Saturday, March 05, 2016

Sex and Saving Malaysia

With updates 
"We are not having sex. We are saving Malaysia." - A. Kadir Jasin on not-so-complimentary FB response towards Dr Mahathir's Save Malaysia alliance with the Opposition and Opposition-friendly civil society movement. 

Puchong, the morning after (1 something a.m.):

So it has come down to this. In his great desire to see Najib Razak fall, Tun Mahathir Mohamad finally brought himself down to the level of his political foes in a so-called civil society movement to bring down the Prime Minister. 
"I would regard this as the most bizarre day in all the years that I have been a journalist," a scribe who's not particularly fond of Mahathir or Najib told me.
"There is nothing left to shock me," he said.
I said I agreed with him. It was also sickening. The doughnut I had just gulped down was restless in my tummy. 
Later, a YB asked me if I was in town.
"I am not feeling too well, YB, especially after seeing what has become of the Tun," I told him.
"Sad," he texted back. "Never thought I'd see the day. Rest well, Sir. We'll mourn this shame of one whom we once revered ever so dearly."

Journalist Nuraina Samad, in her FB posting after the Save Malaysia special h e r e, chooses not to say too much. 
She didn't have to. 

Strange bedfellows, indeed.
It was all there for everyone to see.

I was following Awani's "live" coverage of the so-called Save Malaysia campaign with two former editors of the New Straits Times, a government-friendly daily once ruled by Kadir. None of us were proud to see Kadir there with the politicians, although we understand his loyalty to Dr Mahathir and Tun Daim Zainuddin.
It was strange to see our ex boss lined up as one of the signatories of this Citizens' Declaration to oust Najib Razak. I thought The Scribe looked uncomfortable, as if he'd rather be elsewhere.

He was seated next to Tian Chua during the signing, if I'm not mistaken. What was my ex boss thinking, I did wonder ...

"We are not having sex. We are saving Malaysia. Wallahualam". - Kadir, in response to Nuraina's posting h e r e
"Did anyone talk about sex? Hmmm ... strange." - Anwardi Jamil, the film producer son of a legendary film producer, replies immediately to Kadir 
"What's wrong with sex? Sex is good." - Hasnah Abd Rahman, PR practitioner and not-so-Opposition-friendly civil movement activist, and a former journalist with the NST when it was under Kadir.

p.s. I won't be signing the so-called Citizens' Declaration. Sex or no sex (if they were having sex yesterday, it would have been an orgy!), I don't wish to be part of this unholy unholiest marriage of convenience.  

Updates:
Why Life of Annie won't sign it, either: Staying neutral and away from creepy people
This strange group of people by Zakiah Koya
Mahathir-led motley crew an't decide who should lead by The Mole

26 comments:

1. How not to lose respect for him. The book Doctor In The House is proudly displayed on my coffee table. I am going to put other books on top.

2. Only a GENUINE leader can bring together former foes to save Malaysia.

Eggless can only BUY favour. Once the money dries up his supporters will stab him in the back.

Anwar, Lim Kit Siang, Ambiga, Azmin, Mat Sabu et al have finally admitted Tun's great leadership quality.

Rare indeed for this occasion to happen. And only TUN DR MAHATHIR can pull off even when he is no longer in power.

Says a lot about this grand statesman

3. Anonymous10:26 am

eklarasi itu mengandungi empat tuntutan:

1. Penyingkiran Najib sebagai Perdana Menteri Malaysia tanpa menggunakan kekerasan dan undang-undang yang dibenarkan

2. Menyingkirkan semua orang yang bekerjasama dengannya

3. Pemansuhan semua undang-undang dan perjanjian yang dibuat baru-baru ini yang melanggar hak-hak asasi yang dijamin oleh Perlembagaan Persekutuan dan melemahkan pilihan dasar

4. Mengembalikan integriti institusi yang telah dilemahkan, seperti polis, SPRM , Bank Negara dan Jawatankuasa Kira-kira Wang Negara (PAC).

Kesian, proJibby mempunyai masalah kefahaman yang amat kronik. 4 deklarasi di atas jelas, tapi mereka ingin spin menjadi s.e.x.

4. xnakdedak10:58 am

"I said I agreed with him. It was also sickening. The doughnut I had just gulped down was restless in my tummy."

Me too.

