Thursday, January 09, 2014

The photograph that spooked Annie and some others

Got a few calls to ask me if "you bloggers" are revolting against the PM. Even prominent businessman TF was concerned enough to call me for the first time in over a year: "Why are the bloggers whacking Najib ... except you?" The latest caller, a little lady called Annie, said she became particularly worried after reading Apanama's Najib Worse Than Pak Lah? People familiar with the Malaysian blogosphere would equate Apanama with critical-but-polite postings, a cool head among today's very temperamental and crazily critical English-driven bloggers. But Apanama's latest posting was so hard-hitting it seems that even the punching machine Syed Akbar Ali was quoting him line for line.  
"And, aiyooo,  my dear Rocky did you see the photograph published by OutSyed The Box's!?" I promised her I'd check out the two blogs as soon as I get back to my den from a dinner with some consultants. 
And, ah, no wonder Annie was spooked! Here's the picture Syed Akbar published in his posting Apanama makan Roti Teloq - Ampat Biji!! 
Superstitious people avoid threesome shots
People would read all kinds of things upon seeing this photograph and you can't blame them if they do. But I'd tell Annie that things are not always what they appear to be. Tun Daim Zainuddin, the man flanked by OutSyed The Box and Apanama in the picture, engages bloggers every now and then over breakfast. He would even invite some of the mainstream editors from time to time. But no, Daim's not the "unseen hand" some people think is behind recent incessant attacks on Najib, his wife, and family and friends. Or on Syed Mokhtar al-Bukhary, for that matter (see Syed Akbar's posting on the former nemesis h e r e).
I have had the privilege of joining the Tun for roti canai in some very public places where we exchanged stories and gossips. Daim is an excellent story teller. The last time I was invited to breakfast with Tun Daim, I was late by a few minutes. After I had taken my allocated seat next to the former Finance Minister, my ex boss AKJ asked those who were pro-Najib to move over to Daim's side, with me and Syed Akbar (who was seated to Daim's left), while those who were not for the PM would sit opposite Daim, with AKJ. Just like a school debate. A lof of things were said in jest like that but we did talk about the serious stuff too. 
When we're not meeting Daim, we bloggers would be meeting anyone who wants to engage us. But not everyone wants to engage us. 
As for Apanama's hard-hitting posting, it is indeed a reflection of what a lot of people feel. Tan Sri Zainal Rampak, the trade union leader, thinks Najib is not getting a true picture of what's happening on the ground and has asked me to "please tell Datuk Seri Najib to go down to the people."  
Apanama wants Najib to stop talking about transformation plans and start transforming. The PM can sack some aides and reshuffle his Cabinet, for a start.
"We need men and women of character, capability and common sense to steer this nation forward ... some of your cabinet members have become laughing stocks. Quite a number of the better cabinet members are finding it hard to hold their heads up in public because of the clowns among them."  
But please do read what Apanama has to say right to the end of his posting so that you won't miss the message:
But time is running out, Mr Prime Minister

13 comments:

1. Anonymous10:00 am

If I may say so, no offense but why Muslims of Indian blood in Malaysia aka Mamak always being critical and loudmouth?
    I do admire their bravura of speaking up without hiding behind anonymous or ghostly blogs but sometimes it feels excessive. It is historically proven as well. Abdullah Munshi, the father of Malay journalism was the first to came out from the shell throwing up scathing observation and criticism of Malays and their feudalistic nature. In his trip to the East Cost, in one of the series of annals that he wrote, he criticized the Malays' proclivity of wasting time and the habit of cock fighting. Though it makes a fun reading but it marked for the first time in history that there is someone brave enough to write on these controversial subjects considering how taboo there were at that time. In short, the guy was ahead of his time. He wrote without fear of retribution and not afraid to put his stamp on it. Lest that he aware that his writings would go down in history as one of historically significant piece of Malay literature. His contribution also marked the transition from classical to modern in the history of Malay literature where before him, annals and stories written laden with over the top storytelling where the protagonists bestowed with super power, magic and mystique.
    And then there were contributions from Kaum muda at the turn of the century. The names of the contributors signified of Indian bloods lineage. Their early newsletters were hard-hitting and in stark contrast with the more mainstream which spearheaded by the conservatives, the Kaum Tua. And then, there was the arrival of the Malay Dilemma written by Mahathir Mohamed which is also highly critical of the establishment and the Malays. The book ended up become the basis and framework by the late Tun Razak in formulating NEP.

1. Anonymous7:45 pm

what has kaum mamak has to do with anything? stop being a bigot will you!!!

2. Anonymous10:40 am

Actually by reading around, it's not hard to figure out who gets paid by UMB and who gets paid by errrr, "others".

Some aren't paid (a small minority) and one or two clearly are, but loudly and falsely proclaim they aren't (to retain their "integrityhaha".

Even fewer can be trusted. That's what money does to you, huh.

