Saturday, January 11, 2014

Save UKRC field (updates Court 6 proceedings)

Kuala Lumpur, 13 Jan: 
Judge sets 23 Jan for Round 2
For UKRC: Peter, the Ref
& Man the footballer
outside the courtroom
The High Court No 6 was packed this morning with scores of UKRC supporters, including junior and veteran footballers and a retired referee, who declared that the MPAJ had committed a vicious foul on the residents of Ulu Klang and their 60-year old club, the UK Recreational Club, and therefore deserved a send-off! UKRC president Andrew Gopal said he was happy Judge Yang Ariff Vazeer Alam Bin Mydin Meera decided to adjourn the case to 23/1/2014 (after Friday prayers) for a decision. Ah, perhaps someone will be sent off, after all? "The Yang Ariff wants to study the submission ... We are happy with that," Gopal said.

Uncle Lim, a volunteer at the UKRC who has lived in Ulu Kelang for over 50 years, said he was saddened by the Selangor government's decision to get the local council to seize the football field from the club. "That has never happened before," he added. Before the UKRC decided to file a suit against the MPAJ to reclaim the field, the council even threatened to seize the club house. "This is state gangsterism lah," a supporter chipped in.

How do you fight that?

Fighting for their field

Visit the UKRC Facebook h e r e for updates and pictures.

Original posting and earlier updates

Updated: 12/1/2013 Another Broken Promise by Apanama. They did it to Kg Buah Pala, they'll do it to UKRC if the people don't fight!

Original piece:
UKRC vs MPAJ 
Date: Monday 13 Jan 2014 
Time: 830 am 
Place: Court No 6 High Court Jalan Duta

This is not political. For decades, all manners of crooks, including elected ones, have tried to rob the people of Ulu Kelang of their one and only football field. Thanks to some very brave people of Ulu Klang and their club UKRC, those attempts were thwarted each time. What those crooks failed to do through crooked means, however, the Majlis Perbandaran Ampang Jaya has succeeded in doing via a legal loophole which they said they had found after all these years. 

Once again, the brave people of Ulu Kelang and their club UKRC rise to defend their field. They have defeated greedy property developers and their powerful alies within the state before, so surely they can do it again. 

But these are ordinary people and the court action against the MPAJ will take much or their energy and resources. It may take months and even years.

They will need every help that we, the people, can give them. The least we could do is show them our moral support.

I hope to see you, some of my Dear Readers, at the Jalan Duta court house this Monday. 

p.s. This has nothing to do with partisan politics. For a bit of context, pls read my old piece UKRC Field vs BN then, UKRC Field vs Pakatan Now

26 comments:

1. Rahim1:32 pm

One of Pakatan Rakyat's broken promise Rocky. I will drive all the way from Sg.Long to support UKRC. I have played football there and I know how well UKRC upkeeps the field for the public. MPAJ should look at their own field first, how badly it has been managed. Their usual excuse, tak ada bajet lah encik.

2. Anonymous2:03 pm

Ask not what Harimau Malaya can do in football; ask instead what you can do for Harimau Malaya. Footballing genius develops from "Grass-Roots" level!

3. Bravo, Rahim. COme and say hello on Monday.

4. Time and time again, we have invited bloggers, NGOs, supporters of UKRC to come meet us and talk to us. But, none ever did. And, they continue to write to support Andrew Gopal.

Yes, there are sentiments about UKRC. But, if you were to open your eyes to all the going-ons in UKRC, and to listen to the truth, you may have second thoughts. You are not merely listening to just anybody…you are listening to ex-members who have been members for decades, ex-members who sat in the committee, personal decade aged friends who know each other since childhood, friends who eat,drink,holiday together, who knew each other family members……. You will be talking to people who were once in UKRC. You will be talking to residents who are directly affected in this matter.

Some questions that you should ask :
    1. Why does UKRC not allow an external audit ? to the extend of breaking a promise to YB Saari Sungib.
    2. How many members are there in UKRC that has voting rights? Why reject application from residents to be member ?
    3. Was UKRC original name, ‘Dewan Masyarakat dan Kelab Rekreasi Kuala Ampang’ ? and they have changed this in 2001 ?
    4. Did UKRC change the constitution to say that they are not obligated to serve the residents of Kuala Ampang in 2002 ?

