Tuesday, March 20, 2012

Rafidah, Salut!

Ku Li, a long time ago
I join Apanama [Rafidah a fine example. Who next?] in taking our hats off to Rafidah Aziz for having the good sense of giving way, voluntarily, to new faces to represent us during the next general election. She's not the first in Umno to heed to Najib Razak's call for the changing of guards; Idris Jusoh, the former Terengganu Menteri Besar, offered not to stand for re-election in December last year. Since then, every old guard in the house has been quiet like a mouse. Until Rafidah ...

Johari, old and tired
Rafidah was easily one of the best - if the not the best - ministers in Mahathir Mohamad's Cabinet. As Minister of International Trade and Industry, she wooed foreign investors with her famous charms and defended our interests with fury and no fear. She is today still active and alert. Her decision has nothing to do with being winnable or not. If Rafidah decides to contest in PRU13, she could still win. Easily. She's winnable. But this is about overstaying, about having the good sense to know that it's time to go and let the new/young blood take over.
Nor Mohamed, reluctant politician
 reluctant to go

Syed Hamid, Outsider 
I wish that  the the likes of Tengku Razaleigh, Nor Mohamad Yakcob, Syed Hamid Albar, Azmi Khalid, Radzi Sheikh Ahmad, Johari Baharom, Tengku Adnan and Mohamad Bin Aziz, to name a few, will take the cue from Rafidah. Today or tomorrow, not next month and don't wait for someone to offer you incentives. I hear Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, the former Prime Minister, has said he will not be defending his seat even though he'd win Kepala Batas, with eyes closed! Now that is most inspiring, if true!

Ku Nan, Orang Lama
Mohamad Aziz,  5 (or 8) terms!

Multiple-term Members of Parliament are no longer something that Malaysians hold with awe. It's about giving way when you know that there is nothing you can offer that you've not already offered years and years ago. And that is true not just for Umno or BN politicians. There are many in Pakatan Rakyat who should follow Rafidah's example and give us voting Malaysians a break.

40 comments:

1. Anonymous3:22 pm

Why don't you send your message to Shahrizat??

Rafidah already send out HER message to Shahrizat but your beloved PM thinks otherwise!!

2. Anonymous3:27 pm

Hello brader.. Rais Bin Yatim not in the list kah?

3. Anonymous3:28 pm

Politicians should stop saying "I leave it to the PM'. U people got no brains ah? PM has been taking your salary ka? Use your brains la weiiii

4. Nothing big about this. depa tu dah lebih 30 tahun duduk bergayut dengan jawatan. Bak kata Mahathir ni masing-masing tu dah overstay the welcome

5. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

6. Anonymous3:44 pm

True indeed.... But I hope later after GE, rafidah is appointed as senator and lead ministry of trade again.... She did a wonderful job

7. Rocky, engko jangan main-main, kena tumbuk dengan Mat Aziz aku tak tau...hehehe

8. Anonymous4:02 pm

Taib Mahmud?

9. Anonymous4:03 pm

Nik Aziz is still young, Lim Kit Siang is actually a teenager, Karpal Singh can last another three terms and Anwar at 65 can go a long way, if you know what I mean.

10. Lanun Lereh4:05 pm

Hishamuddin, Ahmad Zahid Hamidi, Adnan Yaackob, Ali Rustam, Nazri Aziz, Ng Yen Yen, Ismail Sabri, Koh Tsu Koon, Peter Chin...the list goes on....

On Pakatan side: Anwar Berahim, Nik Aziz, Lim Kit Siang, Karpal Singh, Hadi Awang...the list goes on as well...

11. Anonymous4:05 pm

... and enough of Nazri Aziz, please...

12. Kamal4:20 pm

Bro.
    Agree with you,The old guard in UMNO must go.That include Mahayuddin Yassin,Ghani Osman,Adnan Yaakop,Ahmad Sheaby,Musa Aman,Taib Mahmud and many more.

