Thursday, December 01, 2011

Where's the song for Sungai Besi, Tony?

Explaining Tony's 3 misconceptions. I won't blame you if you thought I was going to blog about Tony Fernandes. Both YB Tony Pua, the DAP MP, and Tony Fernandes, the new Tan Sri who's gone from underdog to misunderstood, are on rottweiler-attack mode. Funny thing their targets are airports: Tony F obviously wants to run an airport, and I don't think he'd mind if the Government hands him KLIA2 on a platter. Tony P's target is the development of the Sungai Besi airport, a project crucial to Najib Razak's "Greater KL" plan. Both have misled the general population somewhat, perhaps without realizing it.
In Tony Pua's case, he has created 3 big misconceptions in his attacks against the Sungai Besi project:
Misconception #1. That the 1MDB had gotten the Sungai Besi land from the Government for a song.
The fact is, the air base land in Sungai Besi is still Government land because 1MDB is wholly-owned by the Government as its sole shareholder. Federal Government lands are held under the name of the Federal Lands Commissioner. The beneficiary is the Government. When ownership of the Sungai Besi land went to 1MDB, the beneficiary is still the Government. 
When the ultimate owner is the same, ie the Government, there can be no sale. Tony Pua can't accuse the Government of selling land to iself or, for that matter, buying land from itself. 
Sg Besi airbase land still belongs to the Government of Malaysia
Sometime last year, the PM in his blog introduced the concept of strategic development. It is development that goes beyond building and selling properties. It is about unleashing the full potential of government land as game changers for long-term economic growth.
It is an easy-to-understand concept. And there is nothing secretive about 1MDB's sole shareholder – the Government of Malaysia – intending for such development to be undertaken by a Master Developer with the dynamism of the private sector and yet owned and controlled by the Government.

Misconception #2: That RM1.6 billion was the meagre sum 1MDB paid the Government.

Where did he pluck this figure from? If the MP cares to check the Hansard, the RM1.6 billion is what 1MDB will pay to relocate and develop nine new relocation sites for RMAF, Police Air Wing and the 31st Artillery currently in the Sungai Besi air base. Deputy Finance Minister Datuk Dr Awang Adek stated this when replying to points raised in the Budget winding up at committee stage in Dewan Rakyat on 3 Nov 2011.
 “ ... ini merupakan perkongsian kos yang akan ditanggung oleh 1MDB dan juga Kerajaan Malaysia untuk membangunkan kawasan Sungai Besi. Kos awalnya ialah dari segi memindahkan operasi TUDM dan juga Polis Udara daripada kawasan tersebut kepada kawasan-kawasan lain.

"Perkongsian kos adalah sebanyak RM1.1 bilion yang akan ditanggung oleh kerajaan dan RM1.6 bilion ditanggung 1MDB dan RM1.1 bilion inilah merupakan pecahan untuk beberapa tahun, RM400 (juta) untuk tahun 2012 dan 400 lagi – jadi tidak harus dilihat sebagai suntikan kepada modal."
Misconception #3: No open tender for the Sungai Besi land.

As I've explained, the land was an outright transfer within the Government. From then on, as blogged by the PM, there will be an open process. 

Did Tony Pua miss the blog? Did he also miss the announcement by the Malaysian Institute of Planners? MIP is organising an independent international competition to design a Bandar Malaysia that can be the future model for sustainability and liveability. The competition is governed by the best global practice in every aspect including transparency and key criteria will include value creation for a better living environment and sustainability.

The Sungai Besi served the country well. It was our first international airport that led to the growth of several industries, aviation, travel, tourism and hospitality.  It later became the birthplace of the Royal Malaysian Air Force when Malaysians protected the country’s airspace.

For a national project as game changing as Bandar Malaysia, it is only logical for the Government maintains ownership and control through its fully owned 1MDB.

Coming soon: Tony's airport dream

41 comments:

1. Anonymous2:08 pm

The Misconceptions and Ignorance of the proponents of the project will be exposed when the GLUT in all forms of property hits Kuala Lumpur.

