Friday, June 15, 2007

Malaysia sets up Task Force to check on websites

Bloggers beware. The NST's scoop Task Force to check on websites says the Cabinet on Wednesday had a lengthy discussion on the Internet before deciding to set up the task force to "study the need to regulate internet sites with pornographic and seditious content".
"The websites to be monitored are those which contain pornographic material and those, including blogs, which carry seditious material.
"These include blogs which post inflammatory content against other races or religions and not just blogs on politics or those which criticise the government, the source said."
I heard that the Task Force will come under the Prime Minister's Department, where the 4th Floor kids hide. I suggest they go SoPo-Central.blogspot to get started and not use this as an excuse to spend millions to get a new database started.

Read the NST story here.

21 comments:

1. Anonymous12:24 pm

Not surprising. Animal Farm: poly-ticks' techniques, Malaysian style.

Roles of squealer, raven, snowball, dogs, rats, pigeons and rabbits....all rolled into one task force.

We await with great fear.

madmonk

2. Anonymous12:24 pm

What can I say-lah ... hummmmmm ... :)

3. Anonymous12:25 pm

Brother,

It shows that All-Blogs is going on the right tract. Hopefully sooner or later they will recognize Bloggers not as a treat but helping in the development of the country.

Any way we are always late.

Adios

4. ho-hum... and i thought article 10 of the Constitution talked about the right of free speech? a blog is of personal property, right? or is it public, because everyone can read it?

5. Sedition act covers issue of race, religion, rights, citizenship, and such.

The blogs have been rather "seditious" in some of its discussions to the current stage that is rather to forthcoming.

Time to be civil in our discusion. Me included.

6. Rock,

Have posted my reply to 'shockingexpose' at OBE.
    Blog set at GMT and these jokers' analysis just fell flat.

Nice presentation, though.

Meanwhile, Voice did mention about about SC teaming up with MCMC in trying to curtail internet investment scams, thus, this 'new' extra effort is the same thing as the 'registration' thingy under a different guise to control bloggers.

Stay focus, folks.

7. Anonymous2:51 pm

I still think social-political blogs have an important role to play in nation-building. We must continue to play that role without fear and favour and responsibly.

Having said that I doubt if we are making any impact at all, based on:

1. Too few people read blog
    2. Politicians don't seem to be aware of all the issues brought up by blogs (unless of course they are pretending) - I mean here we are jumping up and down and with the likes of Aisehman screaming away vulgarities to make a point (and Datuk AKJ doing the same thing, only ever so diplomatically) but what do we get?
    We get somebody bloody dreaming about how terbilang we will be in 2057!

I mean, gosh - doesn't his timing sucks? With so many things bocor and collapse and flooded ...sheeesh
    Even if somebody wrote the speech for you, the least you can do is read it at a more appropriate time. Like in 2020.

8. Anonymous3:33 pm

a roundabout way of clamping down on and/or shutting down blogs -- yours, AKJ's, Raja Petra's, Sang K, Ruhanie and all those SoPos.

soon, bro, very very soon.

when they're desperate, they'd do anything.

9. Anonymous3:34 pm

"mereka lupa BAHAWA ALLAH YANG MAHA KUASA"

KERAJAAN YANG SEHEBAT FIRAUN 7 QHORUN PUN TERBALIK..INI KAN PULAK MEREKA YANG JAUH SEPERTI LANGIT DAN BUMI"

SELAMAT MENCUBA...

ABANG ATAN..

MOGA ALLAH KUATKAN ABANG DENGAN RUHUL QHUDUS..AMIN

10. Anonymous3:57 pm

It reminds me of what the agriculture minister said five years ago: "Malaysia will be able to export rice 'in a few years' time'..."

Are we anywhere near that dream now? As far as I know we still import almost half of our rice requirement from thailand. And Bernas (previously known as Lembaga Padi dan Beras Negara) is partly owned by a hong kong company now.

11. i'm doing an article about it, due in 2 days (sorry, but my brain just got short-circuited when i read "impian 2057). i'll send a copy to each one of you for preview before it is made available in my blogspace.

12. Anonymous4:54 pm

Somebodys watching Me(Rockwell)

Who's watching
    Tell me, who's watching
    Who's watching me

I'm just an average man
    With an average life
    I work from nine to five
    Hey, hell, I pay the price
    All I want is to be left alone
    In my average home
    But why do I always feel
    Like I'm in the twilight zone

And (I always feel like)
    (Somebody's watching me)
    And I have no privacy
    Whooooa-oh-oh
    (I always feel like)
    (Somebody's watching me)
    Tell me, is it just a dream

When I come home at night
    I bolt the door real tight
    People call me on the phone
    I'm trying to avoid
    But can the people on TV see me
    Or am I just paranoid

When I'm in the shower
    I'm afraid to wash my hair
    'Cause I might open my eyes
    And find someone standing there
    People say I'm crazy
    Just a little touched
    But maybe showers remind me
    Of Psycho too much
    That's why

(I always feel like)
    (Somebody's watching me)
    And I have no privacy
    Whooooa, oh-oh
    (I always feel like)
    (Somebody's watching me)
    Who's playin' tricks on me