It was also sickening. The dedak I had just gulped down was restless in my tummy. I remembered that I had been given tonnes of dedak and doughnuts by Dr M to bring down Pak Lah, then had switched camps seamlessly.

I made a mental note not to use phrases like "unholy unholiest marriage of convenience", because I myself am a broken-down, old, unprincipled whore, and those who whore for money over principles cannot also call others unprincipled.

It doesn't work that way.

That is the ultimate hypocrisy.

5. Mat Taib, the poster boy of "transparency, good governance" is into this too...? As with a lorry-load of former this-and-that - people who had previously held high positions.

"Save Malaysia"... That sounds good. I mean, who would launch a "Destroy Malaysia" campaign and also declaring he is fighting for corruption, falsehood and slavery. Plus wanting to destroy the environment.

I'm not politically sophisticated - in fact, I'm very simple to the point of almost being a simpleton. And maybe naive too. But one thing that I'm wary of is being a gullible sucker who is used for OTHERS' benefits and interests. And not mine.

When it comes to people, I have this simple gauge: "What's their record individually?" "It's not what people say that is the most important, but what THEY DO."

If someone had previously been unreliable, often not keeping to his words, insensitive, selfish, dubious...then I'd give him a wide berth. Yes, people do change. But I'd still be cautious, until I see some evidence of positive change.

So go ahead with these Save Malaysia, I Love PM, Justice for All, ...is Good for You!, Big, Strong & Friendly and whatever else. As for me, I'm going to focus on the most important people of all - myself...and those who had been there for me during my time of need.

6. IT.Scheiss12:27 pm

It is rather cute or quaint to see bitter political foes form a temporary alliance to achieve a common objective of defeating their common foe. Heck! even Bersih chief Marina Chin tells people to set aside whatever past wrongs they believe Mahathir has committed for the sake of this common objective and even Anwar Ibrahim has joined hands from with them his prison cell.

This is just like in war, where polar opposites and even mortal enemies on the political spectrum may join hands to fight a common enemy, and if they managed to defeat that enemy, the former allies once again turn upon themselves and its politics as usual.

Haven't we seen this in Blog House, where bloggers from both the pro-Mahathir and pro-opposition camps came together to join hands to oust the then Prime Minister Abdullah Badawi and then turn upon each other when the objective was achieved?

Haven't we seen this in how Britain, the United States and the Soviet Union came together during World War II to defeat Nazi Germany, after which the former allies turnd against each other resulting in a Cold War spanning about 44 or 45 years?

Haven't we seen this in how the British and the Communist Party of Malaya both fought the Japanese occupiers of Malaysia during World War II, then turn upon each other shortly after victory?

You must know it all too well in how your former Blog House "braders" from the pro-opposition camp have turned on you to denounce you as a "hypocrite", "sellout", etc. for continuing with your pro-BN, pro-UMNO and formerly pro-Mahathir stance after your common objective was achieved, even though that was your position throughout, well until the last year or two when you took the side of Najib against Mahathir in their latest spat.

It's hard to accept that Asian, especially South East Asian politics is very much a battle of feudal warlords behind a facade of western-style parliamentary politics or representative democracy.

Despite all the rhetoric about "democracy". "human rights", "opposition to corruption" and so forth from the anti-Marcos camp, and their supporters and sympathisers in other countries, including myself, it is now pretty apparent that the battle to oust President Ferdinand Marcos in Philippines in the late 1980s was in fact just a battle for political power, position and privilege between modern day warlords from wealthy families or clans.

It just happened that Marcos got too powerful and dominating for his fellow, though rival chieftains, so they decided to oust him.

Sure, the opponents of Marcos both in Philippines and outside cheered and celebrated the victory of "people's power", Marcos' fall and exile and the victory of Corazon Aquino who became a heroine in their eyes but almost 30 years after, but not has much changed for the benefit of the Philippines people which is pretty apparent in how large numbers of Philippines women young and not so young, still have to leave their homeland for countries such as Malaysia, Singapore, Hong Kong and the Middle East to endure the indignity of indentured servitude as maids and domestic helpers.

Meanwhile, Philippines' presidency has rotated from Corazon Aquino to Ramos, Estrada, Macapagal and now Benigno Aquino III (son of the slain Benigno Aquino and his widow President Corazon Aquino), whilst the people remain mired in poverty and want whatever feudal chieftain is in charge.

