Wednesday, September 03, 2008

"Why help private Chinese schools only, Perak?"

Update 5.30 am
Perak MB responds: State govt will approve 200 ha land for 16 private Islamic religious schools, considering 1,000 ha more. Read here.

Update 9pm -
Ahmad Ismail misses date with police. Read the Star On-Line report here.

Original Posting:-
Razali Ismail, the deputy Education Minister,
better has facts to support his allegation. In the wake of the "Chinese are squatters" remarks by an Umno politician, Razali could land himself in the soup for suggesting that the Perak government is helping only the Chienese schools. Sedition, even, if Ong Tee Keat has his way.

But if it's true, the Perak government has some explaining to do.

General September 03, 2008 13:35 PM
Razali Slams Perak Government For Only Helping Chinese Private Schools

KUALA TERENGGANU, Sept 3 (Bernama) -- State governments that want to give aid to schools in their respective states are urged to be fair and not consider political interests.

Deputy Education Minister Datuk Razali Ismail said he was disappointed with the step by the Perak state government to award 400 hectares of land to private Chinese schools only while public religious schools and Tamil schools, who were equally in need, also required aid and attention from the state government.

"If they really want to help to enhance education in the state, why give land to private Chinese schools only?" he said here Wednesday.

Razali praised the Terengganu state government which continously aided schools in the state including having two computer technicians in each district education office and a computer officer in each school in the state beginning next year.

He said the Terengganu state government also proposed giving a laptop computer to each student.

-- BERNAMA

77 comments:

1. Anonymous3:14 pm

Bro Rocky,

Tak lama lagi Jabatan Imigresen kena tukar nama sebab kaum satu lagi tak suka dengan nama tu.Sebab imigresen ada kena mengena dengan "immigrants". Hang rasa apakah nama baru yang sesuai untuk jabatan tu? Aku cadangkan nama Jabatan Kelayakan Keluar dan Masuk Negara.

Buyong

2. What this goon idiot talking about???What Perak government do is to aid PRIVATE Chinese Schools,can he understand the word 'private'??Ask himself what has the UMNO worms infested BN government has done for last 51 years to aid PRIVATE Chinese Schools????DONE is the answer,so,dont talk to me about national education interest,you UMNO bustards never learned and remorseful after GE14 and PP BE..SRJK Tamil and Chinese and Religios schools even they are so called national schools,,there get some aids from you but not as much as you give to MALAY Schools..Tell me,are you FAIR or FXCK policy????

3. Anonymous3:23 pm

National schools already have automatic funding and land allocation whenever there's new housing developments, don't they?

Instead, we should be asking for the reason that BN tend to allocate significant land or funds to Chinese schools (both national and private) only when it's close to general election? The recent Permatang Pauh by-election is a perfect case- Deputy Education Minister Datuk Dr Wee Ka Siong announced a RM200k allocation for a Chinese school in Kg Sungai Lembu -- an additional allocation to the RM1m which was announced a week earlier for five other Chinese schools in the constituency. And, of course, it's got NOTHING to do with the by-election, it's just coincidence coincidence coincidence, correct correct correct?

4. This Dep Edu Minister is being mischievious. The present Pakatan Govt is just remedying the situation.

Hasn't public religious schools being given their fair share of aid? If Tamil shools need more aid now it is because the previous BN Govt have been neglecting them. He must be a damn fool not to see this.

And insofar as Chinese schools go, they are pretty much on their own when it comes to survival. What's wrong in giving them some help now?

If education hasn't done this Deputy Minister any good, at least he should have been taught not to spit 'against the wind.'

5. Anonymous3:28 pm

Laptop for every student in Terengganu? Is that how Ahmad Said is spending the oil money? Better still - who is the supplier?

6. When does MB perak want to help open more school to Orang Asli in Perak. I saw a lot of orang asli in Perak that need more help than the rich chinese. Can malay or indian enter this chinese school??

7. Anonymous3:37 pm

SO.. WHAT IS WRONG WITH PERAK GOVT HELPING ONLY CHINESE PRIVATE SCHOOLS?? WHAT IS THERE TO EXPLAIN IF IT IS TRUE?

Why nobody say anything all these years when Sekolah Kebangsaan are given all sorts of help while the Sekolah JENIS Kebangsaan or Private Chinese schools or any other schools for the matter are left out and never given anything!? I came from a Missionary school and my headmistress had to sing at some charity function to raise enough funds to pay the school electricity bills all because no aid was given by the government to missionary schools then! Why nobody said anything? CRAP!

As for public religious schools and Tamil schools, how sure is this Deputy Education Minister that the Perak State Govt will not provide assistance is future? Afterall, they still have something like 4 years to do it you know!

8. Anonymous3:39 pm

ooooooiii batu api!

check dulu itu berita bernama.

9. After the ACA, is this another attack on the PR government in Perak?

Razali should ask himself why his ministry is not able to do that when they govern Perak. Like Tambun, another case of sour grape.

And, free laptop to children in Terengganu? Millions i think

10. Dear Rocky,
    These few days UMNO guys had been making noises when Perak MB announce that the state will award a piece of land to some Chinese schools in Ipoh.The UMNO people should check back that their previous govt had also given lands to variuos such Malay institutions.
    The Chinese never say anything publicly.Be fare to them also.Syabas MB.

11. Anonymous4:28 pm

Rocky
    There is nothing to explain.DAP runs the state exco and the MB from PAS is only a puppet.

Why have UMNO or PAS never explain the fact that they spend hundreds of millions to build State mosques but never State Churches,State Temples etc?

Cakap equality for all is only political talk.UMNO and PAS will slant to Malays/Muslims and DAP to Chinese.And if MCA or MIC got any balls, they will do the same.Wake up and grow up guys!

betullahtu

12. Anonymous4:30 pm

I think it is because the people from the chinese school have been constantly asking for funds while there's not much request from other schools. at least the money will be utilized fully from what i can see.

