Friday, June 04, 2010

Rachel Corrie, D-Day

updates Saturday; click here for breaking news.
SMS from Matthias Chang, who is on board MV Rachel Corrie
(Note: Malaysian time 5-6hours ahead of ship)

9:30am (Malaysian time)- Three Israeli patrol boats are now following Rachel Corrie;

10.00am- Israeli boats coming towards our ship. Stay calm;
Last contact 10.35am- They have jammed our radar
 Original Article:
Go with God, Shamsul, Matthias and all on board "Rachel Corrie". Thousands of people marched and demonstrated  in support of the six Malaysians on board of Gaza-bound vessel name Rachel Corrie and to condemn Israel's atrocities against the international aid flotilla earlier this week. In Kuala Lumpur, they gathered in front of the US Embassy on Jalan Tun Razak in one of the largest demonstrations the city has ever seen.

Muslims Pray, Protest Against Israeli Violence
KUALA LUMPUR, June 4 (Bernama) -- Muslims on Friday offered special prayers for Palestinians and protested against the Israeli raid on the Gaza humanitarian flotilla killing nine people.

Non-governmental organisations (NGO) including Aman Malaysia and Umno Youth gathered in the compound of Masjid Negara after Friday and special (hajat) prayers for the safety of the activists.

Aman Malaysia adviser and Umno Youth chief Khairy Jamaluddin said the rally was to support Palestinians and condemn the inhuman act of the Israeli regime.

Chairman Datuk Ahmad Zaki Zahid said Malaysians had been angry with Israel for a long time for oppressing the Palestinians.

"Israel's act of violence and utter disregard for international law has inflamed anger among Malaysians," he said.

Khairy launched a "SMS For Gaza" campaign to collect funds for Gaza. Donors only have to send SMS by typing "GAZA" and send to 32928.

Earlier, Masjid Negara imam besar Tan Sri Syaikh Ismail Muhammad used the sermon to condemn Israel for the inhuman act against activists taking humanitarian aid to Gaza.

Another rally took place at Masjid Jamek Kampung Baru led by opposition leader and Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) adviser Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim.

The anti-Israel rally attended by about 10,000 people then proceed to the United States embassy in Jalan Ampang and ended at 4pm after a memorandum was delivered.

In JOHOR BAHARU, over 100 NGO and Pakatan Rakyat party members held a rally in the compound of Masjid Sultan Abu Bakar after Friday prayers.

The anti-Israel rally in heavy rain lasted 30 minutes and ended with burning of the flags of Israel and United States.

In KOTA BHARU, some 5,000 Muslims gathered near Sultan Mohammed Stadium for special prayers for Palestinians led by Menteri Besar Datuk Nik Abdul Aziz Nik Mat.

He said the Kelantan government spent RM25,000 monthly under the Palestinian Education Aid Fund to finance Palestinian students at several institutions of higher learning.

In Penang, over 500 people participated in an rally organised by Penang Federation of Non-Governmental Organisations (NGO) at Masjid Kapitan Keling.

The 30-minute anti-Israel protest after Fridays prayers was filled with fiery speeches by NGO representatives.

In TAWAU, about 100 Muslims held a peaceful rally at Masjid Al-Kauthar after Friday prayers to protest Israeli violence.

Special prayers were also held for the safety of Palestinians and the humanitarian vessel heading for Gaza.

In IPOH, the family of Dr Selamat Aliman, one of 12 Malaysian activists on board "Mavi Marmara" raided by Israeli commandos, would be holding a feast to mark his return.

Dr Selamat, 54, a member of Jemaah Islah Malaysia (JIM) was expected to arrive at KL International Airport (KLIA) early Sunday with nine others, including two staff of Astro Awani.

His wife Faezah Hassan, 52, said no date had been set as it would depend on Dr Selamat's work schedule.

-- BERNAMA

24 comments:

1. Masam Manis11:44 pm

Allah Hu Akbar. May Allah protect them in this journey.

Meantime It is equally important for us to reflect in our own society the importance of strengthening our own unity regardless of religion, race or even different political affiliations. This is our land and we deserve to leave in peace and harmony

2. Bro, we as Malaysians should also ponder and reconsider on Malaysia's move to join the U.S. sponsored military exercise COBRA GOLD. Let us not be one whose Right Hand offers the Palestinians succor and relief from Israeli occupation AND the Left Hand seeking shelter with the latter's No. 1 Benefactor, yes?

3. Anonymous1:49 am

Steven Spielberg came out with “Schindler’s List” in 1993.

He should now come up with a movie, Rachel Carrie.

Oooppps… he comes from a Jewish family… FAT CHANCE!

4. Anonymous1:59 am

Tsk tsk... Sad...

Some of our people are so kind and generous to donate to other people who are suffering thousands of miles away...

But there are thousands of fellow Malaysians suffering too. Little kids who have to climb up and down mountains, wade through rivers, walk for miles and hours through dark jungles - risking their lives daily just to go to school... in the interiors of Sabah and Sarawak...

Despite its natural resources and potential, Sabah has the worst hard-core poor case in Malaysia.

Many Sabahans have to uproot themselves and come to Peninsular Malaysia to work. Many of their women end up working as masseuses offering "urut batin" (clever way of saying "handjobs") to earn extra bucks.

And Terengganu, with its oil, still has the most number of hard-core poor folks in the Peninsular Malaysia...

Hmm, maybe the hard-core poor, hungry and destitute Malaysians are not under threat of bullets, bombs, beatings, torture, etc...

- AZLAN.

