Friday, July 24, 2015

So, who else did you mislead to justify your end(s), Mr Tong?

"Me, I have only ONE question for Tong: Did you pay Justo for the information?
- My posting last Monday, h e r e

Friday 24 July: If the Singapore Straits Times' interview with detained blackmailer Xavier Justo was explosive, tycoon Tong Kooi Ong's subsequent confession that he had misled Justo is equally, if not more, shocking.

Tong's confession, which is not exactly voluntary - he made it only after Justo had pointed a finger at him during his interview with ST - puts crucial things in the 1MDB/plot to topple PM issue in perspective, finally.

It also raises questions about honesty and ethics:

1. It proves that Justo has been telling us the the truth about the 1MDB issue and the Singapore "plot" to topple the Malaysian Prime Minister after all;
2. It establishes that Tong is more involved in the scheme of things than he'd led us to believe initially;
3. If Tong had misled the source/whistleblower,  who else has he conned to achieve his objective(s);
4. Ho Kay Tat, the managing editor of The Edge, said in his "We couldn't walk away ..." statement that "We did not pay for our information." Was Kay Tat aware all along that Tong, who owns The Edge, was misleading Justo - promising to pay the Swiss USD2 million without the intention to keep his word?; and
5. Did Clare Brown, the owner of Sarawak Report, know what Tong had promised to pay USD2 million so as to mislead Justo, and did she go along with that?

Read Tong's confession:
Tong: Okay, okay, I conned the guy USD2 mil. So what?
Yes, we misled Justo — Tong Kooi Ong
JULY 24 — We refer to the story in the Singapore Straits Times in which Andre Xavier Justo accused us of not paying him what we said we would for the information he gave us on the scandalous 1Malaysia Development Berhad (1MDB)-PetroSaudi joint venture.
First off, we must say the Singapore Straits Times journalist must be very well connected to be given access to Justo in his Bangkok jail.
Even our Inspector General of Police Tan Sri Khalid Abu Bakar, who is now in Bangkok, has so far been refused access to Justo.
We wonder which powerful hidden hand arranged for Nirmal Ghosh of the Straits Times to meet Justo so that he can launch an attack on us?
Justo is obviously an angry man, and undestandably so, as we did not pay him what he wanted.
Yes, we misled him. But that was the only way to get hold of the evidence to expose how a small group of Malaysians and foreigners, cheated the people of Malaysia of US$1.83 billion (RM6.978 billion).
His statement confirmed what we have said earlier i.e. we never paid anyone.
As for Justo’s allegations that we told him we intended to tamper the documents and that our objective was to bring down the government, surely if we had such intentions we would not tell it to someone we were meeting for the first time.
All the more so, when we know he will be upset with us because we will eventually not pay him what he wants.
There was no tampering because we immediately did a digital fingerprint of the hard disk that contained over 400,000 emails and documents and secured it. What is in the discs we have given Bank Negara Malaysia, the police and MACC this week is the exact copy as the one Justo passed to us and he has said he did not do any tampering.
Furthermore, the money trail we have put together and passed to investigators showing how money from 1MDB were moved into the accounts of various people at several global banks in several countries can be easily verified by investigators with help from their counterparts in this country.
Justo is understandably a bitter man. But this is not about Justo, neither is it about us.
It’s about a scheme to cheat the people of Malaysia of US$1.83 billion through the 1MDB-PetroSaudi joint venture.
The fact that so many government agencies are now investigating 1MDB and that it is now almost an insolvent company that needs to be bailed out validates all the work The Edge Media Group has done to expose what had happened.
We have done nothing wrong and we are here to assist investigators unlike some who seem to have disappeared.
* Tong Kooi Ong is the chairman of The Edge Media Group.
- See more at: http://www.themalaymailonline.com/what-you-think/article/yes-we-misled-justotong-kooi-ong#sthash.Mb7zofLm.dpuf

p.s. Quite amusing that Tong has the cheek to ask how ST could have gotten the interview with Justo.
First off, we must say the Singapore Straits Times journalist must be very well connected to be given access to Justo in his Bangkok jail.
Even our Inspector General of Police Tan Sri Khalid Abu Bakar, who is now in Bangkok, has so far been refused access to Justo.
We wonder which powerful hidden hand arranged for Nirmal Ghosh of the Straits Times to meet Justo so that he can launch an attack on us?
I'm sure, Tong, that the ST did not have to mislead anyone to get the interview.

16 comments:

1. Anonymous11:09 pm

Rocky fuck memang makwn duit haram jadah. Tu pasal blogging pun macam taik.

2. Dear All: The central question remains . . .

All these comments on Justo, The Edge, WSJ, and Claire Brown's Sarawak website are distracting sideshows. I am surprised that even veteran and hard-nosed observers and commentators are taken in by these distractions.

The pertinent points remain: How much debt 1MDB has incurred and how much is the Malaysian government's exposure or liability? Second, is 1MDB making money or even enough money to service its loans? Releasing 1MDB's latest financial report, whether audited or not, would go a long way to answer those questions.

Before that, there is an even simpler and more central issue that we are missing or sidestepping. This would require only a brief "yes" or "no" response from those responsible, meaning Najib. Did he divert any funds from 1MDB to his private account as alleged by WSJ? If only the answer to that is a simple "No," then all the other details become irrelevant.

