Sunday, July 01, 2007

Johor's son Hisham responds to LKY but ...

... but no cigar. Don't be fooled by the fierce headline, Hishammuddin hits out at LKY for statement on IDR. The Umno Youth leader was merely saying that he supports the IDR.
"To accuse that we (Johor Umno leaders) do not welcome (Singapore's investment in IDR), I feel is purely his personal perception and his perception is influenced by history".
[If you find it hard to understand where Hisham was going with the quotes, click here for the whole report by Bernama].

At least the Deputy Prime Minister had the good sense to call up Ghani and asked him what he thought of LKY's statement. Najib said the MB had assured him that Johor Umno is all for IDR.
"As such, it isn't true if anyone says that there is no support from the Johor Umno. In planning for the development of the IDR, we certainly take into consideration the interest of all parties. And Singapore investors can be accepted and we welcome them as investors in the development planning framework for the IDR which had already been drawn up."
[Click here for the Bernama report]
However, neither of them responded to the remarks by the "Little Emperor" about Pas trying to topple the PM and Umno leaders, especially the ones in Johor, are doing the same. See my Saturday's posting here.

12 comments:

1. Anonymous6:32 am

The triplets have finally spoken - ahhh ... to a different tune.

One who loves blood, the other who loves weapon of antiquity and the last – a moron aping to be genius.
    Physically different but share the same diabolical mental mindset.

Oh yeah .... courtesy of the great NEP.

Nobody in their right mind should grant them any benefit of doubt. They don’t deserve it.

oA

2. Anonymous7:45 am

Looks like LKY is stating the obvious and as such no comment from top UMNO leaders.

Just like an old saying 'Actions speak louder than words'. It it pure common senses that all the UMNO members will says that they will support IDR when ask by top leaders.

Why don't we personally ask the Singaporean investers about what they go through when try to invest in Johor. With those little 'Emperors' in the government department, I think you can guess the answer>>>

3. Anonymous9:03 am

ABANG ATTAN,

LKY CUBA MENLIHAT SIAPA PENDEKAR MELAYU.. YANG BAKAL DI BAYAR GAJI TAHUN DEPAN.

KITA TANYA SHANGRI LA SINGAPORE SIAPA YANG BAYAR BILL BILA PERMINMPIN MELAYU TINGGAL DAN MAKSIAT DI SITU.

TAWAN MALAYA 20 TAHUN DARAI SEKARANG..YANG DI PLANTED OLEH LKY.
    DAN CALON CALON NYA IALAH,
    1.KJ
    2.HTH,
    3.PONTIAN
    4.PULAI
    CALON YANG TERSINKIR
    1.RON PARIT JAWA
    2.JB.
    3.SEGAMAT.

" SAYA MOHON KEPADA UMNO DAN MELAYU LIHAT {MALAYU SINGAPURA} YANG BERJAYA MEMBINA MBF DALAM KEADAAN MEREKA MENJADI SEPISIS TERLINDUNG SEPERTI BURUNG WAK WAK"

[MBF]= MASJID BILD FUND

IMAN YANG MENBAWA MANUSIA PERGI JAUH..

'ALLAH RAHMATI ABANG ATTAN'

4. "At least the Deputy Prime Minister had the good sense to call up Ghani and asked him what he thought of LKY's statement. Najib said the MB had assured him that Johor Umno is all for IDR."

Is it a case of when singapore ask us to jump, we just say how high?
    How come that DPM have to ask MB the seriousness of the Johorean committment? Don't they have any confidence of the commitment of Johorean from the beginning or the suspicion is already in the mind of the cabinet from the beginning?

Or is it a back door way by s'pore to ensure or to force 100% commitments from Malaysia (read Johor)?

5. As I wrote few days ago
    When the grassroots are not consulted
    The resistance will be there
    Telling the leaders
    “You think you are clever
    Doing something without telling us why”

Najib said Johoreans want IDR
    For money to be made surely glow
    Go to the grassroots feel the blows
    What will the Malays say when they still do the running?

Maybe LKY has a point
    Ditch up his remarks
    And see how Johore Malays react
    Fail the IDR projects
    Down go PM

Hishammuddin “the keris” says
    LKY perception in his history
    We are told history corrected our mistakes
    To deal with our adversaries
    We must know the story

Nay….the boss will be right
    Calling the branch manager
    He will say “we support you boss”
    And find ways to make him look silly

It is not too late
    Group in all the branch chief
    Telling them what is IDR about
    Get their commitment
    It is for the state and country
    Then there will be a cohesive march

6. The fact is there are groups in UMNO actively working to undermine the PM, like "anai-anai" under the woodwork. But I'm not sure how effective they are.

LKY was just stating the obvious, even if he didn't exactly say it politely.

7. Anonymous10:53 am

What we have here is a classic case of a master strategist at work.

LKY of the tiny RDC has come to the rescue of our numero uno who is probably facing an imminent rebellion from the groundswell of disgruntled sidelined. So a fren will do what a fren does for another in time of dire need - launch an attack. It's the best form of defence.

Now the enemy within will have to scurry about carrying out damage control. Isn't it the norm that disloyalty confirmed will see more than rice bowls broken?

8. Anonymous10:56 am

hi caravanserai,

enjoyed your poems. may i know who you refer to as "Panjang" in your last recital?

thanks.

9. Anonymous11:59 am

It's amazing - all LKY has to do is say something 'provocative' and yet not altogether unbelievable and everyone in boleh-land gets hot under the collar. The normal rigmarole of 'how dare he?', 'we're a sovereign nation!', etc, etc will now do the rounds now (paging one Mr. Rommel). As far as the DPM calling the Johor MB to get to the bottom of the issuegoes; it quite rightly is a "Singapore says jump, we say 'how high?'" scenaio. I say deal with it and accept that reality! Stop pretending and having delusions of grandeur! The reality is that we want (need even?!) their money and they are fully aware of that fact and thus they call the shots! Simple as that - no great brain-storming needed. It's that way in any laisez faire commercial arrangement. Anyone forcing us to take Singapore's money? Wake up and smell the coffee or, I suppose in boleh-land, that should read 'coffee-money'!

10. Anonymous1:24 pm

maybe this interview might give you a better picture.

http://www.abc.net.au/ra/asiapac/programs/s1938907.htm

11. It is a case of who need who most. The govt need the s'pore or the s'pore need the IRD. If s'pore need it more, surely they didn't show it. But we being so "tak ada confidents tak ada semangat tak ada peduli apa apa" will do everything to ensure that s'pore will come. I'll bet you that after this, they will give all sort of assurance and benefits to make sure s'pore stays in IRD.
    LKY 10 Malaysia 0

12. Anonymous4:53 pm

This time round there are no demands for apology and explanation on LKY's statement.

If UMNO do demand an apology/explanation from LKY I am sure it will backfire on them as it did last time.

It is not a perception that some senior members of UNMO are not happy the way IDR is promoted to attract investors from Singapore, it is the reality of politics.

As long as Malaysia Govt can provide confidence and conducive environment for foreigner investors, FDI will roll in.

In reality, Malaysia is losing FDI to neighboring countries and with worsening economy the situation does not bode well for UMNO in the coming General Election, hence the desperate attempts to make IDR a success.

ou