting?

This Hadharian obviously believes he has all the answers. Or all the lies he has been told about his competence.

The person whose fumbling and bungling in office is close to legendary, dares point fingers at others. God, wake this man up, please.

9. Anonymous1:00 am

What to do ... we have such a stupid PM!

10. Anonymous2:01 am

I think what the Pm said was somewhat true and it maybe interpreted in different ways. I mean the officers were brave to raid a drug hideout and two officers have sacrificed their lives in the raid. In my interpretation, I believe that the Pm is hoping that, by using the death of these two police officers in the raid, the Malaysian Police should really do their homework before carrying out their missions in the future in order to avoid more serious casualties or more deaths.

11. Anonymous2:30 am

something tells me those men were not on a drug bust. They were in plain clothes with no back up and were shot when 2 cars drove by the house. From the news footage there were pools of blood under the porch, presumably the cops'..so they were in the house compound when they were shot. And if i'm not mistaken the cops were all indians... maybe i watch too much CSI.

12. Anonymous2:56 am

ITS NOW OR NEVER.....................

13. Anonymous2:56 am

GET RID OF BADAWIIIIIIIIII........

14. Anonymous3:01 am

I WILL ONLY LAY MY LIFE FOR MY COUNTRY & MY AGONG ONLY ...........

( just sign off )...

frank loh cheng kee
    i/c 620403-08-6679

15. Anonymous3:16 am

DO ME PERSONALLY GIVE A F%&K WHAT BADAWI THINK AND SAYS

16. bro Rocky, thts why i pity our policemen. dahlah severely underpaid, when they die in the line of duty, instead of having their death avenged, their action is being questioned 1st. by our very own PM!
    maybe its time i write part-2 of polis-oh-polis.

17. Anonymous3:54 am

"The IGP said he would request for more bullet-proof vests to be supplied to police personnel and officers including those conducting patrols."

Such shortsightedness........ and still in the position to lead? also would it not be better to spend RM 95 million on the necessary equipment rather than to squander it all off on some fanciful space flight?

Dear mr PM, you have lead badly!

18. Anonymous7:47 am

In Nurin's case.. they blamed the parents..
    In Lingam's case, they go after the whistle blower..
    In this case, the blamed the police..

I don't know how the parents, Annuar, the police and the rest of us can stand this any longer!

HJG

19. Anonymous8:27 am

I am not sure whether PM's open his mouth while sleeping or else? For me, this Pak Lah need a boot's out - kickdefella out

20. The entire government machinery is in disarray. Those at the top have lost touch with the ground. Loss of lives of helicopter pilots, police officers, bus and ferry passengers, those who die is floods, those who fall victims to rapists and murderers are not important issues.
    What is important is sending an angkasawan (it seems there is no English equivalent for this word)to space when there are no fund to unclog drains, or buy bullet proof vests.
    Now, instead of going after the killers they are talking about methods of ambush. Perhaps the PM knows better how it is done and so I suggest he becomes the new IGP after sacking Musa.

21. Malacca CM Ali Rustam is kicking off THE campaign to get rid of Dollah Badawi, and other Umno leaders must be brave enough to follow suit. They must do it and think of the consequences if they do not!

22. This comment has been removed by the author.

23. Anonymous10:05 am

This is what The Star reported this morning (http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2007/10/27/nation/19297071&sec=nation&focus=1):

Nation
    Saturday October 27, 2007

Musa orders thorough probe

KUALA LUMPUR: Get the cop killers – that was Inspector General of Police Tan Sri Musa Hassan’s order to his men following the killing of two detectives who were gunned down during a drug bust in Sungai Buloh on Thursday night.

A furious Musa also wants his men to use all resources available to bring to book the trigger-happy gunmen who also shot and wounded two police Inspectors during the incident at Kampung Desa Aman.

“My priority now is to catch these cop killers.

“A massive hunt is on to identify and get them,” he said after the launching of the Community Day With Police 2007 by Datuk Dr Maximus Ongkili, the Minister in the Prime Minister’s department at the Sungei Besi police station here yesterday.