Perhaps those Ivory Tower boys on the 4th Floor have not learned from the Demise of the US Property Bubble.

Its nice to have a Fancy "Bandar Wawasan" on Paper and beatifully embossed in Models.....

Its when the Economic Slowdown and Property Collapse hits that 1MDB will learn its lesson.

BonJourno

2. Anonymous2:10 pm

open tender ???!!! damn u stupid tony , go asking Lim Family who run Penang .. even this Lim family not practicing open tender .. hypocrite shit of DAPigs !

- Lan

3. Charles F Moreira3:00 pm

While I'm basically an opposition supporter, I'm fed up with Tony Pua who only knows to criticise, criticise, criticise, oppose, oppose, oppose without offering alternatives.

Few others in his own DAP, PKR and PAS act like him.

Like Tony Pua has been making a big issue about Kedai Rakyat 1Malaysia which were established to provide cheaper essential goods to the lower income group but what does Tony Pua have to propose as an alternative to help the lower income group in the face of rising prices. Even I have to think twice before buying a jar of peanut butter or jam.

I understand from reliable sources that that Tony Pua is a neo-liberal and neo-liberalism with its market-fundamentalist ideology, has been the reason for the collapsing economies in the west and the major reason for the discontent which fueled public discontent in Tunisia and Egypt, as well as the multiple Occupy XX movements in the U.S. and the civil servants' general strike in the U.K.

Neo-liberalism is an economic ideology based on free market, small government policies advocated by Frederick von Hayek, the Chicago School economists and Ludwig von Mises.

It came into prominence after Margaret Thatcher became the prime minister of the U.K. and Ronald Reagan became U.S. president and it spread worldwide especially after the end of the Cold War and the spread of the Internet.

Until then, the prevalent economic ideology was Keynesian economics and regulated capitalism.

What these neo-liberal leaders did was to attack the workers’ unions in their respective countries which had ensured that workers had a decent union wage. They cut back social programmes, such as social security, socialised medicine, free education till university and many other social benefits which had been won through hard struggle and sacrifice by trade unions and social reformers.

Thatcher privatised state-owned railways, public transport services, telecommunications, utilities, postal services and so on.

When I visited the U.K. in 1997, 18 years after graduation and 18 years after Thatcher came to power, I found the now privatised bus service in Greater Manchester to be decidedly worse than when buses were operated by Greater Manchester Transport.

The cost of a train ticket from Manchester to London was 40 U.K. pounds one-way on the now, much touted privatised railways; compared to 13 U.K. pounds in 1979.

If neo-liberals had free reign, conditions for workers in the U.K. would go back to the days of Charles Dickens - remember Oliver Twist?

The blacks in the U.S fought for and won equal rights and affirmative action programmes to help them catch up after years of being discriminated against.

Well neo-liberals are dead opposed to affirmative action programmes and anti-discrimination laws, so would roll these back if they can.

In the early 1900s, workers in the U.S. fought for an won an eight-hour workday. Well, if neo-liberals had free reign, they’d undo all that and revert to 18 hour days of sweatshop labour with no medical benefits.

It also should be noted that neo-liberalism has been aggressively promoted as propaganda to justify globalisation and open borders, especially in third world, where it would allow bigger, wealthier and more powerful transnational corporations to take over even the strategic industries of developing countries, including telecommunications and utilities of these countries – basically a form of modern-day colonialism - or neo-colonialism - where countries would be nominally independent politically but their economies and resources are all owned and controlled by companies from the imperialist countries.

That’s why I despise neo-liberals.

4. Anonymous4:58 pm

Helo Tony Puaka, spin jangan tak spin. After getting his finger burnt in his own KR1M fiasco, he is finding solace with his lies about the Sg Besi Airport.

5. Bro,

Ini tony pua malas punya MP. Baca taknak, search taknak, apa pun taknak. Cuba bikin cerita bodoh saja tahu.

