Thursday, February 16, 2012

Putting money in the people's hands

Good or Bad? Many people complain about the move by Najib's government to give RM500 to the people under BR1M. Even politicians from the Prime Minister's own party thought it wasn't such a good move. But the people certainly aren't complaining. RM500 may not buy much for some Malaysians, but the ordinary people it is not a paltry some. For that matter, any sum you put in the people's hands is not small. Lim Guan Eng gave RM200 to parents of newborn babies in Penang and some people think the amount is ridiculously small [Read RM200 tak cukup, Guan Eng ..]. But the government in Singapore has been giving out cash  to the working class for many years: for newborns, for education, for hard work, etc. Sometimes the amount is a few hundred dollars and sometimes it's a few thousand dollars The Singaporeans appreciate it, every time.

I'm all for cash in hand or in the bank for the people. But what is wrong is the way some politiicans or their balacis angle it. They think they are doing the people a bloody great favor. BR1M or Beng's RM200 should be seen as proof that the government appreciates the people, and that the people deserve it. If someone tells me the government is trying to bribe the people, well, by all means please do it more often. It sure beats a government that bribes itself at the expesne of the people.

41 comments:

1. Anonymous11:23 am

"But the government in Singapore has been giving out cash to the working class for many years"

they are doing it when they have surplus in their budget.. how about us? we have been in the negative for how many years already?

1. Anonymous12:36 am

Rubbish. Singapore had deficit budget for years already. Their debt GDP ratio is more than 100%.

2. kalau tak silap ibu bersalin yg layak menerima bantuan RM200 ini salah satu syaratnya mestilah pengundi berdaftar di Pulau Pinang. ada udang disebalik mee ;-)

3. Anonymous12:16 pm

I dont trust politicians, from any divide. Nothing is free. We the people just need to work harder.

4. Anonymous12:46 pm

Masaallah-nya TIMING LA Bro,

Tak dengar put cerita BR1M ini dalam Budget 2012...where Gomen plans ahead given its deep understanding of the rakyat needs.

Kalau bagi sebagai policy nak tolong orang miskin tiap2x tahun takpe.

Tapi bila sudah dengar lagu "Mari Mengundi"....dengar nasihat veteran Sheik Kadir dalam alternatif media youtube!!!

BR O-O M

5. Anonymous1:06 pm

without Anwar Ibrahim..the govt won't ever think to donate this RM500...thank god We have Anwar Ibrahim...May Allah be with him. Amin.

6. Salam, Bro Rocky. Well said.
    Agree with you completely on this
    issue.

7. Anonymous1:17 pm

Yaaa Rocky,

Dulu beri Nasi Lemak dan kain Pulikat untuk rasuah Orang Melayu supaya Undi UMNO....

Now more in your Face 100/500 ringgit...Better call elections immediately before the effect wears off dan semua sudah dibelanjakan...

8. Anonymous1:33 pm

Of course we are grateful for the RM 100 or RM 200 or RM 500. We are just angry that some woman can spend RM 300,000 in ONE day using logistics paid for by taxpayers.

Don Corleone

9. Anonymous1:57 pm

if the money in its bills goes to somewhere like rearing cattle or erect a building, then those who get the jobs is a gov crony. now the money goes to ordinary rakyat, for the rakyat to vote the same gov next election, now gov have many cronies.

10. It's noble to ease out hardship. Cuma ada orang suka beri joran dan mata kail serta ajar cara memancing berbanding hari-hari perlu beri ikan....

11. Anonymous4:41 pm

Why so desperate ha that you have to phoshop Guan Eng's picture, the money is definitely not malaysian currency

12. Anonymous5:53 pm

Yes yes..Give back money to the people that needs it.Then taxpayers like me will feel that our money is well spent by the government.Instead of hearing some politicians using the government's money to buy condos and cars for their own benefit.

LMAOROTF

13. u sell out rocky....sad

14. Anonymous6:37 pm

The government will print money so eventually the value of RM will drop further.