No Police Boss will tolerate his men gunned down, at any cost. So if the Minister-in-charge is not too sharp on these sort of things, the Police Boss will.

24. Anonymous10:30 am

why must the PM be concerned about his PR ethics when 2 cops died unneccessarily! he have every right to be mad.

25. 2 cops died on duty
    On raid no proper precautions
    No bullet proof vests
    What are the police officers doing?
    Superman, are they?

2 cops never got to celebrate
    Deepavali with their families
    They got bullets instead of cookies
    The superiors must pay………

Now the sleeping beauty woke up
    Yawned widely and exclaimed
    “What they don’t know what to do?”
    “Yes my lord we fucked up”

Dealing with drug lords
    They don’t care about lives
    Money and addicts
    These they want to have

200 years in police work
    A bust turned tragic
    Now IGP cries for action
    “Get the cop killers!”

Don’t they visualize in their minds?
    What will happen with the drug lords?
    They don’t care about lives
    They will take a few with them
    Into the land beyond
    As their body guards

Police know
    “Don’t cry for me when I am dead and gone”
    Sacrifices are necessary
    In this line of policing work
    So that the nation can sleep peacefully
    The police officers’ sacrifices aren’t in vain

My condolences to the police officers
    They live though we may forget
    The good Lord will take care of them
    On their journey to a land beyond our dreams

26. Anonymous11:23 am

Did the same Dollah say that the cops should have circled the area and use loudhailer to call out those drug dealers? Come on Dollah..you 're not living in Bukit Kepong era now. By the time the cops could pull out the loudhailer the entire raiding team could have all been gunned down.

27. Rocky,
    Tell them to use the submarines and sukhois to raid drug laboratories since we cant afford to buy life vests for the saftety of our policemen on duty.

28. Anonymous2:57 pm

Tan Sri Musa said TV 3 NEWS, POLIS AKAN BELI BAJU KALIS PELURU...is there money for it, we need money to send another man to space in 2010

29. Anonymous3:19 pm

I believe there is more than meets the eye where the "raid" was concerned. Perhaps this was what the PM was referring to. Would the cops mount a drug raid with only four men and apparently without planning and back-up? My sympathies to the families of the deceased but something is just not right. Whatever, I hope the killers are caught and hanged.

30. Anonymous3:22 pm

The PM is an embarrassment to the country.
    He is quoted often as saying he is 'disappointed', well the people of Malaysia are ashamed and disappointed that they have to be led by a pathetic PM and DMP, together with a bunch of ministers and deputy ministers who have shown that they are not only incompetent, but are also selfish hypocrites who greedy feather their own nests.

31. What response did you expect from the "SLEEPING PM - THE AAB",Am Surprised, he was aware of it and didn't go to overseas .
    May be the raided party was aware that , if they inform Musa or other senior corrupt people within their force, the culprits wont be there, when they arrive.. I Guess.
    Their sincerity in carrying out their duties must be appreciated.

32. police. What do we really know about their procedures? if 4 cops from different deparments can go on a raid, with the most senior member of that district being a lance corporal, it saya a lot about it.
    although I do not have police experience common sense dictates that there be a senior officer from the district where the crime is perpetrated. (as law abiding citizens , we are only allowed to-lodge a police report when we meet qith accidents in the very police district where it happened) and you think this basic law does not apply to criminals? i smell a rat.!

33. Anonymous4:49 pm

Four plainclothes. Not bulletproof. No backup squads. So why did they raid?

Or... my feeling is ... there was NO RAID that day.

The four policemen went there for ...... with the drug syndicate?

34. Bro ... kan orang dulu dulu dah kata ,,, Polis yang Tamak .. selalu Rugi .

35. Anonymous7:46 pm

The bad guys are learning from TV,movie,internet etc
    So the police needs to do the same.
    They should always be many steps ahead.
    Its a dangerous world out there.

