Tuesday, September 25, 2007

Tomorrow's March is ON!

ATTENTION! The buses will leave Dataran Merdeka at 9.30am tomorrow morning (Wed Sept 26) for Putrajaya. Please be there early.

Save the Judiciary.
Hundreds of lawyers will walk from the Palace of Justice to the PM's Department at 11am tomorrow to press for changes in the Judiciary.

While the DPM has just said the Government will set up an independent panel to investigate an incriminating video released by Anwar Ibrahim, the lawyers said it falls short of their demands for a Royal Commission and sweeping changes system-wide to revamp the Judiciary.

So, see you for the march tomorrow. Black & White, and jacket, please, in solidarity with our lawyer bros and sis.

Edmund Bon of the Bar Council has a message for you:

The walk tomorrow is a peaceful stroll to the PM's Office. Everything humanly possible is being done and has been done over the couple of days to ensure this. The Cabinet has been informed that we are doing this, and handing over a memorandum and a representative will be expecting us.

The walk is importantly (1) a show of solidarity of the Bar and civil society's positions on the issue (2) to send a message that we are serious about wanting a clean up of the Judiciary including by (3) calling for an independent appointments and promotion commission (4) calling for a royal commission to enquire into the recording and the state of the administration of justice in Malaysia.

A Star sms has been received about DPM announcing the establishment of a panel to investigate the authenticity of the clip. This does not change anything about the walk. We are still proceeding to walk because the issues we are advocating are not limited to the recording alone but with much larger issues as described above.

And would such a decision by the Govt for a panel be set up have been made without the continuous pressure from us and civil society which includes calling for this walk, more so after PM said there would be no royal commission?

Believe in the power we all have in making change, and believe in ourselves. We CANNOT be afraid to walk, we CANNOT look lowly on ourselves, we CANNOT give up our country to people who do not deserve to run it.

SO PLEASE JOIN THE WALK!

--
Warm regards

EDMUND BON

--

17 comments:

1. Anonymous5:28 pm

Nazri cakap...macam opposition lah.

Rock, i say lets support it, even for those that can't make it, we fully support it!

Time to change! 50 tahun cukuplah!

2. Anonymous5:58 pm

Yo Malaysians, come on! Aren't you ashamed of being left behind by the monks in Myanmar? And you what, call yourself a developing country? How about your mind? - Amir

3. I'm just a little bit worried about what would happen in the future. I think about the lawyer's protest in Pakistan and now the monk's protest in Myanmar.

I hope our country isn't heading into that territory. May peace prevail.

4. Anonymous7:25 pm

Hope this is a simple start to correct the many wrongs that has been committed by the present/past administration.While it may not have the power like what happened in Philippines (Cory Aquino) or like what is happening in Myanmar today,but a start has to happen.

Hope the dumbasses like Nazri and the others wake up from their state of denial and address this issue with conviction and moral gumption.Recieved mail from a friend in Finland and he enquired the truth of the phone conversation
    which he had seen in Youtube.
    Still pondering my reply to him of this shameful act.

BR
    Rastaman.

5. God help us if this govt. fails us. If I can call down thunder and lightning from heaven, I call a curse on this govt. if it fails us.

6. is it power corrupts itself and absolute power corrupts absolutely ?

7. I will march with our legal eagles. More power to them.

8. Bro,

Just spoke with Haris who mentioned that the five chartered buses will be leaving from DATARAN MERDEKA instead.

Thought you might want to update.

See you at Putrajaya tomorrow.

9. Brother,
    Since we are outstation, our soul will be there with All-Blogs
    Looking forward for the update 'cos MSM will not cover it.

Adios

10. Anonymous10:53 pm

If the lawyers really wanna show some guts, they need to stop practising for one whole month. If the system is corrupt obviously it isnt working. If it isnt working then SHUT IT DOWN.

Dont get me wrong I applaud the stance but it's way past time to march and hand over a document. It's time for extreme civil disobedience....

11. Anonymous11:08 pm

I never imagined myself praying for Tun M to get well soon. He is a key witness to this juducial fixing which happened under his nose and he would have been party and privy to it. I'm hoping he will have the decency to spill the beans to make up for his relentless assault on the judiciary and the Bar during his watch, all of which has brought us to where we are now.

12. Anonymous11:38 pm

I'll be outstation on business.

all the best guys.Time they take notice but the best is still vote for a bigger opposition in next GE.

Thanks to all those marching tomorrow.

13. DPM Dato' Seri Najib Tun Razak announced on Tuesday special inquiry board to the VK Lingam video, headed by former Chief Judge of Malaya Tan Sri Haidar Mohd. Noor and comprises a former Oppositions politician now turned community leader and social activist Tan Sri Lee Lam Thye and former Courts of Appeal Judge Dato' Mahadev Shankar.

http://bernama.com/bernama/v3/news_lite.php?id=286756

And the Bar Council lauded this setting up of inquiry board to look into the much talked about story, first put forth by the Oppositions recently.

http://bernama.com/bernama/v3/news_lite.php?id=286902

Lets see what these learned and respectable gentlemen could come up with.

14. Anonymous8:24 am

i know bloggers will be there....

let's see what our lawyers are made of!

15. Anonymous9:18 am

ermmmm..

memandangkan IO kerja kat putrajaya, bulelah I join the marching band...

see you guys

16. Rocky!

This is nonsense you know, you guys lawyers et al! What we need is a civil disobedience and some kind of an intifada to show the displeasure! Yes, some suggested lawyers should stop practicing for, say, one month and sundry shop to shut down for one month. The thing about marching and showing displeasure will not do it, and then you guys will go back driving your Rextons, Mercedeses, Toyotas and then retreat at your exclusive clubs, and at night you guys go back to your expensive condos, town-houses, you duplexes and then when the time come for you guys to be hypocritical, you guys will go marching again and it will go on and on, like the reformasi movement that ended up being quite boring really! Hey! I do want the system to buck up, to change for the better, but walking alone will not do it, and this will also have a knack of being boring eventually! Good luck!

17. There was a story during the Tun's time about him and lawyers ,There was a Lawyers convention at the mines convention centre and 5000 of the top Lawyers in the country were there attending it.in the midst of the convention, armed Terrorists stormed in and there was a hostage situation.Boss terrorist phones the Tun with his demand " If you DONT pay 100 million to our swiss bank account by midnight ,we will RELEASE 100 lawyers every hour on to the streets.The Tun paid the money.
    happy marching guys