Ini baru bro yg taip. Kalau kene dengan SatD... tak tahu le jenis bahasa dier kena. Just make sure ur story here masuk dlm Malaymail. Tq

6. Anonymous6:56 pm

Tony Pua is a KJ's macai. You will see from the record that he never took on KJ. Both of them will attend the same forum. KJ is pro Tony F and Tony is also pro Tony F.

Just look at the record Tony Pua never spoke anything unpleasant about TF or any of his AirAsia outfits. Tony Pua has been very critical of the Minister of Transport YB Kong but not Ong Tee Keat because Ong Tee Keat was very nice to TF by granting special disc out on Airport tax debts and new routes. Tony even put an MCA Youth leader, Mr Fam, who is very closed to Ong Tee Keat be a member of the AirAsia Board.

One should ask Tony Pua what happened to his Singapore venturer that was supposedly made him a multimillionaire in Singapore: Cyber Village Ltd Singapore?

7. Bro, I read just the first part and feel so sorry that you are now encumbered to only sing the songs you are told to sing. Do you know why the National Feedlot got so F....d up? Well, the RM250 million got transferred to a corporation that was not Government, to do as it pleases. Being called to account for it is now in "private" hands in a sense.

1MDB is a corporation. You hand over the asset to it and you find, as a custodian of that asset, 1MDB has a lot of clout to excrete values out of it. And since we are such a forgiving lot who even God or if you prefer, Allah, cannot match, when it all falls apart everyone goes off scott free. Well, at least while on this earth. That is just the beginning. Of course you are not as free as me to doubt. And even if you do, well I guess over a beer we can face off with some truths. Until then, well, my friend, I think this spin fails miserably la.

8. Anonymous8:30 pm

Elo Latuk,,,,Ko tax pergi ke PWTC,,,,rugi loh! Bole dengar MELAYU MAKI hamun kaun CIna!!!!

-LANCAU-

9. @8:30pm~ wow a talking(typing?) di*k. Isnt it wonderful?

10. Anonymous12:39 am

Rocky

unfortunately Tony Pua dont read blog that he dont like.

This DAP guy has block his mind as taught by his master.

11. Anonymous12:44 am

Rocky

Since Tony Frenandes cant build his own airport, he's going to build his own stadium in London. Read yesterday's news.

The new stadium for QPR will be named Labi Stadium after the scrapped Labu Airport.

12. Anonymous12:56 am

Old Fart

You dont have to gloat about your freedom to doubt.

Apa yang awak tidak doubt

Kenapa taik keluar dari bontot pun awak mesti mahu doubt.

Cause you believe shit shd comeout from the mouth and food consume through the butt.

Padan awak suka sama Anwar ...

... ada similarity.

13. Charles F Moreira2:50 am

I'd support the idea to use the land of the old Sungei Besi airport for affordable public housing with fixed non-market prices and when the owner decides to sell, they must sell at the same price back to the government housing authority.

That is much better than the Housing Development Board (HDB) of Singapore which allows market forces to drive prices of Housing Development Board flats up and down

However, Tony Pua isn't even arguing for such socially-economically beneficial measures but just complain, complain, complain, critcise, criticise, criticise, bark, bark, bark.

If a Pakatan government comes to power, I'd like to know what we ordinary rakyat will get in tangible terms.

Tony Pua is also talking rubbish in The Malaysian Insider article.

“Which low-cost carrier is going to use an A380? This gives the
    impression that KLIA2 is a replacement for the main terminal.

“The Transport Ministry and Malaysia Airports Holdings Berhad (MAHB)
    appear to have gotten the concept of a low-cost terminal upside down,”
    the Petaling Jaya Utara MP told a press conference.

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysia/article/dap-asks-why-klia2-must-cater-for-a380s/

Well, Virgin Atlantic, Sir Richard Branson's low-cost carrier flew Boeing 747s since ins inaugural flight from Gatwick to Newark in 1984.

