Sunday, August 18, 2013

What's a foreign wire agency doing with our police internal memo? (WIth updates on CRACKDOWN BEGINS ...)

Updated, Monday:
Start counting. The crackdown has begun. Me, I'm waiting for the "advocates" to start coming to the defence of the triads, for the human rights of the crooks needs advocating ...

Updated: Mon, 19 Aug 2013 04:24:18 GMT | By Agence France-Presse

Malaysian police kill 5 as crime crackdown starts

Malaysian police said they killed five suspected criminal gang members in a shootout early Monday, as they crackdown on a burst of violent crime that has shocked the country.

Police said they launched the nationwide anti-crime push Saturday, following a growing public outcry over lawlessness that for the past month has seen near-daily shootings and other violence, the vast majority going unsolved.
The Barisan Nasional ruling regime has blamed the chaos on gang members and other criminals released when a tough security law that allowed preventive detention was scrapped in 2011 after pressure from reform advocates.
But police critics blame the national police force, which is widely viewed as corrupt and unprofessional, for failing to keep the peace.
Police said the five gang suspects were killed in an exchange of fire when police moved into their hideout in the northern state of Penang.
Known for its beach resorts, multicultural Penang has seen a recent spate of shootings, some in broad daylight, that authorities have blamed on a gangland turf war.
State police chief Abdul Rahim Hanafi confirmed a media report on the Penang shootout.
"Yes it happened at 5:00 am. (2100 GMT Sunday). The (Inspector General of Police) will give more details later," he told AFP.
The Star newspaper said the five dead were suspected to have been involved in the recent Penang violence.
Prime Minister Najib Razak called on police late last month to curb the "brazen" gun crimes that have sowed fear among normally laid-back Malaysians.
Malaysians have complained for years about a perceived surge in burglaries, robberies, and purse-snatching.
But concerns have spiked in the past month with a series of killings.
They included the shooting to death of Bahrain-born Hussain Ahmad Najadi, 75, who founded one of Malaysia's largest banks in the 1970s, who was gunned down in broad daylight on a street in central Kuala Lumpur on July 29.
Police have yet to track down the shooter or offer a clear explanation of the crime.
The crackdown launched at the weekend in the capital will include increased roadblocks and patrols to corral "suspicious" people and gradually be expanded nationwide, police have said.
Police will employ a previously little-used law allowing them to detain people 14 days without a court order.
Media reports said 15 people were detained Saturday. Police were yet to update the numbers.
Najib's administration -- which set crime reduction as a key goal -- says crime in the Muslim-majority country has fallen sharply the last two years.
The claim is widely met with public derision and accusations by the opposition that data is being tampered with.

Original Article:
The Bloomberg full report h e r e
The Police share a lot of tips with the Press, and vice versa. That has been going on for as long as any rookie can remember. But when a member of the Press gets an info about a Police crackdown and decides to lead it to whole world, you have to start wondering who the good guys are these days. Therefore, I so understand why this blogger is appalled with the serious security leak but I don't understand what made the editors at Bloomberg decide play up the internal memo. 
Bloomberg is an international news provider thousands of business organisations in Malaysia subscribe to (Bloomberg's not cheap). It usually concerns itself with news and analyses on stock prices, IPOs and boardrooms tussles. Now no thanks to its tip-off, all the KL gangsters, mafia and triad bosses involved in recent spate of shootings would have left town. Buggers.
p.s. The internal memo confirms that the cops will apply the Prevention of Crime Act 1959 from tomorrow. For an introduction to this "new" act, please read my posting Poca 101 h e r e.

5 comments:

1. Anonymous5:16 pm

Alamak, now the truth has gone international, and you don't like it. Yeah, let's continue to sweep dirt under the carpet. We have been doing it for 30 years, we must as well do it longer. Kick out the foreigners. Kick out the traitors.

Zheng Ho Abdullah

1. Anonymous9:35 pm

Lu ni bangang tak bertempat

Leak of security infirmation bukan lawak jenaka brader. Kalau no information leak kan ke lagi effective kerja polis. Kita bercakap pasal benteras jenayah. Lu nak ke jenayah tembak-menembak ni berterusan ke zheng ho abdullah ?

Ini bukan hal tak dunia tahu.

Lu tak payah komen la. Buang masa.

2. Anonymous6:44 pm

Why overeact? US papers have done worse against their own government. They have published leaked White House memos, secret government documents, internal intelligence reports, military secrets, internal memos between their diplomats and thousands more of confidential documents waiting to be leaked. We are just too emotional. Why do we worry too much about what other
    people think when we are doing the right thing. Do we have to be apologetic to save 99.9% of the population from the hardcore criminals. Because someone want to be popular we abolished the EO and who suffers? Bring back the preventive laws. Be damn to those who disagreed because they have bodyguards and their houses ringed with alarm gadgets and cctv's.

3. Anonymous9:56 am

When shooting crimes are rampant and on the rise, they don't even bother to comment. They just don't care to boot. When the authority trying to do something about it to address the problem, then they play it up as if it is inherently wrong and cruel.
    As for the leak info about the operation, it looks like we have rats in the PDRM. We even have rats at PMO as well. Remember the buzz regarding the government wanted to abolish ISA, it turned out to be true. Members of the media were already in the know even before the government announced it. It looks like now sensitive info always falls into the wrong hands. No wonder what the government do nowadays are so predictable.

4. Anonymous8:15 pm

i luv the crackdown but the ' leak ' could not say lah!

bughih lamo.
    Johor