Sunday, April 18, 2010

The Malay Mail, again!

Best Investigative Report 2009. Yep, despite allegations that they are government-lovers, journalists in this country have been doing this kind of reporting year in, year out. This particular series of reports helped bring in the crooks involved in inside jobs at the Home Ministry and the Immigration Department earlier last year.

Congratulations to The Malay Mail for winning the Best Investigative Report award for the second consecutive year!

27 comments:

1. Congratulation Malay Mail and to you too Dato Rocky! You are the man!

2. Anonymous1:45 pm

Congratulation dato rocky. You made the difference.

3. Thank you House PK. The winning entries were published before I re-joined The Malay Mail. But the writer Masami and editors Yushaimi and Frankie are still around with us. Not for long, though, I suppose. Cos after this their market value will go up sky high and THe Malay Mail may not be able to afford them anymore.

4. ex-MM gal3:31 pm

You weren't around to know that it was a rip off of an NST report. Lame......

market value go up?? HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

5. Anonymous5:06 pm

hello, EX-MM Gal...so sour grape one, arh?

'sweetgrapes'

6. Anonymous5:27 pm

Well done Dato. the malay mail has proven again that they are best in investigative reporting.

wouldn't you now be keen to use the tagline malay mail, the top investigative newspaper?

dr jaya jayaram
    cheras

7. Anonymous5:32 pm

YB dato rocky, was it a Malay thing to leave out the Indian who spearheaded the investigation.

frankie deserves the accolades as well.

ex-New Malay Mail

8. Anonymous5:59 pm

malay mail has had a long tradition of winning investigative reporting awards. i am glad this has continued under you and Frankie. I am too old to remember Yushimi but i hear he is a good lad.

the mm has carved a special niche in investigations that others who attempted it have fallen by the wayside.

u guys keep goiung strong, hear? sorry, congrats masami.

malay mail in my heart

9. Kudos. We salute good journalism and journos readrless of who they work for!

dpp
    We are all of 1 race, the Human race

10. Hussein Yaakob8:26 pm

Rip off story mate. Sorry. Reporter is a nobody.

11. and yet, nobody could fill the shoes of DEVIL ADVOCATE... the column that made me started reading Malay Mail.

12. Anonymous9:25 pm

Why Sin Chew, MI, Mkini et al not included in the awards? Seems like the awards are decided by the political masters and divided amongst their media companies, (MMail, NST, Star, Utusan, Bernama, Nanyang, Media Prima). I guess Samy was left out of the party.

Yes, I agree, MMail was more palatable when relaunched in the Pakatan states. Unbiased reporting but I noticed a change in slant in the past few months. Somehow it was more worthwhile paying the ringgit than getting it free now.

13. Anonymous9:51 pm

RB,

Good job. However, I notice it is not easy to find Malay Mail even in area like Putrajaya and Taman Equine. Is the paper caters for urban readers only?

Rhan

14. Anonymous11:58 pm

You weren't around to know that it was a rip off of an NST report. Lame......

market value go up?? HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

xxx

True, the report was first published in NST but what NST had failed to do back then was to follow up on it and in that regard, failed to publish some of the things MM managed to reveal in the course of our follow ups.

It is normal for any publication to follow up on reports published in any other publication, you should be aware of that yourself as a reporter, and it is also normal for some publications to not give "credit" to the publications who had "broken" the story first.

Let me cite an example: MM had written a piece on the mystery contained within a safe box on display at the Tunku Abdul Rahman Memorial last year. When the safe was finally opened, NST had published a Bernama article about it - but had taken out the bit where Bernama had credited MM as being the first to have highlighted as to what could be in the safe.

If the NST reporter felt that he had a damn good story, he should have pursued it for as long as the story could be pursued.

And rip off or no, the story won. Can you say that you'll be able to pull off the same feat - and without resorting to "ripping off" other people's reports, as you put it so bluntly?

:)

15. Anonymous8:14 am

Wonder when Harakah or Suara Keadilan will be nominated.

Perhaps these two tabloids may want to buy out the MM journalists as part of a rebranding excercise?

16. tokman10:23 am

Sorry to read that The Sun is not one of those getting the awards or am I wrong here? Anyway 'investigative reportings' I believe do not include uncovering the weaknesses and wrongs of the ruling government......right? By the way I was once an employee of Utusan.

17. Turf Worrior10:37 am

Congrats Dato and to all at the Malay Mail. You guys are fantastic. Keep up the good work. Look forward for more awards to the malay mail chaps.

