Monday, September 18, 2006

HE NO SHAKE HANDS

Khairy Jamaluddin may need lessons on social etiquette and the Malay adat.

He was in Johor the other day to gate-crash a youths event organised by the Tengku Mahkota, and the stories told to me were of an man who was so visibly arrogant.

KJ didn't greet anyone, none of the other members of the royal family, not even the TM's consort, it seems. He didn't even go up to the Johor Menteri Besar to shake hands. But he would try to approach the TM whenever he had the chance to.

Wonder what the Prime Minister or his Son-In-Law wants from Johor now?

In another development, Lim Guan Eng called the SIL a millionaire and a hypocrite the other day. Click here to read his full statement at the Parliament House on Khairy.

26 comments:

1. Anonymous1:37 pm

bro,

If the story is true, then i can only conclude this:
    why should Khairy greet TM, the royal family, state exco and so on?
    Why cant he be arrogant? Remember he is KHAIRY. The millionnaire. And more importantly, the MOST powerful man in Malaysia. (The most powerful woman is, of course, Nori. But let's not drag her into the argument.)
    Good question. What does he want from Johor? Through TM. He has no use for the Menteri Besar. Rather, he doesnt think he needs to go through the MB.

PS: Bro. Ramadan is nigh. I know you dont trade vicious gossip. So, I will tell you a true story about Khairy's (mis)behaviour at a Naza outlet/showroom. How he "f...ed" the boys/the staff there. "Do you know who I am?" he roared. So I was told. I never realised that there are many people out there who know some real stories. If you tell them, "hey, that cant be true about Khairy". They'd tell you, "hello.. we were there!".
    So, if they are lying about Khairy's "arrogance of the highest degree" at the Naza shop, then, I am lying too. But saya bukan niat jahat.
    Over a cuppa, bro. and i will tell all. Interested?

2. Anonymous1:39 pm

we must be fools if we condone this kind of behaviour.
    He isnt even Umno Youth CHIEF. Not even a parliamentary secretary.
    This is of course, not to say, that being Umno Youth chief or parl sec gives you the right to be arrogant and rude.
    That said. I am not surprised at all by this tale.
    I have heard worse (about him), brother.

Agus

3. Anonymous1:40 pm

that's what they teach you at Oxford.

Cambridge Girl.

4. What is happening to UMNO? Why can't Pak Lah do something? Why is KJ too powerful? SIL. Somebody please stop this guy before anything happened.

5. Anonymous1:56 pm

minta maaf Za,
    saya diperbesarkan di luar negri. Orang barat pun teraskan adat, etiquette, social graces. Budi bahasa, tingkah laku bukan ditentukan oleh dimana kita dibesarkan. tetapi BAGAIMANA kita diperbesarkan. Lihat anak2 kita yang diperbesarkan di luar negri. Khairy bukan the only one. Ramai lagi. tetapi mereka tahu adat orang2 Melayu.
    Tapi, dalam hal ini, kita tidak boleh persalahkan ibu bapa nya. Perlu di ingat, arwah ayah Khairy seorang diplomat. Ibu nya orang yang berpelajaran, berada.
    It is Khairy himself. When a person becomes so rich and powerful so fast, he is consumed with arrogance.

6. Anonymous1:58 pm

We have heard a lot of horror stories lately about the first family and it looks as if they are 'untouchables'. They are raping the country and nobody can stop them .
    I am sure he wants some land or consent for something from the TM so that he can passed it over to Singapore and get paid millions in
    order for him to pay off all the UMno delegates in the next UMNO election and perhaps GE too.
    What a sad state of affairs our country is facing.

7. Anonymous2:00 pm

cohong gym,

i dont wanna be rude. But, hey, where have you been, man? You are asking questions that we had asked about Pak Lah and his adminsitration?
    We have ceased asking because we know the answer(s). We are now looking solutions.

jaya

8. Anonymous2:01 pm

Za,
    adakah ini bermakna bahawa lagi tinggi pelajaran kita, lagi tidak beradat lah kita?

zabobeh zakula
    muar, johor

9. Anonymous2:05 pm

that punk thinks he owns malaysia.

10. Anonymous2:24 pm

You know, I think this is stupidity and shortsightedness on Khairy's part. A more intelligent man would at least aspire to a pretense of humility.

Well, bak kata orang tua dulu, Walau disepuh emas lancung, kilat tembaga tampak juga. Khairy punya true colours cannot be disguised for long.

As a Malaysian, I fear for this country if our ruling party is so mired in the "jilat, ampu, bodek" culture as to just let a sorry excuse for a leader like this Khairy continue his ascendancy in the party unchecked.

