Monday, October 14, 2013

Allah, in vain

Barking Magpie's right, it should never have come to this. Read his Are we in this country seriously ready to die for our stupidity? on the Court of Appeal's decision on the use of Allah for Christians.

In the first place, it wasn't the Christians in Malaysia who wanted Allah as their God, it was The Herald, the Catholic Church's official publication, that demanded to be allowed to use "Allah" as and when it saw fit. This was back in 2007 when Abdullah Ahmad Badawi was Prime Minister. The Home Ministry at that time disagreed with the Herald editors and suspended the publication. It was just what the Archbishop Murphy Pakiam, the Herald's publisher, needed to file for a judicial review in 2007, naming the Home Ministry and the Government as respondents. 
On the eve of 2010, the High Court judge, a non-Muslim, ruled against the KDN and the Government. The Government appealed. This morning, the Court of Appeal's three-men panel, all Muslims, ruled in favor of the Government. 

Court says Allah not part of the Trinity
"Our common finding that the usage of Allah is not an integral part of the  Christian faith. We cannot find why the parties are so adamant on the usage of the word." - Church cannot use Allah in publication
The Herald will now take the matter to the Federal Court. Malaysian Council of Churches general secretary Herman Shastri said the word "Allah" was an integral part of Christianity and used by millions of Christians in the Middle East. "We pray for peace, we are not out to create trouble for anybody".

But I say The Herald has put Malaysian Muslims and Christians through enough trouble already. They allowed - even encouraged - the whole issue to be politicized and turned into a Malaysian election gimmick (latest, read Helen Ang's Kalimah Allah: Evangelista DAP menghasut di Sarawak).

I also say, they can stop what they started. 

Jadi, kalimah Allah ni masalah Islam dan PAS?
To all Malaysians, especially my Muslim brothers and sisters, Selamat Hari Raya Haji. May Allah save us from stupidity.

30 comments:

1. Anonymous3:11 pm

It is indeed stupid isn't it? I mean fighting over this, when corruption is rife, ass-kissing is the order of the day, abuse of taxpayers money is a given and the list goes on and on..but hey, all that is cool with our majority brethren ain't it?

May Allah indeed save us from this stupidity and the stupid!

1. It was Guan Eng who pulled the trigger first. Then he hide his hand. Pathetic.

2. Anonymous3:32 pm

This is issue is not about the truth anymore. It is about Muslim/Malay/UMNO vs non Muslim/Chinese/DAP

1. Agree!!!

It's about chinese undermining the malays.

3. can see clearly now4:04 pm

Jesus said " indeed I have raised the dead , but I cannot cure the Stupid

4. Anonymous4:27 pm

Rocky wrote : In the first place, it wasn't the Christians in Malaysia who wanted Allah as their God, it was The Herald, the Catholic Church's official publication, that demanded to be allowed to use "Allah" as and when it saw fit.

Com'on Rocky,don't lie !!

5. The Malays hv a saying “Sebabkan nila setitik, rosak susu sebelanga”.

“Sekor kerbau bawa lumpur, habis terpalit sekandang”.

The Malays never had animosity against the Christians. In fact, they are indifferent about Christianity and the church system.

However there are a few wolves wearing sheep’s clothing with malice in their mind, amongst the flock. They systematically provoke and inch their way, using all sorts of avenues which incl ‘intelectual discourse’.

The provocations get more intense.

Then they brought in sinister politicians into churches. That warrants more political overtone in church events, which include Sunday mass.

And of course they started to proselytise the Malays into Christianity, which is clearly against the law.

When CFM challenged the Home Minister’s ruling based on PPA, that is nothing but political and with a deep undertone of malice.

Court decision would naturally encompassing across the board. Even those who kept quietly on the fringes and totally abstained from the debate.

Reactive statements by Father Lawrence Andrew or Sarawak Minister James Jemut Masing would aggrevate the matter worse.

What the Christians should hv done right from the start and congregated together, study the Home Minister ruling and weigh all permutations of outcome before going to High Court.

“Nasi sudah menjadi bubur”. Even Tuanku Sultan Selangor issued a strong titah.