According to Wikipedia, Virgin Atlantic also flies Airbus A330s, Airbus A340s and has plans to acquire Airbus 380s in 2015 or 2016.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Virgin_Atlantic_Airways

An Airbus A380 has a maximum seating capacity of 853 all economy class and which airline, budget or otherwise is not going to drool at the prospect of flying a full payload on a single flight.

So this Oxford grad in philosophy, politics and economics should learn up a bit about airliners and the history of budget airlines.

14. Charles F Moreira2:56 am

"Tony Pua is a KJ's macai. You will see from the record that he never took on KJ. Both of them will attend the same forum. KJ is pro Tony F and Tony is also pro Tony F. "

Well if you check both up on Wikipedia you'll see they both have degrees in philosophy, economics and politics from Oxford, though in different years.

15. There you go again, old fart f**k, wahat teh cock ur talking la dei? Sudah hantam tali merah apa lu tulis pun lu sendiri tarak faham.

Please change ur attitude and dont be like Tony Puaka la macha. Just drink and relax. Too much tension nanti darah tinggi

It was very good explanation Dato Rock! Now I understand and let the Old Fart kentot sampai mampos!

BTW, Old Fu*k Fart, what is ur comment about Nga who criticise u as a metallic? I mean he really hates Indian man, care to spin Farty?

16. Tony Pua is a failed economist.... its no surprise...

DAPs only good at politicize at everything. Since when they know how to do work?

17. Butung Merbok8:07 am

Lancau ! What's good for for the goose must surely be good for the gander ! It's high time and most timely that you get to taste the same medicine that you all have been dishing out all these years. Remember, your game-plan is slowly but surely leaking out all its hidden agendas to create chaos in this country ; and your vicious motives are no longer a secret. If retaliation is what you deserve, then 'retaliation' you'll get. Period !

18. Anonymous9:19 am

PR was voted in to have a stronger voice for opposition, but it has takena new life by overnight politicians that aim to oppose everything!

Najib has done well since taking over and yet the opposition dogs are barking.

Bandar Malaysia is definitely more transparent than penang.

Tony the terrible

19. Anonymous10:14 am

Oldfart like to fart so many fart la now.

Oldman, please la don't talk only on hearsay and your own narrow perception.

Do some research and real one ...la.ok?

Oldman be like real oldman - DONT TALK COCK!

20. Anonymous10:30 am

Charles take a hike! Please not that mumbo jumbo about neo -liberalism...Stay where you are and comment about your new land...Compredo!!!
    You need to study the malay psyche!The people has enough of the present government conn games...tired of the same old conn games! Tell us ? You think we people are idiots!
    Where did you get the idea that Tony Pua is a neo liberal...Hey ! investigative works is neo liberalism? Wake up mate????

21. Tony Pua MUST learn how to raise issues like our beloved independent MP here
    http://weechookeong.wordpress.com/2011/11/21/mh-maruah-hilang-musnah-harapan/

Cant wait for Bru's next Tony article.
    Preamble here
    http://mastroubleshooters.blogspot.com/2011/11/7-reasons-why-khazanah-should-not.html

22. YOU AND YOUR NOT CLEVER REMARKS DATUK ROCKY.

IT IS NOT THE SAME IF THE GOVERNMENT OWNS THE LAND OR IF A COMPANY WHOLLY OWNED BY THE GOVERNMENT OWNING THE LAND.

READ COMPANY LAW 1965 BROTHER BEFORE YOUR SPIT YOUR STUPID VENOM. AND THE SAME WITH YOU STUPID FOOLS WHO ARE BING ROBBED WHILE YOU SHOUT UMNO! UMNO!

WHO ARE THE DIRECTORS OF 1MDB? WHAT IS IS IN THE ARTICLES OF THE ASSOCIATION?

THE VERY REASON THE LAND IS TRANSFERRED TO 1MDB IS TO UNSHACKLE THE RESTRICTION OF GOVT BEUROCRACY IN ENRICHING SOME PPL.
    YES, THE COMPANY IS WHOLLY OWNED BY THE GOMEN, BUT, FOR HOW LONG? AND WHAT TERMS OF REFERENCE? AND WHO ARE THE DRIVERS OF THIS COMPANY?