-kkman

13. The Perak state goverment cannot be seen as being racists if they label the BN govt as racists. they must practice what they preach.

14. dont fall into UMNO's trap, the Perak government have also doing something for the Sekolah Agama Rakyat; they have also looking for land to be given to SARs.

http://misabah.blogspot.com/2008/09/bantuan-perkapita-sar-dikembalikan-oleh.html

15. Anonymous4:52 pm

This deputy minister is too early to attack, please... this is not even their first year in power for them where as UMNO had wasted 51 years.

Like you are attending a wedding dinner and the 1st spoon you dig into is the Ayam Randang, the guy behind you shouted "Why eat Ayam Randang Only?"

I think UMNO has no clue to govern neither has a clue to recover.

16. wow.. free laptop for student.. i envy.. my free laptop require me to work my as5 off... envy envy but not sure is that a good move or just an impulse move to impress?

17. Anonymous5:32 pm

I wish to point out that the Orang Asli, not the malays, are the original inhabitants of Malaysia. Most of the malay Malaysians came from Sumatra and other parts of Indonesia. They only migrated here much earlier than the Chinese and Indian Malaysians. It does not mean they deserve privileges or rights just because they were the pioneer immigrants.

It is true that there have been abuses under the name of malay special rights and it is the duty of the malays in particular, and all Malaysians in general, to stop it so that the rightful malays get their rights, and the non-malays get their rights as citizens of this country.

It is a sad thing to say, but I do believe the main thing that is holding back malays is not the Chinese or the Indians, but the malays themselves. That is why Badawi and Mahathir have been quoted as telling to throw away crutches and work hard to face the challenges of globalisation.

The malay and others of the same mind should learn to stand on their own feet rather than claim for special rights and privileges. The world is becoming globalised and if they don't change their attitude, they will only become beggars in their own country.

As for the malays who insist on hiding behind the veil of malay special rights - you have lost the respect of non-malays a long time ago.

We also suspect that the current situation will, unfortunately, get worse if no action is taken now. Why? Because our kids in school hardly mix with each other. They will grow up with little understanding of their fellow Malaysians, and with the suspicions that exist, it will be worse.

The truth of the matter is that polarisation in Malaysia is caused by the discriminatory practises of the government - especially after the NEP - rather than vernacular education.

The NEP is upheld for the rich and not the poor in Malaysia.

Whether we admit it or not, the problem is that the special rights and privileges given have now resulted in only a selected few malays getting richer and richer. The bulk of the malays, especially in the rural areas are not benefiting from the system.

Poor people are poor people, rich people are rich people - no matter which race they come from.

The poor in Malaysia must be served but I am sure all taxpayers feel that this should be done in a manner which is blind to age, ethnicity, gender and religion.

What is wrong with extending help to all deserving citizens based on merits and needs regardless of race?

The Malaysia problem is that rich do become richer. And because of the political system, the players are the same.

Out of control - this is all I can say about any type of enforcement and the level of corruption in Malaysia. No idea what Badawi has done in his four years in office but judging from the ground, I guess nothing much.

If you have ever heard of the simple saying, "Give a man a fish, he eats for a day, teach him how to fish and he eats for a lifetime." you will realise that many non-malays have learned how to fish but the government is still handing out fishes to the malays. One day the fish will run out.

If you want to say discrimination is here in the US, yes, of course it is. Can you name a country where it doesn't happen? But let me tell you one thing - if you go looking for it, you will find it. But in Malaysia, you don't have to go look for it because it seeks you out, slaps you in your face every which way you turn, and is sanctioned by law!

Official figures have more than one million Chinese Malaysians emigrating over the past 25 years. Why did they emigrate? I am sure the government knows.

For most professionals, living abroad has its own ups and downs. But you get dignity, fair treatment and respect for your ability. You get a voice too. And ears to hear you.

Brain drain by the tank-loads is what we get. Every single year, Malaysia loses people who could potentially contribute to the country immensely.

So malay, you may keep your rights and perpetuate them. Such things are archaic. Who loses in the end? Your country, which should have been a first world one by today.

I sympathize with those that have benefited from the NEP, but the bad news is that the price he pays for his progress is much higher than what he pays for his benefit.

These special rights and privileges were once a necessity for them to move forward. Today, after many decades, they find themselves still standing in the same place.

It is a shame that our history has been constantly twisted so that our younger generation has no understanding of Malaysia's foundation and its true aspiration.

It is arguable that if not for the contributions of the Chinese and Indian Malaysians who helped in the development of this country tremendously, Malaysia would probably be in same category like Indonesia or the Philippines, if not worst.

To improve the malays lot, more have to be made to work in private companies where competition is real and what count is your ability. If special rights only help malays to become government servants, then all the more reason not to invoke special rights.

But of course, the present ruling elite drunken with wealth, will continue to fight this dream to ensure that Malaysia is kept divided so that BN can continue to rule.

Alternatively, Malaysians may begin to realise the dream of a new Malaysia.

The bitter truth is that the majority of this nation don't see the need to change things yet and until then, we can do little about it.

The bottom line with present day globalisation is this: compete on a level-playing field or you will lose. Plain and simple.

18. Anonymous5:38 pm

Thats the problem with the whole god damn Race issue.

Why not have all same national school and then decide whether you wanna study chinese, english, BM, Tamil or whatever.

If chinese fight for school it is racist. When malays want place to study it has quota.

Why not let the student decide what to study ?

All the same regardless of race.

No more malaysian chinese.

Call me proud Malaysian.

19. Huh? Helping the Chinese...tak boleh ke? After that help the Indians and malay lah? Must follow the queue ke? melayu first, Cina second and Indian third? Bangang betul....At least they help the Chinese and not wait for by-election.

20. another racist remarks.

the Malay-Indian can also send their children to Chinese private school right?

so, what is the point?

