Monday, November 28, 2011

Letter: What will Ambiga have to say about this?

A peaceful rally in the US: Shot in the face with chemical-laced substance

Short cut to politics and parliament. It was Ambiga who claimed that "when lawyers walk, something is wrong .. that means we would like to see changes". These words she uttered during the so-called Penguin Walk in Putrajaya, Sept 2007. That walk was sparked by a video on a prominent lawyer allegedly brokering a deal with a senior judge. That walk turned the video into a major issue during PRU12. Even the clueless dude who took the video was elected an MP during the general election!

Two months later, another group of lawyers led the Hindraf march against "the Islamic fundamentalist and Malay chauvinists UMNO led Malaysian government', in the words of their leader P. Uthayakumar. Another lawyer. Politically, it was worth the trouble. Anwar hailed himself as champions of the Indians and a Hindraf leader won in the PRU12 on DAP ticket. Recently, Ambiga finally succeeded in being perceived as bigger than Uthayakumar by leading the Bersih march.

Tomorrow, lawyers march yet again, this time against the proposed peaceful assembly act. Ambiga is at the forefront again. Wants the Malaysian government to Look Myanmar, a view shared by no less than DAP strongman Lim Kit Siang (pics shown here are of peaceful assemblies in the US, good reasons why Ambiga would want us to look away from that place right now).

Seems to me like walks and marches, protests and demonstrations have become the short cut to politics and Parliament for some. I'm not saying that the lawyers don't have a point on the peaceful assembly act but given their track record, one has to wonder if that's really their point. Is it?

In any case, I would like to share with you Dear Readers a letter sent to me by a fellow scribe Charles F. Moreira. Thanks Charles, at least we know that even peaceful assemblies in the US don't always end peacefully.

Now what does Ambiga have to say about this?

Peaceful protestors being beaten, pepper-sprayed, arrested,
       journalists shoved into a corner, journalists arrested and all in the "land
       of the free & home of the brave"

Can't criticise the regime which gave her an award?

Where are the "independent" media on this?

Charles

American job on peaceful assemblers
The Shocking Truth About the Crackdown on Occupy
 The violent police assaults across the US are no coincidence. Occupy has touched the third rail of our political class's venality

By Naomi Wolf 

November 26, 2011 "The Guardian" - - vUS citizens of all political persuasions are still reeling from images of unparallelled police brutality in a coordinatedcrackdown against peaceful OWS protesters in cities across the nation this pastweek. An elderly woman was pepper-sprayed in the face; the scene of unresisting, supine students at UC Davis being pepper-sprayed by phalanxes of riot police went viral online; images proliferated of young women – targeted seemingly for their gender – screaming, dragged by the hair by police in riot gear; and the pictures of a young man, stunned and bleeding profusely from the head, emerged in the record of the middle-of-the-night clearing of Zuccotti Park.

But just when Americans thought we had the picture – was this crazy police and mayoral overkill, on a municipal level, in many different cities? – the picture darkened. The National Union of Journalists and the Committee to Protect Journalists issued a Freedom of Information Act request to investigate possible federal involvement with law enforcement practices that appeared to target journalists.

The New York Times reported that "New York cops have arrested, punched, whacked, shoved to the ground and tossed a barrier at reporters and photographers" covering protests. Reporters were asked by NYPD to raise their hands to prove they had credentials: when many dutifully did so, they were taken, upon threat of arrest, away from the story they were covering, and penned far from the site in which the news was unfolding. Other reporters wearing press passes were arrested and roughed up by cops, after being – falsely – informed by police that "It is illegal to take pictures on the sidewalk."

In New York, a state supreme court justice and a New York City council member were beaten up; in Berkeley, California, one of our greatest national poets, Robert Hass, was beaten with batons. The picture darkened still further when Wonkette and Washingtonsblog.com reported that the Mayor of Oakland acknowledged that the Department of Homeland Security had participated in an 18-city mayor conference call advising mayors on "how to suppress" Occupy protests.

36 comments:

1. Anonymous4:37 pm

another rubbish writing from "Rocky the Bru"......dah habis modal kut !!

2. Anonymous4:46 pm

Latuk,

Your statement always at simplistic form.

Here are a few, I guess you will put in a simplistic form for the Rakyat to understand. The below corresponds with your logic.

Thousands died at road accident every year. Simplistic solution: Ban all motorised vehicle?

It seems Indonesia & Cambodia have ban maids from coming to Malaysia. Simplistic reason: Most Malaysian Latuk mistreat their maids.

