Thursday, September 24, 2015

Najib's Qurbani

Despite a widely-publicized travel warning, Malaysian PM Najib Razak is in the US. As far as I know, he's still a free man. Najib will be celebrating the Hari Raya Korban (also known as Aidil Adha and Hari Raya Haji) in New York, where he's on a working visit and will be addressing the UN General Assembly, an annual gathering of leaders from around the globe. He had flown to the US from London, where he was not arrested. (see more at the end of this posting).

Masjid Sultan, Singapore

Meanwhile, my eve of AidilAdha was spent riding Singapore with Singaporeans Jamal, Yahya, Lim, Dann, Faizly, Hir Shuffi, Dinnie, a couple of Triumphs but mostly BMWs. Their country may just be a tiny dot but Singaporeans have big hearts, oversized even. Their hospitality first class, their generosity second to none, their humour just like us. The sacrificed much of the day to ride with the Asean Solidarity Xpedition to Kranji Memorial, the Mandai Zoo, Orchard Boulevard, Padang (where the F1 people were packing up and winding down), Makam Habib Noh, Chinatown, the Merlion, Mt Faber (where we could barely see Pulau Sentosa in a haze worse than KL's), and Kg Gelam, where the Malay Heritage Centre, Masjid Sultan and the excellent Mamanda restaurant are. They made it a most pleasant experience for the crew. 

Selamat Hari Raya Korban to my Dear Readers, especially those in Singapore. Moga pengorbanan kita direstuiNya.

Related:
“We welcome the Honourable Najib Razak, Prime Minister of Malaysia to New York city,” says a billboard at the Times Square, in New York. - See more at: http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysia/article/najib-gets-times-square-billboard-welcome-in-new-york-bernama#sthash.bn9Ipwmw.dpuf

10 comments:

1. Anonymous2:23 pm

"We welcome the Honourable Najib Razak, Prime Minister of Malaysia to New York City,” says a billboard at the Times Square, in New York."

Yes, how nice that people like Tourism Malaysia got the chance to waste taxpayer money on kissing the PeeEm's ass.

It's basically the billboard version of a "I Love PM" banner held by some Rent-A-Crowd, isn't it?

Makes me proud of my PM for sure.

PS: The Bugis lanun can't be arrested unless investigations are completed, and even then his immunity would need to be waived.

He's quite safe (unlike funds held by TH, KWAP, KWSP and more, not to mention overpriced contracts for train tracks.)

So who gets shafted in the end?

2. Anonymous6:31 pm

Huiii ..memang bagus lah kipas ini..memang berangin angin..

3. Anonymous10:58 pm

By you stating the obvious, are we to celebrate Najib being a free man?

What are you cheering for anyway?

4. IT.Scheiss1:00 am

Selamat Hari Raya Korban to all Muslim readers

5. Anonymous7:28 am

Datuk...kipidap...the good job...again and again look like the oppotoons are running out of bullets...or all this while they only shoots peluru kapur!

6. Anonymous9:21 am

I think there is an error in the headlines. It should read Rakyat's Qurbani. You see the rakyat has to qurban so much to line the pockets of the Lanun Bugis dan lanun lanun lain yang sama dengan nya.

7. Mustapha Ong9:30 am

Thank you for your posting of this article that will definitely invite pro and con comments relating to Najib's current position as our PM and leader. As we all know PM Najib is being confronted by two sensitive issues, i.e. 1MDB and the question of 2.6 million ringgit controversies. All Head of government and Head of State, Ministers and those in possession of Diplomatic Passports are covered by immunity under the Vienna Convention. The PM cannot be arrested overseas while he is being investigated for any faults, etc. PM Najib is only subject to the "Vote of No Confidence" by UMNO which is impossible in the context of Malay unity. In the political history of Malaysia, no previous prime ministers have been voted out of office by UMNO or by Vote of No Confidence by Parliament. Najib should be allowed to serve his term as PM without any political hindrance until the next general election (PRU14) due in 2018.

8. Anonymous12:37 pm

He has diplomatic immunity.....u forgot Mahmoud Ahmadinejad visited NY when he was a pariah of the world?

9. Anonymous5:17 pm

Motorcycle ride around Singapore?? No offence to Singaporeans, but what a waste of time, energy, money, fuel, etc etc...

10. Anonymous9:16 pm

Semuga Dato Najib memberikan ucapan yg bagus di UN..sesape x puas ati pls go to New York n bt repot pls..

Shalelalela