Saturday, February 17, 2007

Malaysia's Richest

The Rich Get Richer. Robert Kuok remains the richest Malaysian, according to Malaysian Business' 6th annual tycoon list. His personal wealth is estimated to be RM32. 4 billion, way ahead of second richest Tatparanandam Ananda Krishnan, Malaysia's satellite launcher.

Things you might want to know about our Rich 40:
1. The top 10 are all 55 and above
2. Everyone is above 40 except one
3. The oldest rich Malaysian is Lim Goh Tong, the casino king. He is 89
4. The youngest (and the only one under 40) is Lee Yeow Seng of IOI Group. He is only 28 years old and is the 15th richest Malaysian. This is also his first time on the list
5. Dr Mahathir's son Mokhzani, 45, is the 23rd richest. He is also a new addition to this year's list
6. Sultan Selangor, who was on last year's list, is out
7. Negri Sembilan prince Tunku Yaacob Tunku Abdullah fills that royalty "quota". He is 29th richest
8. Six of the top 40 tycoons are with the YTL Group. Their combined worth reaches RM6 billion, about the total wealth of Lee Shin Cheng of IOI Group, who is the sixth richest
9. The richest Malaysian woman is Chong Chook Yew, 84, of Selangor Properties Bhd. She's worth RM562 million. Raja Eleena Raja Azlan Shah, 46 years old member of the Perak royalty and 30th richest, is worth RM469 million.
10. There are 28 Chinese Malaysians on the list

40 comments:

1. Anonymous3:57 pm

saya tak peduli siapa kaya dan siapa tak kaya! saya tak cemburu ada orang yang lebih berjaya menghimpun wang ringgit serta harta benda.

asalkan saya dan keluarga saya tak terperangkap dalam keghairahan mengejar kebendaan sampai sanggup menggadai maruah diri, bangsa dan negara.

adakah Rocku ingin menimbulkan isu-isu tertentu dengan senarai ini! korupsi? penyelewengan?
    "cronyism"?, jurang perbezaan etnik? kehebatan korporat? globalisasi?

silakan!

hahaHA

2. Salam to Rocky.
    Would like to know how many of them esp the below 50 years old made it without pulling political or royalty strings.

3. typo for 9, cannot be 562 billion lah

4. yes, rocky, I was just about to tell u about the typo -- Chong Chook Yew's is RM562 million-lah.

by the way, what's up with hahaHA?
    SO,are you making an issue of Chinese New Year, since you posted the greeting?
    Going by hahaHA's logic -- you are making an issue of anything and everything you post.

5. Woww...such wealth! no wonder there are people who want to be rich quick.

6. yes. I read it in Malaysian Business.
    And what's wrong with this person hahaHA?
    He seems to impute motive in you.
    Why don't you respond to him Rocky?

7. The richest Malaysian woman is Chong Chook Yew, 84, of Selangor Properties Bhd. She's worth RM562 billion.

Is it million or billion?

8. thanks eugene, ena and mr smith for pointing out the mistake.

it is RM562 Million and NOT billion.

9. Anonymous10:00 pm

I agree with Nuraina and the Sentinel about this hahaHA character. What's he insinuating? I can't seem to get his drift, if indeed there is one.

I sometime wonder what these super-rich people do with their great wealth. It would be nice to know how the other half live. Ah well, I am well and truly resigned to the fact that I am destined to be on the outside looking in as far as wealth is concerned.

Gong Xi Fat Cai to all Chinese posters and happy extra long week-end to all other Malaysians. No such luck for me where I am, I envy you.