IN GOVERNMENT, THE DRIVERS ARE THE CABINET MINISTER. IN 1MBD, THE DRIVERS ARE SIAPA?

IS THIS ANOTHER FEEDLOT FIASCO?

AND WHY YOU SO DIAM SAJA ON THIS NATIONAL FEEDLOT FIASCO? NONE OF YOUR BUSINESS? OR NONE OF YOUR TERMS OF ENGAGEMENT BUSINESS?

FOR YOU RACISTS OUT THERE WHO MAKI HAMUN SAJE, LET ME TELL YOU SOMETHING. WHILE YOU ARE MAKI HAMUNING ME OR OTHERS WHO SINCERELY WANTS THE BEST FOR THIS COUNTRY, YOUR IDOLLS/MASTERS ARE PLUNDERING THE COUNTRY AND AT THE SAME TIME PROBABLY THINKING OF BUILDING BEAUTIFUL MANSIONS IN PERTH. YOU WILL STILL BE STUCK HERE BRATHERS.

SO ACCOUNTABILITY IS NO GOOD?
    CHECK AND CONTROL IS NO GOOD?
    BARISAN NASIONAL SURE RIGHT ONE?
    OPPOSITION PEOPLE ARE ALL BANGSAT?

HEHEHE, PLEASE FUCKING GROW UP YOU GUYS!

23. Anonymous3:35 pm

lucky for you flers... still suck-up with all amno stupidities & lies.

in the assembly, every year they up the ante by producing better morons with brain the size of a testicle.

24. Charles F Moreira3:40 pm

Anonymous wrote:-

"Charles take a hike! Please not that mumbo jumbo about neo -liberalism...Stay where you are and comment about your new land...Compredo!!!

I was born and raised in Malaysia, am a Malaysian citizen by birth and have been living and working here continuously since 1994.

So what "new land" are you talking about?

"You need to study the malay psyche!The people has enough of the present government conn games...tired of the same old conn games! Tell us ? You think we people are idiots!"

Yes, I need to learn more about the Malay psyche and have spoken to my Malay neighbour who is fed up with the BN despite having been an UMNO supporter and a pious Muslim.

I also asked Rocky who explianed how the Malaysia will vote for a leader they perceive to be strong and who will protect their interests, whether they be UMNO, PKR or PAS.

I of course have to ask more Malaysia, especially the lower income group and rural people.

In that regard, I plead having insufficient knowledge.

"Where did you get the idea that Tony Pua is a neo liberal"

From a member of a non-Pakatan opposition party over teh-tarik.

"...Hey ! investigative works is neo liberalism? Wake up mate????"

That depends on on the purpose of the investigative works and the political ends the findings will serve.

Why is Tony Pua being a very efficient one-man consumers association with regards products at KR1M but not with other supermarkets, sundry shops and the manufacturers themselves?

If Tony Pua did the latter, he'd by my hero.

Also, prices of essential items are rising for all of us and what alternative solutions does Tony Pua, the DAP and Pakatan have to address the problem?

I'm more interested to know that.

KR1M is not a perfect solution and represents the BN's infatuation with public-private partnerships - which also is influenced by neo-liberal thinking.

So what better solution can Tony Pua, DAP and Pakatan provide, especially if they become the next government?

25. Anonymous3:47 pm

Rocky is always right; all others wrong. After building and selling Sungai Besi there should be profits. The profits have to go somewhere. Where????

26. Charles,
    Having flown Virgin Atlantic - I can tell you it is NOT a low cost carrier. It is full premium carrier.
    It operates from Terminal 3 sharing facilities with SQ.
    As for Sg Besi I look forward to the glut of apartments and offices...

27. Anonymous5:20 pm

You Rocky are such a sell out. As a trained and experienced journalist all you write is pro BN crap. Where is your objectivity man? Malaysia is so lacking credible information/news and opinions.