21. I find this a little amuzing, if not sad.

Whenever the Chinese want to build their schools, the government objected ... well ... if they can't object, they stall, they hinder, they sabotage, they do anything to frustrate the Chinese.

But the Chinese persisted anyway.

So we have our own schools.

The government like it? No, of course not !

The racists regime only objective is to have each and everyone in this country to have names such as "ahmad bin abdullah", and to be able to speak only the Bahasa.

And since they can't stop the Chinese to keep on teaching their own children the Chinese culture, language, etc, the government has even accused the Chinese as "Racist", "Racial Chauvinist", "Traitors", "Babi", and so on....

Name calling won't stop the Chinese from persisting. Against all odds, they kept their school going, and going, and going ....

Please, do not take this in the wrong way, I am not playing the race game here, just point out the fact ...

On the other hand, on the "Sekolah Kebangsaan", and on "MARA" ... what do we see ?

Tons and tons and TONS of TAXPAYER money being poured into those schools, and a large part of those TAXPAYER money came from the Chinese.

So what can the Chinese do?

Nothing.

We just do what we have to keep our own school going, against ALL odds.

After 51 years of struggle, suddenly, there's a break in the dark cloud, a ray of sunshine finally shines through.

Someone from the government (PR) has finally seen the light ... to correct the wrong that had been perpetrated for the past 51 years.

They tried to level the playing field.

The 1,000 hectare of land aint much, but it's a start. We welcome it.

Do you know how deeply touched we Chinese are, for this fine gesture, from the PR government?

And before we can start celebrate, we have to look at our right, and at our left, and then we have to pinch ourselves, to make sure that we are not dreaming.

And before we can pinch ourselves, here come that guy accusing the PR government of "PRO CHINESE" !!!

Oh, C'mon, please !

Please gimme a break.

Please man. Don't those people have a heart ?

Sigh ...

I'm a Malaysian, but I've always felt that I'm not welcomed in my own country.

I've always felt as if I'm an outsider inside my own home.

When the dark cloud finally break, I had, for a fraction of a pico-second, felt that, finally, after the many years I've felt miserable in the country I love so much, that my country, like that Tin Man, has finally found its heart.

But I was wrong.

I was wrong to have hope for my country.

I was wrong to think that my country do care about how I feel.

I was wrong, man.

I was wrong.

Sigh ... back to feeling miserably again.

22. No offense, but I think it's best if they give aid to other school in other form. Cash or study material etc.

I'm not a big fans of the older generation stereotyping where they think Malaysia is made out of Chinese Money, Indian's Manpower and Malay's Land. However, there's a tendency for the below situation to happen if different people are granted a piece of land:
    Malay - Develop a school on the piece of land
    India - Sell the land, get cash, celebrate and use the balance to develop the school
    Chinese - Develop the land, sell the building on leasehold term, share the profit and use the balance to develop the school.

Sound to me like no school is going to be directly benefited from the land grant.

23. Anonymous6:25 pm

Why talk of Tamil, Chinese separate schools when one is actually rooting for Bangsa Malaysia. Isn't this racial segregation?

Why not have one national standard based school?
    With ALL science subjects in ENGLISH.
    A compulsory SECOND language: Bahasa Melayu
    An Optional THIRD Language: Mandarin, Tamil, Arabic as you like

Isn't this a better Idea?

24. Anonymous6:35 pm

We are merely playing into the hands of these wretched UMNOputra bastards who called themselves our political leaders. Bah! People, they are merely trying to stoke and incite hatred among us poor suffering Bolehland citizens. They merely want to inflame our Malay community to give them their unwavering support after the near-disastrous GE12 fiasco.

Shame on these godforsaken UMNO motherfuckers for insulting us as Malaysians. MALAYSIA BOLEH! What the fuck is wrong with UMNO?

25. Anonymous6:47 pm

Dear MB Perak...

listen to the people..not the UMNO a$$holes.

26. UMNO is helping the Chinese and Indians so much nowadays...and the Budget is all good news to Sabah And Sarawak. Never before..have they got so much goodies!!
    Same old style....same old baits/briberies...to win votes...they desperately need now.
    Permatang Pauh was the final test for UMNO...and Malaysians have spoken.
    But so glad...out come an UMNO tiny leader..calling other races as squatters...again exposing who UMNO is.
    Najib can apologise as much as he likes.
    UMNO is a hypocrtical...crooked party.

27. Anonymous7:09 pm

There shouldn't be a Chinese, Tamil or Religious school under the Education Ministry in the first place.

Improve the curiculum with ample time for mother tongue and religious studies. A better, expanded, single session system should replace the present one.

Efforts in education today should be towards a unifying philosophy, not the expansion of current exclusionary approaches.

If the power behind the throne in Perak, the DAP, is truly sincere about "Malaysian Malaysia", they should push for a unified school environment.

"Vernacular" and "Religious" education is just an excuse to segregate our children at a young age. By the time they leave primary education, their identities would have been solidly formed - racially.

The educators/activists/chauvinists/fundamentalists understand this. They want this. And both political coalitions fall over themselves in capitulation, especially DAP and MCA/Gerakan.

For Islamic studies, it should either fall under the purview of state Islamic departments and their mosque network, or as the last or additional period of a single-session system. The co-opting of Madrasahs and Pondoks into the national education system is the irresponsible one-upmanship between UMNO & PAS regarding who can Islamise our education system the most. Anwar in fact was the point-man hoisting UMNO's Islamisation banner in government when he was steamrolling on the party's behalf.

Billions could have been spent elsewhere if we didn't have to send our teens to remedial, "National Service" camps - to re-jig what has already been imbibed into them in their most formative years.

Race-based policies and communal politics are practised by ALL contemporary parties in Malaysia. Only a few are honest enough to admit it.

- Abang Maimon.