Dalam UMNO ni takde jantan lagi ke?
    Kesian Nori, tapi itu dah jodoh dia nak bersuamikan lelaki seperti Khairy.

Let UMNO not continue to make that kind of mistake. Don't let our country be sold by this so-called investment banker.

11. Anonymous2:28 pm

Dear za,

This guy is rude by anyone's standards, not just Malay. Words like manners and chivalry does exist in the English Language.

This guy just thinks that he is above the pedestrian concerns of good behaviour, humility etc.

Buat malu kolej, kampung, negeri and everything he represents.

Disgusting!!

12. Anonymous4:39 pm

i am so sorry to have to tell you this, galadriel.
    you have much to fear for this country. Our ruling party is very much "mired in the jilat, ampu, bodek culture". but wait. why is this so entrenched? because members of our ruling party are greedy, immoral and corrupt. they all want to be rich. so, this sorry excuse for a leader named Khairy will ascend.
    Umno members deserve the leader they choose.
    the tragedy is that whomever Umno chooses get to be a very powerful leader of this country, our country.
    we are not, by any measure, a government by the people, for the people and of the people.
    i am sorry to have to tell you that this is the reality.

Dalam UMNO ni takde jantan lagi ke?

13. Anonymous4:55 pm

my take on this, rocky.
    khairy wasnt being arrogant. just shy. or ashamed. he knows what people are thinking about/of him. all those awful and incriminating reports about him -- ECM Libra scam. Pantai medivest. Maya karin.
    It was the TM that he needed to see. He simply had no time for all these people. He is a very professional person. He needed to see the TM and he did not want to waste time. Also, it is his (Umno Youth) chief's territory. He didnt want people to make wrong conclusions about his presence there.
    He was being a gentleman. Just that he didnt know how to. that's all. No?

14. Anonymous6:00 pm

This KJ is also close to another TM, the one from Pahang.
    It is said that TMP is grooming KJ to head the Football Association of Malaysia (FAM) one day.
    When that becomes a reality, corporate giants will be rushing to FAM's aid to please SIL and FIL.
    But I'd shudder to think if KJ has the charisma to head what is possibly the most hated sports organisation in the country, hahahahah.
    The Press will cut him to pieces, or will they?
    If you were still running the Paper that Cares, what would be your position, Sdr Rocky?

15. Anonymous8:31 pm

Blogger GuitarKapok posted this on Malaysia-Today:
    "Just got news from New York, Khairy and his Mother were furious because their names were not on the list when they visited Malaysian Embassy. Only that of Nori @ PM’s daughter was on the list. So there was problem when arranging dinner and shows.

Embassy staff said they were not informed that Khairy and his mother were included with PM entourage. They said they should not be blamed for this miscommunication. The embassy staff was also pissed off with the way Khairy acted (when he got angry) as if he is part of the government staff."

16. Anonymous8:35 pm

Dear gabrielle and melayujati,

Our dear boy Khairy studied at Oxford's St Hughes n his degree is in Philosophy, Politics and Economics, a course introduced in the early 20th century to replace Classics n in the process allow more students to learn philosophy without having to learn latin.

Now those having studied philosophy cannot escape being touched by the ideas and thoughts of thinkers. How come Khairy doesn't manifest the benefits of such education? For a diplomatic offspring, he seems to sorely lack the maturity and bigger worldview that a lot of sich kids have.

Even before his marriage to Nori, he has been rubbing shoulders with ppl of power n privilege. How come none of that urbane stuff rubbed off on him?

Shy? heheh...he wasn't shy enough to shy away from that KLCC fracas when Condi Rice came to visit, knowing his FIL meets her that very day. Where was his judgement then?

I believe that he is someone who is on an express trip to the top, no time to stoop to kindness, tact and such buang masa acts.

When asked by a reporter abt the "desas desus" surrounding his "extra curricular" activities, he said, 'Show me the Special Branch file...show me proof.' i;m not lying, this is a matter of public record. The manner in which he said it is the very antithesis of shyness.

Ashamed? Man...I could go on. You know, anyone savvy enough to marry into the country's first family shud know the do's n don'ts of being a politician and a public figure.

To not talk to anyone but the object of his interest is just sheer arrogance in my books. Arrogance that I fear masks a certain insecurity in him. An insecure leader? Recipe for disaster surely.

Yes melayujati, I am worried. I'm not a melayu like you. But i'm a daughter of this soil and I love it very much. As a registered voter 3 general elections older, i want some things to change.

The new breed of sharks seem to want Mahathir out of the way, but not the patronage/crony capitalism that existed in his time. That they want to continue.