It is the same in Thailand where the modern day feudal chieftains battled it out through dramatic confrontations of their respective red shirted, yellow shirted, blue shirted or whatever shirted mobs on the streets all in the name of "people's power".

And here in Malaysia, we have thus, where the modern day feudal chieftains line up for battle against the one who holds the reigns.

No, they are not doing this for the sake of us the ordinary citizens.

So I'll just sit back and watch this reality soap opera as it unfolds.

7. There is this utter dishonesty, rubbish and nonsense from Putridjaya and Najib's brown-tonguers and nosers that a sitting PM can only be removed from office via a General Election.

Oh how quickly they forget!

Didn't Najib back Mahathir and Muhy when the elbowed out PM Badawi shortly after the 2008 GE, and Najib become PM?

Dpp
    We are all of 1 Race, the Human Race

8. xnakdedak3:20 pm

"You must know it all too well in how your former Blog House "braders" from the pro-opposition camp have turned on you to denounce you as a "hypocrite", "sellout", etc. for continuing with your pro-BN, pro-UMNO and formerly pro-Mahathir stance after your common objective was achieved, even though that was your position throughout, well until the last year or two when you took the side of Najib against Mahathir in their latest spat."

That is not disconnected from this comment:

"Eggless can only BUY favour. Once the money dries up his supporters will stab him in the back."

I guess Eggless will be a great statesman as long as the dedak keeps falling.

Not a minute longer.

9. IT.Scheiss

Dol, this is the very principle of democracy - no need to gloat with all those historical events.

in times of crisis, anything goes - majority rules

i'm sure your ugly neighbour will help you when your house is on fire - common interests

10. xnakdedak4:28 pm

"I was following Awani's "live" coverage of the so-called Save Malaysia campaign with two former editors of the New Straits Times, a government-friendly daily once ruled by Kadir. None of us were proud to see Kadir there with the politicians."

Hmmmmmmmm.

I wonder how proud Dato' Kadir is of you?

That might be a better question to ask.

PS: NST doing well now, eh?

11. Anonymous4:36 pm

I think BBC put it so well when they said that Tun M was trying to save Malaysia from it's prime Minister.

12. Anonymous5:33 pm

selepas najib diturunkan...

next drama : mahathir vs kitsiang, sbb kedua2 bapa mahu anak masing2 jadi PM.
    last2 final challenge, siapa boleh kencing di tiang paling tinggi menang.

13. Anonymous5:41 pm

janji pembangkang jika tawan putrajaya semua dibuktikan janji air liur di zaman najib,

1. turunkan harga minyak maka harga barang akan turun?
    PORAH

2. mansuhkan tol? even terowong guan eng yang konon percuma dah jadi tol 30 tahun,
    nak cerita pasal highway selangor?
    PORAH

3. malaysian malaysia? hudud untuk orang islam pun kafir nak menyibuk.
    PORAH

4. rasuah, kroni, nepotisme? well... ketua umum pun takde proses pemilihan.
    PORAH

agak2 seorang ayah boleh ke tengok anak orang lain pegang jawatan yang ayah pernah
    pegang?

well, boboi dengan kj pun tak lepas.

1. NajibNazak10:03 pm

Semua Podahh

Nahib.... PUNDEKKK

14. JohorMali6:24 pm

Bro Bru,
    With Hishsmudin Rais lurking around and even signing the declaration... that's it..there's nothing more to comment except,"good luck" to these motley crew of misfits!!

15. Oghang Ghombau8:35 pm

DPP

Najib was neutral. It was Mahathir and Muhyiddin that was overzealous. In fact, Najib was called takde telor then.

You have been very sick. Must have forgotten a lot.

16. Saya akan sign the Declaration sebab Al Quran mengajar saya untuk membenci rasuah, pecah amanah, penipuan, kezaliman etc..Sorry.

17. xnakdedak

I ran into Rocky in his favourite cafe in Bangsar Shopping Centre in 2007 or 2009 after he and Jeff Ooi were sued for plagiarism by the NST.

I had assumed Rocky was a pro-opposition guy just because of his association with Jeff Ooi who had just switched from Gerakan to the DAP, and Rocky said no but that he was defending Mahathir against Pak Lah.