36. Anonymous10:24 pm

Wondering aloud: Who tip the killers that the police is going to the house, with one of their apprehended colleague? It is not so much about the bullet proof vest!!! Somebody leaked...

37. Anonymous11:10 pm

mak latok,
    They got money to spend on
    Engkau SAWAN but no money to buy vests.
    No wonder our leaders are so screwed up and the rakyat are screwed !!!

38. Anonymous11:23 pm

sure the police were "raid" not?
    maybe the police were on their part-time job working with gangsters? although our police force has its faults, they are pretty efficient when it comes to raids, u have to give them that, they are quite professional there, well the snr guys are...so i think those two "police" were off-duty la, or making looking after THEIR biz....
    where got "raid" with 4 (is it) plainclothes policeman at drug processing plant with just wat pistol ar?

39. Anonymous12:07 am

A lot of UMNO cybertroopers here..lipreader is probably one of them!

HJG

40. Anonymous3:32 am

Rocky, any death is a tragedy, unfortunate and a great lost, especially more if it was caused by criminals. My condolence to both families of the late L/Kpl K Jayabalan and L/Kpl R Rajakumaran.

The Star yesterday reports:
    A furious Musa also wants his men to use all resources available to bring to book the trigger-happy gunmen who also shot and wounded two police Inspectors during the incident at Kampung Desa Aman.

“My priority now is to catch these cop killers.”

Reading the above got me even more furious. I just hope somebody from the police force (if not Tan Sri Musa himself reading this) will convey this message to him, for I really need to know. Why, only when it involved your own, you get furious? Furious enough to want your men to use all resources available to bring to book the trigger-happy gunmen? Even making it your PRIORITY now?

I don’t see nor read anywhere in the print media on you saying something similar or to the same effect when Nurin died. Until today, her killer is still out there! Her death don't deserve such priority? Now that the priority is on the cops killers, Nurin’s killer/s can breathe easy I suppose.

Al-Fatihah buat Nurin.

I pray for you both, L/Kpl K Jayabalan and L/Kpl R Rajakumaran. Rest in peace.

41. Anonymous7:57 am

Not too long back, a UTM Skudai lecturer developed a new lightweight bulletproof vest that was said to be superior to the bulky ones we see. Maybe the IGP should check that out first. Mobility and manoeurvability during a raid are important things to have.

As for Bwi, his heart is underdeveloped; and that's all one can say for his mind and mouth.

42. Anonymous9:01 am

Musa said currently, only personnel and officers carrying out dangerous tasks and operations were supplied with bullet-proof vests due to the shortage of the jackets.
    AND REST CAN WAIT AND SEE AT WARONG KOPI,NGETER.
    "The IGP said he would request for more bullet-proof vests to be supplied to police personnel and officers including those conducting patrols."
    HE WOULD REQUEST?
    you people better wake up,your flag is going down.

43. Anonymous10:03 am

I am not an UMNO cyber-trooper. I don't even qualify to be an UMNO member by race. But I have to agree with Lipreader. There is something bothersome here. The men were acting on information received. The raid is at a dwelling house, not a moving vehicle etc which can disappear in seconds. There are lots of time for proper planning and getting back-ups.
    My condolence to the family and may the killers be caught soon.

44. Through respect for the deceased I desisted from asking this question yesterday:Did they go on a clandestine mission, perhaps to ....no it is not fair to make assumptions, no matter how tempted!

The Alliedmaester and OBE shared similar doubts yesterday under the shade of the old mango tree....continued later at the PJClub.

Doubts cleared now over the 'unsanctioned op'.

But we will not make any innuendos. The authorities I hope will not do the carpet caper but instead will reveal the truth. Only the truth will save us all.Veritas nos liberabit.

45. bro,
    this whole "raid" stinks and I reserve my judgement of this cops...."ahhhh the servant waits while the master bathes "
    While the PM can snore through his loud-hailer and Musa can bark all he wants, his very own generals are probably knocking glasses with the under-world in celebration of eliminating a few "greedy" cops !
    A rat (or maybe lots !) within perhaps, other wise why the block even before the point of destination ? Suspect all this info we are getting is contradictory. I'll go with alliedmanster for now!
    but then I'm not the PM, so I can say and speculate anything, right ?
    Cheers to our "wise" and "tactful" PM and to a "clean" Police force !