Meanwhile, that lonely makcik in my hometown will continue to live in that dilapidated old house, while other less eligible ppl get two or three units in the Projek Perumahan Rakyat thanks to their "cable".

Tak bengang ke?

17. Anonymous11:10 pm

dear galadriel, melayujati, gabrielle,

gabrielle, i have to disagree with you. Most definitely, I am with Galadriel on this. Also Melayujati, I hate to agree, but you are right.
    Galadriel. Education does elevate a person's social graces, budi bahasa,if I may. But only to a point. And I am generalising here.
    Having said that, I would imagine that someone like Khairy, (as I know many people who are Oxbridge graduates) with political aspirations, would resist being arrogant. But then, who are we kidding? He fancies himself to be the most powerful young punk in the whole of Malaysia. Why shouldn't he be arrogant because,in the first place, he IS arrogant. it is difficult not to be.
    Melayujati, I fear for this country.

Have a nice day!

18. Anonymous11:31 pm

it is plain and simple BIADAB. In my book, so kurang ajar.
    Malaysians. You cannot want a leader like this.

19. Anonymous11:55 pm

WHO THE HELL DOES HE THINK HE IS?

whoops, i forgot. he is the most powerful 30 year-old in Malaysia.

20. Anonymous12:09 am

www.skthew.com has a posting on KJ too --

(SOURCE: China Press, 17 Sept 2006)

Now, the son-in-law is thinking out of the box, asking Government to look into the reason why highway operators prefer to engage the consultancy services offered by non-bumiputera and foreign firms, rather than to look into a pool of bumiputera entrepreneurs?

Apparently, this is a big issue, according to the son-in-law.

21. Anonymous6:47 am

You want to know what is even more laughable, elitist Singapore has even a lower poverty rate and income inequality between the races. Proof positive that meritocratic government actually is better for the Malays. Meritocracy good for EVERYONE but the UMNOputras which is the real reason why they oppose it..

22. Anonymous10:08 am

I think the people in UMNO should be blamed for the "boy's" besar kepala. It is they who made him the person he is now. Too much mengampu and membodek culture until they can't see what is right and what is wrong. Personally, I think, morality is in its lowest ebb in this party. The closing of one eye attitude to the boy's rude behaviour is actually turning into a time-bomb that will destroy UMNO to pieces. The current leaders have become too slow and stupid to see that this 'boy' is destroying what took years to build, in merely seconds.
    What will happen if 'Yang muda dah tak reti nak hormat yang tua, yang tua dah mula takut dengan yang muda'? This is NOT Malay culture. In fact, the condoning of this boy's kurang ajar behaviour is proof that adab sopan has disappeared entirely from UMNO. You see, when adab sopan disappears, Melayu disappears.

I think the Malays need to form a new party to survive. If this continues UMNO will no longer be relevant to the Malays and the country. It will only be relevant to opportunists and those who want to get rich easy.

23. Anonymous9:20 pm

he's behaving like they never taught him any culture in oxford.

maybe one day he'll get whacked on the head with a golf club...nah, that's just wishful thinking!

24. Anonymous10:49 pm

Did you know that when FAM president mention that 'org banyak cakap dan "bijak bistari" yg boleh ambil alih FAM kununnya utk ubah nasib bolasepak Malaysia.Actually he mention to KJ the myteam. He knows this boy byk bising belakang about FAM, that's why he don't want to lead the FAM together with TM pahang.They want to see whether this bijak bistari(Oxbridge) can change the malaysia football ranking to below 100 in 3 years.Is KJ the one who order to abandoned Gerbang Perdana projek which kerabat Johor have share of it?Nak mintak ampun kot..

25. Anonymous2:46 am

WHY ARE WE ALL WASTING TIME AND ENERGY TALKING OF A PERSON THAT DOESN'T DESERVE THIS MUCH ATTENTION.

THE MORE PEOPLE TALK OF HIM, THE MORE BIG HEADED OR AROGANT HE MAY BECOME. THE REASON HE IS WHERE HE IS IS BECAUSE WE SPEAK TOO MUCH ABOUT THE BUGGER.

I SAY WIPE HIM OUT OF OUR CONVERSATIONS. OUT OF SIGHT, OUT OF MIND.

26. Anonymous2:50 am

I SAY LETS NOT WASTE TIME AND ENERGY TALKING ABOUT THIS BUGGER...HE DOESNT DESERVE THE ATTENTION. I GOT BETTER THINGS TO DO AND THINK OF.
    THE MORE WE SPEAK OF HIM, THE GREATER THE MILEAGE HE GETS.
    IF THERE ARE ANY WRONGDOINGS, JUST EXPOSE IT.