18. Mustapha Ong12:26 pm

Dear Rocky's bru,

Congratulations to Malay Mail for whatever it is worth for having won the investigating reporting award again. Though the winning is small but the honour is big for the dedicated reporting staff of Malay Mail.

By courtesy of MM I wish to congratulate Datuk Abdul Rahman Sulaiman, the newly appointed Bernama Chairman. I believe with his years of experience as Editor-in-Chief Bernama, one term MP and his recent exposure in government finance and economic issues as Head of Communication Unit NEAC,will help and enable him to revamp Bernama into an effective public media coordinating agency.

On another note, I fully support Mergawati's comment that "the time is ripe for to set up a Foreign Correspondents Club".(Sunday Star 18 April)

Over the last decades, the government had been too cautious and suspicious on the objective of setting up the FCC in Malaysia. There is certainly more merits than objection to provide a legalised forum for the foreign journalists based in Kuala Lumpur.

The government had been prejudice for the need of allowing a concerted effort by foreign journalists to express their views on controversial issues, that are barred for publication in the mainstream media.

Many countries in Asia had permitted the setting up of Foreign Correspondents Club without any fear of repercussion, including Japan,Indonesia,Thailand and Singapore. In this context, I do not blame the government's position due to the zealous and negative approach of the Ministries concerned, namely Information, Foreign Affairs, Home Affairs and National Security.

As reported prime minister Najib's recent dinner talk with Q & A session with more than 100 foreign journalists held in Singapore, was an ultimate success in the eyes of the articulated prime minister.

Congratulations to the Foreign Correspondents Association, who had done Malaysia a favour, though the impact would have been better if the event was held in Kuala Lumpur.

It is hoped that the prime minister himself will initiate the setting up of the Foreign Correspondents Club in Kuala Lumpur, so that more interactive forums with senior key ministers could be organised. The foreign journalists need to be professionally briefed on all major government plans and initiative, and not just in time of defending any slandering controversial issues as reported in the foreign media.

Government communication media and response need to be more transparent and proactive, in order to reduce exorbitant foreign consultant fees spent on short and long term public relations with our targeted foreign governments.

19. Anonymous2:33 pm

Commendable achievement! This yet another sign of world-class journalism.

You have continued to focus on exposing both the untruths and truths, the need for which is acute.

Many like me now rely on the Malay Mail and not mainstream portals as their sole gateway to the world, which means catering to a larger, broader audience.

20. Anonymous9:57 pm

dato, you were right about market value. masami has resigned to join the NST.
    i am told that another top reporter of yours teoh el sen has also resigned. what's happening?

could it be due to the power struggle between yushaimi, muzli and irwan?

look into it dato because its getting bad and many are unhappy.

how can people work when there is open infighting?

SAD

21. Anonymous10:15 am

Now I know that MPI-Petronas are toilet paper. Thanks for the info.

22. Anonymous10:43 am

Rocky, have you ever read Masami's raw copy'ah ... you would laugh to death.

Ariff Awang

23. Anonymous11:11 am

congratulations!!!!!!!!!!

i await your spin when msia goes with amaerika to war in Iran.

Wht would you say of Najib then..?
    hehehehe

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/world/us_and_americas/article7101161.ece

and what would empty vessels like HousePK say..lol

BN-g00n

24. Congrats Masami, the team and my old pals at MM. Keep up the good work. This sort of recognition is a bonus and adds gloss to your CV!

25. SAD Anonymous wrote:

"dato, you were right about market value. masami has resigned to join the NST.
    i am told that another top reporter of yours teoh el sen has also resigned. what's happening?

could it be due to the power struggle between yushaimi, muzli and irwan?

look into it dato because its getting bad and many are unhappy.

how can people work when there is open infighting?

SAD"

----------------

Hi SAD,

Masami and El Sen are good reporters, trained well, and ripe for the picking. That NST and the Free Malaysia Today portal want them is a compliment to The Malay Mail.

As for fighting, journalists do that all the time. The pressure of the work is such.

Thank you for yr concern.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Dear Rhan,

Soon the Malay Mail will be available in all petrol stations in the Klang Valley. Hope there's a petrol station near your place.

Thank you

26. Irwan8:54 pm

There's fighting between Yush, Muli & I? How come I didn't get that memo?

27. Anonymous1:08 am

Rocky, have you ever read Masami's raw copy'ah ... you would laugh to death.

Ariff Awang

XXX

Better a copy that can have you in stitches than one that has the copy clearer wanting to stab himself in the chest because the reporter spelt eyesore as eye-saw or grouse as grouch.

:)