28. Anonymous7:50 pm

Bro,just READ WHY NST inserted an apoloogy over that stupid advertisement inserted by University TAR on the commemerate occassion of the VIP's something2....is that the so-calleed justification by Ministry of Education who spent HUGE amount of stupid tax payer fund and in return of THAT sorts of result??? tidak malu kah ooh.....

29. WHY did NST inserted an apology over an adv inserted by the so-called University TAR on the occassion of ???? with that sort of University standard being so proud that Ministry of Education is happy to justify for the $$$ well spent??? and the pupils being so highly educated overnite kah??? thick skin kah........

30. Anonymous8:07 pm

i'm malay and hate racist policy of stupid umno and agree with malaccan view,thethinker & romeo61. this is what "MALAYSIAN" is all about.all races are equal.

31. Anonymous9:28 pm

chinese school..bla bla bla..
    i agree with some that we all should go to 1 school. more allocation can be given.
    You can eliminate all this problems. U wanna emulate other countries Education system but still cant go to the same school. Blame BN? nahh..blame yourself...
    bangsa malaysia konon...
    -camshial-

32. Anonymous9:30 pm

National school is for all malaysian!

Sick & tired of those who fight for bangsa Malaysia but failed to agree to send their children in one school!!

Does chinese & indian school relevant now when u talk about bangsa malaysia? Why cant u send send ur child to National school and let them mix among themselves be it chinese, malay n indian. Let them learn n respect each other from the very beginning of their live!

When TDM introduced sekolah integrasi, it was not welcomed esp by those who is now fighting for bangsa malaysia.

What is that u want actually? U send ur children to chinese and indian schools, does that create barriers at their early age with the malays? Then, u shout at people to preach 'bangsa malaysia' When is the ending? What is bangsa malaysia meant to u? What is so lackened in National school?

If everybody goes to ONE SCHOOL, lots of problems will be solved! No one will complaint, who get more & who get less!

U talked a lot for bangsa malaysia, but u urselves piled up the barriers! Shame on u!.

33. Dear Perak MB,

Just do what is necessary b'cos either way they are bound to be ppl complaining. As long as your conscience is clear, just do it. Remember the rakyat is your boss.Just be fair and all parties will be happy.

34. Anonymous10:15 pm

DAP fights for 'bangsa malaysia'?, org2 teman kate 'axxhole..'! Org putih kate 'bughiit..'!

35. Bro Rocky,

Now we can see who's a real racist. When Ahmad Ismail uttered the allegedly racial slur the whole Chinese community including the born-again opposition The Star is blowing the trumpet. Even an apology by Dato' Seri Najib is not sufficient, as the recent post by Dato' Wong reads. But when Perak awarded 400 hectare of land to chinese independent schools in Perak and intentionally left out religious, tamil and national schools, the same editor has not uttered a single word, let alone blow the horn. Why? Because it benefits the chinese community. And yet this paper is asking us to think like Bangsa Malaysia.

36. Anonymous10:18 pm

Rocky

Macam mahathir cakap dulu, Melayu mudah lupa, betul kan.

Ni lah politik UMNO yang bodoh, tak malu, makan dengan titik peluh orang lain dan cakap bukan main.

Surh Pm sack the fool, vats was NEP kalau bukan wang orang lain, diguna utk orang orang Melayu.

Why dont we get the truth out, which race pays the highest tax the last 40 years, better still which companies????????? Baru padan muka Melayu Mmacam Ismail.

minah

37. Anonymous11:07 pm

national school for everyone...?

pordah, when all the ministers & umno mp send their kids & grandchildrens to international schools like alice smith, cempaka, uplands, elc, fairview, mutiara, st christopher, iskl & etc.

ban vernacular & religious school? by all mean go ahead & at the same time all those intl. schools as well.

hello hypocrites, wanna talk about integrasi this, integrasi that, tak payah la!

***crackodollah

38. Anonymous11:38 pm

I vote BN all the time and this Razali idiot is the only one I didn't vote. He won by very small margin. (Mat Sabu lost because he only appear very last minute and fail to make speech at chinese area.)

I don't feel surprised by Razali idiot remaks because he gave only RM500.00 (Ringgit: Lima Ratus sahaja)to one Chinese school when he was in-charge. The whole state only consist 6 Chinese primary school while around 300++ malay school.

Wang Ehsan (suppose Trg oil royalty)spent millions on malay school.

Why RM500.00 only. We don't pay tax meh? We know majority malay don't pay.

(Why I said malay school because 99% from management to pupil are malay and no chinese would like to send their children there unless no choice. guaranty kena bully).

39. Maybe the one asking the question of the Perak government must first ask what was it that have been given todards Malay/Islamic schools over the last, say 30 years and how much was given to the Chinese schools over the same time period. AFter having made the comparison, then you ask la.

When you ask in isolation and you expect an answer you can spin it any which way you want. But relative to something like this comparison, then the magnitutude of the present Perak Government's sins can be quantified. And if it is absurd, I will join in to ask the Perak Government too. Fair?

40. After merdeka for 51 years, it seems that quite a lot (and I mean really a lot) Rakyat Malaysia are still ignorant of the unique Malaysian Education system that we have.

Apart from the so-called National school system, we have the so-called national typed school (Government assisted) and the so-called Independence School (whole-funded by the community or private enterprise). I personally think that any attempt to clamp down by Force on these diversified school system that we have will do more harm that good, even in the name of National Unity.

The best way to ensure National school as the first choice of all malaysian parents is to provide quality education and multi-racial learning environment.

Non-malay parents stop sending their children to National school primarily due to the growing "religious-inclined" atmosphere and deteriorating standard of education.

Any way what we would like to see is that we have the next generation that is competitive, open-mined and multi-lingual in order to survive and compete as nation.

So, what's wrong with providing aids to any schools with Anak Malaysia?