10. And Kuan Yew dare to say the Malaysian Chinese marginalised. Hmmm

11. Anonymous11:30 pm

Referring to point no. 10 in your post under "Things you might want to know about our Rich 40", i.e. "10. There are 28 Chinese Malaysians on the list".
    I feel that this statement suggests that the Chinese are "sucking" the nation's wealth and are undeserving. Although it may appear harmless, but look what happened to Indonesia where the Chinese there are made the scapegoats for what appears as unequal distribution of wealth. We live in a free economy, and for free economy to thrive, we need competition, and I simply feel that the Chinese are better and work harder at it. A fact that I think Det & Pak Lah have admitted. Simple example is to look at food stall operators; you will almost always find the Chinese hawker hawking bar CNY, but as for others, they may not be conducting their businesses regularly. Give credit where credit is due. Your posting does read a little racist in nature for all of those I know who have read it. Don't be a sour grape.
    C'mon bro. I'd understand if you will not upload my posting nor am I enthusiastic for it to be seen here, ever more so after your "publicity stunt" with NST and our "hyper-sensitive" nation.
    But then again, maybe you really meant to just point out that 70% of that list are Chinese.

- botak -

12. Anonymous2:28 am

" But then again, maybe you really meant to just point out that 70% of that list are Chinese."
    - botak -

Bro Rocky,
    Agree with Botak. 70% are Chinese. To me that shows that the Malaysia Chinese work smart and work their guts out to be wealthy.

If you look closely, most of them are GLOKAL strategist. Only last few years NTR saw this and campaigning about GLOKAL, where else the chinese saw this more then 50 years ago.

Besides the `Technical Know How` that you need to have in creating your wealth here, in the land of Islamic Hadhari nation, you need to have "Technical Know Who".

Without the `Know-Who`, most likely your business will end-up "No-Where".

The Chinese without the Technical Know Who (TKW) would still be able to make it as they do have the Technical Know How (TKH) to make the project/s viable and sucessful.

As the recipient/s of most Umno related politician are well known for their TKW but might not have the TKH to implement sucessfully. Thats perhaps contribute to the most `Ali-Baba` story.

But in the contact of Ali Baba story, we can see that it is now the reverse to "Baba Ali". The Chinese need the project to sustain their business, but might not have the TKW, wherelse the UMNO smart ass group might have got the project but do not have the TKH.

It works well in great coordination. Well, credit must be given to those who slog their life out and took calculated risk in building their empire of wealth. One must not be envious about others.

If someone out there can interview the top 25 wealthiest man and write a book title "the road to be Wealthy in Boleh-Land" that perhaps can be an inspirational for others fellow not so fortunate Malaysians.

I believe to be wealthy in Boleh-Land is just not by buying submarine, repairing crack bridges, getting AP`s, organizing mega events etc.

If you look closely, most of the wealthiest man
    are in an industry that is not many players around.

My personal opinion, bro.

John Labu.

13. anonymous who signed as "botak",

i suppose some people may perceive number 10 on Rocky's list as smacking of racism.
    But, in my humble opinion, I think not.
    It is a fact that 28 of the 40 are our fellow Malaysian Chinese. period!
    To me, first and foremost, it is a fact.
    And secondly, it suggests that Malaysian Chinese are good/keen/etc businessmen/women. I mean, Chinese make good business people. I know that is stereotyping but they generally are.
    So, I would always expect them to be among Malaysia's richest. Whether they "suck" the nation's wealth and ar underdeserving, (your words), that is not for anyone to suggest. It is not fair for you to insinuate motive on Rocky's part. Am not defending Rocky here...he doesnt need defending.
    You know,I would really be surprised if Malaysian Chinese are not in the top of the list.

14. Anonymous8:56 am

what did I say?

hahaHA

15. Anonymous10:09 am

Hey, how about an 'unofficial' list of top C.M.s M.B.s M.s and other Y.B.s and their estimated wealth . I believe they can knock some of the top 40 off the list.

16. greetings karayaimanis,

Lee Kuan Yew was right in his sense;

those on this list of rich people will forever be rich.

it is those middle-class who are being marginalised with higher taxes / toll / petrol / living expenses

middle classmalaysians of all race be it malay/chinese/indians/dll are the ones getting screwed because they are neither here nor there ... not rich enough to escape the poverty trap - i.e. getting tax more when work even harder to the next taxable income gap ...

17. sorry, rocky, in my later comment referring to botak's comment,it should read are "undeserving" not "underdeserving".