We all, whether pro Najib or anti Najib but as responsible citizens, should be asking him to answer that simple question. If he refuses to answer, then he should be impeached if there is such a provision in the constitution. Absent that he should quit or be made to do so.

The central question remains whether public funds are diverted to Najib's personal account. That is the Malaysian Nixonian equivalent of "What did the president know and when did he know about it?" of the infamous Watergate crisis.

All other distracting commentaries that do not confront that central issue would only reveal the biases and prejudices of the commentators. We all can be spared of that.

I would hope the the parliamentary committee and the special task force investigating this matter would answer those questions. You do not have to go to Singapore and ask its MAS to cooperate, or Thailand to interview that Justo character, or get the moon-faced fellow who is so enamored with Paris Hilton to get to answer that central question.

The central allegation of siphoning public funds is made not by some kucing kurap anti-government blogger but by WSJ. When the Financial Times made some allegations of bribery on Tengku Razaleigh regarding the Bank Bumiputra failure of yore, he sued the outfit and won. If Najib likewise feels that WSJ is having a cock and bull story with the allegation, then go ahead and sue the paper. The lawsuit and subsequent depositions would also help reveal the truth.

So all these hullaballoo would go away if Najib were to answer with a simple "No" to the central question and then go ahead to sue WSJ and everyone else.

M. Bakri Musa (bakrimusa.com)

>

3. Anonymous12:36 am

Whats the big deal here Rocky. News outlets and reporters constantly go undercover to get at stories. You led the MM when your reporters did the same. They claim to be someone else to get at the story. Similarly cops do the same all over the world and In Malaysia posing as undercover officers, offering to pay for drugs etc to expose and catch criminals.
    The fact that the Edge offered to pay, does not matter.
    What matters is they did not pay for the information.

4. Anonymous12:41 am

Bro

Pay to get the correct information is not the same as pay to lie...come on lah

Jln Reko

5. Anonymous1:09 am

Looks like this clown would be a better defence lawyer for Anwar in the Saiful sodomy case. He's unethical antics could win Anwar his freedom.

6. najib and 1mdb also misled the people with cash to asset then unit.

what else are they misleading the people with?

7. But fact is...did 2.6 million and 2 million went to Najib and rosmah personal account..the rakyat want to know...YES or NOT

8. Dato'

Bukankah ada peribahasa melayu yang berbunyi "Berani kerana benar"?

Isn't that is what is shown by those people in the Edge, WSJ, etc.

On the other hand, the management of 1MDB isn't showing the zeal to proof that they are on the right side of the law.

You're a season journo surely you see how haphazard the responses has been from the Gov people defending the PM.

Azman

9. Anonymous7:24 am

mari,mari,mari goreng pisang panas ni, apasal diam je. Tak mau komen ke? Well done bru. Teach them a lesson that fitnah is not going to take anybody anywhere except hell.

10. Anonymous9:40 am

"Yes, we misled him. But that was the only way to get hold of the evidence to expose how a small group of Malaysians and foreigners, cheated the people of Malaysia of US$1.83 billion (RM6.978 billion)."

Q1. Before getting the data from Justo, how do you know that the cheating do happen?
    Q2. Did you verify before that the cheating do happen before you agree with Justo for the data?
    Q3. How sure are you that the data from Justo is not being tampered with?
    Q4. How sure are you that the data from Justo is real? Did you verify it before you agree to pay him?
    Q5. If the answer of the above 4 questions are positive, then who do you verify with and what basis of proof that you have verified the data concern?

11. Anonymous2:50 pm

I would like very much to belive that the chinese sale person in Lowyat did not cheat when he sold the handphone to the Melayu youth. But after this confession by Tong that he cheat Justo, I do not have any doubt that Chinese cannot survive without cheating.

Blackmoon.

12. Anonymous2:51 pm

I would like very much to belive that the chinese sale person in Lowyat did not cheat when he sold the handphone to the Melayu youth. But after this confession by Tong that he cheat Justo, I do not have any doubt that Chinese cannot survive without cheating.

Blackmoon.

1. Anonymous6:30 pm

Very true.Spot on.What have Dapig done to PAS.The problem is that certain people simply doesn't learn. I think because money is king.

13. Anonymous12:13 am

Hahaha ...Tong , Ho , Pua , OSTB , AKJ and all Ultrakiasu DAPig gang are about to implode .
    All because of S'pore ST explosion .

PN

14. Alfonso11:00 am

Waah, bro -- looks like to all these suckers, you are on the side of right if you believe The Edge and Sarawak Report. You try to reason that "how do you know?" line because clearly The Edge has an agenda , then you are on Najib's payroll.
    Typical, motherfuckers.

And then, you see WSJ's article on Anwar and his I can save Malaysia tirade.

How timely.

The Edge is out to bring down this government by discrediting the leader of this government through FOUL means.
    The last time someone tried to topple a Malaysian PM, he was jailed for abuse of power and accused of Sodomy.

15. Anonymous10:30 pm

It's a case of the kettle calling the pan black.

Tong - like Jho Low - also appeared from nowhere(?) 25 years ago. Both got their capital seed $$$ from the sky. Tong's multi million ventures sprouted when Anwar was Finance Minister; his ties with AI are still strong today.

How he cheated Justo outright is not only outrageous but shows what he is capable of. If he could cheat Justo and renege on a gentleman's agreement, what other things is he not capable of?

A real pity that vet journo Kay Tat got mixed up with him............