How lah... Latuk, every month in front of US Embassy, no more gathering, opps... I mean PEACEFUL demo?

3. Anonymous5:29 pm

Ambiga is being paid to do all sort of things just to destabilize our country.

This pariah won't stop from doing more demos!

Uncle Soros and gang is behind her.

Ambiga pundek!

4. Anonymous7:43 pm

Exactly, anon 5.29pm. They are being paid to allow penjajah to come in. The traitors.
    Whom utilises a clever agenda of utilising and exploiting any thinkable issues to put a wool over people eyes. They were others like us in the world whom had suffered and/or are suffering from these tactics.

God job Rocky. Keep it up. Do not let the jokers distract you.

Save Malaysia

5. Anonymous7:57 pm

all opposition PKR/PAS/DAP are bigots.

Ambiga? no.1, pariah lower caste of all wanted to change government?
    DAP, the 13th May mastermind?
    PAS? the clueless, no brain and pig like brain?
    PKR, an ass?

these are the bands going to lead malaysia?

6. azizi8:03 pm

these screwed up lawyers, they only talked about their rights to assemble. how about other's rights to peaceful life, uninterrupted business activities, security, and many other things.

so much for freedom of expression, huh!

7. Anonymous8:12 pm

"I am not saying that the Lawyers do not have a point"...so what are you saying? What's your view on the new Assembly Bill? Tell us the pros and cons of the Bill...Rocky!!!

8. Anonymous9:41 pm

for the last 3 years you have shown everybody that you have been bought by BN....everything you say seems to support BN...but why dont you just admit to everybody what is your stand???...you are no longer natural...everybody knows that...you are inclined to BN so...why dont you just openly say it???...dont hide behind your datuk ship lah weiiii....

wASP

9. Anonymous10:13 pm

.. dear anon 4.37pm.. the posting may look rubbish to you... but not to the majority of us who are still sensible... thank god that our brain are still intact up here and has yet to fall to our kneecap.....

... we won't repeat the 12th GE error,

.. after all, the choice is only between a known fat devil on the diet and a thin hungry devil on a destructive mode,..

10. Anonymous10:17 pm

The point is rocky, people like ambiga want the power of the state to assist people when they want to voice their dissatisfaction instead of just tell them to shut up and wait for next election FIVE freaking years away.

Ambiga has no control or interest over what happens a few oceans away but she does care for her country.

And right thinking Malaysians are matured enough to behave. Comparing Malaysians to Americans who can buy guns off the shelves are plain silly.

As my lecturer thought me in university - perbandingan mestilah dengan keadaan Yang serupa Dan sama.

11. Anonymous10:21 pm

Lets spice up this no-good ambiga.. ....she's likely a CIA agent, a jews conspirator, a first President wannabe, islam enemy no.1,communist sympathiser,USA spy,the list is endless

12. Sir,
    I do think, when every time BERSHIT perform the demo on the street, our policemen were so kind and nice to them, forth the tear gas in far distances, serve food and prayer place for demonstrators and so on. This is so shame, this is not the standard of real police. Look what happened when riot take place in US, and Korea as well, police will beat the demonstrators until lembik, kungfu pun habih semua keluaq. And i would like to suggest police should cooperate with Indah Water to forth the filth to the demonstators. biaq padan muka depa, nak berdemo sangat.

13. Anonymous10:39 pm

Bro Rocky,
    Can't blame the Ambigas, Athayakumars & Uncle Lims & Guan Engs of the world... semua nya menangguk di air keruh and ultimately menunggang mereka2 yang suka di tunggangi untuk membawa mereka to Putrajaya, etc. Just read the full article on the Wall Street thing... precisely, the super rich and elite class in the US are beginning to sense the threat coming from the common people who are beginning to see how this elite class (1% of the population) is controlling the system to their benefits (in the name of democracy, human rigts and the bulls) and realizing they've been exploited for the past umpteen years... soon many Malays (& some Chinese & Indians as well) who are the 2nd & 3rd class citizens in this country would realize their "true" enemies are a handfull of billionaires who control 50% of the economy (the Kwok & Kweks, Anandas, Goh Tongs, Lims, Tans, etc... too bad 90% of them are non-Malays?) who have been squeezing the common men for the past umpteen years through their monopolistic businesses... the time will come sooner than later, especially when these billionaires started to get greedy and got involved in politics through invisible hands...
    This awareness has started in the US, which is supposed to be the land of the "free" when in reality its far from it... and will spread through out the world... and we are back to square one... the haves vs the have-nots...