18. It's amazing as to how statistical data can be interpreted in completely opposite perspective(s) by different readers.

Perhaps, it is the way individuals perceive facts (or fiction) without applying critical analysis and instead rely on gut instinct. But we do know that 'homosapiens' lost their instinctive ability aeons ago compared to the animal kingdom.

Are we in a conundrum?

These super rich personalities are icons to be emulated. Just choose the one that you like, for your own reasons, and take it from there. One day when you have become a multi- billionaire, I hope you have also learn the other lesson of not being envious of the one above you on the list who has RM1 more.

19. Anonymous3:18 pm

I remember 12 years ago when I was still 'wet between the ears' slogging out, my wise superior said to me after a 'power' meeting with few 'big shots' - its better to just being rich rather than 'filthy rich'! Wonder whether only now I understood what he really meant - (He is not filthy rich now anyway, thats why we still keep in touch!)

20. Anonymous6:31 pm

Can't agree more with John Labu on the TKH & TKW, being in business myself.
    Although I may harbor dreams of being a nouveau riche in a land filled with opportunities (if you have TKW or fervently seek for it that is), I would like to see Boleh-land do more when it comes to taking care of our less-fortunate. It is not on, whether or not it VMY 2007 or 2020, to see old folks begging on the streets and the handicapped struggling to get on public transportation. Will we ever learn from others' mistakes? Look no further than Kiasu-land where sending the old to old folks home is no longer frowned upon.
    We need to develop ourselves not only materialistically, but spiritually and morally as well. It may sound like some BN propoganda, but IT is the ONLY way forward if we are to avoid the mistakes committed by so-called "developed nations".
    Perhaps M'sian Business should have conducted a poll to see which Mr/Mrs/Ms... Rich have contributed to charity and social well-being and compare this amount to their total net worth. This will then be their score on the material & social standing in Malaysia. For me, if one is worth RM100 billion and does nothing to help, she/he will not figure in the standing.
    We often equate wealth/net worth when it comes to social standing in society. This defeats the notion of social/society, of one's contribution to the society.
    BY adopting this, will we see greater wealth being distributed to the poor and needy? I say we give it a shot. The rich have a BIG EGO to feed, they would not want to lose out in the standing. I am all for it, since they will drop more 'change' from their pockets.
    Happy CNY to all who care to be a member of society!
    Here's to more 'change'(s)!

- botak -

21. Anonymous8:24 pm

Let's face it.. this list is as good as whatever info is available on the public domain.

Many legit names are left out. For instance Dato Lim Tong Yong, the soap king. The sale of his stake in Pantai alone nettedm him over 200million.

22. Anonymous9:59 pm

Can anyone explain to me who this Mukhriz is and how he gains his wealth?

23. Rocky

When I was workign in the Securities Industry, we used to laugh off this list, even when MBiz was under Kali-free NST. Let me highlight several flaws:

1. The calculation is based on PLC shareholding. How about those individual cornering certain industry without having to list their companis?

2. Thos eshareholding could come be back-to-back against bank loan, particularly in newly listed PLCs. Shouldn't it net off the loan?

3. Even calculation wealth based on holding in companies is not reflective. Ross Perot known for for his ownership in whats-that-data-company, that only takes up some 20% of his investment portfololio. Bulk are in bonds with a small portion in stocks.

SO lets not get excited about this.

24. Anonymous12:08 am

Datuk Mukhriz bin Tun Mahathir (born November 1964) is the third son and fifth child of former Prime Minister of Malaysia Mahathir Mohamad and Tun Dr. Siti Hasmah.

He held various posts of several business firms, which include Opcom Holdings Kosmo Tech as well as the Malaysian Franchise Association He is also the executive director of Perdana Peace Global Organisation.

In 2004, he won the election of the Umno Youth exco by garnering the highest number of votes and was subsequently appointed to the post. He was also seen as a potential candidate for being the deputy chief of UMNO Youth's wing, but he later withdrew.