46. Zorro, Lipreader, Anons:

Whatever the fallen cops were there for, I don't think we'll know quickly or the whole story. Because of the nature of the PM's statement (basd on the IGP's briefing), we are all asking questions: Were they good cops? Were they bad cops?

The cops are dead and they are not going to be able to answer any of the doubts raised as a result of the PM's statement in the newspaper. I'm sure the cops have ways to deal with such posthumous issues.

But ONE fact remains -- these cops were ambushed and gunned down. I repeat - they were ambushed and gun down. I was in the newspapers long enough to have seen many of these kinds of ambush mounted by the police! Who ambushed and gunned them down? Who gave their position away?

The IGP said the cops will hunt down the cop killers. Nobody should be casting aspersions. We the police has conducted an investigation and found them to be rogue cops, deal with it.

There is no need for politicians -- least of all the PM -- to make statements where we, the taxpayers who still rely on the police, are forced to read between the lines and make assumptions which may not be right.

47. Anonymous6:44 pm

To our dear beloved PM.

Please change. As it is, you have your stomach full(I mean--really FULL) but your brains empty.
    Try the way round for a change---pplleeaassee....

48. Anonymous6:47 pm

A bit late in commenting but i completely agree with you. In times like this forget about pointing fingers, a few good words for the bravery of the policemen would go a long way. But anyway it seems to be the modus of our leadership.

49. Anonymous12:07 am

HE WOULD REQUEST?
    you people better wake up,your flag is going down.
    the igp no need to say anything,pm already approved the budget but when come for the rakyat we have to wait and wait and wait and you pangkah them than you got it.

50. Anonymous2:02 pm

'AND THE REST CAN WAIT AND SEE AT WARONG KOPI,NGETER.'
    anon 9:01 you are right and yet hope with the bullet proof vest we the the uniform guys more on patrol not lay under the tree waiting for target.

51. Correct me if I am wrong, but isn't there a Malaysian company in Cyberjaya making bullet proof vests? Ah, wait. Or maybe these Malaysian-made vests are just produced for export because they are of a much higher quality? Kind of like we pumping oil from the South China Sea and exporting them because they are of high quality and instead import inferior quality from elsewhere for domestic consumption. Forget whether the operation was tactically wrong or not, etc. Beloved Prime Minister, those men put their lives on the line for the country. And two of them lost theirs while carrying out that duty. Tactically wrong or not, sir, I think they may just have more balls than you or I put together, to be in the line of fire without their bullet-proof vests on. Blunder or not, sir, we have honoured people for less heroic deeds. If you can't see fit to praise them as fallen heroes, it is really quite unnecessary to sully their names in death. They may have bungled (and even that is debatable) and paid heavily for it. But they certainly didn't look like fools. For that they could have joined the Forensics Department, where they can clown around with impunity.

52. Anonymous7:35 pm

"These were brave men. Men who risked their lives to make this country of ours safer. I have told the IGP that his men must not rest until the cop killers are found and sent to the gallows.(THIS MEN PROBLY NOT DEAD IF THERE IS BULLET PROOF VEST) This country will not be threatend by the bullets of these drug syndicates.( AND YET BULLETS HAVE NO EYES ONLY WHEN THIS KIND OF THINGS HAPPEN THAN YOUR EYES ARE OPEN) We will not let these three heroes died in vain!"(SO DO WE HERE)

53. Anonymous12:19 pm

.( AND YET BULLETS HAVE NO EYES ONLY WHEN THIS KIND OF THINGS HAPPEN THAN YOUR EYES ARE OPEN)

man i guess u're a man experienced enough bout 'bullets'. giv me a tips which type of bullet's are good for this kind of person/s,got head w'o brain,got eyes cannot see,got heart still bodowi.