Wednesday, October 02, 2013

PEMANDU, hot cars, and a Harley Davidson

With updates
Consultant in graft probe, says blog

The Malaysian Anti-Corruptionn Commission is tying an ongoing investigation into corruption in 1Azam to a staff of the Performance Management and Delivery Unit (Pemandu) in the Prime Minister's Department ...

The blogger A Voice has the story PEMANDU: Driving down the moral disaster. 
The posting exposes gory details of how money meant for the poor has been stolen, systematically, allegedly by the very people entrusted for its safekeeping. Hence, the adage: Harapkan pagar, pagar makan padi. But I suppose life's trappings and that Harley Davidson are too great a temptation to sons of anarchy ...

Leave your comments at ABITW.

Updated 4/10.2013:
Goh Wei Lang of PEMANDU has posted a response to ABITW, h e r e. I am not sure if the unit has officially reacted to the latest blog allegations. I think they ought to; they have a Comms team that's supposed to do that kind of thing.

p.s. 1.10pm
The following clarification was sent to the blogger Big Dog via email, cc to me

Dear Sir,

* Dato' Suhaimi Ibrahim and Hazmi Shamsuddin are not and never have been employees of PEMANDU. They are both working directly under their respective Ministries and Minister.

* The 1AZAM programme is a Ministerial initiative that was introduced under the National Key Results Area identified by the Government to empower and assist Low Income Households. It is a programme developed to provide employment opportunities for people categorised as poor and extreme poor.
* While PEMANDU's role was tasked to advise on the development of the focus areas for the LIH NKRA and monitor the progress of the 1AZAM programme (to ensure the targets and outcome is achieved), the initiative is wholly undertaken by and implemented by the Ministry of Women, Family and Community Development.
* The budget allocations for the 1AZAM programme come directly under the purview of the Ministry and falls within the Ministry's internal controls as does the selection of vendors and suppliers. PEMANDU is not and has never been involved in the allocation of funds or the selection of vendors for the programme.

I do hope that MACC will conduct a thorough investigation towards the individuals involved and PEMANDU through our Low Income Household team will provide full cooperation with them if needed.

Wassalam,
Izhar Moslim
Principal Private Secretary to Dato' Sri Idris Jala

15 comments:

1. Ajibgor2:25 pm

Feed&Loot Co-operation... Endless Possibilities indeed!

2. Remember, this is the Prime Minister, (implicated in a murder), and government (covering up for murderers)that 48% of the electorate voted for.

I have been writing about this Government of Thieves for years. So, what you see is what you get. What else can you expect? They will raid the coffers faster than the speed of light, until we have to send an SOS to the IMF and World Bank, and be truly colonised.

So what now? Replace one thief with another and another? Back to the same drawing board and formula or sea change?

Dpp
    we are all of 1 Race, the Human Race

1. Anonymous3:29 pm

Idiot menghasut.......

3. Anonymous5:39 pm

It seems like they have really turned this into a fine art ,bru...saya tak tahu apa nak cakap lagi mereka ni

4. ROCKY, GOOD THINGS IN LIFE ARE ILLEGAL AND IMMORAL

5. Anonymous9:51 pm

All these shortcomings are making Anwar look like a hero.

6. Anonymous10:10 pm

Shahrizat needs to be responsible for this!!

Lagi ada hati nak jadi Ketua Wanita??!

Hoi, delegasi UMNO yang nak mengundi ni... jangan jadi bodoh please. Geng Wanita dah memang takleh harap... kebanyakan dah ada kepentingan dengan Shahrizat.

They must think Malaysians are so damn stupid!!

Kick out Shahrizat pls!!

SpRm plz throw this Suhaimi guy in jail for as long as possible!! I guarantee you will elevate your improving credibility!!

Very Angry Citizen

7. Anonymous12:24 am

APA YG KITA BOLEH BUAT?

Najib tak buat apa apa pun

MACC langsung buat tak nampak

Jadi kita tgk saja la org kita berbangsa
    melayu menjahanamkan negara
    bangsa kita

So berserah pada tuhan sajalah!

8. Anonymous6:45 am

Dear Bru,
    I see many. many people are pissed because of all these scam.
    One solution is to set up An OMBUDSMAN INSTITUTION or get a truly independent person to head PCB.
    Ombudsman Not Suitable For M'sia
    Monday, 26 June 2006 02:01pm
    ©Bernama (Used by permission)
    KUALA LUMPUR, June 26 (Bernama) -- The Cabinet has decided that the Ombudsman institution similar to that set up in many countries is not suitable for Malaysia, the Dewan Rakyat was told Monday.

Nevertheless, several other Ombudsman-based concepts were being studied to be modified to the country's administrative system, Minister in the Prime Minister's Department Tan Sri Bernard Dompok said.

"A suitable concept that suits the nation's administrative system would be adopted by the Public Complaints Bureau in efforts to turn the bureau into an effective and reliable public complaints management organisation," he said when replying to Shim Paw Fatt (BN-Tawau) who asked whether the government had plans to establish an Ombudsman system.

