Friday, April 06, 2012

Extremism in our Education Part One

A huge blow to Dong Zong

"The mentality of thugs and bullies can now be seen clearly in Dong Jiao Zong, the United Chinese School Committees Association of Malaysia. 
"It is very disturbing to see an NGO like Dong Jiao Zong, which is supposed to be looking after the education of our children, having the mentality of gangsters and bullies by being intolerant and arrogant, demanding to have it all their ways and their ways alone. Instead of leading the children towards unity and instilling patriotism, this education-related NGO is doing all the opposites .. "
"It is not an exaggeration, I guess, to say that Dong Zong actually represents the majority, if not 100% of the Malaysian Chinese mentality."
-[6 April 2012, mynewshub.my]
Dong Jiao Zong has been around a few years before Merdeka. Since its inception, it has openly been opposed to the British and later the Malaysian government's policies on education. Today, there are Malaysians who view it as "extreme" and many, like the writer of the article Dong Jiao Zong: The Real Danger? above, blame Dong Zong for the few times that we Malaysians had to live dangerously on the edge. Me, I believe Dong Zong will breed more 
I cannot agree, however, with Azuardi Alias' conclusion that Dong Zong represents the majority, if not 100%, of the Malaysian Chinese mentality. I think the reason Dong Zong is screaming at the top of their lungs today is because they are losing their appeal, especially to the young and more educated Chinese.

Still, some politicians in the Opposition are making sure that Dong Zong does not stop the pressure on the government that is led by their rivals from the BN. Yes, politics again, In Malaysia, money is not the only root to all our problems. 

And here's where the authorities responsible for our nation's security ought to watch closely and not blink, not even once. If anyone from Dong Zong or the politicians cross the line and put multiracial Malaysia in jeopardy, bring them in.

Read also Joceline Tan's The Other End of the Blog (The Star, April 1)
and Pasquale's ... Or Malays should be equally Chauvinistic? (Barking Magpie, April 6)

14 comments:

1. Anonymous1:14 pm

Part 1

I beg to differ, Bru. I am in full agreement with Azuardi Alias. A close perusal of the fundamental epistemology of Chingkui socio-political thought since 1945 will reveal three particular periods of 'strategic' levitation towards extremism:

1. 1945 - 1948 : when the CPM was dominating the Chingkui political landscape. Note too that during this period, the English educated Chingkui intelligentsia were also at the forefront of fomenting political strife. In a way, this movement was the precursor to the anti-establishment sentiments that pervaded much of the English educated, Christian Chingkui cohort:

"During this period, some Straits Chinese began taking an active interest in local politics, especially in Penang, where there was an active Chinese secessionist movement. They identified themselves more with the British than the Malays and were especially angered by references to them as pendatang asing ("aliens"). They avoided both UMNO and the MCA, believing that while UMNO and the Malay extremists were intent on extending Malay privileges and restricting Chinese rights, the MCA was too "selfish", and could not be relied on to protect their interests. They had already raised their ire in the late 1940s, when the government proposed to amend the Banishment Ordinance — which allowed for the exile of Malayans "implicated in acts of violence" — to permit those born in the Straits Settlements to be banished to their ancestral homeland. This was a revolting idea for most of the Straits Chinese. They were also uncomfortable about the merger of the Straits Settlements with Malaya, as they did not feel a sense of belonging to what they considered a "Malaya for the Malays", where they were not considered bumiputra ("sons of the soil"). One Straits Chinese leader indignantly declared, "I can claim to be more anak Pulau Pinang [a son of Penang] than 99 per cent of the Malays living here today." The secessionist movement eventually petered out, however, because of the government's stout refusal to entertain the idea of Penang seceding from the Federation."

Christie, C.J : "A Modern History of Southeast Asia: Decolonization, Nationalism and Separatism", (1996), Tauris Academic Studies.
    Pg 28-53

This early antipathy towards indigenous communities especially the Malay-Muslims eventually gelled into a consistent strand of anti-establishment thought. Essentially, it revolved around two distinct poles that nevertheless had some elements of commonality:

1. Christian, English educated Chingkuis espousing West-inspired precepts and leveraging upon liberal inspired questionable "ideals" such as human rights, gender equality, pluralism etc to sow havoc in multicultural societies like Malaysia.

2. Left leaning, pro-China, Chingkienese educated extremists espousing a hodge-podge of Mao-Confucianism underpinned by a virulent hatred of other ethnics.

Both these groups share a common bond in that they are melded irrevocably by the ancient Chingkie belief of being the 'Sons of Heaven' and by default, active proponents of the 'Superior Race' notion and the pure Han-filthy kui(outsider devil)socially dichotomous dynamics. (TBC)

2. Anonymous2:11 pm

You mean shouting at and trying to hurt Lim Guan Eng, peeing on his picture, ridding motorbikes into the middle of a PKR ceramah, all these are not extremists ?

