Sunday, November 08, 2015

For once, I agree with Rafizi Ramli

LATEST 26/11/15:
TENAGA NASIONAL DID NOT GET TO "BAIL OUT" 1MDB

Updated: 
Conflicting jurisdiciton in Edra ownership decision, A Voice, 9 Nov  
.. So why did Treasury Secretary (KSP), Tan Sri Dr Irwan Serigar Abdullah write the letter to Energy Commisssion? Does he not know the jurisdiction of EC? Or someone directed him to write to EC on the expectation that the Board of EC will oblige?  
Economists debate over Edra Energy acquisition, The Mole 9 Nov
... Why should we give our energy sector to foreign companies? I suggest it to be given to Tenaga Nasional Berhad (TNB). We must have total control of the energy generation.” - Dr Zulkifli Senteri, Binary University 

Original Posting:

I don't usually agree with YB Rafizi Ramli on anything. In fact, I usually disagree with him on everything. But his latest statement on why the Government should not, must not and cannot allow foreigners to buy 100 per cent of 1MDB's Edra Energy, I have to agree. I wish it was someone else saying it but it was Rafizi who said it, so be it.

Important thing is, as Rafizi says, no foreign company must be allowed to have all of the power assets of 1MDB.

For once, he's talking
"... I will not hesitate to start a nationwide campaign to defend the country's energy sector from being opened up to foreign companies, for this will have a major impact on the future of the rakyat and country. 
"I advise Najib to clearly state that he will not scrap the cap on foreign equity ownership in the energy sector in order to help 1MDB to cover its debt hole." - Rafizi Ramli, Foreign control over power assets to save 1MDB? Nov 6

Clap, clap. Push comes to shove, I will give my moral support for Rafizi to start the campaign to defend Edra Energy from being taken 100 per cent by the foreigners. Heck, if the campaign is about ensuring that ALL of Edra must remain in the hands of Malaysians, I will even walk with Rafizi!

But Rafizi needs to get real. His numbers with regards to Edra Energy are way, way off. That's the thing about this young PKR politician: he's so in a hurry that he ditches good old intel and research. Rafizi may have his heart in the right place but sometimes I think he main tembak buta saja

The RM8 billion "ceiling" he was talking about, for example, is so ridiculous. I'm sure Rafizi has heard that the foreign bidders for Edra Energy were offering to buy at more than double his RM8 b ceiling, without blinking an eye-lid. You see, the bidders know what they are paying for. For the foreigners, the ringgit's weakness makes it extra cheap for them. Plus they know very well that the IPPs are going to give them back instant returns to the tune of RM1 billion a year, according to some estimates, from the operations of the half a dozen or so foreign IPPs in the Edra stable.

I don't know who's trying to waive the cap on foreign ownership of the country's national power assets but it sure ain't Najib Razak, as Rafizi's insinuating. 

The Prime Minister is the man responsible for (or guilty of) taking back the IPPs in this country from the Anandas, Yeohs and Bukharys so that they can be regularized under one local entity, so why would he now want all that to go into the hands of foreigners?

I should think that Najib and Rafizi are, actually, on the same page on this one!

As these guys are:

Big Dog:

A Voice:  

11 comments:

1. If only everyone out there in parliament can be truthful and follow YBM Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah's advice to speak the truth and come out clean, we can all rest easy. Can they? Wallahualam.

2. Anonymous5:33 pm

Rocky you're hallucinating, 1mdb is a viable and strong company. That rationalisation plan is just a ploy to scare off Tun Dr M. 1mdb has never indebted to any company. Yes, we are running red since beginning but which company doesnt? Deig also red too.

Well of course we were given a lifeline to the tune of RM950mil of taxpayer's money but that just about it. We are glad ananda help us too. But we are strong, as there is nothing wrong asking for help sometimes, remember IPIC? Oh! about petrosaudi? Forget about it rocky.

We sure glad you're with us rocky. On the Edra, you know..you and us...if we ever sell it to IPIC, we will make sure you have business ticket to Qatar, all in-house rocky. Just tag along and both of us will be just fine. Adios fren and see you in Qatar 2018.

3. Catch the Pariah Ananda Krishnan5:37 pm

EDRA has no value. That keling Ananda Krishnan corrupted UMNO leaders to buy his power licenses which was issued by UMNO President Mahathir himself.
    UMNO can issue more licenses to EPF or PNB or TNB.
    No need to buy EDRA let 1MDB bankrupt.
    ITs only paid up 1 million ringgit. So its liability is only RM1m.

4. Anonymous5:49 pm

Ah ha! I see a sudden change or a different tone in you, Rocky. Maybe you have just started to see the light.

5. Anonymous6:55 pm

for once? i thot, multiple times you agreed witj fizi? desperate time, desperate measure,eh? dont forget to "for once" agrees with cikgu bard.. after all, TV3 also "once agreed" with cikgu bard.

6. Every Tom,Dick,Jane and their pet dogs and cats know how rich the IPP's made the Anandas,Yeohs and Bukharys.So what the f*ck the main problem of the critics if the IPP's remain in the stable of 1MDB.Is it not like laughing all the way to the bank for 1MDB if it is not forced to sell the IPP's?Those people screaming about 1MDB this and 1MDB that are the dudes who have their heads stuck inside the camels asses.

7. Anonymous1:51 pm

still waiting for your statement to happen --- that the ringgit will test the RM3.90 to the USD soon. It's nearly three weeks now. http://spin-kings.blogspot.my/2015/11/does-najib-read-spin-kings.html

8. Anonymous3:25 am

HARGA ROKOK DINAIKKAN SECARA MELAMPAU SEBANYAK RM3.20, DARI RM13.80 KEPADA RM17.00. KENAIKAN TERTINGGI INI TIDAK MASOK AKAL, TIDAK PERNAH BERLAKU DI DLM MANA2 PIMPINAN UMNO/BN SEBELUM INI.

TERIMA KASIH KPD KERAJAAN NAJIB, KERANA KERAJAAN NAJIB SUDAH TIADA IDEA UNTUK MENJANA PENDAPATAN NEGARA.

DI SINI DAN DI MANA-MANA PON, TIDAK ADA LAGI PENGUNDI/PEMINAT/PENYOKONG UMNO/BN.

JUMPA LAGI DI PRU-14.

SEKIAN TERIMA KASIH.

9. Anonymous10:32 am

try to spin your articles to show that you are NOT in fact a Prepaid Blogger ey? why can't you comment directly on the main reason this thing happened?

oh right. u can't. kalau sebut nanti duit tak masuk eh?

everyone at PJ (your old workspace) have referred to you as the boss of the Delusional Presidential Blogger.

10. Anonymous said...
    for once? i thot, multiple times you agreed witj fizi? desperate time, desperate measure,eh? dont forget to "for once" agrees with cikgu bard.. after all, TV3 also "once agreed" with cikgu bard.

xxxx

Actually I agree with Chegubard on many things. I was even helping him campaign against KJ in the 2008 general election. If Chegubard had a bit more funding for his campaign that year, he could have staged a great upset. Tapi nak beli daging for kenduri pun was a struggle ...

There's hope for us if there are more Chegubards around.

11. Anonymous2:01 pm

I don't know who's trying to waive the cap on foreign ownership of the country's national power assets but it sure ain't Najib Razak, as Rafizi's insinuating.

Whaaat??? Who else?? Thats why we, pro tun mahathir can't stand najib anymore.