13. Anonymous4:25 pm

rocky

nik aziz would be the only candidate in malaysia who would still become MB even after his death.

what goes around comes around. nik aziz mahafiraun and mahabodoh and mahapundek.

1. Anonymous7:25 am

Uuuiii jgn main2.. Nik jis tu wali hidup dorg tu. Jgn jerkah nnt unit amal corner u

14. Anonymous4:34 pm

Ku Nan kata recently saturday nite in a close meeting, teruk dan susah jadi MP.

So if that is the case, please relieve him of the burden to serve his constituency. That is what he wants to say, isn't it.

15. Jasper Bloodstone4:42 pm

Bru

It's interesting who you left out of your list.

Let's see....there's Muhyiddin, Ghani in Johor, the Taib guy in Sarawak, Ibrahim Ali....the list goes on.

But the PM is hobbled by political realities, viz the dearth of real talent in Wanita Umno and Umno Youth and the pressing need not to jeopardise the apple carts in Johor, Sabah and Sarawak.

As he admitted to the newly set-up Foreign Correspondents Club of Malaysia, his worst nightmare is a "hung parliament" after GE12 or 13. In which case, the country can kiss foreign investments goodbye.

Looks like the warrior's math and the PM's math are not in sync....

Btw, Bru - are you a founder-member of the FCC?

16. Salam Datuk,

A greater salute if they go all out and campaign for the new candidate replacement/s.

Thank you and regards
    Freddie

17. Anonymous5:31 pm

Rocky.

Wah!! So many names mentioned and I hope these men will make way for the younger ones; like The Rock, The Dog, The Box, Papa, Magpie, Spinners ..........

Long live.

18. Dato'

I think the bloggers regime should put more pressure onto these 'fossils'. A strong and firm message should be created to make them understand (or should I say forced to understand). Duduk lama-lama pun tak elok, bau kentut pun orang dah boleh cam siapa.

PS: Anonymous 3:27 PM, mana boleh mentioned nama Dato tuh. Nanti dia saman tau.

19. Mustapha Ong5:54 pm

Rafidah's statement to announce that she will not offer herself as a candidate in the coming 13th general election is not totally a surprise. However, why should she clarify further by saying that "I leave it to PM"? Why did she make such a confusing statement if she truly wants to stay out of the "winnable candidate list"?

Nobody is dispensable and politicians come and go depending on a number of factors. As the 13th general election will be a "do or die" political battle, Najib as the UMNO President and BN Chairman should form a Select Committee, comprising of all the Heads of the BN component parties to assess the nominations of candidates.

Apart from the list of aged ministers, Chief Ministers and Menteri Besar, there are many MPs and ADUNs who have overstayed their terms as elected representatives. As a guide, all those who have served at least 3 terms as MPs and ADUNs should not be nominated again as BN's candidates in the coming general election.

It is hope that the Select Committee under the Chair of PM will select the "winnable candidates" based on certain criteria including academic qualifications and not by virtue of political patronage, etc.We have seen enough clowns and seat warmer in the present parliament and the people earnestly look forward to new faces as their parliamentary and state assembly representatives.

20. Bagan Jatoh6:19 pm

Tok

Zahid Hamidi just lost his appeal at the Court of Appeal to avoid trial of case dia debik boifren anak dia.

Senior minister acting like gangster should not be tolerated.

He could run for MP tapi tak boleh jadi Menteri until he sort out his legal affair.

21. Anon 5:31 PM

Too bad no place for ole angry Zorro.

Most of the time he doesn't understand what issue he write. Don't expect him to be able to argue in Parliamnt.

That former English teacher will get thrown out by the speaker for his French if you know what I mean.

22. Anonymous6:31 pm

In fact the whole of BN gang should go as they have been there for so long and squandered billions...and let Pakatan Rakyat be there and see whether they can match the BN's records in spending money...

23. Anonymous7:26 pm

Dear Rock,

I think there are only 2 persons in the world who can die whilst in office, no. 1 is the Pope, be whatever Pope he can be as only new Papal is elected once the existing one dies. The other one is Tok Guru Nik Aziz. The rest should not welcome their overstay including Mahathir!!

