Monday, March 19, 2012

The fight Guan Eng's deputy shouldn't have started

Karpal Singh is neither forgiving nor forgetting. The Malay Mail's front page today says it. 

DAP's shoeshine rookie P. Ramasamy's battle with veteran Karpal Singh was a proxy fight, everybody knows. It was one that the Chief Minister of Penang, Lim Guan Eng, should have stopped before it started. But he didn't, everybody knows that also. In fact, political pundits said it was Guan Eng who set Rama up against the original "Tiger of Jelutong" but I'm not sure if everybody knows that or agrees with the theory.

If Guan Eng had tried to send veteran Karpal Singh to pasture via the Deputy CM, that act has backfired badly. And we can agree that this is going to haunt Kit Siang's son for a long, long time. 

The blogs have been playing up the proxy fight. A very good reference is found on Apanama, blog entry End of Ramasamy in DAP?

p.s Looks like the Malay Mail's "page three girls" are baaack! Except that they aren't really Page 3 girls lah. Check out the Sports Page pic on the left and more inside .. they are news photographs and quite readable, really. But dudes at the (new) Malay Mail, the KDN is not going to agree and some women will not be amused! Trust me, I know ...

13 comments:

1. Anonymous1:09 pm

Hey Kuching Besar, you so kay poh regarding DAP, how about the proxy fights going on between Najib and Moo Hee Din ?

Najib is going round telling the non-Malays to ensure he wins two-thirds, because anything less than two-thirds means Moo Hee Din gets rid of Najib and becomes PM. Najib is playing on the fears of the non-Malays regarding Moo Hee Din.

Is this UMNO's proxy fight or just a fishing expedition for votes ?

2. Anonymous3:33 pm

thank u for promoting malay mail

3. Anonymous4:37 pm

Rocky

Putar Belit sekarang guna sex apalagi lah "journo" pariah ni nak buat!!

4. Anonymous4:55 pm

seriously, is this what you have come to Datuk? promoting your own paper?

sure, ppl buy newspaper (albeit not many, most read via the free ones at restaurants), but most of the time its for sports or classified sections. all front page news (mostly politics) are met with snorts.. either because of the news itself, or the realisation that the news is nothing more than repeated (over and over) propaganda..

one more thing; BN cybertroopers have to stop with the "if you're not with us, you're with PR" mentality.. all we want is a good government, not picking sides.

a government is supposed to take care of its rakyat.

"This country, with its institutions, belongs to the people who inhabit it. Whenever they shall grow weary of the existing government, they can exercise their constitutional right of amending it, or their revolutionary right to dismember or overthrow it." Lincoln

there is no such thing as being a traitor by criticizing lawmakers. the only way we become a traitor is to sell our country to other countries..

+sinc~opinion

5. Anonymous6:38 am

The session was supposed to be a slug fest as the two speakers share diametrically opposite views on almost everything, but it was a lighthearted session which frequently had the audience in splits. The only flashpoint was when Bhagat questioned Ramdev's views on homosexuality and the guru replied rather flippantly that "if your parents were homosexual, you wouldn't have been born".

6. Anon +sync-opinion 455pm,

You quote Lincoln and yet you live in your own cave. The least you should do if you want to accuse me of promoting my own paper is to Google and find out if I am still with The Malay Mail. I left middle last year, mate.

And as for the "you're with us or against us" threat both sides are guilty of that now. But in the early days (after March 2008), it was my friends the newly-empowered Pakatan Rakyat MPs and Aduns and their cyber heroes who abandoned us because we were critical of them. Their BN counterparts learnt from their pre-PRU12 lessons well ..

7. Anonymous11:06 am

Datuk,
    you said:
    "You quote Lincoln and yet you live in your own cave...I left middle last year, mate."

i stand corrected. i hereby apologize.

also, you said:
    "And as for the "you're with us or against us" threat both sides are guilty of that now. ...Pakatan Rakyat MPs and Aduns and their cyber heroes who abandoned us because we were critical of them. Their BN counterparts learnt from their pre-PRU12 lessons well .."

While I agree that both sides are equally guilty, BN seems to be at the more extreme spectrum, what's with the wider coverage via TV3 and newspaper. Recall Najib's speech in Sibu before the Sarawak State Election: "Let's make a deal. If you deliver me Robert Lau Jr on Sunday, I will sign the cheque on Monday,".. just another form of "if youre not with me, youre with them and i wont help you.."

long before March 08, BN has done exactly that... it was only around 08 that it went to cyberspace. Before that, all of us were labelled "anti-gov/pro-oppo" if we are being critical of the government who are SUPPOSED to take care of the Rakyat... I leave you with a quote from Datuk James Masing (a member of BN): "“If their YBs, for instance, pass a law which tells the ‘rakyat’ to walk backward, the ‘rakyat’ must walk backward"

Read more: http://www.theborneopost.com/2012/03/18/masing-insists-his-tauke-is-right/#ixzz1pceszDMQ

once again, i state my stance as a rakyat who wants to live in a fair country; Kit Siang complains to much, Anwar is morally-unqualified, and Najib is too soft, while Muhiyiddin is too crafty..

+sinc~opinion

8. Anonymous11:12 am

Wish to leave a comment on anon who said that pro-bn have the "either you're with us or against us" mentality.

I'm someone you can categorise "fence sitter" and my observation is that it is the pro-PR folk who really have that mentality. How do you think "kafir mengkafir" happened?

Let me give you another example: Remember the story of hotel for pets that went awry, someone even left a comment like "this is what you get when you vote BN".
    I mean, really.

9. S. Alec11:34 am

Rocky, I like that you are tolerant enough to put up with retards like Godfather/anonymous 1.09pm, anonymous+sinc~opinion 4.55pm (quoting Lincoln lmho) and that jasper bloodstone ass who are obviously planted by DAP. They all sound like dudes with smallfellows and huge egos.

10. Anonymous11:50 am

most times, when those in power to execute responsibilities are the ones handling critics,.......:)

11. Jasper Bloodstone1:30 pm

Bru

Who cares while BN and PR play their little games?

Not foreign investors, certainly. They have a whole range of countries to choose from.

Muhyiddin, should he become PM, will either have to raid the Petronas' coffers or go cap-in-hand to the same foreign investors.

Because the bust-up of the economy, should it happen, ain't gonna be pretty.

Malaysian corporates are already reading the tea leaves and diversifying overseas....

12. Anonymous6:23 pm

I OFFERED TO HELP MM, BUT MAYBE THIS IS HOW THEY WANT TO SELL THEIR PAPER, THE PAPER THAT CARES, HOWEVER NO ONE IN MM CARES

VAN

13. Anonymous8:12 pm

Well rocky im sure you're not as stupid as you sound here. You must be rich then.