[Instrumental Interlude]

(Who's watching me)
    I don't know anymore
    Are the neighbors watching me
    (Who's watching)
    Well, is the mailman watching me
    (Tell me, who's watching)
    And I don't feel safe anymore
    Oh, what a mess
    I wonder who's watching me now
    (Who)
    The IRS

(I always feel like)
    (Somebody's watching me)
    And I have no privacy
    Whooooa, oh-oh
    (I always feel like)
    (Somebody's watching me)
    Tell me, is it just a dream

(I always feel like)
    (Somebody's watching me)
    And I have no privacy
    Whooooa, oh-oh
    (I always feel like)
    (Somebody's watching me)
    Who's playin' tricks on me
    (Who's watching me)
    (I always feel like)
    (Somebody's watching me)
    Oooooooh
    Whooooa-oh-oh
    (I always feel like)
    (Somebody's watching me)
    So ? who can it be
    (Who's watching me)
    (I always feel like)
    (Somebody's watching me)
    Whooooa-oh-oh
    (I always feel like)
    (Somebody's watching me)
    Who's playing tricks on me
    (Who's watching me)
    (I always feel like)
    (Somebody's watching me)
    Can I have my privacy
    Whooooa-oh-oh
    (I always feel like)
    (Somebody's watching me)
    Who's playing tricks on me

13. Yup, while all the bloggers were focussed to "hentam" Monsterball and to a lesser extent Sheih, the Real Monster Ball, Lord Zam is preparing to eat all the bloggers for breakfast

14. Anonymous6:23 pm

Rocky Bro

here it comes with big bro gonna wield the big stick in the name of porno and sedition. contentious issue can and will be classify as seditious as the government deemed fit. this is as good as censorship.
    good luck rocky. bloggers time is almost up now.

15. Anonymous7:00 pm

Dear Kitty,Yup, you wrote: "while all the bloggers were focussed to "hentam" Monsterball and to a lesser extent Sheih ..".

I am quite certain that it has been Monsterball all along who did the "hentam-ing". He hentam quite a few bloggers and has been barred by quite a few bloggers, and I believe bro Rocky Bru is one of these bloggers. And bro Rocky has never "hentam-ed" this mad Monster back.

And who allowed his blog to be used as the base to "hentam" bloggers?? Right! Sheik the Kickerfella. And Susan the Loone.

The filthy threesome deserve blogosphere wrath.

As for Zam the Minister, he is harmless lah.

Peace.

16. Anonymous10:18 pm

seharusnya dipantau, hanya dua(2) perkara sahaja iaitu agama/bangsa dan hasutan. Kebanyakan para bloggers tidak banyak yang menulis perkara tersebut tetapi ada poster yang menulis tanpa memikirkan keadaan sekeliling, contohnya poster di Malaysia Today memang pada saya melampau, heran juga RPK langsung tidak moderate, mungkin beliau tak ada masa. Perkara politik asalkan tidak sampai ketahap menghasut saya harap kerajaan dapat menerima. Ingat tidak ada dimana-mana pun kebebasan 100% malahan dineraka pun tak ada.

17. Anonymous12:04 am

dear rocky and anon 10.1

speaking about pantauan or tulisan tak bertanggungjawab, what do you think of this article and the comments availabe in it:

http://elizabethwong.wordpress.com/2007/05/31/realpolitik-behind-lina-joy-decision/#comments

Rgds,

18. Dear All:

I thought the cabinet would have discussed at length the recent flood!

If AAB cannot even solve immediate problems like the flood, how on earth could they plan for 50 years. That Vision 2057 is nothing more than Angan angan Mat Jenin!

Keep on dreaming, Pak Lah! I guess with Jean now at his side, AAB can give room for other fantasies like Vision 2057.

M. Bakri Musa

19. maybe they'll come after me next. uh-oh.

In my opinon there is no need for the Govt to set up any Task Force of sorts wasting millions of tax payers money that could go to better use such as Education or control floodings etc...
    Theres NO way on earth to stop information from reaching the media,especially the internet.

IMHO the only REAL solution is for people to censor themselves and choose to accept or reject whatever information they seek/receive. How to achieve this solution? Better education, not some Ops Pembasmi Bloggers or sumth. But what do i know right? im just a 'kid' :D have a nice day.

J.A.

20. hey cypher! can't access your blog, must be the traffic, eh? btw, if a kid like you can see it i don't understand why the other kids (the 4th floor ones) can't. young spirits aren't supposed to believe in the sedition act or anything that comes in the way of freedom, but these kids seem to need them. i hope your young spirit don't get tainted by greed and money.

ops pembasmi bloggers, eh? i like that. i hope the task force doesn't get any ideas ...

21. hmm... i think m. bakri omar's "Towards a Competitive MAlaysia". should be made a compulsory read. as far as my young, inexperienced brain goes, the blog sphere is one of the best platforms for intellectual discourse and exchange of opinions (well, if you exclude annoying factors like mr monsterball et al), other than online forums. we have been experiencing numerous form of restriction of speech and thought (don't speak, don't think policy), and if the gov go ahead with restricting the blog sphere as well... i can't even find the right word to describe what would happen.