24. Anonymous8:45 pm

Rafidah? What are you smoking dude? Rafidah? Then again yiure a true blue umno puppy

25. Uncertain voter9:03 pm

Agree with many that many members of the old guard should give way to other possible candidates. many of us support DS Najib, he has done a good job so far in my opinion, but the thought of these old guard people going back up with him makes many voters uncertain to vote even. names of the old guard have been mentioned in the comments here. ...

26. Anonymous9:48 pm

Brother Rocky, Najib Razak not a winnable candidate, baik najib turun kasi naik Rosmah !!

27. Anonymous9:55 pm

ROCKY,
    Better all go as most too loaded already.....kinda tainted man!Too many hidden skeletons....
    Can you really pick a clean soul??? I just can't....

28. Pandir7:51 am

Rafidah boleh laa mau pencen. Dia sudah kenyang. Orang politik ni, selagi dia tak enyang, selagi tu lah dia mengadap nasi lemak tu.

29. Anonymous9:11 am

Ku Nan will be... and to be appointed as TYT Melaka...

30. Anonymous9:40 am

Clean one must stay corrupted one must go! Seniority is not an issue!

Bl

31. Anonymous10:26 am

Latuk Locky:

How can ? So many old guards to retire and simply introduce new faces ? They haven't learnt the art of stealing yet. Give them time to learn from the old guards lah....

Lu tolong gua, gua tolong lu mah....

32. That pain Shahrizat Cowgate has to go, no shame-lah! She still owes Rakyat Malaysia an apology and those who issued her family the free loan of RM250 million, be made accountable!

33. The names you mentioned do look tired in the Dewan Rakyat, perhaps its best they retire and enjoy the fruits of their labour before ill health catches up, and it will.

34. Anonymous1:02 am

it is not Rafidah...it is Anwar the best minister during Mahathir's time...hence give Mahathir's time to rob the country plus try to teach his sons what a business is

35. tokman10:14 am

Politicians who have enjoyed 3 terms should say 'goodnight' to the constituents and make way for the young and eager! There are many besides the likes mentioned by the blogger such as Rais Yatim, Hishamuddin, Nazri Aziz, Muhyiddin, Anwar Ibrahim, Isa Samad and many more who should leave before they are kicked out by the voters. Only those leaders who came in the 90s should consider staying on the rest should take a good rest! However, the PM, whoever he is, should not 'reward' these old politicians with posts that will only only 'endanger' the GLCs/companies resulting in cases of 'bailouts' and injecting funds from the rakyat's coffers! Forget the attitude that 'I will stay on as long as the voters want me' because the are so many young very capable men (in fact more capable than the present group) who are waiting to step into those vacancies.

36. ham no3:11 pm

rafidah is one of the best?...best pasal AP ke? LOL...

sure kak Jat begs to differ...or dua2 ni sama best LOL...dr boney M aku percaya tak sama pandangan dia dengan kau dato rocky.

apa la kamu ni rocky.
    Orang malaysia ni dah bukan standard penganut2 utusan malaysia . kau ni main goreng saja...LOL...

37. Stinks-LA6:12 pm

Anon: bagi chance satu kali

6:31 PM
    Bagi PR chance satu kali , Malaysia mati! Old farts like Kit Siang, Karpal, Anwar, N Aziz should go. And toxic farts Azmin, Nurul and Guan Eng should self destruct.

38. Anonymous7:28 pm

Till death do we part.... even laki bini boleh bercerai hidup... Kalau kerusi politik jarang sekali kecuali dah kena tendang dengan boss atau pun pengundi.... Tu sebab banyak by election... from the last election... Say bye bye bye lah time to go...tak reti bahasa ke...

Keturunan Jebat

39. Anonymous9:14 pm

Rafidah? Hahaha. Shall we sing her an AP birthday song? :)

All of BN MP need to go.