Wednesday, September 03, 2008

Part 2 of ACA report against PM for Money Politics

Remember the ACA report filed against Abdullah Badawi by two Umno big-wigs on August 4? Well, there's a follow-up tomorrow morning. At 9 am at the Wilayah Anti-Corruption Agency office near Dataran Merdeka, Mazlan Haron and Kadar Shah will submit affidavits from witnesses in relations to their Aug 4 report against the Prime Minister.

31 comments:

1. What's taking ACA so long in taking up the case against the PM? I mean the other small fries have been hauled up and UMNO grassroot leaders have been portrayed as the worst criminals in the country, what about the Godfather for doing exactly the same thing?

UMNO has never been so humiliated. It was determined that no cases within UMNO could be brought before the law and should be dealt with within the party disciplinary committee? Now this?

2. Anonymous11:06 pm

well, who can touch PM!!! NObody, even police or ACA. He is the only one above the law like our previous PM,

zamri

3. hahahahahahaha.....This will be fun!
    Dollah give ACA power to catch crooks and Mahathir...and he is dragged into the net.

4. Anonymous12:46 am

Hahaha, this is bloody hilarious. Everyone in UMNO knows that Mazlan Harun and Kadar Shah are two useless scions of more illustrious fathers. Mazlan, of course is son of the great and notorious UMNO Youth leader and Selangor MB, Harun Idris, while Kadar's father, Tun Suleiman Ninam Shah, was UMNO's longest serving Permanent Chairman (the guy who resides over the annual party congress).

Both these sons are nonentities, failures in both politics and business. Mazlan never approximated his father's charisma or generated the same following in politics, and if it weren't for generous APs that Mahathir gave Kadar, he would be a poor nobody.

Everyone in UMNO also knows that both are working overtime for a grand has-been, Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah. Mazlan, Kadar together with loyal Ku Li aide, Nik Azmi @ Bul are trying to cobble together the Prince's last stand in the upcoming party congress.

They know that after AAB and Najib stitched up their transition "deal", Ku Li's campaign was dead in the water. After all, Ku Li was riding on anti-AAB sentiment after the March election and seemed to have caught some momentum until the stark reality of being an outsider for more than 20 years dawned on the Prince and his army of nostalgic has-beens. Man, think about it... Ku Li hasn't had a real job in 20 years.

Anyway, to cut a long story short, the only way Ku Li was going to get any new traction was if his team could throw some new sleaze at AAB. So, step forth the has-beens Mazlan and Kadar.

Their allegation is simple: That AAB abused power by using a government agency, Jabatan Hal Ehwal Khas aka JASA, to meet with UMNO branch leaders from all over the country. Of course, its also alleged that during the meeting, branch leaders were given cash (duit tambang) and also kain batik. These meetings were done after the general election for AAB to "listen" to feedback from "grassroots" leaders.

Now strictly speaking, I suppose AAB has bent the rules a bit. You're not meant to use government agencies or funds to directly pay for party political programs. But since when were leaders called out for this? Since the days of the Alliance government funds were used for party political functions. Ever wondered what "Majlis Pemimpin Bersama Rakyat" meant? More often than not these functions were fronts for party programs with money channeled directly to UMNO leaders and members.

And before anyone gets on their high horse, this is a practice that is common not just to UMNO/BN but also to PAS in Kelantan where state funds were used for quasi-party activities and also in some of the new Pakatan states. Case in point was the "boo-boo" when a cheque from a private company for the Selangor state government's 100 days-in-office celebration went into the Keadilan party account and not the state coffers. How easy to confuse party and government, kan?

So by all means pursue this and charge AAB for "corruption", but you will open a Pandora's Box where every leader with access to government funds will also need to be taken to task because they would be guilty of this at some point in their careers.

In short, its COMMON practice.

The reason the two has-beens are pursuing this is political, of course. Its to revive the campaign of a perennial dreamer who is still secretly bitter that he never became PM.

As for Rocky pursuing this story, I am not surprised. It has nothing to do with blogging about good governance. This too is political. After all, anything remotely anti-AAB is fair game for Rocky. Oh, I forgot. Rocky is a has-been also!

Jeremiah Matthews

5. Anonymous4:23 am

Aku pelik, bila orang buat report rasuah politik wang terhadap PM. BPR jadi macam orang dungu.Badan Disiplin UMNO jadi macam orang pekak badak. Sepatutnya kedua-dua badan tersebut dimansuhkan kerana tak tahu buat kerja.