SG payout is from surpluses, Malaysia is through printing more money.... Latuk you are a dud in economics.

15. Anonymous8:17 pm

Tapi ada juga kes anak2 yatim datang complain dgn saya- Their single mum applied but was rejected, reason, her kids names (correct names/BC n address) already being claimed under someone else??

Go check with IRD Tmn Duta branch- funds supposedly to help single parents n her kids being claimed by some others?

16. Anonymous8:24 pm

Rocky, why are you behaving like a 3rd class mat? Why the slur " beng" ? Typical ass you are

17. Malik9:36 pm

Salam,

It ok but it must be regular, every year and not during you walk around for election campaign...it look like you are not sincere

Tq

18. Anonymous9:38 pm

Good or bad? Oh, of course it is good if given by the PR (Perompak Rakyat) camp.

But if any others do it, then it is a sin, waste of public funds, bribery, bad judgement, criminal and what have you.

Who started this nonsense? And even squashed summonses? No prizes for guessing but you guessed right.

19. Anonymous10:26 pm

giving such cash under controlled conditions i.e forms, details etc surely has some significant effect on the minds of people, in many ways....:)

20. Anonymous10:33 pm

Fair enough rocky. I'm with you on this. End of the day it is all politicking by both sides of the fence.

21. Anonymous10:50 pm

hey, the 500 bukan from his poket sendiri lah !!

22. Anonymous11:10 pm

hoi ! giving money to people who don't deserve it !

who gave najib or lim bugger de fcuking rights to gave money to assholes & useless bastards who don't pay a single sen of tax !!!

if these bastards like najib & lim bugger feels we paid enuf taxes den bastards like najib & lim bugger just refund it to us !!!

we don't anyone a living here !!! don't bastards like najib & lim asshole know that !!!

chow chibai

kanineh !!!

23. Anonymous11:18 pm

time & again... when i c these 2 fuck-up m'sian pm & pg cm in medias... just want to puke !

24. Anonymous11:20 pm

anything BN does is good, everything Opposition is bad..a poor person steals rm200 goes to jail and a rich person steals rm200 million is good..ha ha great thinking bru..

25. Anonymous11:24 pm

LOL.. DO WE REALLY WANT TO SEE 2 JOKERS TRYING TO OUTDO ONE ANOTHER, JUST TO SEE WHO CAN GAVE AWAY MORE !

WTF ! ANYONE OF US DON'T HAVE TO BE A PRIME MINISTER OR CHIEF MINISTER WILL BE ABLE TO DO BETTER JOB ON THAT !

THROW AWAY MONEY JUST TO BE POPULAR ? STUPID AS STUPID DOES !

A STUPID PRIME MINISTER & A STUPID CHIEF MINISTER WE GOT... AND BOTH CAN GO SUCK MY DICK !!!

26. Anonymous11:38 pm

Dah amount nya sikit. Kena pergi collect and beratur mcm mintak sedekah...does not make money sense pun. A PR execrcise in futile. People suppose to get but did nt get also feel humilated la Rockybru.

Is there a better way to appreciate the people...everyone I mean.

If this money can built more health facilities and provide good education system...would be more worthwhile.

27. Anonymous8:42 am

guan eng is an obedient pupil of his sifu down south

just watch ALL actions taken by him will imitate the kiasu island

latest is his tendency to award singapore companies to "develop" penang

28. Mazlan10:07 am

I don't care which side does it - but its just plain wrong and unsustainable. Only 15% of the working population pay tax - and we are thus subsidising 'hand-outs' to the 85%.
    Frankly how far is RM 200 of RM 500going to take you these days.
    I bet most of those who received either the Penang money or the BR1M money spent it within days.
    I also think the politicians who indulge in these handouts make a miscalculation - that somehow those who received the cash will be grateful and automatically will vote for them. Actually its like a drug - the receivers will spend the money quickly and start to expect it all the time and thus will be pissed off if they don't receive anymore.
    The money would be far better used to teach people how to fish rather than to give them the fish on a plate!