Its time for the Christians to get wiser BEFORE the event!

6. Anonymous8:04 pm

I'm not going as far as to say:

"Com'on Rocky,don't lie !!"

But let's at least get the sequence right, OK?

http://malaysiafactbook.com/Chronology:Allah_controversy

As for "They allowed - even encouraged - the whole issue to be politicized and turned into a Malaysian election gimmick", errrr, who filed the appeal against the High Court? Please lah.

Why could the matter not have rested there? Why? Because AT THAT POINT it was "politicized and turned into a Malaysian election gimmick."

Equal logic, lah.

7. Anonymous9:26 pm

It's good to let the Malay speaking Christian folks learn that Allah is God. One day in the future they will become receptive to Islam once they are used to referring to God as Allah. We can also slowly approach them afterwards with "glad tidings" and bring them to Islam

8. Anonymous10:19 pm

Islamic Justice is for muslims only. And that too for Sunnis only. The rest can go somewhere else! Fucked

9. Anonymous9:47 am

And here was John Kerry praising Malaysia as "a moderate Muslim country"!

I wonder what feedback the US Embassy in KL will be giving to the US State Department about this issue, and about the purported or alleged restrictions faced by Christian churches in Malaysia?

Maybe the Obama administration or the US Congress could take a second look at what exactly constitutes "a moderate Muslim country"? And be more selective in how the US bestows it's accolades in such circumstances?

And isn't Malaysia due for a UN Human Rights review soon?

There are plenty of channels to get this issue ventilated and publicised, and given the instantaneous ubiquity of the social media, this issue will have plenty of readers and viewers, both within the country and internationally.

In the mean time, the "brain drain" will continue, as one more grievance is added to the list.....

10. Anonymous10:02 am

In the first place, the then Home Minister should not have issued such 'edict'. He started it.

He is from Semenanjung. He knows little about what the word Bumiputra means in the context of East Malaysian pribumis and their faith. He was not counseled properly. Neither did he bother about consulting Christian ministers in the cabinet.
    The Herald only reacted to the 'half-past-six' decision of a minister.

Kalau nak bincang, mula dari Genesis of modern Malaya, Sarawak and North Borneo.

How come you can start from the Genesis of what Isa did in FGV to tell that he does not deserve to be an UMNO VP, but do not want to start from the genesis of the usage of the Kalimah in East Malaysia?

Is it because you are also feeding yourself from the hands of the corrupt ones to stay alive?

Or is it the right time for you to prove that you are a staunch follower of that faith and hence continue to ensure the supply of corrupt handouts do not dry out?

11. Anonymous2:15 pm

Only 15 million mealyus in a world of 1.6 billion Muslims are making noise. Even the Arabs don't give a damn on what Christians call their god. Btw if the Christian god is not Allah then Christ was then not a prophet of Allah right.

12. Anonymous6:40 pm

" belakang parang kalau di asah lagi tajam " PEMINPIN MELAYU jangan lah bongok ( stupid ) katakan saja ALLAH untuk Islam! dah! itu je....

Orang Kampung
    Johor DT

13. Anonymous7:11 pm

we the muslim do not afraid of the christian..n ready to defend the word allah from being use by the christian...allah only for the muslim n cannot be sharing with others.

14. Anonymous9:26 pm

Surah Al Ankabut: Muslims should tell People of the Book (Christians and Jews) that “our God and your God is one”.

Idris

1. Tak abis ayat tu bang. Cuba dedahkan ayat seterusnya.

15. Anonymous9:19 am

Its part of a concerted plan to provoke the Malays a.k.a Muslims in Malaysia into reacting ala 13/5/69...a long drawn provocative effort to build momentum for an irreversible explosive reaction. Once that happens, they also have a plan....the final..(no I won't say it!).

16. Anonymous10:35 am

The Borneo Post, in Kuching, reported on 15th October, 2013 the remarks by Datuk Bolly Lapok calling that' ... the Court of Appeal's ruling ruling to ban the use of Allah' in the Catholic weekly publication "utterly irresponsible and grossly demeaning", churches in Sarawak and Sabah will defy the decision and continue to call their God "Allah'.