3. Anonymous10:57 am

Datuk,

PLEASE pass this message to the powers to stop recycling oldies and tainted personalities for GLCs chairmanship/CEO/very special envoys etc.Dont tell me our country is brains dead, so no choice but to reuse and reuse those expired stuff.Give those bright young energetic brains a chance to prove themselves and bring in new ideas to move us forward.FYI another tainted politician is about to be made very special envoy with big bucks...we are seriously tired of these done deals!

4. Anonymous11:08 am

You don't suka, migrate lah.

5. Dato,

1. Perkembangan terbaru kerajaan Selangor menggusarkan kita. Sepuluh perkara PM Najib di jadikan asas rujukan. Bukan merujuk enakmen atau undang-undang. Malah ia di bicarakan oleh NUCC. Apa peranan Sultan dan Jais ? Kenapa tidak tertakluk perundangan yang mampu menjaga keharmonian . Kini di PPinang, tulisan jawi jadi olakan pula... (blogger sudah melapurkan)

2. Semesti nya yang pro-kerajaan berasa sangsi dan tidak puas hati apabila PM dan menteri kabinet nya tidak berpendirian. Jika mahukan rakyat bertindak, lepaskan sahaja kepada mereka mengambil tindakan untuk segala masaalah yang melanda kehidupan. Bersuara bukan bermakna benci dan perlu di tukar ganti. Kini TIADA pilihan yang terbaik. Semua nya sokong membawa rebah.

3. Jika Melayu di lihat jumud dan terkebelakang, ada kah pembangkang ambil peduli ? Di suruh bersaing tetapi di suruh berlari ? Di suruh memajukan diri tetapi di panggang bara api ? Di suruh menongkat globasisasi, wadah nya bukan lestari...

Blogger pun manusia. Luahan hati tetap sama jika
    Islam itu menjadi amalan seperti yang lain-lain nya. Kecuali kategori MUNAFIK. Bahaya !

6. Anonymous3:30 pm

A lot of the present Cabinet are not there on merit, but because the PM has to balance the various factions in BN, while placating the warlords.

In such an atmosphere, why would the "best and brightest" want to get into politics?

Daim should see what LKY did in Singapore. Tag the salaries of ministers, senior civil servants and judges to those in the Singapore private sector. Maybe it's not a perfect system, but it may be better than the present practice in Malaysia.

1. Anonymous7:43 pm

hello anon 3:30,

enough of LKY and singapork la. they can exist always as a tiny dot!!!

7. Meleis5:04 pm

Hahaha.

Tun Daim is an AKJ doppleganger.

Anyway, more and more influence bloggers and those who fought tooth and nails to keep BN as a government are going against Najib's.

Nowadays, there's very very very few people defends him in the social media. Even his FB Fan Page filled with bashing against him.

The problem is not only Najib. But the entire leadership. There is almost no one in the Cabinet or even UMNO has what it takes to lead a country.

and

It just that, Najib has too much liabilities now (Rosmah, his super expensive con-sultan, his step son, H20 etc) and he seems refused to let go.

Things will only get worse.

8. Anonymous10:24 pm

Najib will not leave on his own free will, even if he want to. There is too much at stake for him, his wife, his clans, etc.. However, there are signs that he will drag this country to the abyss. Do we want to be in MBA mode. analysing all the events after it had happened. By then, some of us probably will be working as a waiter at McDonald or KFC somewhere in Singapore. We can't be just yelling our concern in blogs, we need some affirmative action.

9. Anonymous12:44 am

"Rocky, Once a long time ago, I thought you were a cool guy. But not anymore. Why you allow yourself to be used like this? For $$$$ is it? What about self-respect, dignity, principles that are marks of a good journalist? Think long and hard, and change lah Rocky. It's never too late to repent and change for the better. They say politics is dirty, but not such filth. Surely you are so much better than to allow yourself to become a purveyor of scum? Don't you want to earn the respect of your kids, at least? I am an old woman from the suburbs and decided a long time ago to stop reading your blog because of what you have become, but today I just had to stop by and send you this message."

Remember that one?

I just can't stand it when people need to whine about a lucrative career choice.

Screw it, I will continue being a paid ass kisser, though I know the stench of ass will never fade completely from my lips.

Mmmmmmmmm.

10. Anonymous7:23 am

Anon 7:43 pm

Tell that to the Malaysians working in Singapore!

Especially those commuting daily across the Causeway to cari makan in the "tiny dot"!

No shame, ah, people like you? Your compatriots have to work in "Singapork" to earn a living, and you have the gall to deride their place of employment?

Bollocks!

11. Anonymous7:18 pm

anon 7:23,

jangan lah marah sangat. typical of kiasu behaviour of singapork lovers! a tiny dot will always be a tiny dot. thats why your sifu LKY still pine for old malaysia. hehehehe