Mukhriz's older brother, Mokhzani, had also played an active role in UMNO's politics.
    Mukhriz was noted for his continuous efforts in speaking for his father in the events of the rift between Prime Minister Abdullah Badawi and his father.

In 2006, Mukhriz won the election of UMNO's Kubang Pasu division, coming in fifth. Mukhriz defended his father, who had lost in the same election he took part, by saying that there is a plan to topple him Mukhriz drew flak from sections of UMNO after he commented on Prime Minister Abdullah's speech that he was a "little bit" disappointed and that it offered nothing new.

He later apologised for his remarks. Mukhriz is married with three children.

Datuk Mokhzani bin Tun Mahathir (born January 1961) is the second son of former Malaysian Prime Minister Mahathir Mohammed and Tun Dr. Siti Hasmah. Like his younger Mukhriz, Mokhzani is a businessman and has played an active role in UMNO, and at one time serving as the Youth's Wing treasurer. Mokhzani owns a Porche franchise in Malausia and also he is the Chairman of Sepang International Circuit.

John Labu.

25. Anonymous12:08 am

Datuk Mukhriz bin Tun Mahathir (born November 1964) is the third son and fifth child of former Prime Minister of Malaysia Mahathir Mohamad and Tun Dr. Siti Hasmah.

He held various posts of several business firms, which include Opcom Holdings Kosmo Tech as well as the Malaysian Franchise Association He is also the executive director of Perdana Peace Global Organisation.

In 2004, he won the election of the Umno Youth exco by garnering the highest number of votes and was subsequently appointed to the post. He was also seen as a potential candidate for being the deputy chief of UMNO Youth's wing, but he later withdrew.

Mukhriz's older brother, Mokhzani, had also played an active role in UMNO's politics.
    Mukhriz was noted for his continuous efforts in speaking for his father in the events of the rift between Prime Minister Abdullah Badawi and his father.

In 2006, Mukhriz won the election of UMNO's Kubang Pasu division, coming in fifth. Mukhriz defended his father, who had lost in the same election he took part, by saying that there is a plan to topple him Mukhriz drew flak from sections of UMNO after he commented on Prime Minister Abdullah's speech that he was a "little bit" disappointed and that it offered nothing new.

He later apologised for his remarks. Mukhriz is married with three children.

Datuk Mokhzani bin Tun Mahathir (born January 1961) is the second son of former Malaysian Prime Minister Mahathir Mohammed and Tun Dr. Siti Hasmah. Like his younger Mukhriz, Mokhzani is a businessman and has played an active role in UMNO, and at one time serving as the Youth's Wing treasurer. Mokhzani owns a Porche franchise in Malausia and also he is the Chairman of Sepang International Circuit.

John Labu.

26. Wahlauweh, long holiday stretch, quiet blogosphere, even the gremlin is missing (heard he went to Indo).

Ok. Brainfart time. Let's play a little game with this rich list.

Top 40 Malaysian tycoons of which 28 are chinese, 1 indian and 11 malays.

So we can therefore deduce that, in the absence of other credible statistical data (MIER findings notwithstanding which has not been rigorously scrutinised nor robustly
    explained by the current administration), the ethnic equity shareholding in Malaysia stands at:

Chinese - 70%
    Malay - 27.5%
    Indian - 2.5%

If AAB says one more time about having "lots of work to do" towards achieving Vision 2020, just tell him to get KA to declare his (KA's) entire assets to get into this top 40 list and he (AAB) would have achieved the objective(s) of the NEP, thereby, promptly rescinding the program plus declare that 'WE' are ahead of schedule on the vision thingy.

Whaddaya say, folks. You think "Fox Media" will use this?

*I'm done here. Geez, wish I could leave some sort of a 'Z' mark on my handiwork but Zorro's holding tight to his blade. Something to do with having a date with politikus next Wednesday*

27. Anonymous1:18 am

John Labu, thank you for telling that Anon that Mukhriz is not Mokhzani.

And Shah101, itu Tony Fernandes bukan Melayu dan takkan boleh jadi Melayu. Not sure if he's Indian though. We can place him under DLL?