41. UMNO never help.
    UMNO do things to win votes.
    UMNO is simply too low class.

42. Anonymous1:10 am

Why we still want to play UMNO game of divide and rule ? Read latest Bernama report on " PERAK gives Land for 18 Islamic School" I think of all the 5 PKRS' MB PeraK MB do not talk much but do more for ALL MALAYSIAN
    Anak Malaysia

43. To have the identity of Bangsa Malaysia is it not best to start educate our childrens first?

Why is there the need to have different schools with difference language?

Bahasa Malaysia should be the lingua franca in Bangsa Malaysia is it not?

So why do you need Chinese schools or Indian Schools, We are not in China or India are we.. Hence we should only have National School with Bahasa Malaysia as the de facto language.

What is the point of changing the name of Bahasa Melayu to Bahasa Malaysia if "Malaysians" are not using it.

Irony is when the very people who hails and shouts about Bangsa Malaysia can at the same time defend this segregation of our children and parallel Identity education system.

Is Bangsa Malaysia are only applicable to open tender projects, university qualifications and questioning the Malay Rights or the so called fantasy of social contract?

Ahh yes, Indeed Hypocrisy at it's best.. It is true that these days there are many racists who mask themselves as liberals...

44. Anonymous3:43 am

Dear Bro Rocky,

I'm perplexed that some of us here still do not know the education policy for the integration of Malaysian citizens. Worst of all they don't even know the history of Malay Nusantara people and look down at these naturally humble and tolerant people. (Please read former British resident, Sir Frank Swettenham's 'The Real Malay'). They think Malay Archipelago mentioned by A.R. Wallace, or Golden Peninsular by Ptolemy was a no man's land. The Malays are naturally non-racist and have a high degree of tolerance threshold. Only until one stage where they can't bear, they run 'amok' as what the Portuguese and British documented. Some of us here keep barking that the Orang Asli is the sole natives and they want us to believe that the Malays are from Indonesia so that the Malay root is detached from the people of Malaysia. Who's work is this? They say from one in Singapore (Singapura OK) to confuse the people and rewrite the history to legitimise all the wrongdoings. That's why Raffles and Francis Light are the one who are supposed to 'open' those islands when we Malays have been there and form government for ages. Singapura belongs to the Johor Sultanate. Pulau Pinang belongs to Kedah Sultanate. The Aceh Empire also used to occupy Pulau Pinang. GeorgeTown is called Tanjung to the Malay people. Is seems no respect has been given at all to the people who are willing to share their lands and give helping hands you when you come here, yet even wants to change their identity and reinvent the local history and laws. That's why the Malays are so angry. Is it because of our chauvinistic separated education system? I can't recall any of these vernacular schools in the overseas. Are we in China? And now they are demanding more? Is securing lands for the Chinese as much as possible now in Perak is the main policy following the new village and private chinese school issues? The national school which is equivalent to public schools in other places is supposed to be downgraded. The Wawasan School which a nobel idea was thrown back to the government's face. And you all are talking unity and non-prejudice rhetorics? Please la brothers and sisters, don't be emotional and start looking around you, where you stay and who are your neighbours.
    Malays have been here for thousands of years. Their kingdoms are numerous through out the history just like yours. Before 1824 agreement between the British and the Dutch colonials there were no such thing as Malaysia or Indonesia. We were the Malay Archipelago natives. We were close and distant relatives. That's why we travel as much as we like within it and become excellant sea-farers. We are from the Polynesian group of people comprising Southern Thailand, Malaya, Indonesia, Phillipines, Christmas Island, Maldives, as far as Taiwan, South Pacific and Hawaii. We are as proud of our own history as yours. There were Kedah Lama, Funan, Langkasuka, Beruas and Gangga Negara, Manjung, Sri Vijaya, Majapahit, Melaka, Demak, Aceh, Samudera-Pasai, Mataram, Riau-Lingga, Sulu Sultanate, Brunei Sultanate Kingdoms among others across the history and some of the empires includes our Peninsular and Borneo as their territory one after another. The Orang Asli Melayu are our brothers, because some of us wants to stick with Hindu, Islam, Christianity or Paganism as our way of life.
    Political administrative problems are everywhere in the world. It has nothing to do with the Malay people or UMNO per se. Don't ever complicate it with history and other people's dignity and kind-heartedness, let alone destroy the ancient Malay institution. OK brothers and sisters?

45. Anonymous4:54 am

dunno much about what Perak Gov has done. but to say they 'only' help private chinese schools seems seems misleading and this definitely will fan racist sentiment to the Malays.

Read;
    Kerajaan Negeri Perak kembalikan bantuan RM1.3 Juta kepada SAR

http://www.harakahdaily.net/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=16785&Itemid=1

46. Anonymous5:24 am

Hey Malay Archipelago,

Please don't call Orang Asli as Orang Asli Melayu, we Orang Asli do not wish to be indentified with you Melayu. Melayu are more Arab now, already sold to the Arab since Dr M started the ball rolling.

So please stop the term, it is an insult.

47. Anonymous6:58 am

Hey, orang asli,

DITTO :)

regards,
    Orang Asli Sabah

48. Anonymous9:48 am

sighs... the chinese has always been supportive of pakatan rakyat. I can't get it why must the pakatan help those chinese schools. Pakatan must increase the support from rural and urban malays, as they are the king makers in elections. I am a chinese myself, and i felt if they kept helping the chinese, Perak will fall to BN in the 13th GE..

Danny
    Kuching

49. Anonymous10:01 am

Apa khabar semua,

Saya melihat orang orang Cina marah apabila si UMNO ni buat kenyataan begitu.

Dalam Bahasa Melayu ada kata kata yang menyebut 'yang tersirat di sebalik yang tersurat'. Yang tersurat ialah di dalam akhbar, yang tersirat ialah KENYATAAN INI DITUJUKAN PADA ORANG MELAYU PERAK KHASNYA DAN MELAYU DI NEGERI LAIN AM-NYA UNTUK MENANAM PERASAAN BENCI DAN SANGSI DENGAN KEIKHLASAN KERAJAAN PR.Inilah tujuannya yang sebenar.