People like you could have struck a balance, like you used to. Now you are no better then the Pakatan group. That is tragic.

28. Charles F Moreira6:14 pm

While this may be a bit off-topic. Back when Malaysia's LRT's were first launched, around 1998, I was rather chic to condemn it as a "white elephant" and silly me was one of them. Whenevr I saw near empty LRT trains go by, I used to jeer at what a "failure" and "waste of public money" it was.

Well, now The Malaysian Insider carries an article condemning the government for the congestion, long waiting times, long queues of people waiting to get on the LRT.

"KUALA LUMPUR, Dec 2 — The daily scenes of traffic gridlock and seething ticket lines beneath the glittering Petronas Twin Towers reflect a lack of planning and investment in urban mobility that is hampering the capital’s goal of becoming a world-class city by 2020."

"Massive lines for tickets fill up the lobby of the light rail transit (LRT) station every evening, forcing people to jostle and push in order to squeeze their way while nightmarish traffic jams not only mean damaging losses in productivity but are even forcing tourists to abandon their taxi cabs."

"The capital’s LRT system has been in place since the late 1990s but has been widely panned for lack of interchanges and strategic destinations along its alignment."

"The daily congestion in the KLCC station lobby also reflects the poor planning that went into the design."

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysia/article/beneath-kls-icon-daily-scenes-of-commuter-misery

Back in the 1980s when the LRT was being proposed, I said we needed to have a centralised state-owned Klang Valley Transit Authority but the BN, caught up with privatisation, decided on outsourcing its construction and operation to separate concessionnaries, who built an un-integrated network, using incompatible rolling stock, incompatible tracks and basically incompatible systems.

The operators made loses and the BN soon learned that public transit systems are a public service and rarely make money, so it integrated their management under one state-owned operator.

So the government set up SPAD and wants to avoid making the same mistake with the proposed MRT network and Tony Pua opposes it and Petalng Street property owners protest.

Of course, it's correct for Pua or anyone else to challenge its cost but please then offer alternatives. Don't criticise, criticise, critise, oppose, oppose oppose.

The public interest is involved here.

29. 1. Baru saya faham pasal Sungai Besi and 1MDB. TQ Bro.

2. As for Tony Pua, he is becoming a nuisance, he should learn from classy not sassy MP like Wee Choo Keong how to criticise constructively.

30. Anonymous5:49 am

Kepala otak ultrakiasu is easy to read. They wish the land could be transferred to Ah Beng. Then, Ah Beng will built shops for Ah Kau. Then, Ah Kau will get supplies from Ah Teng. Then, Ah Teng will only employ Mandarin-speaking Ah Yong.... Bla bla bla....Ah Meng...Ah Tong...Ah Pua...Ah Gan...bla bla bla...Ah Sam...bla bla bla

31. Anonymous6:22 pm

Never trust any pig that squeals it has the best interest of the country at heart. For in the puny selfish kiasu world of the pig, 'country' is that swath of territory between its snout and gullet!

32. Anonymous6:23 pm

Never trust any pig that squeals it has the best interest of the country at heart. For in the puny selfish kiasu world of the pig, 'country' is that swath of territory between its snout and gullet!

33. Anonymous6:23 pm

34. Anonymous7:13 pm

Never trust any pig that squeals it has the country's interest at heart as beneath that solemn yet sly pontification lurks the lie.

For in the puny, selfish kiasu world of the pig,'country' is nothing more than that swath territory extending from its snout to his gullet and 'interest' nothing beyond that pound of flesh it hankers after sucking the principal off it's victim!

In the end, nothing matters to the pig than self-preservation at the expense of others

35. Anonymous8:33 pm

CHi8,

YOU TALK COCK OR YOU TALK CIBAI? WE DON'T UNDERSTAND WHAT YOU COCK ABOUT. YOU ARE NOT AS CLEVER AS TONY PUA?

