Wednesday, October 16, 2013

Malaysia's Mother of Mega Projects

Cheap: The "mega" Penang bridge cost only RM800 million

"... this mega (RM6.3b) project will be tied - financially and functionally - with another one, even more titanic (RM25b) in scale." - Double whammy .. fz.com 15/10/13
Tunnel. When Dr M built the North South Highway, the KLCC, the KL International Airport and even the Penang bridge, they called them mega projects. They were even behind some of the protests against the construction of these infrastructure. Now, a single monster project by the Penang state government may beat all of Dr M's so-called mega projects put together. Ironically, these are the very people who've been dead against all mega projects before.
The price of having the Penang tunnel will, in effect, exceed RM30 billion. One massive project dependent on another massive project. That's according to fz.com, the business portal owned by The Edge.

17 comments:

1. Anonymous12:32 pm

what about this?
    http://www.thestar.com.my/News/Nation/2013/10/16/Malacca-revives-straits-bridge-project-Full-details-will-be-revealed-when-all-mechanisms-in-place-sa.aspx

1. Diversion..

Typical red bean army style

2. arizmaya1:51 pm

to these people who made protesting every thing that Dr. Mahathir did.. then and now.. as their crusade..the rule is very simple:
    Head I win
    Tail you lose

period.

3. Anonymous5:34 pm

Rocky, its politics after all that rules the roost. You spend, I protest...i spend you protest la.

4. Anonymous6:08 pm

The Penang tunnel project makes sense. Penang is the second most important state economically speaking, after Selangor. The project that does not make sense is the Malacca to Sumatra bridge.

5. Anonymous7:20 pm

This Article Is Prempting the Coming Uproar on the Malacca State Govt's Plan to Build The Longest Bridge in the World between Malacca And Dumai!

6. Anonymous10:21 pm

These DaPsters and Dapigs when they are in power are the true to their form...transparency in swindling the rakyat money and assets. DAPigs knew that Penang assets is just waiting to be swindled. CORRUPTION AT ITS WORST FORM.....true their motives. ... fuxk these Dapigs Lims

7. Anonymous11:27 pm

How about focusing on getting a rail link from KL or Singapore to Malacca.....??????? ...It will cost a fraction of the price...and will bring greater economic benefits.....

8. Anonymous2:10 am

now what we gonna call guan eng? MahaGuan or Firaun Guan or Guan Eng MahaFarker.

And this is the CAT by DAP? this is honesty? this is chinese DAP style? talk cock?

this is save money? this is BN cannot do wasting people money but DAP can do saving penangnites money?

no corruption? i think mr wong should walk from penang to KL.

DAP- Dumb Ass Party!

9. Typical hypocrite tokong. Just look at the toll charges to be imposed. And all the PR goons are so stupid not being able to discern this.

10. Bloody hypocrite tokong. Just look at the toll charges to be imposed. These or goons obviously have no brains whatsoever when they can't even realised they're being conned big time by this tokong person.

11. Anonymous8:20 am

Sneaky Rocky...

Trying to Divert Attention from the Unviable UltraMega Project which is the Longest Bridge Spanning the Straits of Malacca from Melaka to Dumai!

12. Anonymous said...
    Sneaky Rocky...

Trying to Divert Attention from the Unviable UltraMega Project which is the Longest Bridge Spanning the Straits of Malacca from Melaka to Dumai!

8:20 am Delete

xxxxxxxxxxxx

Anon,

I assume you, like Anon 6.08 (who wrote "The Penang tunnel project makes sense. Penang is the second most important state economically speaking, after Selangor. The project that does not make sense is the Malacca to Sumatra bridge."), can't wait to kiss Guan Eng's tunnel.

Well, here's the thing: if you are so OK with the RM30 billion tunnel, then you have to be OK with the Malindo bridge and you have to be OK too with all Tun M's mega projects and the PNB's proposed 100-storey skyscraper, etc etc ..

Right? And Guan Eng and his pals now cannot lah accuse their rivals of building mega projects to reflect their egos because he is doing exactly the same, if not worse.

13. Anonymous11:41 am

Ayapan!!

RM30 billllion?!! And this mafaker Guan Eng is making hell of an issue over the RM10 million grant it offered to Prasarana to provide "free" bus rides during peak hours in Penang??

Does mafaker knows how much is Prasarana's cost to run the public bus service in Penang or not?

If it's RM50 million, can give or not the grant? What's RM50 million compared with RM30 billllion mafaker??

- you can't fool all the people all the time -

14. Anonymous11:50 am

This LGE fella is trying to show off only thinks that his penang tunnel will be the most expensive todate...wait till he see our Menara Warisan (tallest skyscrapper in SEA) and Melaka-Sumatra link bridge over Selat Melaka.betul tak Bru?

15. Anonymous12:58 am

Learn what $800m is worth in today's dollars, idiot!

16. Anonymous10:46 pm

Hmmm.. We can guess who is behind this idea. Doing something like singapore. His mantan mar... And trying hard to move out of malaysia..