Telling lies about mosques, religion, royalty, all these are not extremists ?

Follow your religion, folks, then you will get to the right path.

Warrior Godfather

3. Anonymous2:16 pm

And you gotta quote the prostitute Jocelyn Tan ? She's the ultimate chingkie as portrayed by Warrior 231.

When UMNO tells Jocelyn to suck, she asks "for how long".

4. perlembagaan malaysia menyediakan ruang utk pendidikan melalui sek vernakular , jadi , itu memang hak rakyat malaysia .. malah 10% pelajar sjk c ialah melayu ..

Apa yg DJZ perjuangkan termaktub dlm perlembagaan Malaysia .. lain laa kalau dia nakkan sek menengah vernakular ,yg memang tak wujud dlm perlembagaan . Salahke perjuangkan apa yg termaktub dlm perlembagaan ?

5. Agree with you Bro, I do not think that the racist Dong Zong represents 100% Chinese Malaysian mentality. There are many worried Chinese Malaysians out there who thinks Dong Zong is far too extreme in their demand for 100% Mandarin speaking teachers in SJKC. Even in the People's Republic of China not all teachers are from China (YB Wee Ka Siong) There are Chinese Malaysians who can't speak a word of Mandarin I can assure readers here and are pissed over Dong Zong's demand for Mandarin speaking teachers only in the Vernacular School.

6. Melayu Bandar11:34 pm

My son in form one in Government school just informed me that all his Chinese classmate ( the by products of Chinese SRJK) had not mixed around with their Malay and Indian friends. They think that they a` class` of their own here. We can forget about muhibah (peaceful living and interaction) in next 5-10 years from now.Even in my taman, these chinese boys do not mix around with the malay boys too. Now i could`nt a damn anymore.

1. Anonymous11:50 am

It takes one to know one. It could be a case of inferior complex. So, ask your son to make the first move or unless he also thinks he's in a class of his own.

7. Anonymous12:48 pm

One solution to kill two problems ( of racial disunity and lack of global competitiveness amongst our people) : Revert to English medium school. What's so difficult about it? Even the rich mainland Chinese are sending their kids to western boarding schools overseas.

8. Anonymous8:48 pm

Dangerous spin by a dangerous man. Fuck you rocky and your dumno paymasters.

9. Anon 848,

Read your own comment slowly ... the hate, filth and threat of violence. Extreme, man. I rest my case.

10. Anonymous2:18 am

There is a misconception that federal constitution allowed or defend SJKC/T, actually its not and it has been clarified. Correctly, federal constitution disallowed SJKC/T as government schools is an official business. The only reason it exist because of some leeway after Merdeka before it is closed over time.

11. anon 2.18 am.

Sila rujuk sek 17, akta pendidikan 1996

17. Bahasa kebangsaan sebagai bahasa pengantar
    utama.
    (1) Bahasa kebangsaan hendaklah menjadi bahasa
    pengantar utama di semua institusi pendidikan dalam
    Sistem Pendidikan Kebangsaan kecuali sekolah jenis
    kebangsaan yang ditubuhkan di bawah seksyen 28 atau
    mana-mana institusi pendidikan lain yang dikecualikan
    oleh Menteri daripada subseksyen ini
    (2) Jika bahasa pengantar utama di sesuatu
    institusi pendidikan adalah selain daripada bahasa
    kebangsaan, maka bahasa kebangsaan hendaklah
    diajarkan sebagai mata pelajaran wajib di institusi
    pendidikan itu.

sek 28 , menunjukkan bahawa sjk ialah sek kerajaan secara rasmi dan wajib diselenggara oleh kerajaan

28. Penubuhan dan penyenggaraan sekolah kebangsaan dan sekolah jenis kebangsaan.
    Tertakluk kepada peruntukan Akta ini, Menteri
    boleh menubuhkan sekolah kebangsaan dan sekolah
    jenis kebangsaan dan hendaklah menyenggarakan
    sekolah-sekolah itu.

12. Anonymous12:25 am

Rocky, shut up! How can you be so ignorant of what's going on in Malaysia? How can you be so blind? Unless you have been making tons of $$ from your master, paid for talking rubbish. Idiot!

13. Jasper Bloodstone3:47 pm

Bru

According to a Malaysiakini report, there are about 60,000 Malay students in Chinese-language schools in Malaysia.

Is this figure wrong? The ministry that the DPM helms should have the statistics.

And even if it's only 600 Malay students studying in these schools, the question is what were the parents of these kids thinking in opting for vernacular schools over national schools?

Maybe learning Mandarin and studying Maths and Science in that language isn't inimical to nation bulding, national unity or the supremacy of the national language.