Friday, December 14, 2018

The road to a "truly Malaysian car"

Pic from Paul Tan's
If anyone had any doubts about the ties that bind Proton and its maker, the 121218 launch of the much-anticipated X70 cleared the air. Clearly, Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad holds Proton very close to his heart. This is his big baby, after all. And much as he was not overly pleased about Proton's marriage to China's Geely in 2017, he could hardly conceal his excitement with their firstborn: the X70. The pictures of Tun Dr Mahathir and his wife with the Proton SUV, against a nostalgic backdrop, tells a thousand words. And while Dr M's wish that the marriage would give birth to a "truly Malaysian car" may never come true, we can expect this Malaysian car manufacturer to start making truly great cars.

A discerning millennial'a take on the X70:

Read also Handsome old man and the X70 by Annie (who is certainly not a millennial)

2 comments:

1. xnakdedak1:59 pm

Good boy!

Time to start some desperate ass-kissing eh Latuk?

Back to Plan A, because an "Umno" with less than 10 MPs may not be able to pay much, kan : )

In the meantime, might be good to start deleting this kinda stuff...

http://www.rockybru.com.my/2018/07/of-dr-mahathirs-totally-corrupt-cabinet.html

Or...maybe not.

Just Rubber-Principles Rocky being his normal self.

"Follow the money", as they said during Watergate...

2. Hehe, my most faithful follower is still here!

And why should I delete that posting, lah? Ia tidak bresalah ...