Tuesday, January 22, 2013

Archbishop pays tribute to Musa Aman (Why I said I'd migrate to Sabah Part 2)

with updates on a "noisy" Hindu temple in Selangor ...
Sabah yang Aman. In the middle of a recycled Allah controversy sparked by Penang Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng in his reckless attempt to win Christian votes in Sabah and Sarawak from BN come the General Election, the outgoing Archbishop John Lee of the Catholic Church openly pays tribute to Musa Aman, the Chief Minister of Sabah. 

Read the story below or another h e r e or below and tell me if this is not the way to go, if this isn't what Malaysia has been about all along. Not the Malaysia "baru" that those thumping zealots and burning bigots have been trying to force up our collective bums.

p.s And you chided me for dreaming the other day about migrating to Sabah ...! 

Outgoing Archbishop: Kind, considerate CM
Published on: Tuesday, January 22, 2013
Kota Kinabalu: Outgoing Archbishop Datuk John Lee said the State Government has been very supportive of the Catholic Church and its activities in Sabah.
"I want to thank the Chief Minister and the State Government for their support given to the Catholic Church during my tenure.
He (Chief Minister Datuk Seri Musa Aman) has been considerate and fair to all religious organisations regardless of denomination," he said.
Lee, who was accompanied by his successor Archbishop John Wong and a Sacred Heart Cathedral delegation, paid a courtesy call on Musa at his official residence at Sri Gaya, Monday.
The delegation also paid special tribute to Musa for the kind approval of five acres in Kg Nagasiba where a church would be built.
A senior church leader, Thomas Fong said that the Nagasiba community had been seeking for a church in the village for the past 20 years, as a nearby church, Queen of Peace at Kg Kobusak, could no longer accommodate the needs of the growing community.
"We are here today to meet our Chief Minister to thank him personally and the State Government for the approval.
"The whole Kg Nagasiba community would like to thank the State Government for this wonderful gift," he said. The church would also carry out a fund raising project for the new church.
Meanwhile, Musa said the State Government would continue to support religious development in Sabah as spiritual growth was important in the overall development of a well-rounded society.
He said this was clearly demonstrated by the yearly allocations the State Government gives to non-Muslim religious organisations yearly.
"I also wish to thank Archbishop Lee for his sacrifices and hard work during his term of office," he said.

Updated:
Thanks to regular commenter Parameswaran for reminding me about this incident in Selangor, just to illustrate a shocking contrast: "NOISY" HINDU TEMPLE FINED 

29 comments:

1. Anonymous6:07 pm

Musa gave land for church.
    BN gave land for church in Shah Alam , in an industrial zone.

You can tell why such zone, after many years of trying?

Lets go to Sabah Rocky.

2. Anonymous6:26 pm

That separates the real religionist (if I may use the word) and the opportunist.

Now for me to open a Penang Fried Koay Teow stall, I will need to apply for a special permit... just because someone opened their loud mouth too quickly.

3. Mr Angry6:30 pm

Actions speak louder than words, and Datuk Musa is the most action of them all!!

I think Sabah is in an excellent position due to Datuk Musa's continued efforts to the state and only a fool will be blind to those efforts.

4. Anonymous6:33 pm

Yeah..Sabah would be a good place to migrate. Just that still many roads and infras need to be build here. Where have all the logging money for development gone? After 50 years the roads and utilities to the rural area are still so so bad.

LMAOROTF

5. Anonymous7:30 pm

big correction..the issue was created by you dumno assholes. People dont have that short a memory.

6. Param,

I hear Pakatan govt even fined your temples in Selangor for being noisy bro.

Read http://www.nst.com.my/nation/general/noisy-hindu-temple-fined-rm1-000-1.204324

If I were you, I won't migrate to Sabah but I'd vote Khalid out for stopping the flourish of temples in Selangor.

7. Anonymous8:55 pm

Ah, I knew it Rocky.
    You conveniently circumvented two issues in your response.

There was a fine levied on the temple. When concerns were raised, the Pakatan govt got it withdrawn.

The church was given land in an industrial zone in Selangor by BN. Christians were not happy then. But did BN withdraw approval and give another piece of land for the church?

See the difference?

If you cannot, go to Sabah please.

