Saturday, April 28, 2018

Nomination Day rantings

Not everyone agrees with Abdul Wahid Omar's views about the government that has led Malaysia for the last 61 years. But for those who have the pleasure of knowing the PNB chief,  it's hard not to admire the man. True, that Malay saying: tak kenal make tak cinta. The same can be said about this nation: 
"Unless you live in this country, I think you will be largely unable to grasp the many complexities that come with managing a relatively small diversified nation of people that has always punched above its weight, and further nuanced by differing economic and social pressures". [AWO: The Malaysia I know and want to show the world - Business Insider

I sent the above article to various WhatsApp groups yesterday evening just to gauge people's response to AWO';s article Most people gave it a thumbs-up. They love the rags-to-reaches (as against rags-to-riches) true story. Even those who clearly aren't supportive of BN ("the government", as per in AWO's article) were polite: "Well, that's his views" ... "Thank you for sharing". One ex mainstream media editor, however, felt it called for a with a blog rejoinder:   
"There is nothing wrong with any of the statistical facts dished out by Wahid Omar. They are all, absolutely correct. Unfortunately though, Wahid Omar fails to mention a single word about the Malaysia the world knows. One clouded by pink diamonds, a leadership that refuse to issue a warrant of ARREST against Jho Low, that says no crime was committed at 1MDB". [Wahid Omar. Cheerleader - nuclearmanbursa]

We all know the answers to the rhetorics contained in the second part of the nuclearbursaman's rantings above. But we take for granted the statistical facts dished out by Wahid Omar. 

- 49.3% of Malaysian households were living in poverty in 1970, when AWO was just about to start schooling. 
- Today it's less than 1%
- Malaysia is in the global Top 30 in terms of GDP measured by purchasing power parity, according to the World Bank
- Since the Asian financial crisis of 1997-98, our economic growth has been on an upward trajectory, averaging grown of 5.4% since 2010
- In 2018, it's foreast to grow at 5.5-6%

These stats should be looking even better in the five years to come. The political party that wins the 14th general election on 9518 know that they will be poised to take some of the credit (all, if they are less honest) for the country's success when - not if - it joins the ranks of the world's developed countries. 

It's certainly not about saving Malaysia. 

4 comments:

1. xnakdedak12:50 pm

"We all know the answers to the rhetorics contained in the second part of the nuclearbursaman's rantings above."

No, we don't actually Latuk.

Please enlighten us.

Your answer is what?

SWIFT codes and Saudi donors?

Kih kih kih, you are truly the dedaking DedaKing, Latuk : )

2. Anonymous6:26 pm

BN can certainly take credit for a lot of the growth. The average growth from 2010 must be tempered with more statistics, though. The average is raised by the 7.0% growth in 2010, which was a recovery year. Almost every country achieved huge growth in their recovery year. This is normal. It's easier to achieve big growth directly after a recession when you're recovering. The next few years since 2010 fell below the average of 5.4%, but the strong recovery years brought the average up.

Ask yourself, why do they always quote from 2010 onwards, when Najib took over before that?

Selective statistics.

3. Go fuck yourself. Piece of shit

4. Anonymous11:53 am

Can somebody tell the judges that still want to allow guilty politician contesting in election to set their fines at lesser than RM2,000 as stated in the Constitution as the cut-off point for election eligibility.

Are the judges not making the Constitution a mockery when they set court fines at RM2,000 thus supposedly making the politician non-eligible for election but then arbitrarily defy the Constitution by decreeing that the politician can still participate? Just set the fines at RM1,900 or some other amount lesser than RM2,000.