Apa yang harus kita lakukan untuk menarik penyokong UMNO bawahan dan pengundi atas pagar ini? Itu pemimpin PR lebih tahu, kita serahkan pada mereka yang lebih arif.

Misi kita sekarang ialah menarik UMNO bawahan dan pengundi Melayu atas pagar supaya kerajaan PR Perak lebih stabil di masa akan datang.

Johor akan menyusul, Insya Allah, sudah nampak perubahan sedikit sedikit walaupun lambat.

Puan UA,
    Kluang, Johor.

50. Anonymous10:06 am

BATU,

Your delibrate choice of the title shows you a corrupted racist and trying to be a batu api, creating racial tension here !

I wellcome what the Perak state government is doing, by giving land to school to help funding their operations for the sake of education, instead of giving to corrupt politicians and their cronies.

Why ? look at the produce of the sekolah kebangsaan, hence University Tun Hussein Onn..BUAT MALU SAHAJA !

51. This should be the way. Pls note that chinese schools are open to all races.
    Malaysians inclusive of malays of all races nowadays are sending their offsprings to chinese school for education to master the language.
    Not to worry, in chinese schools student are taught to observe great values such as filial piety, "sikap tak boros", honour, unconditional love etc etc.
    If not for the poor condition of many such schools, i would have sent my daughter to such school then.

52. The sekolah wawasan is a good idea but the implementation eems to be hasty and fishy at the time. That is why it was rejected by the chinese educationist. Have those chinese educationist been consulted then ?. A lot of their worries has not been addressed. It would take a sincere governance to implement the Sekolah Wawasan and definately not the Barisan Najis. Barisan Najis plan is to poison the mind of the rakyats in the name of education.
    See the results for yourself, the recent UiTM issue and the growing of Mat Rempits. This is the by-products of our national poor education system.
    I myself trap in such dilemma as i have to send my kids to National schools after evaluationing the conditions of the schools. Sekolah jenis kebangsaan sememangnya "kurang serba serbi".

53. Anonymous12:51 pm

My thought for those racist:

Giving the land for the cause of education is a good deed, these land are not given to individual who will only enrich himself. What is there to complain when the idle non-productive land is given to an not-for profit organisation who will make the land productive and in so doing, will lessen the burden from the society and parents.

Just imagine how much the private chinese school have help the govenment saved for the past 51 years in education, and in turn all the money government saved were used for the "unfortunate" or "fortunate" national school.

Having said that, did the government lose anything by giving track of unproductive land to an organisation who will use the land for procuctive purposes for the cause of education?

JP

54. Anonymous1:05 pm

Chinese schools must allocate 10% admission for non-chinese. THey need better integration with malaysian society.

Anon

55. Anonymous1:12 pm

Orang Asli was from Africa, not here. You can see traces of africaness in their hair and face.

Irony

56. Datuk Nizar is a fair man and these selective news are meant to character-assasinate including the whole state of Perak. Whenever AMNO flers tries to smear and taint, they will be the first to stink!

Treat this sudden ruckus by Latok whatever of AMNO with extreme scepticism.

57. I somewhat agree with Malay Archipelago .. first of, should the Govt provide a lot of assistance to PRIVATE schools? second, we like the idea about "Bangsa Malaysia" right? we should then support schools that support this intention. Why do we need to have Chinese or Tamil schools anymore? I think if you want to have "Bangsa Malaysia", we need to start by practicing our "Bahasa Malaysia" first, no?

58. Anonymous2:12 pm

We can see the sincerity of non malays to the Malaysian Malaysia ideal partly just by reading comments here....

They define Malaysian Malaysia based on their convenient and benefits..for them Malaysian Malaysia = NEP Abolishment/Chinese deputy prime minister..

When asked to eliminate chinese/indian school, they gives all sort of excuses..they refuse to see that it is the division of schools at an early age that segregate race..also they can't even speak Malay .(melentur buluh biar dari rebung)

wow..if that doesn't seen as non malays being the receiving end (TAKE, TAKE TAKE) AND Malays being the ever sooo accomodative to (GIVE,GIVE,GIVE)..this will create sort of imbalance condition and dissatisfaction....and the victims I would say MALAYS who will lose everything in time

Please ask yourself sincerely, do you know what Malaysian Malaysia means/defined/requirements as OR you just use the opportunity under weak government to take from other people as much as you can without giving back?

59. Anonymous2:55 pm

wayang sebenar sudah bermula..

More will come within this 4yrs time of bloody AAB era..

So, to all you stupid Malays-liberalist, Malay Bangsat Malaysia fan, Malay-equilizer..
    wake up...time to use your brain, bloody idiot...do not be like AAB..

why forever want to be an ass to other people...asshole

Seperti kata pepatah Melayu..
    "Sudah terhantuk baru tergadah.."

aku sgt suka tengok kepala Melayu pecah berdarah kena hantuk w/pun ada beberapa Melayu yg mampus akibat terkeluar otak ..supaya rata2 Melayu mudah pelupa ni lekas sikit sedar..

Tq so much PR :)

60. Saudara justmy2sen, you hit the nail where it matters. This is exactly what many Malays are thinking however you have put one better by articulating the thoughts of many Malays clearly in writing.

In a nutshell, some of the commentators here wants to keep what they have and not share BUT what ever little the Malays have they want also. It does not seem fair does it.

The idea of Malaysian Malaysia equality to all was first fiercely put up by Mr Lee Kuan Yew when Singapore joined Malaysia many years back, Lee Kuan Yew was such a pain to Tengku Abdul Rahman that he decided to oust Singapore from Malaysia and in 1967 Singapore became an independent state. You know what? When Lee Kuan Yew came into power as Prime Minister, he never carried the slogan of Singaporean Singapore for obvious demographic reasons I guess.