29. Mazlan10:08 am

I don't care which side does it - but its just plain wrong and unsustainable. Only 15% of the working population pay tax - and we are thus subsidising 'hand-outs' to the 85%.
    Frankly how far is RM 200 of RM 500going to take you these days.
    I bet most of those who received either the Penang money or the BR1M money spent it within days.
    I also think the politicians who indulge in these handouts make a miscalculation - that somehow those who received the cash will be grateful and automatically will vote for them. Actually its like a drug - the receivers will spend the money quickly and start to expect it all the time and thus will be pissed off if they don't receive anymore.
    The money would be far better used to teach people how to fish rather than to give them the fish on a plate!

30. tokman10:30 am

Dishing out cash to the rakyat is good but actually what is wrong is the way the cash was handed out.....it became a political show rather than cash from the government to the rakyat!It would be more meaningful if that money was used to reduce the 'cukai tanah, cukai pintu, cukai jalan, bil letrik dan air' as even working bachelors can reap the benefits.

31. tokman10:30 am

Dishing out cash to the rakyat is good but actually what is wrong is the way the cash was handed out.....it became a political show rather than cash from the government to the rakyat!It would be more meaningful if that money was used to reduce the 'cukai tanah, cukai pintu, cukai jalan, bil letrik dan air' as even working bachelors can reap the benefits.

32. But the difference is UMNO/BN government is RM500 bilion in debts, while penang government is fash with cash.
    Who do you think would be paying for UMNO/BN BR1M debts.???
    Read more...
    http://warongpakyeh.blogspot.com/2012/01/skim-hutang-rm500-untok-gali-kubur.html

1. Ellese6:46 am

You have selective memory. Didn't PR came out with a proposed deficit budget for the nation with huge handsout.

33. Anonymous12:04 pm

Malaysia is going bankclub soon with so many kolupshen going on. Blogger cyber trooper also are paid to do the job to help the bankclub people.

1. Ellese6:49 am

Pro pr blogger are spinning lies. Bn does deficit budget we become Greece. But pr proposed deficit budget were okay. Stupid reasoning.

34. Jasper Bloodstone1:16 pm

I read reports on the Singapore Budget 2012 with a sense of envy.

Here's a country that is ramping up productivity and economic restructuring, curbing foreign worker dependency and investing in older Singaporean workers.

This while chalking up a FY2011 Budget surplus of S$2.3 billion and projecting a surplus of $1.3 billion for FY2012.

If only we had a Finance Minister with the capability and acumen of Singapore's Tharman Shanmugaratnam! Instead of Jibby's 1Malaysia panegyrics!

35. Anonymous3:19 pm

Kalau dapat duit pun salah, baik ko mati je.

36. Bersih Cekap Amanah11:06 pm

BN rule for more than 50 years and I only pay tax. Thanks to Lim Guan Eng, he gave Penagites RM100.00 after becoming a CM.

37. Anonymous11:36 am

Why seems the PR wants to politicise everything....?

A stimulant to the economy, give money for free also want to politicise.

They have been doing it(Penang and Selangor-with condition that the state in IC number matches the said state, obviously for voting reason) but BN, being gentle, does not politicise it.

Biasalah, they fight the guerrilla way, destroying everything, by shooting down the competitor. But not by serving the clients' need first which is the rakyat.
    Think, what have they constructively done
    in their states after winning the past few years?

38. Anti-stupid4:06 pm

Jasper Bloodstone

GO ON, MOVE TO SINGAPORE MAN. WHY STAY HERE. EVERYONE CORRUPT. ALL NO GOOD. MINISTERS LIKE SHIT. GOVT GOING BANKRUPT. LIFE SO DIFFICULT HERE. EVERYTHING UNFAIR. SOME MORE WHAT? DO US A FAVOUR, JUST PUT A LID ON IT AND AND BUNK OFF. STOP WHINING AND WHINGEING. OTHER PEOPLE HAVE THINGS TO DO.