So Rocky was a pro-UMNO guy since back then, though many of his "bradder" accused him of being a "turncoat" for remaining a pro-UMNO guy, since they did not understand the nuance of the circumstance of a pro-UMNO faction allying with a pro-opposition group against another UMNO faction. Well now we have witnessed a the formation of a similar kind of alliance.

Today, most of those pro-Umno, pro-Mahathir bloggers at the time now defend Najib against Mahathir.

However, I do not know whether this is due to conviction, conscience or for money. Only these bloggers can reveal their motives or someone has to find and reveal proof to support such an accusation.

As for whether the newly formed alliance will succeed in ousting Najib is left to be seen, since it still remains to be seen whether the majority of citizens will support them, either in a general election or other actions, since even for Arab Spring type of street protests to succeed requires the support of the majority of people, including sections of the military and perhaps also the police.

For example, this article suggests that the respective miltaries in Tunisia and Egypt chose not to act against the protestors.

http://muftah.org/military-decision-making-during-the-arab-spring/

On 1 December 1989 a faction of the Philippines military loyal to Marcos attempted a coup against the government of President Corazon Aquino who requested and received U.S. military assistance to crush the coup.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1989_Philippine_coup_attempt

This silent movie on the Russian Revolution of October 1917 shows that it required the active participation of some sections of the military or passivity by others to succeed.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k62eaN9-TLY

Another force which can bring down governments is an all out and prolonged general strike by organsied labour.

"Heath also tried to curb the trade unions with the Industrial Relations Act 1971, and had hoped to deregulate the economy and make a transfer from direct to indirect taxation. However, rising unemployment in 1972 caused Heath to reflate the economy, attempting to control the resulting high inflation by a prices and incomes policy. Two miners' strikes, in 1972 and at the start of 1974, damaged the government, the latter causing the implementation of the Three-Day Week to conserve energy. Heath eventually called an election for February 1974 to obtain a mandate to face down the miners' wage demands, but this instead resulted in a hung parliament in which Labour, despite winning fewer votes, had four more seats than the Tories. Heath resigned as Prime Minister after trying in vain to form a coalition with the Liberal Party."

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Edward_Heath

There are some political idealists, especially amongst the opposition parties, opposition NGOs and their supporters who think that massive street protests alone can bring about success of a "Malaysian Spring", when the many massive street protests which take place in the western liberal democracies have failed to even stop their own country from imperialist military interventions and invasions in places such as the Middle East, let alone resist the neo-liberal austerity measures imposed upon the people.

They can have 1,000 Bersih demonstrations and nothing will change.

18. xnakdedak4:40 pm

@ IT.Sheiss,

Good analysis, sir.

"They can have 1,000 Bersih demonstrations and nothing will change."

You are completely right. Though the Marcos regime was ended in 3 days, it took 2 million people on the streets of Manila to do it. We're too passive.

"As for whether the newly formed alliance will succeed in ousting Najib is left to be seen, since it still remains to be seen whether the majority of citizens will support them, either in a general election or other actions".....at the rate Jibby is subverting the law, it may become academic. Will there be a GE14? Let's see.

"However, I do not know whether this is due to conviction, conscience or for money. Only these bloggers can reveal their motives or someone has to find and reveal proof to support such an accusation."

Hee hee, a trawl through Bru's archives may make painful reading (for him, anyway. Amusing for others.)

But who are we to say?

Even if it's for money, people will claim to be businessmen. RPK makes no bones about it, but then again who actually trusts him?

That's the thing, really; you lose the right to take any kind of morally superior stance, the moment you are a businessman.

To argue that Najib is good for Malaysia requires quite a bit of suspension of reality, so I just hope the rewards are correspondingly, ummmm, quite a bit too.

Plus point:

Guess Bru can afford to belanja you coffee, if you see him again in his favourite cafe in Bangsar Shopping Centre : )

19. Rocky you one of Najib adviser. What actualy is your job? Najib is clearly rob and rape the rakyat? You talked about moral and all other noble think, but the true you one of them. It is very simply, Tun alwalys consistence. Until today you all cannot answer what actualy happen to 1MDB. You also not understand the issue about the 1MDB. What your can do just to be little Dr. Mahathir. Shane on you.