61. Anonymous3:47 pm

Can Bahasa Malaysia be use to converse with trading partner US & China???? Can we use Bahasa Malaysia and they understand us??? Can Bahasa Malaysia be use to gather knowledge and sent 1st Malaysian to the moon?? Typical Malaysian chinese teen here able to speak & converse in multiple languages which can be very useful for them in later life.For me, I would sent my kids to learn Chinese, as China has huge market and 1/5 of world population is Chinese language, the other English. Of course if India has super economy and advance I would encourage my child to learn Indian also. Chinese are more pragmatist in economy, and what is useful for them in life later. I fully ashame with Malaysia university graduates who don't even know how to speak English well.......don't talk about Chinese school system. Tak boleh di pakai.

Pakai Otak

62. Anonymous3:57 pm

YB NIZAR IS MALAY BY SIGHT,CHINESE AT HEART.THAT MAKES A GOOD PAKATAN RAKYAT.is it true that his mother is a CHINESE convert?

63. Saudara Pakai Otak, so can Swedish, Finnish, French, Arabic or Spanish be used to converse with trading partners in US, India or China.

The Swedes have Swedish as their National Language the Finns speak Finnish, French speaks French, the Arabs speaks Arabic as a unifying language in their mother country like what Bahasa Melayu should be as the national/unifying language in Malaysia.

Of course when you trade with other countries you have to use THEIR language be it Chinese, English, Hindi, Tamil etc it does not need a "Chinese who are pragmatic in economy" to recognise this fact. For your information this fact is universally accepted by all literate people in this planet.

And please pakai otak sikitlah when you speak about Malaysian University Graduates punya English,of course some are good some are bad in English, just do not generalise and assume, as it makes an ass of you and everybody else like you.

64. Anonymous5:50 pm

Those Malaysia for Bangsa Malaysia supporters is hypocritical when it comes to unification in schools...

Still want to talk about Chinese schools, Indian Schools, SARs, etc.

If really sincere to promote unity, have one national school system and let our kids integrate...

gua

65. The solution is rather simple, imho. The situation will turns, the moment Sekolah Kebangsaan is able to match and exceed the quality of school education provided by the Sek Keb (C) or (T).

66. Anonymous7:09 pm

I am a Chinese but I do not agree with aid to these Independent Chinese schools. FIrstly, these schools are not even using our national education syllabus but still adopting some weird syllabus aligned to China or Taiwan. Since the parents are willing to send their children to such schools, I think it is their own responsibility (and that who supports this system) to fund these schools on their own. Why waste public money?

I wouldn't mind if they spend the allocation on govt. Chinese or Tamil schools. But independent schools?

67. Anonymous11:48 pm

(heha) : hey, asst minister, look here : 5 billion is being spent on 'maths/sains' projek but till now Rm10juta of materials terHILANG
    ...@#$%^&*...OUR MONEY LAH bukan lu punya...@#$%^&*...do your work & SHUT UP ...@#$%^&*...!!!

68. Anonymous1:49 am

Ni terlampau ghairah nak meraih sokongan dari orang cina. Macam2 benda menggelabah dia buat. Kenapa fokus kat situ je, yang lain taknak tolong ke?

69. Anonymous8:01 am

HOW COME IT IS NOT RACIST WHEN....

1) Chinese bangs Malays for defending their rights of his/her race (perasan tak Malays are never the ones who do the attacking, but more on defending), HOW COME IT IS NOT RACIST?

2) The MB Perak Appointment (this is turning point for me to regret voting Pakatan (how suddenly DAP, the saviour of meritocracy showed its true colour talking about majority) .Did you see the Ngeh guys was brought tongue tied by reporter(Jaswant Singh, i think) question. Can't even answer reporters questions, where got MERIT?, HOW COME IT IS NOT RACIST?

3) Chinese MP stormed to a surau development ceremony resulted the surau to be put on hold, HOW COME IT IS NOT RACIST?

4) DAP ADUN who prefers to forget his responsibility to his constituency for refusing to wear songkok, HOW COME IT IS NOT RACIST?

5) Chinese calling Malays lazy, uncompetitive, HOW COME IT IS NOT RACIST?

6) Chinese overrated while Malays underrated in the workplace, HOW COME IT IS NOT RACIST?

8) Mandarin speaking for employment, HOW COME IT IS NOT RACIST?

9) Chinese prefers sending kids to Chinese school than Sekolah Kebangsaan?, HOW COME IT IS NOT RACIST?

10) Chinese talking about rules of islam without having knowledge about it, HOW COME IT IS NOT RACIST?
    (Note: I can have a good time talking about Buddha patung, but i don't as it is other people's religion and i can't give opinion on that as I've no knowledge about it)

11) Indians potraying Islam is intolerant by having Forum memeluk Islam without having a perspective of Islam Uztaz and converts who have no problem converting, HOW COME IT IS NOT RACIST?

12) http://rockybru2.blogspot.com/2008/04/karpal-contemptible.html, HOW COME IT IS NOT RACIST?

13) Chinese supplier mark-up prices for Malays, HOW COME IT IS NOT RACIST?

14) Chinese employers give lower salary to Malays for same amount of work, HOW COME IT IS NOT RACIST?

15) Karpal and Kit Siang kurang ajar to Raja Melayu, HOW COME IT IS NOT RACIST?

BTW, I'd like to extent early congrats to Chinese as THEY WILL GET WHAT THEY WANT when Anwar's in power...NEP abolishment, Chinese DPM (and eventually chinese PM-if Anwar's convicted or something)..at least when the times happens, i've done my share to ALERT Malays but to all the liberal Malays (or Melayu TSD-tak sedar diri), this is my prayer everyday:

" Ya Allah, jika kerana golongan ini membuatkan islam di Malaysia berkurang (dari setiap segi) dari apa yg ada Engkau laknatkanlah golongan2 ini"

70. OIC,

Tamil and Chinese school have the best education system and speaking Malay (b.Malaysia) is low class. So student in Sekolah kebangsaan is consider very low class and not qualify for university. National university is like sampah because the have malay admin and malay lecturer. Ok guys..see.see...see..change our national languange la...Mandarin, Tamil and malay is the last.
    Orang Asli..hahahahahhahaha Ok good luck for Pakatan FXXyat.