I think Datuk Bolly Lapok should ask the Pose in Rome, besides attending to sodomy cases among the Catholic priests, and mismanagement of Vatican funds, to to direct that all existing bibles be withdrawn from the market and that future bibles, printed in the various languages in the world, be directed to use the word 'Allah' instead of God. However, in order to avoid any trouble among the Catholics, and between the Catholics sand the Muslims, they should accept the meaning of 'Allah" in Islam. Bolly Lapok is too small a figure, and not too religious too, to discuss and decide on the matter. Allah in Islam is 'one' and 'not three in one, or 'one in three'.

17. Anonymous12:59 pm

can see clearly now said...

Jesus said: Pray to Allah the al mighty and why are you all praying and asking from ME?
    He said: I am born from Mary womb not by snapping a fingger, why you accuse I am god son?

18. Anonymous5:18 pm

ALLAH TO MUSLIM IS ONE AND ONLY. TO THE CHRISTIAN, YOU HAVE ALLAH THE FATHER,ALLAH THE HOLY SPIRIT AND ISA THE SON OF ALLAH. I.E THREE IN ONE.
    ONE IS NOT EQUAL TO THREE.
    THAT'S ALL. THATS WHY THE CHRISTIAN SHOULD USE OTHER TERM INSTEAD. IT SO DIFFICULT TO ACCEPT

19. Anonymous8:14 pm

SOME BUFFONS SAY NO AFRAID. THEN COME TO SARAWAK. SEE WHAT THE DAYAKS WOULD DO TO YOU

FUCKING CIBAI ROCKY.....EAT THIS SHIT!

http://my.news.yahoo.com/sarawak-angry-reactions-allah-ruling-025333249.html

1. Red bean army detected. Careful!!

20. Anonymous10:12 pm

depa ada phd mcm2 nak cerita. Allah untuk Islam, beres! kalau tidak ' syiah ' nak lebih bro!

lost? folow the Al-Quran
    Johor Darul Takzim

21. If the Christians in Semenanjung Malaysia had accepted the Malay language Bible like the Sabahans/Sarawakians did long time ago, it won't become a problem. Most of you can write, speak fluent English & English language is very much preferable than Bahasa Malaysia. Some of you can't even write or speak good Bahasa Malaysia. And suddenly you fought very hard for kalimah Allah Malay Bible. Who're going to read the Malay Bible if you don't? Don't you find that odd? Where in the world do you find Christians fighting for kalimah Allah but Malaysia. This is not about confusion. If you were in the Muslims' shoes, you'd pose the same question.

Why Allah from the Arabic Bible? Don't you think it's more "afdal" to use Jehovah, Adonai, Yahweh, Elohic that comes from Aramaic/Hebrew Bible, the original Biblical languages? Arabic is the original Quranic language but not one of the original Biblical languages.

22. Anonymous5:53 am

A man came home from work and his children ran to him and called out 'Ayah! Ayah!'.

His neighbor got very upset and said to him, "Can you please tell your children not to call you 'Ayah'?"

The man asked, "Why?"

The neighbor retorted, "Because my children call me 'Ayah' too. They might get confused and mistake you to be their father."

Then the man told his neighbor, "Are you not ashamed to say that your children do not know who is their 'Ayah'? So you are saying by using the word 'Ayah' , your children will call me ayah too without knowing who their father is?"

The neighbor said "Yes, only my children can use the word 'Ayah'."

The man was speechless.

1. Allah is an arabic word meaning God. Then Malays adopted the arabic word. Then suddenly those minority non-muslims want to speak arab. Can mehhh?

It means the merceneries are doing their job not very well.

23. Anonymous8:26 am

Muslims should use Allah to confuse Christians in Sabah and Sarawak, so that they can be converted to be Muslims.

bl

24. Anonymous4:52 pm

5:53,

Ayah is a general name but every ayah got his own specific name. You can recognize your ayah because he got his specific name and same thing applies to your neighbor's kid where they won't be mistaken your ayah and their ayah because their ayah are of different name. Same thing apply to God which is a general name and Yehuwah is not a general name but a specific name.