20. When you can't differentiate between right and wrong,how would you expect people to respect umno heads?

21. Bedul9:56 pm

Shocked, Rocky? Not at all. Tun M is a desperate, very angry man. He has lost his statesmanship because his son lost the contest as UMNO Youth Chief and now MB. Which means to him, gelap masa depan anak dia jadi PM. Bertambah gabra bila menantu Pak Lah riding high. Takkanlah anak beliau tak dapat jadi PM. Anak Tun Razak dah. Anak Hussein Onn in line.
    I used to love and revere him. Now no more. How dare he diminish his statute by being in cohorts with Kit Siang, Anu-war, Azmin, Ambiga, Marina Chin and Zahid Ibrahim. Mintak ampunlah. Jauh panggang dari api nak sign declaration tu. Heran why your ex-boss beiya-iya benar lending his face with those strange bed-fellows. Why is his hatred of Najib so deep that he can't see that Tun M is being outplayed by that racist Kit Siang and gang. That is why you don't see any Nons against this undemocratic action.
    It has split the Malays. Will Tun M be willing to be man who destroyed the only Malay party as his legacy.
    Very sickening to see him and wife signing the declaration to not only oust Najib but the government. You should be grateful that in your twilight years Allah gave you good health to be good respected leader. Be a father and grand-father to us. Now I lebih respect Pak Man tukang kebun I dari Tun M.
    Believe me the declaration will be short-lived, ill-planned evil intention that won't be blessed by Allah.
    Please tell your boss having sex is so much better than having an orgy with all have-been fellas. Where are the cawangan dan bahagian UMNO yang mereka bangga menyokong mereka?
    Teramat sayu kita terpaksa mengutuk Tun yang patutnya tempat teratas sekali. Untouched. But he chose to be ignominus.
    Takkan beliau tak nampak Najib bertambah kuat. Beliau yang lost his dignity.

22. anti munafik tak ke? sbb apa geng T M and Muhi buat ni munafik, cakap lain buat lain. rasuah, pecah amanah , kezaliman zaman T M tu you maafkan pulak macam lah Tuhan. Jgn nak heret ugama lah, ini semua kes gajah depan mata tak nampak ...

23. Bru_Kaapi9:10 am

Gee life is that bad eh having to settle for doughnuts after that fat pay cheque. I would have thought eggs would have been a better option; something conspicuously missing from your pay master.

24. IT.Scheiss4:14 am

@ xnakdedak

Thanks for your compliment.

"You are completely right. Though the Marcos regime was ended in 3 days, it took 2 million people on the streets of Manila to do it. We're too passive."

Besides 2 million citizens protesting in EDSA, Manila, it also took the powerful and influential Roman Catholic Church under Cardinal Sin and its Radio Veritas which played the role of alternative media in the age of no Internet, the support of factions within the Philippines military and pressure from the U.S. for Marcos to finally leave for exile in Hawaii on U.S. Air Force planes.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/People_Power_Revolution

I wouldn't say Najib is good for Malaysia but am just looking at the real-politik of the current situation, where he has the upper hand in terms of having his loyalists in key positions.

One thing I like about RPK is that he describes the current real politik quite well, like the opposition tried for a no-confidence vote in parliament and that did not work. It was expected that UMNO would drop Najib but that did not work. Accusations of malpractice with regards Scopene submaries have not worked, allegations that Najib was behind Altantuya's murder have not worked.

Also as for Mahathir, is he any better of Malaysia. Despite what good he has done for Malaysia in terms of our economy, at the same time he laid the ground for the current power of the PM where the Rulers have little say in playing their role as check and balance in case of abuses and excesses by the sitting government or in case of a dysfunctional democracy in which different sides are fighting with each other, whilst the economy is in the doldrums, whilst the opposition is fragmented and squabbling too.

Perhaps one day, a no nonsense "Donald Trump" may emerge in Malaysia to reboot the country and clear out the garbage but when that is, I cannot foretell.

Whilst I don't like Trumps anti-immigrant and anti-Muslim rhetoric, his other promised solutions to fix the U.S. and his isolationist tendencies could be better for the rest of the world in that he get the U.S. off many countries' backs and leave them to sort out their own problems in their own way. That is of course if he honours his promises if elected.

As for bumping into Rocky again in thatcafe, well Austin Chase is no longer in Bangsar Shopping Centre. Dunno where his current hangout is.