5. nstman4:41 am

You all can go ahead and protest. As for me I will protest in front of the tv screen when the world cup begins next week. England is my favourite team. I hope everyone will pray for England's victory.

6. Pune Deck7:43 am

AZLAN

Kau ni sesat pertimbangan.

Holy land is a priority and a time will come you have to go for jihad to teh Holy Land.

7. Anonymous10:56 am

And yet Petronas bows down to US pressure to boycott supplying oil to Iran.
    Mana hero2 Islam di waktu itu?

8. Lets not be a hypocrite Malaysians, we have to first to unite in our own country first, among races, and to help the poor here first rather than exploiting a "popular" cause! Let the millions Arabs in the middle-east help Palestine for they can if they are indeed united, but we here in this blessed country called Malaysia, Malaysians have to look after our own desperate and unfortunate people, yes there are still people in need of assistance in this cou8ntry. We can demonstrate a thousand times and sodomite like Brother Anwar Bin Ibrahim can take advantage of the situation in Gaza for his own political end but the fact still remain that the belligerent Zionist-Israeli will do anything in their power to exercise what they believe that will make their small, repeat small, country safe from what they perceived as their enemies!

9. http://marahku.blogspot.com/2010/06/israeli-commando-who-shot-six.html

WTF????

Israeli commando who killed up to six innocent aid worker is being considered for award

read it HERE

10. Anonymous12:38 pm

Bru, boleh tahan jugak KJ ni, masih berkuasa macam zaman Pak Mentua dia dulu. Dia pulak di sokong barua Tgkt 4 dia dulu Zaki. Org Umno kata dia ada kena mengena dgn Apco dan Omar Ong.
    Kalau menyalak simpati org Pelestin tp dibelakang sekongkol dgn Yahudi Haramjaddah, ini namanya Munafik.
    Tahniah Pemuda Umno.

ABU MUSLIM

11. Kalau setakat menyalak lepas aktivis kemanusiaan sudah mati, buat apa?

Bukannya Anwar atau KJ tu jadi sukarelawan atau menganjurkan penghantaran bantuan kemanusiaan ke Gaza pun.

Setakat nak dapatkan 'political mileage' atas usaha musuh mereka Tun Dr Mahathir.

Ejen kuasa asing berlakon melawan bos besar.

Lawak! Lawak!

12. Kadir1:16 pm

Tahniah KJ and all that involved, good luck with the Gaza charity drive Amin. All the best to all.

K

13. Anonymous1:18 pm

Abu aka Parpukari, jangan jadi bodoh, APCO yang engage was Gpvt of Malaysia bawah DS Najib yang tak ambik KJ jadi Menteri, so takkan syarikat media dia nak main ambik saja? Dont be stupid Abu aka Parpu.

14. Anonymous1:46 pm

hold it...we are NOT against Jews. We are against the intransigence, greed, cruelty and obnoxious stance of the Zionists...pls differentiate.

-peace

15. Anonymous2:08 pm

ai yo yo... still got time for shouting here, shouting there?

the country going to bankrupt in 9 years la!

16. Anonymous2:25 pm

“If another attack happens, we will rise. I am sure the people here will sacrifice our lives to fight for this.” There were assurances from him that: “We will not only demonstrate, but we will also make sure that we go to Gaza to defeat the Israeli regime.”... khairi.

why the fuck want to wait for another attack, go now!!! blardy fool talking cock!!!

17. WORLD ENVIRONMENT DAY 2010

On World Environment Day
    To your environment you must say
    "I'll take good care of you everyday!"
    This being the only logical and sensible way

(C) Samuel Goh Kim Eng - 050610
    http://MotivationInMotion.blogspot.com
    Sat. 5th June 2010.

18. WORLD ENVIRONMENT DAY 2010

On World Environment Day
    To your environment you must say
    "I'll take good care of you everyday!"
    This being the only logical and sensible way

(C) Samuel Goh Kim Eng - 050610
    http://MotivationInMotion.blogspot.com
    Sat. 5th June 2010.

19. Anonymous3:48 pm

cadangan kpd next flotilla,
    try to get live broadcast (satellite, mobile) to show what is really happening onboard when isrealis boarding the ship.

isrealis seems to get away with annoying statement

ircdd@yahoo.co.uk
    agil

20. Charles4:15 pm

PEWIRA wrote:

"Oooppps… he (Steven Speilberg) comes from a Jewish family… FAT CHANCE!"

Musician Gilad Aztmon also comes from a Jewish family - check out his views on the Israel-Palestine issue.
    http://www.gilad.co.uk

21. Anonymous4:44 pm

omg, my prayers for mv rachel corrie...hope they will be safe, though i really dread it after what happened to mavi marmara recently
    as for the Zionist Israelis, i pray for them too - may they burn in hell!

farha

22. Anonymous8:17 pm

The more we shout, the faster we get poorer because we divert our resources to help others but not our poor kampong people in sabah, sarawak and in w malaysia.

Malu malu malu aku.

23. MV Rachel Corrie dah kena tawan Israeli Navy. Sama2 kita berdoa semoga mrk takkan mengapa2kan/mencederakan 6 aktivis Msia & aktivis dari negara lain.

24. Nstman5:49 am

This is a message to woolly=headed idealists and cock talkers: Dont just talk cock. If you have the guts, go straight to Israel and blow yourself up. Dont just talk drivel and making a fool of yourself outide the US embassy. Berani, kah? In the meantime, just eat your nasi kerbau, laksa kedah, nasi kangkang and get ready for the World Cup. I have had enough of idiocy and lunacy. I just want to get back my sanity. In the meantime, best wishes to our freedom fighters.