YOU NO UNDERSTAND ABOUT THESE PROJECTS LA CIBAI. YOU ARE SOUR GRAPE MA. YOUR BABI SO SO CLEVER A...YOUR BABI IS BIG TIME CONMAN LA. YOUR BABI ALSO TALK COCK LIKE YOU MA. IN CASE YOU DON'T KNOW WHO BABI IS - BROTHER ANWAR BIN IBRAHIM!

YOUR TONY LIKE TO TALK MORE COCKS THAN YOU. COS HE IS KNOWN AS GREAT GREAT ECONOMIC CONMAN THAN YOU.

HE HE YOU ASK BABI LA FOR FUCKING. HE WILL ASK YOU BACK
    "CAN I FUCK TODAY"

CH....CHI....CHIBAI LA CHi...8

36. Anonymous10:25 pm

What happened to Kg. Abdullah Hukum in KL next to Mid Valley. Just realised yesterday from way upthere ontop of IGB tower that it had vanished. Did the earth swallow it together with all the inhabitants. Gosh. KL Eco City, Setia, DBKL and Nong.

37. Anonymous11:26 pm

Yes i agree with the Ah Beng theory.If it is YTL getting it like in sentul, they don't shit a word.

Big time suckers.

Let's not forget that. Should be incorporated in history syllabus and made compulsory subject and compulsory question.

38. Anon 8.33pm, you have absolutely no point in your rant.

You are obviously stupid.

Hehehehe

39. Anonymous8:13 pm

Dear Rocky.

The Government of Malaysia is a sovereign entity with the power to tax.

1MDB is a Government-LINKED entity with outstanding debt of more than RM8 billion (arranged with the help of a certain Mr Jho Low).

This debt is largely held by NON-GOVERNMENT investors.

If 1MDB fails to repay its debt due to mismanagement of cashflow (as some agencies are prone to do - recall PKFZ). Its asset will be subject to claim by creditors and there is nothing the Malaysian Government can do about it.

As such it is not a simple case of "buying and selling to itself" as the issue is much more complicated than this and YB Tony Pua and all raykat Malaysia has every right to voice concerns on the transfer of our peoples' assets.

Kamali Ibrahim

40. Charles F. Moreira9:43 pm

Arif wrote:-

"Having flown Virgin Atlantic - I can tell you it is NOT a low cost carrier. It is full premium carrier.
    It operates from Terminal 3 sharing facilities with SQ."

Space did not permit but agreed, that it's debatable as to whether Virgin Atlantic is a low-cost carrier.

Some websites regard it as one, while others don't.

I'll take your word for it but still, a A330 is a medium-sized jumbo jet and there is no reason who a lo-cost carrier would not fly an Airbus A380 if it could fill it to its maximum of 853 economy class passengers.

Efficiency and easing airport congestion was the reason these big jets like the 747 were built in the first place.

"As for Sg Besi I look forward to the glut of apartments and offices..."

I'd prefer it were used for affordable housing, a sports complex, a public park or some socially useful purpose.

41. Jasper Bloodstone3:13 pm

I understand, from reliable sources in the aviation industry, that when AirAsia first started flights to Changi Airport, the airport authority informed AirAsia that low-cost carriers had to use the Budget Terminal (no aerobridges, no integrated baggage handling systems and no interline transfers).

All the LCCs operating at Changi dutifully followed suit. Except AirAsia (and later, Jetstar).

My sources told me that AirAsia was adamant in wanting to use Changi's Terminal 1, for reasons yet to be revealed. The airport authority was just as adamant and insisted that any airline, LCCs or full service, which wanted to use the main terminals, would have to use aerobridges. This is to maintain the ambiance and overall image of Changi Airport.

Guess AirAsia blinked first in this "clash".

Of course, what is also unknown is just how much AirAsia is getting in "rebates" for maintaining and increasing passenger volumes at Changi. The airport authority administers a substantial fund for offering such incentives to airlines operating at Changi.

It also makes one wonder if Malaysia Airports was aware of this and whether it offers similar incentives for KLIA.