Saturday, September 12, 2015

Hsien Loong's lesson for Najib Razak

Full story H E R E 

SAME OLD SHIT AGAIN, a childhood Singaporean friend wrote on his Facebook profile just after midnight. The one-line was clearly left there in reference to the results of the Singapore general election last night and clearly reflected many Singaporeans' frustration that despite the sweeping displeasure of cyber citizens towards the establishment - specifically the PAP that has ruled them since 1959 - the "real world" voted for status quo, more or less.

Lee Hsien Loong's massive victory in yesterday's general election had not been expected. On the cotnrary, many Singaporeans and pundits in Malaysia were confident that the Opposition would win a record number of seats against the ruling PAP.  I would have made a lot of money if I had wagered against the pundits. I had said that Hsien Loong will win big because of two factors:

1. the economic gawat: Singaporeans will vote for the safe and steady hands of the PAP in the hope that they will survive the rough patch that everyone's experiencing; and
2. they will vote with their heart: in respect to the legacy of Lee Kuan Yew, Singapore's founding father and Hsien Loong's father, who died peacefully in March this year.

Here in Malaysia, a lot of people say Najib Razak and BN will lose if he calls for general election today. In fact, Dr Mahathir Mohamad thinks BN will lose as long as it is led by Najib. And he'd said this even before the US$700 million Arab donation, which is now a monkey on Najib's back, happened!

And just look at the way cyber citizens are attacking the PM and his Administaration (while whining about the death of democracy and freedom of expression!).  If you read nothing else but the comments in Rocky's Bru, for example, you'd think that BN and Umno and their leader Najib Razak will stand no change at all at the 14th GE.

Well, they thought the PAP was in for a drubbing yesterday!

Back in 2008, when the Opposition in Malaysia scored a big "victory" against Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, the Singapore government quickly invited some of the big bloggers who had ignited the movement against Pak Lah then to learn whatever they could.

Najib should be studying his friend Hsien Loong's remarkable victory intently. There are a lot of similarities between the two countries and peoples. I am sure the DAP is already compiling a report on what they needed to do in order to do better than their counterpart in the Republic.

26 comments:

1. Don't be duped of bigger maority win by pàp. pàp won big because lots of imported undi hantu. too obvious. they used same tactics like dàp 8n penang, seputeh, ipoh barat etc where suddenly influx of 'additional' or 'increased' voters, many attendance in rally like najib (being duped but still believe he has chinese support)! bersih4 is obvious where najib has less chinese support.

2. tebing tinggi11:24 am

They should have Bersih in Singapore ,then the oppo could be stronger .

3. Lee Hsieng Loong never received donation into his personal account. Anyway SGD strengthening meanwhile our RM depreciating. Singaporean still can crossing into Johor any enjoying and spending their money here. Therefore, whether PAP or Opposition rules make no difference.

4. Anonymous11:39 am

"2. they will vote with their heart: in respect to the legacy of Lee Kuan Yew, Singapore's founding father and Hsien Loong's father, who died peacefully in March this year."

Wow.

Do you think the average Malaysian regards Najib as a worthy heir to Tun Abdul Razak?

You really are out of touch, or perhaps the only people you know are also suckling financial milk from the Bugis teats?

I guess so.

5. Anonymous11:42 am

You are right when you say malaysia and Singapore have many similarities. Similar people , similar bad habits, similar food habits and many more, stuff that really does not matter.. and Yes they have an authoritarian regime but so do we. Both have had single party rule from inception.
    It ends about there.

What is not similar and this is the important stuff that really matters is that:

There is minimal corruption in Singapore whereas its the norm here

They have good governance while ours....well it's non existent.

They have a great education system taking great strides forwards while ours is also taking great strides too, but just backwards

They make sure that the country is run by competent ministers and managers with sound policies... well we have Maslan 3.85 dan menteri ,menteri yang sama IQ dengan nya.

This is just a small sample of what's different between them and us.

Malaysia oh Malaysia, what you could have been, but look at what you have become.

6. Anonymous11:58 am

If you understand history, LKY was not the founding father of Singapore. Neither was he the chief architect of its economic modernization. He has usurped the credit which rightfully belongs to the leaders of the Old Guard.

7. Anonymous12:01 pm

so you have been sleeping with the enemy since paklah's downfall??

if you think pap is so good, why did you cross over to Malaysia

same goes to your ex-teacher

8. Anonymous12:18 pm

"Back in 2008, when the Opposition in Malaysia scored a big "victory" against Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, the Singapore government quickly invited some of the big bloggers who had ignited the movement against Pak Lah then to learn whatever they could."

Ahhhhh, the good old days. Novelty value.