Matamorphics

14. I am walking tomorrow bro.

The walk is my expression.

Just like you expressed yourself in this blog.

Just like I like to comment as I like in this blog.

Civil society will never be drwn in the centre between black and white.

Only depending on what stand point you are looking from.

15. Anon #1, Lu ape cete?
    Anon #2, Demokrasi? So, 200k nak lalu jalan Istana, tak bole sebab 50k nk demo. Itu demokrasi?

Bro, Ambiga cakap ini macam...
    "Itu amelika ma, ini Malaysia. Ini PR punya cerita. Itu BN main jahat. Banyak beli undi. Lain kali, BN kene ikut itu Khalifah Penang. Daftar undi, dapat RM200 ma.. Hidup Bersih... Takebeer!!!"

16. Ex-Journalist Now Soothsayer12:25 am

Ambiga to say anything against her paymasters, dream on! Fact of the matter is pipsqueak lawyers like Ambiga have no choice but to gain attention via asinine antics and Najib allowing that instead of putting her in the slammer and waterboarding the bitch was and still is a mistake. Better still, he should have just ignored the ugly pigfaced bitch rather than trying to nego a deal! That would have put her firmly in her place on the toilet stool! A lowlife undeserving of any attention

Have you ever heard of any high profile cases Ambiga handled or can anyone mention any paradigm shifting precedents she engineered or for that matter any legislation altering judgements she won. Nada, Nil, Zilch would be the reply. The same would apply to the posse of liyars and charlatans peopling the august chambers.

Fact of the matter is her political ambitions know no bounds despite her mental deficiencies ala Kit Siang, Karpal Singh, Gobind, Haris Ibrahim et al. Ever wondered how come this self styled human rights activist of a postmenopausal dry cunted grandma can gather a bunch of losers for a street riot for Kotor reasons but is leery of doing the same for her gay and lesbian friends when their planned fuck-fest collapsed. Double standards at play or an eye on the ballot box the real reason or could it be that the equivocating snake tongued genes at play here? Once a LAWYER always a LIAR!!!

17. Chi8,

Enjoy the beautiful cityscape.

Don't beat up our cops, OK.

18. Anonymous4:19 am

with all dis going on in Malaysia..Hisham Bapok is still sleeping and having his testis in his wife's handbag

'...dis is my last final tenth warning!'

get all the ambigas, the mat sabus, the haji kunyits, the bar councillors...pack them in jail and throw away the keys!

they have no use in MALAYSIA

19. Charles F. Moreira5:08 am

"Ambiga has no control or interest over what happens a few oceans away but she does care for her country."

And what business does the National Democratic Institute, an NGO under the National Endowment for Democracy have to develop political campaign planning manual for Malaysia in four languages?

http://www.ndi.org/node/15753

The NDI is based in Washington DC, half a world away, so why not take care of matters in the US, such as the presidency GW Bush stole from Al Gore (not that I like Gore any better)

The NDI also also known to have provided advice to Bersih 2.0 - why?

Why did Michelle Obama and Hillary Clinton present Ambiga with an award?

While I'm all for free and fair elections as well as democracy and human rights, I certainly don't support the invasion of Iraq to spread "democracy and human rights" when the real intention is the advancement US imperialism's and Israel's geo-strategic interests.

Likewise, nor do I like interference by US-imperialist backed NGOs to spread "free and fair elections" in other countries, let alone half a world away, especially when the US imperialists do the same or even worse to their own people.

Stay tuned for their move against the Occupy LA encampment.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2066764/Occupy-LA-says-STAY--despite-Mayors-order-protesters-leave-Monday.html#ixzz1exRaDiqi

Also, Malaysia's "independent" media were so ever ready to condemn Mubarak and support the Arab Spring protestors and condemn the violence against them.

The "independent" media also supported the NATO-imperialist military intervention in support of the Libyan "rebels" against Ghadaffi, supposedly in the name of "democracy, human rights, freedom, etc," but they are silent or have given very little coverage of the Occupy XX protestors in the US and the police violence against them.

Why the double standards"

20. Charles F Moreira5:26 am

"another rubbish writing from "Rocky the Bru"......dah habis modal kut !!"

Rubbish writing! ????

The World Wide Web is full of stories about police brutality against peaceful protestors in the U.S., inlcuding the near killing of an off-duty U.S. marine by a rubber bullet which hit his head.

Unless, you are a katak bawa tempurung, you will have read about these ongoing incidents.