Yes, we can be sentimental about UKRC. But, to know what one should do in this issue… try this,

I called it "The Four-Way Test" of the things we think, say or do." (Rotary International. )

“1. Is it the truth?
    2. Is it fair to all concerned?
    3. Will it build goodwill and better friendships?
    4. Will it be beneficial to all concerned? “

5. Chee Wai, Kuala Ampang6:56 pm

Ukrcforall as mentioned in your earlier posting is managed by as husband and wife team called Sam Tan and Lily togather with another ex ukrc member Kevin Ho. The said facebook account was created to tarnish UKRC's good name and to slander Andrew Gopal after they failed in their mission to topple the UKRC committee than. After failing to get UKRC de-registered from the ROS, with various baseless complaints made, including external audit and changing club when even a lay man could explain that without members mandate, the club will not be able to amend its constitution. If they claim were true, by now, UKRC would have no choice but to comply with ROS instructions to the complaints made by this sour grapes, whom cant take defeat and now formed the resident association to take over the duties of the Village Committee, whom seems to be mute committee. They are now also trying to misled the MB Selangor and the Ulu Klang Rep to seize the UKRC club house, which was built by UKRC.
    This sour grapes were no where to be seen when Khir Toyo wanted to develop UKRC field to condominiums.
    Hope your readers will be clear now of this desperate and malicious group calling themselves, ukrcforall.

6. Anonymous7:06 pm

What is so difficult in this UKRC case ?
    You guy brought in this Pakatat guy to help you , you have live with it maaa...
    Worst come to worst just SOS to those stupid , brainless Malay Bughah punk .
    They love to help you guys...

PN

7. Anonymous7:50 pm

kah, kah, kah, ..... publisiti murahan from former NST idiot!

8. Anonymous8:28 pm

"The said facebook account was created to tarnish UKRC's good name and to slander Andrew Gopal after they failed in their mission to topple the UKRC committee than. After failing to get UKRC de-registered from the ROS, with various baseless complaints made, including external audit and changing club when even a lay man could explain that without members mandate, the club will not be able to amend its constitution. If they claim were true, by now, UKRC would have no choice but to comply with ROS instructions to the complaints made by this sour grapes, whom cant take defeat and now formed the resident association to take over the duties of the Village Committee, whom seems to be mute committee. They are now also trying to misled the MB Selangor and the Ulu Klang Rep to seize the UKRC club house, which was built by UKRC..."

Man, that's some heavy-duty politics over a rectangle of grass.

But if it's the only football field in the area, I say let it live on.

9. David Lau, MCA12:29 am

Rocky, the Kuala Ampang folks are having a good laugh on the UKRC issue. Saari Sungib has failed UKRC, and this is good as I see the residents are having confidence back on Barisan Nasional. Hope the BN guys will come to court UKRC on Monday ha!

10. Anonymous7:51 am

No issue lah. If the land belongs not to the club, then the owner (MPAJ) can do what they want as long as the status of the field is not changed and they maintain it to decent standards. And what about the allegations of hanky-panky by some residents and members?

Like what Ukrcforall said....you have to listen and comment on the truth of the allegations. Be fair, man.

sri hartamas

11. Anonymous10:03 am

One thing clear about this issue from the plea by Rocky is that everything is being politicized so much that if you want support from all corners, you must convince all and sundry that what you are upto is truly apolitical.

12. Brahim, rawang12:49 pm

Saya akan datang ke mahkamah esok untuk sokong UKRC.

13. Din, Kemensah1:03 pm

UKRC pasti mendapat sokongan saya. Jumpa dimahkamah esok, penyokong-penyokong UKRC.

14. Anonymous4:00 pm

5 million selangors has better things to worry about than the small footballs fields. Get a life rocky

15. Anonymous4:14 pm

When Rocky Cries out loud, THIS IS NOT POLITICAL...

