Tuesday, December 19, 2017

APPs: Necessary or just another IMAMS in the making?

Arriving in Malaysia to be more expensive soon, in the name of homeland security
Kudos to the Government for canceling a plan to charge Umrah pilgrims from Malaysia RM90 for nothing [Zahid: Cabinet not told Imams would be outsourced). Imams, it turns out, is just someone's ploy make a lot of money in the name of religion. Or was it tourism?  
Never mind that, there's an equally mind-boggling scheme that's about to be shoved down our throats. It's called Advanced Passenger Screening System. APPs is a scheme to charge inbound passengers a "token" sum, this time in the name of homeland securityMy sources say the Cabinet approved this project recently and a company awarded the concession, which is for a period of 15 years. Was there a tender? I'm not sure but what I know is that the project implementation cost is in the region of RM8 billion. Who's going to pay for this? Answer: Malaysia's inbound travellers.  Which means that with APPs, each person flying to Malaysia will have an additional US$5 or RM21* only (to be added on to their fares). 
Is that fair? Mavcom, the body that regulates economic and commercial matters related to the country's civil aviation, should be able to tell us. 
But if you ask me, this smells Imamsy. We have one of the best homeland security records in the region already. There's no need for something like this, honestly. - Dec 19

* Small compared with Imams' proposed charges but Malaysia eyes 94 million inbound passengers by the end of 2017, so you do the math ...

5 comments:

1. If the inbound passengers are returning home are they subjected to this charges? If you smell fishy, I smell kerang busuk.

2. nivinz11:20 pm

It's APSS Uncle Rocky ๐Ÿ˜‰

3. Anonymous8:23 am

DEAR ROCKY .

DO ME A FAVOUR = LETS INTERROGATE THIS MAN - WHO HOLDS THE KEY TO IMAMS - WHO PROBABLY HAS DONE SO MUCH HOMEWORK, PAID UNDER-TABLE, ABOVE TABLE , ALL THE STUFFS WHICH ONE WOULD DO - TO GET THIS MAMMOTH PROJECT FROM THE GOVERNMENT OF MALAYSIA .

WHO IS THIS CHINAMAN ? WHO IS HE LINKED WITH ?
    HOW MANY CARS HAS HE BOUGHT AND GIVEN OUT TO HIS CRONY TO DRIVE AROUND ?

COME ON LAH ! , GET THE ROOT OF THE CANCER IN MALAYSIA , ITS THESE PEOPLE WHO FEED DEDAK INTO EVERYONE OF THE MALAY POPULATION IN MALAYSIA .

ITS THESE CHINESE BUSINESSMAN - WHO IS BURNING THE COUNTRY DOWN .

GO AND DIG THEM OUT , SHAME THEM ONE BY ONE .

4. nivinz said...
    It's APSS Uncle Rocky ๐Ÿ˜‰

xxxx---------xxxx

Thanks Nivinz

5. Anonymous8:24 am

Zahid Hamidi punya geng