May I recommend you check out these aggregation portals:-

www.rense.com

www.informationclearinghouse.info

21. Thuraisingham Shan7:07 am

time for transformation brother. We have to rise against oppression,the citizenary is being whacked to reality,let us live to the present, 2007 is history, we have to stand fr our rights the governing politicians have gone far enough with a fat purse.they have outlived their capability, the citizenary must risee to the occassion, reality has to prevail.just dont have to pick on Ambiga alone, ;ook at how thw parliamentarins have bulshit themselves in the Peaceful assembly act,time fr a change brother

22. Anonymous7:28 am

waulawei damn smart lah you brader.

you stopped short of one very important para of the Gaurdian post.....

Quote "To Europeans, the enormity of this breach may not be obvious at first. Our system of government prohibits the creation of a federalised police force, and forbids federal or militarised involvement in municipal peacekeeping."

I know you asked to read more but why stop short of that para only?

anyways just to remind of a Melayu proverb - Yeng Keruh Di Buang Yang jernih di?

The Sly Fox

23. Rocky let us not get too intellectual about Ambiga and her lot okay, they are just bent on destroying what they perceived anything controlled by the majority Malays! That would be Umno, the monarchy, the king, you name it!!

24. How I wished the entire Malay majority population rises up and to demonstrate against the irritating minority just to show who is in charge here, but then the Malays are chronically divided?!

25. Anonymous9:32 am

kenapa peguam islam melayu tak buat demo juga ke MAjlis Peguam... Nampak sangat peguam ISLAM Melayu tak ada TELOQ!!!

Semua kena cucuk hidung dgn Ambiga dan Majlis Peguam (DAP & PKR)

26. Anonymous10:29 am

bro

tulis lah psal shahrizat beli kondo...

27. Anonymous10:32 am

Confirmed now...DAP, PKR & PAS are Coalition of Mayhem and Destruction or in words of P. Ramlee PAKATAN TIGA JAHANAM....

Salleh Telegu

28. Anonymous10:34 am

I like this post because it makes me check myself to think of the implications. as much as they can be helpful in giving people a voice against a confused government. I realize The Ambigas or NGOs, that they truly do not realize the possible consequences that can result from their actions. Hopefully, being educated and rational, I hope they can check themselves once in a while for the good of the people.

Lan

29. Anonymous11:31 am

missed this event, hopefully everything will turn OK for the walking lawyers and we could see an energy filled ambience in our front yard, the best kind....:)

30. Anonymous12:13 pm

ambiga and gang are the richs guys. as for me, no time no demo got to work and make sure there are foods on the table everyday. Looking at Indonesia and philipines, i am lucky to be hre infact those illegal immigrants are lucky to get jobs here. If i want to demo you think ambiga and gangs cares about me no money. she is shit and for ever shit and i wish her to get lost out of of this country, maybe send her back to where she belong US (the so call freedom country) and i dont missed her at all.

31. Anonymous1:22 pm

beginila ba kalau org melayu berpecah, terpaksa bergantung pada kaum minoriti. yang minoriti ni plak bila sedar keadaan ni secara tidak langsung terasa da punya kuasa, mcm-mcm diaorang minta dan mcm2 diaorang buat.
    p/s: entah napa ada orang ckp post ni sampah, bagi aku isu ni sangat-sangat membuktikan betapa melayu perlu bersatu semula

32. CHI8,

may the rain be with you

33. Anonymous12:05 am

why do we even bother about this ambiga? don't give her the attention she clearly desires. she is not sincere and I wish govt will put her behind bars for instigating biased hatred and causing instability to society. all in the name of democracy. it's very sad that she calls herself Malaysian.

34. Anonymous8:51 am

The Ambigas are acting at the spur of the moment.

Let us assume that the foolish opposition do get to run the government. Will the same stupid lawyers allow the new opposition to run amok in the streets?

Hah, bet your life on it. No sooner than you can say GAG order. They might even order the Police to shoot the new opposition.

35. Anonymous12:15 pm

... Ex journalist now soothsayer...ha..ha..at your putrid analysis here...wonder which paper media employed you before but well..what a sorry paper !!??..going by your analysis here.
    way to go Ambiga..you rock..human rights are Universal and not western or barat imported but given by all the religions on the face of the EARTH/BUMI.
    eh.rock??
    eh rockybru !!...how come you got d rock attachment when people like Ambiga should rightfully have it.

BREEZEbersihkan

36. Anonymous9:15 am

In US, Police can't get away from being punnished for corruption, exessive use of force, abusing of power, involving in scandals, covering of wrong doings....

But in Malaysia, Police can easily get way!

BL