You can rest Assured ITS POLITICAL

ROCKY IS ALL ABOUT BEING POLITICAL!

16. Rahim, Sg.Long6:06 pm

Anon 4.00pm, if some one robs your right,than perhaps you would know, what it feels like. If a field issue cannot be resolved by the MB Selangor, how the hell is he going to manage the state with 5 million Selangor? By the way, I will be attending court tomorrow to support UKRC.

17. Penduduk Kuala Ampang8:36 pm

I and a group of residents will be at the court tomorrow to show our support to the state government. The public land must be open to all. We must not allow UKRC to bring back their 'Private Guards' to restrict access to the public land!

18. Aziz, UK.10:18 pm

I pray that justice will prevail for UKRC, a club which has existed long before MPAJ came to the picture.

19. Anonymous10:24 pm

Anon 4pm:

i hate greedy citizens like you who just think about money, money and money.
    bad township is bcos of people like you who build, build and build without thinking green areas, public convenience and traffic.
    i think MPAJ and MPS should be reduced to a small council just to look after ampang bandar baru and selayang bandar baru only. Ulu klang should have its own municipal council - so do pandan, gombak, rawang and keramat.
    those places are a mess because they simply cant cope with the geography.
    why should the people there be deprived whereas other parts of selangor like sg buloh subang and shah alam are being modernised from the same pool of money??

20. ABDULLAH BIN MD ZAIN2:05 pm

https://fbcdn-sphotos-h-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/999924_570157166403456_1975173368_n.jpg

21. Kuala Ampang Resident6:55 pm

Ukrcforall, you are very fake. Now the whole world know who you are. Husband & wife team, Sam Tan & Lily Lim with another culprit Kevin Ho. Please stop misleading the public for heaven sake!! Rocky, I was once in the page and later I discovered all the stories published in the UKrcforall was not true, I've scolded them for tarnishing the good names of UKRC and remove them from my Facebook. Shame on you Sam Tan, Lily Lim and Kevin Ho !!! You watch out ! What comes around goes around !!

22. Anonymous7:10 pm

Anonymous said...

Dear penduduk kuala ampang, all along ukrc field had been open to the public only those who wanted to play football are require to pay for the field rental. I see kids playng at the basketball in evening and resident excercising and doing their walk round the field in the morning and evening there even qi gong 4 times a week in the morning and not a single cent that ukrc ask them to pay,they use the basketball court for their qi gong for free and it's been 4 years and you said ukrc not open for public. MPAJ also charge for the rental of the football field and they close the gate
    all the time and do u call this open for public?
    Have you play any free football since MPAJ
    took over the ukrc field? Please think before you say anything dear penduduk kuala ampang and say only the truth not lies please.

23. Kuala Ampang Resident8:04 pm

On 11 Jan 2014, don't you think Lim Ying is so silly ... he was holding the mic and announced that whoever go to court to support UKRC no shopping voucher will be given by PR. Lim Ying, use your brain to think before you speak.

24. Michael, Kuala Ampang10:02 pm

Saari Sungib had made a wrong move by trying to get the support from the JKKK Head, Lim Ying and the Kuala Ampang RA, whom all are from MCA. The JKKK Head is a frog, from MCA to PR,. Now he is losing support as he did nothing to save UKRC but joining the RA guys whom mainly are clueless about UKRC history and going around telling lies about UKRC. My support is for UKRC. Good luck to PR in Kuala Ampang comes GE 14.

25. Penduduk Kuala Ampang10:12 am

Since UKRC has brought the matter to court, it's best to wait for the court decision. Any ranting, personal attack will only reflect on the writer's level of self-esteem. When your children or friends view such language, it serves to belittle oneself...

26. Michael, Kuala Ampang12:36 pm

Penduduk Kuala Ampang, if only you could have educated the so called ambitious group whom wanted to hijack the club, this would not have happen lah!.When they failed, they went on to form the RA to misled the MB, Wakil rakyat and public, when they have been enjoying the UKRC facilities for years. Than, they went on a character assassination on the UKRC President and his committee. What a shame! Cheap skate RA.