Notice the public are a whole lot more cynical about "bloggers" nowadays.

9. Anonymous12:28 pm

with chinese strongly opposing a Malay lead party in charge of the country I dont think we can actually say its the same as PAP situation.
    especially you have Tun M n team on the opposing side as well sir.

10. Anonymous1:38 pm

Why are you surprised, Bru?

Read the commentary by Vikram Khanna (Associate Editor of The Business Times paper in Singapore) - "A stunning outcome, a moment to reflect" (http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/opinion/singapore-general-election/a-stunning-outcome-a-moment-to-reflect).

Singapore PM Lee Hsien Loong emphasised the emphasis that founding PM Lee Kuan Yew on clean politics and a lack of corruption as a legacy to build on.

11. Anonymous1:39 pm

Tak ada 2.6 billion pun boleh menang election. Macam mana?

12. Anonymous3:52 pm

Simple logic:

Hsien Loong DID NOT receive RM2,600,000,000 in his personal account!! That is categorised as rasuah in the eyes of the world and majority of Malaysians. The minority are the macais.

13. Anonymous Anonymous 1201 said ...

so you have been sleeping with the enemy since paklah's downfall??

if you think pap is so good, why did you cross over to Malaysia

same goes to your ex-teacher

xxxxxx-------xxxxxxx

MO, when did I say PAP was so good?
    Read slowly next time, RON ...

14. Anonymous7:10 pm

LeeHL is not corrupted bro. He is not a liar. His name was never being connected or mentioned in criminal or killing people....etc etc.

Wake up...wake up...wake up

Jln Reko

15. IT.Scheiss11:36 pm

Whilst it is too early for a thorough analysis of the results of the 2015 Singapore elections, this analysis of the 2011 election result gives some insight into why the PAP won again this tims.

https://yawningbread.wordpress.com/2011/07/12/ips-post-ge2011-survey-part-2/

The Workers Party won two GRCs - i.e Aljunied and Hougang.

It is speculated that the WP is strong in Aljunied because of a large number of Malay and Indian voters, whilst I cannot find much on the demography of Hougang.

These official election results are also very telling. The PAP won by a big margin in areas with a large number of factories such as Ang Mo Kio, Jurong and others, though it won by a narrow margin in Punggol where there are a large number of Indians.

I guess the PAP's success has to do either with the proportion of Chinese in the area or the proportion of workers.

As the earlier analysis shows, the PAP is stronger in areas with a larger proportion of working class people who are the majority,whilst the Workers Party is more popular amongst the elite who are a minority.

In Malaysia, the scenario is somewhat similar in constituencies such as Lembah Pantai, where the lower income Malays living in low cost flats tend to support the BN, whilst the middle class elite in Bangsar, etc tend to support the opposition and who in this case have managed to outnumber the lower income voters but this has not been so in the rural areas of Malaysia, unless economic burdens of rising prices and the effects of the GST turn these voters against the BN.

16. IT.Scheiss4:04 am

Anonymous @ 1:38pm

On "A stunning outcome, a moment to reflect"

What Khanna says about the PAP listening to the people's concerns in 2011 make sense.

Also, whilst the Lee Kuan Yew sympathy factor could have played a part, it's opposite - loss of the Lee Kuan Yew fear factor could also have played a part.

As long as Lee was alive, some saw Singapore's prime ministers, including his son the current prime minister Hsien Loong as proxies off the power behind the throne but now with Kuan Yew gone, tey have come to accept Hsien Loong as himself, and Hsien Loong is not the aggressive and abrasive prime minister like his father who had sued his opponents till they were made bankrupt, sued or banned foreign newspapers and so forth.

Hsien Loong is more cognisant of the thinking of the younger generation of Singaporeans and has tried to accommodate them.

Khanna is also right about the opposition going beyond the mindset of being forever stuck in opposition and of seeing themselves being at best watchdogs who serve as a check and balance to the PAP.

Also, the Singapore opposition is very fragmented, and with the Worker's Party contesting only 28 of the 89 seats and winning six, there is no way they could form the government even if they won all 28 seats. As for the rest of the opposition parties, well they won no seats at all.

If the Singapore opposition wants to win, they had better form some kind of formal or informal electoral pact like the now defunct Pakatan Rakyat in Malaysia, which looks like unravelling further if the DAP falls out with PKR over the latter's willingness to work with PAS.

The DAP also had resigned itself to a mentality of being forever in opposition, which was especially noticeable during the 1980's when its aims were to deny the BN a two-thirds majority, and saw itself as a barking watchdog which provided some checks and balances.