But if we get Kamal Badawi to declare his wealth, sure Melayu percentage naik!

Kalau tambah Patrick Badawi, lagilah!

But Kali jangan harap nak jadi Kali Badawi. Tak cukup cerah!

28. Hi Noni Badawi,

Just having a bit of fun, that's all.
    If I 'offended' anybody, my apologies.

You, and perhaps others too, did arrive to the same conclusion about 'declaring assets' by some personalities. It's all about context and subtext.

Rats wearing leopard skins can be spotted and though they aspire to be king of the jungle, the lion awaits.

29. Anonymous1:23 pm

rockybru,

mana scomi? mana kamaluddin?

30. Shar101, aka Ol" Blue Eyes....Politikus, playing hard to get....as a journalist dont know where NEP,,,,allergic to smoking and she was breathing all the cigar smoke whilst engaging Monsterbdall and Shieh, the last time at Denmark House. Even Rocky tried to lure the Poly-tikus out. Ol Blue Eyes, sing her a balland on her cell phone...when she swoons, I'll pick her up before she falls. No, I reject that suggestion. Zorro in no mood to be nice to anyone.

31. Anonymous6:58 pm

Just wonder why KAMALUDIN BIN ABDULLAH is not in the list?

32. Anonymous7:03 pm

Strange but true...

Kamaludin is not in the list ya... May be Tun M sudah masuk banyak pasir to his rice cooker lah...

33. Anonymous2:14 pm

Haaa, this showed that not only the Prime Minister's son only can make money. Ex PM'sons can also get rich maa. So our Tun M should not talk rubbish about PM sons richness..... cause his son is among the richest in Malaysia

34. Anonymous2:18 pm

cre8tif said...
    "greetings karayaimanis,

Lee Kuan Yew was right in his sense;

those on this list of rich people will forever be rich.it is those middle-class who are being marginalised with higher taxes / toll / petrol / living expenses

middle classmalaysians of all race be it malay/chinese/indians/dll are the ones getting screwed because they are neither here nor there ... not rich enough to escape the poverty trap - i.e. getting tax more when work even harder to the next taxable income gap ... "

- So ??? why that stupid Lee Kuan Yew make his racist statement like "Chinese marginalised"

35. Anonymous1:19 pm

who gives a crap what race anyone topping the rich list is...
    why are you all so high strung about race anyway?

36. We should not be envious of those who managed to make it big so long as the wealth is obtained in a decent way - the money is clean. Most of us aspire to be rich so that we can afford to retire early perhaps and could afford to share all the luxuries life can give with families and friends.

What makes it wrong about getting rich is if the money is obtained through unscrupulous means, by cheat and deception, by abusing ones position and authority, by corruption etc.

Let's face it..everybody wants to hit that million. Some people are lucky to have connection with the rich and famous which opens-up ways for them to make money. Some inherited wealth from early family businesses, some sold their lands for millions the ones l really respect are those who starts with nothing and make it big by sheer hard work, big ideas and entrepreneuralship.

37. Anonymous10:00 am

bengap btlla y kt bwh nie..
    ble ms plak diorg menggadai maruah dri nk himpn kekayaan?..xda tls pn..byk y kya2 nie pn xdala smpi lpe dri..ingt lg nk derma sna sni..ko tu klu jeles ckp je la..x yah kutuk2 org..nk slhka Rocku plak.klu xda pndedahan y mcm nie..ble rkyt msia nk mju?..ble otak malaysian nk bkembang..?..ko nie mmg negative laa..

38. Anonymous5:16 am

Sorry I'm pretty confused tunku dato ya'acob tunku abdullah has married a second time and his wfe Ezurin goes around telling everyone she is a princess! Does money give you that much power..shameful

39. Hi there! Someone in my Facebook group shared this website with us so I came to look it over. I'm definitely enjoying the information. I'm book-marking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Excellent blog and superb style and design. itunes store login

40. Anonymous5:12 am

Most of them are family inheritance anyways. Nothing to be proud of when all you do is just lay on your back or Simply being born one.