8. I also heard a Chief Monk... praising Ling Liong Sik..sky high... when Ling announced the Govt. will donate huge sum...bla bla bla. But Ling did not kept his promise. It's blowing hot air.
    ROCKY!!!...I heard burning of bibles will start from Penang.
    I guess that Archbishop is trying to be a political diplomat...or have problems in hearing and seeing...or busy busy...taking stupid advises like Najib..or trying to remember Jesus last words..."Father forgive them, for they know not what they do."
    So many reasons...pick one...Rocky.

9. Anonymous10:00 pm

We have had peace for so many years until one idiot wanted to use ALLAH in bibles. Something so unnecessary. Now for nothing we are having problems with each other. Something which can be avoided. Why are these people looking for trouble?

1. Anonymous7:43 am

Malay language bibles already were using Allah for over a hundred years. Long before independence. Some idiot wanted to change the rule. Something so unnecessary. For nothing we are having problems. Why are these idiots looking for trouble ?

10. Anonymous10:04 pm

anon 7:30

No need to be rude. Your parents have failed to teach you good manners.

1. Anonymous10:38 pm

Nobody ask for you opinion. Go fcuk yourself.

2. Anonymous7:44 am

Tell this to Ibrahim Ali and his Perkasa bunch.

11. Anonymous10:35 pm

Param, you asked for it! LOL!

12. Anonymous11:26 pm

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/mobile/malaysia/article/priest-lodges-police-report-over-bible-burning-pesta-notice/

13. Anonymous11:27 pm

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/mobile/malaysia/article/a-g-told-to-act-on-ibrahim-alis-bible-burning-remark/

14. Kaladin6:37 am

Now that the Vatican has appointed an Apostolic Nuncio to Malaysia, following on from the establishment of diplomatic relations between Malaysia and the Vatican, these incidents can no longer be suppressed (as in the mainstream media) or glossed over.

There are some rumours in the wind that Archbishop Murphy Pakiam of KL may be under consideration for appointment as a Cardinal of the Roman Catholic Church.

If that happens, given the Catholic Church's greater emphasis on growing the faith in Asia and Africa, it would be a significant boost for the Catholic Church in Malaysia.

Will it happen? Who knows?

15. Anonymous10:03 am

Whatever niceties from this meeting is now rubbished with the call for burning of the holy book,period.This pekasa big mouth should come over to sabah and tell us kadas,ibans etc straight in the face and dont hide there in peninsula!

16. As someone who has worked in Sabah I can add that that the attitude of UMNO Sabah differs totally from that on the Peninsula.
    There is a greater willingness to work with even opposition people on the ground in Sabah. There is also a significant distrust of those from the Peninsula coming over to tell them what to do and think - and never to believe in Federal promises.
    Musa Aman has his faults and there is common knowledge that Najib wants to replace him with Shafie Abdal. However Musa Aman has been smart enough to spread some of the wealth - even in opposition strongholds.
    As one Sabahan said to me - "Musa may be a crook but he is our crook and we rather have him than a crook from Semenanjung...."

You gotta love the Sabahan attitude.

17. Anonymous10:53 am

Tak de cerita lain kah?

18. Anonymous11:18 am

Perhaps you have never heard of the "Public Relations" or Patronising?

19. Anonymous1:40 pm

Ooooooo....I like the Chief Minister....better a crook I know than the crook I don't know.....at least he had the decency to smuggle actual cash back into the country, others simply lock up their cash overseas.....

20. Anon 1118am,

A good PR is better than a bad PR or no PR at all! You are breeeleeeant! Hehe.

At least you didn't accuse the Archbishop of being on the take. Which would have been super brilliant!

21. Anonymous11:27 pm

my.news.yahoo.com/majlis-peguam-desak-dakwa-ibrahim-ali-kerana-menghasut-035332018.html

22. Anonymous3:25 am

Anon 10:00pm;

"We have had peace for so many years until one idiot wanted to use ALLAH in bibles."

Correction, we had peace for so many years until one idiot all of a suddent wanted to ban the use of Allah in Malay language Bibles...

.....which them Xtians have been using for several hundred years.

23. Anonymous5:59 am

The Archbishop is not on the take Rocky, but we all know YOU are.

24. Anonymous4:14 pm

Pre-election gimmick. Small sacrifice for GE13 victory to BN

25. Anonymous4:15 pm

Pre-election gimmick. Small sacrifice for GE13 victory to BN

26. Anonymous5:26 pm

Critics of Sabah Chief Minister Musa Aman have been proven wrong. Musa is not anti-Mazu!