71. Anonymous9:33 am

Ni kes nak kumpul penyokong la ni.
    Dah takde taktik lain.

72. Anonymous2:38 pm

Chinese bang unfair policy which is racist. Chinese never bang Islam and Bahasa Malaysia right of Malay and Sultan. So Chinese is right to protect themselves. But UMNO politician keep on uttering unfair things about Chinese which is racist. Since when fighting for justice is racist? Don't you think UMNO is more racist in talking about unfair policy? I think you all screw up by BN propaganda.

Chinese_blog

73. Anonymous5:36 pm

http://www.kulitpisang.com

MB Perak diminta jangan ketepi kepentingan orang Melayu

Badan Perhubungan UMNO Perak meminta Menteri Besar, Datuk Seri Mohammad Nizar Jamaludin supaya tidak mengetepikan kepentingan orang Melayu dan Islam walaupun negeri itu diperintah pembangkang.

Setiausaha Kerjanya Datuk Hasbullah Osman berkata tindakannya meluluskan 400 hektar tanah kepada sembilan sekolah persendirian Cina menjadi tanda tanya apabila kerajaan negeri yang diterajui Menteri Besar dari parti Pas itu gagal melihat kepentingan untuk membantu orang Melayu selepas negeri itu diperintah pembangkang.

Hasbullah yang juga Anggota Dewan Undangan Negeri kawasan Temenggor dalam Parlimen Gerik berkata Mohamad Nizar perlu memikirkan kepentingan orang Melayu walaupun tindakan meluluskan tanah itu bukan satu kesalahan.

Beliau ditemui selepas menyampaikan bantuan bubur lambuk kepada masyarakat Islam di Pekan Pengkalan Hulu petang semalam.

Semalam, Ketua Pemuda UMNO Perak, Zainol Fadzi Paharudin menyatakan kekesalan dengan tindakan kerajaan Perak berhubung perkara itu dan meminta Menteri Besar itu bersikap adil dalam membantu rakyat.

Beliau berkata rakyat akan menuduh kepimpinan negeri terutama Menteri Besar tidak tahu mentadbir negeri dengan hanya membantu satu pihak dan mengabaikan pihak lain.

-koloi-

74. Anonymous9:35 pm

We can all rant and rave till the cows come home to godforsaken Bolehland country and yet we will not improve anything, not even our grey matter will change.

The fact remains we will quarrel and fight among ourselves in an ever shrinking rice-bowl and starve to kingdom come whereas the outside world at large will revolve and evolve till our eyes go blind and bonkers. Where the hell are we.....?

We are all a myopic lot. You can all rot in hell - that is this wretched Malaysia Boleh country! Keep the peace, for Pete's sake.....

75. Anonymous1:22 am

I think where the Perak govt has got it wrong is to provide assistance to private schools. Private schools might still be schools but they are private. It is up to them to decide whether to be for profit or not. However, they choose to be independent to get greater say over how they administer the school.

If the govt starts with Chinese schools, should the Selangor govt be granting land to the likes of Alice Smith etc? Where does it end?

On the issue of vernacular/bumiputera govt schools, I am for abolishing them. There is a need to get the different races to mix again. There is no point putting the bright malays into boarding school as it deprives the sekolah kebangsaan of additional talent. It also gives the impression that malays are not bright when only 3-4malays make it into each science stream class, when in fact the bright ones are all in asramas.

Finally on the issue of language. There is no Bahasa Malaysia to unite the races like there is Hindi and Mandarin which unites the different races in India and China. What needs to happen is for there to be an emphasis for teaching English and Bahasa Melayu alongside Mandarin and Hindi. I am an Indian but there is very little application of Tamil beyond the home and Tamil Nadu. Students would be better off learning Hindi which would allow them to communicate with 1bn people from the subcontinent. Learning these four languages in school will equip a student with the basic language skills to work anywhere in Asia.

Indian

76. Anonymous5:32 pm

Gov spent more and more than we say on national school, then to compare to pakatan rakyat perak.

anyway that's not the point. Can national schools leave agama islam subject out during the school period. I don't want my children to come back and ask alot of things about islam to me. They are young and easy to get influanced when they were thought in schools.

We have heard some parents complained about it and let get real when muslims send their children to mission school, they are not happy about children learning rhymes songs in english.

I don't mind send my children if They(Sek Keb ) never use morning prayers ,praying to ALLah because this will influance other race children.

Im From tamil school, i don't have problem with mixing with malays and chinese, i can speak excellance Bahasa Melayu and can understand chinese, i don't think Vernacular schools is problem here.

Those days Malay ( before 1985 ) are far sighted and friendly and will come to our house for deepavali and enjoy our home cooked goodies, but now the malay think they are superior and cannot consume at kafir's house. These thinking/mentality, because of religion brought by........ made them we are KAFIR THEY ARE ABOVE US......

77. Anonymous1:16 am

Membantu sekolah Cina adalah satu kesilapan besar kepada negara. Semua orang tahu bahawa sekolah cina dan india menyekat penyatuan masyarakat Malaysia dengan mengasingkan anak-anak kecil dari bergaul dalam kaum yang berbeza. Dengan memberi bantuan kepada sekolah Cina dan India akan menghantar mesej bahawa kepentingan sempit komuniti adalah mendahului kepentingan negara. Lebih baik untuk mencari jalan agar masyarakat Cina dan India menghantar anak-anak mereka ke sekolah kebangsaan. Selepas 18/3, polarasi kaum bukan jauh dari berkurang malah meningkat lagi dan dengan membuat tindakan seperti ini akan membawa Malaysia kedalam polarasi kaum yang muktamad. - Chong.