Whilst Lim Kit Siang appears to have come out of that mentality, many younger MPs within the party appear to still be stuck with that mindset, so instead of thinking strategically about winning the federal government, they shoot from the hip at anything they disagree with (such as hudud or PKR being open to working with PAS in elections), whilst losing sight of the bigger objective.

An English expression for that is "cannot see the forest for the trees" - i.e. cannot see the bigger picture due to prioritising the smaller aspects of the bigger picture.

17. Anonymous7:55 am

No Singapore in the eyes of the unmotivated lot is never good, it is just like saying the grapes are sour.Try, just try to apply to immigrate there and you will be highly disappointed or for that matter try to apply to immigrate to any other countries, Indonesia not included. You can only remain in Malaysia where you can have free tongkats and wheelchairs for now. Soon and very soon even these will not be available because no more money to buy them anymore !

18. Najib is INcapable of learning lessons. Komen terbaik pagini......

Sir Wenger said...

Everybody knows najib korup. But protected by KBAB51. So kira sekadar hanya boleh menyalak sahaja. KBAB buat dunno and kita ibarat doggie

that's why waste time ask for statements. Institutions in Malaysia not working.
    11 September 2015 at 23:15

http://spin-kings.blogspot.my/2015/09/renungan-buat-seketika.html#more

19. Anonymous12:30 am

Rocky, the PAP may have their authoritarian ways to stay in power BUT they did not have goons in red shirts threatening peace and security, all for the sake of the coward Ah Jib Gor. Ah Jib Gor what a laugh. Do you even read your own "Blogs That Rock"? Your all loving Annie, Life if Annie, just wrote "Don't let the bigots and political opportunists win". Please share that post with the lying, thieving and crooked Prime Sinister Najib.

20. Anonymous6:02 pm

See you at the Himpunan mempertahankan UMNO dan Rasuah tomorrow Rocky!

Selamat Hari Malaysia excluding Iban, Kadazan Dusun, INdian, Chinese, Thai, Portugis, Eurasian, Arab, Afghan, Parsi, Orang Asli, Mamak, Orang Campuran dan lain lain cause you know they won't be at the exclusive gathering tomorrow.

21. Anonymous Anonymous said...
    Tak ada 2.6 billion pun boleh menang election. Macam mana?

Anonymous said...
    Simple logic:
    Hsien Loong DID NOT receive RM2,600,000,000 in his personal account!! That is categorised as rasuah in the eyes of the world and majority of Malaysians. The minority are the macais.

--------

Anons Anons,

Forget the RM2.6 billion or even the RM42 billion that "vanished" from the 1MDB, mohorons.
    Singapore has something Najib doesn't -- Temasek Holdings.
    Some estimates put Temasek's losses at over RM100 billion.
    IN other words, more than RM100 billion have vanished from Temasek.

And still the PAP won big.
    Makes you wonder, right?

22. Anonymous Anonymous said...
    See you at the Himpunan mempertahankan UMNO dan Rasuah tomorrow Rocky!

Selamat Hari Malaysia excluding Iban, Kadazan Dusun, INdian, Chinese, Thai, Portugis, Eurasian, Arab, Afghan, Parsi, Orang Asli, Mamak, Orang Campuran dan lain lain cause you know they won't be at the exclusive gathering tomorrow.

6:02 p.m.

xxxxx---xxxxx

Haha.
    The Malays aren't the most corrupt, or the only ones.
    And neither is UMNO.
    The Malays and UMNO are synomyous with generosity and magnanimity. It was not that long ago when they - the Malays and UMNO - gave in so much just to accomodate migrants.
    The world should learn from the Malays and UMNO in dealing with the Syrian migrant problem.

23. Anonymous9:17 am

"Forget the RM2.6 billion or even the RM42 billion that "vanished" from the 1MDB, mohorons.
    Singapore has something Najib doesn't -- Temasek Holdings.
    Some estimates put Temasek's losses at over RM100 billion.
    IN other words, more than RM100 billion have vanished from Temasek.

And still the PAP won big.
    Makes you wonder, right?"

Why "forget"?

You think if Lee had 700 million USD "appear" in his account and gave 5 different reasons a full month later, he would remain in power?

Personal corruption is unacceptable.

24. Tebing Tinggi4:05 pm

Aiseh, Bru - how do you know that Temasek Holdings has "losses at over RM100 billion" (sic)?

Can you point us to your sources?

Why are the "losses" calculated in Ringgit and not in Singapore Dollars?

Try another trick, Bru!

25. Anonymous9:34 am

Rocky please look up Fiji, Mauritius, Suriname, Guyana, Trinidad and Tobago. Malaysia is not so unique in maving a mixed population

Don't need to go back 60 years, just look at how Rohingas are treated right now in 2015 in Malaysia. Boats not allowed to land, camps with mass graves....