Ombudsman is an investigative commission or an independent intermediary body to enable ordinary citizens to lodge complaints on various issues including on misconduct and abuse of power.

Replying to a supplementary question from Shim who stressed that the country needed an institution like the Ombudsman with "semi-judicial powers", Dompok said the government did not see such institutions could help solve its problems.

"For instance, the Ombudsman system in Indonesia and the Philippines did not help their governments to resolve problems," he said.

Replying to a supplementary question from Wong Nai Chee (BN-Kota Melaka), Dompok said the Ombudsman system was effective in Sweden as it had been practised since 1809 and was suitable to the country's history.

"In our country, we need to synchronise a system that suits our history," he added.

PCB performs similar function as Ombudsman
    Dr Tam Weng Wah
    7:57PM Mar 22, 2010

We refer to the letter Push for Ombudsperson for justice, equality.

First and foremost, we, the Public Complaints Bureau (PCB), Prime Minister’s Department, wish to thank the writer for his critical insights and the suggestions regarding the setting up an independent institution like the Ombudsman to address concerns such as administrative abuse and mal-administration.

Though at present there is no Ombudsman in Malaysia, we would like to highlight that the PCB performs a similar function. Thus, I would like to take this opportunity to share with the writer and the public as to what the PCB is currently doing to enhance the quality of service delivery by addressing public complaints against government agencies in a prompt, effective and courteous manner.

Since its establishment in 1971, the PCB has been entrusted by the government to act as a grievance-handling mechanism for the general public. Its core function is to receive complaints and concerns of the public and address them accordingly. By performing this function, the PCB directly acts as the watchdog for the government against mal-administration and administrative abuse.

Rakyat's comment:
    It would be better if the PCB or Ombudsman reports directly to a Parliamentary Select Committee consisting of Parliamentarians from both sides of the House and not to the Government of the day. This would ensure true INDEPENDENCE. With the PCB now under the purview of the Prime Minister's Department, one would be hard pushed to claim true independence. Likewise, the MACC and the Auditor General should report directly to Parliament.

Our comment:
    We are working with a former Federal Court Judge who Najib knows very well to set up An Ombudsman Institution or to overhaul PCB. We need full Rakyat support to push for this inititiative.
    Bro Bru, can you assist us in rallying Rakyat support?

9. Anonymous11:15 am

* Dato' Suhaimi Ibrahim and Hazmi Shamsuddin are not and never have been employees of PEMANDU. They are both working directly under their respective Ministries and Minister.
    * The 1AZAM programme is a Ministerial initiative that was introduced under the National Key Results Area identified by the Government to empower and assist Low Income Households. It is a programme developed to provide employment opportunities for people categorised as poor and extreme poor.
    * While PEMANDU's role was tasked to advise on the development of the focus areas for the LIH NKRA and monitor the progress of the 1AZAM programme (to ensure the targets and outcome is achieved), the initiative is wholly undertaken by and implemented by the Ministry of Women, Family and Community Development.
    * The budget allocations for the 1AZAM programme come directly under the purview of the Ministry and falls within the Ministry's internal controls as does the selection of vendors and suppliers. PEMANDU is not and has never been involved in the allocation of funds or the selection of vendors for the programme.

I do hope that MACC will conduct a thorough investigation towards the individuals involved and PEMANDU through our Low Income Household team will provide full cooperation with them if needed.

10. Anonymous4:54 pm

How MPs waste Parliamentary Time and display illogical Sense

Who is that Member of Parliament who said it was wasteful that Malaysia advertises on the football team jerseys of Cardiff City.
    The answer was that MP does not comprehend ‘Branding or Football’ or rather is he another dungoo!

The mileage Malaysia gets to promote ‘Visit Malaysia 2014’ covers practically every nook and corner of the planet!
    English Football is carried to the four corners of the world including the football blind US.
    From Australia, down under, to Southeast Asia, China, Japan and the Far East, the Indian subcontinent, to football crazy Middle East, every corner of Africa and South America. Europe means mega ringgit for us.
    The global audience stands at 720 million viewers and 80 media partners.

Yet MP Hee Loy Sian had the nativity to ask when Malaysia chose Cardiff over other teams in the EPL! The wise people of Petaling Jaya elected him into Parliament!
    He must be an opposition MP coming from the PKR, who else, they will always have some!

11. Anonymous9:28 am

Pak Syed
    Ini semua berlaku sbb PM Kita TIDAK TEGAS.

12. Anonymous4:43 pm

( copy and paste ) The posting exposes gory details of how money meant for the poor has been stolen, systematically....
    I LOVE THIS..." meant for the poor " and i san only pray to ALLAH! bring them down " systematically..."

ALLAH bless you Bru!
    Panglima Bugis JDT

13. Anonymous1:37 am

the news in events industry,the boss got a luxury car from the event sound light supplier,

1. Anonymous2:21 am

Yeah, its true. Plus, this boss also married with his pa to cover up all the people money that they stolen