Bento.

6. Anonymous5:46 am

"We had the worst kind of Umno arrogance as a result of the 2004 elections. The abuse of power, corruption, negotiated tenders with government tenders going mainly to Umno-associated companies. All this is not decided by the Cabinet but by the Ministry of Finance. You think people don't know. Prices are jacked up and there is no check on the implementation of these projects." - Lim Keng Yaik, interview with Off The Edge.

LKY should lodge ACA report if he means that there were elements of corruption when projects are given out not by Cabinet but by MoF. And who is MoF? Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, bukan?

x0x
    Dino Melan

7. Anonymous5:51 am

Hard to say. Let's just wait and see if there is any positive result ... Wali Kota

8. Salam. Gua gerentilah ACA kata tak ada kes. Ini semua haprak punya ACA. Sapa mau tangkap itu Pak Lah? Musa Hasan? Surah bapa dia jangan mengajar mengajilah jika dia tak tahu ajar anaknya hukum hakam, dosa pahala.

Ghani Patail? itu pelawak, sanggup jual maruah punya orang. Dia sudha jadi satu tahil

9. Hi Jeremiah Matthews,

Cermin U punya muka dulu. what U think U are good. U dont know about PAS,just hear say, dont try to become hero. We dont want U here. get out

10. I just wanna say Jeremiah, you are right on the dot!!
    Now let's see who's in, who's out and who's behind the game. And may the RAKYAT wins!!
    melayu teraniaya kerana rakus pemimpin demi keluarganya.
    jiran yang setia jadi habuan.
    semua kerana keluarga yang tak mahu
    melepaskan kekayaan.
    bila hilang melayu dan jiran, bukak
    mata engkau dah tinggal SENDIRIAN,
    padan muka!!

11. Anonymous9:08 am

Spot on Jeremiah Matthews.

Talk to anyone in Jabatan Agama Islam Selangor they will tell you that since March 8 2008 the number of ceramah ugama in Selangor under their purview has increased dramatically.

No Selangor has not turned more religious under Pakatan but these are actually political ceramah for PAS.

Previously BN were accused by the very same people to abuse Jabatan Penerangan resources but today they are doing the same with JAIS.

Simple Black Kettle

12. Anonymous9:28 am

Dear ACA,

how about some big white shark or whale as your catch, and not only ikan bilis or small prawns?

13. Anonymous9:39 am

jeremiah matthews,
    after all the crap dished out at us by both bloggers and from comments on blogs, its refreshing to read what you said. well worded, analytical and factual. cheers mate.
    - bullfrog -

14. ...umpama mengepam tayar kereta api...semoga berjaya orang AMNO!!!

15. Anonymous9:54 am

Anonymous,
    I am not a rich person but I will bet my last dollar nothing will come out of this case. Badawi will get away scott free. Any takers ? 10.00 to 1.00.
    Lap Dog ACA

16. If it is so common
    It means political leaders can escape?
    Immunity on corruption
    There is no law on it

Unless interested party file reports
    ACA must act on it without fear or favor
    This is the rule of law
    Nobody is above it

Will ACA dig up the truth?
    It may take sometimes to find
    Get a sample of the delegates
    The top to the bottom leaders
    The truth will be there

Unless ACA gets cold feet
    Into the boss’ lair it feels defeat?
    Go for the big fishes in the ocean
    It is no use trawling the small ones

Don’t practice double standards
    The public will recognize it
    Like in Perak and Negeri Sembilan
    Glaring true by all counts

UMNO erodes within
    Like cancer it is now spreading
    Chemotherapy may help for awhile
    The long term solution hard to detect

It is too long in power
    Even the daily needs forget
    The grouses on the ground
    The mute silence cosmetic surgery
    It is within the disease will spread

The drum beating of new challenges
    New kid will come to fight
    The old guards and hopeless leaders
    They will be out soon

For the new kid has spread its wings
    Into the horizon of a new beginning
    For Anak Bangsa Malaysia
    The way it should be

17. Anonymous10:33 am

I think the ACA also should check on why the government paid for the Bar Council annual dinner as mentioned by TDM in his blog.

Funny, why Ambiga was alienating the Bar Council to AAB? Perhaps AAB has promise a Tan Sriship to her? Well ACA should also look into the payment of ex-gratia to the judges?

How's they come up with the figures? Don't the judges got their pension and other benefit?

Perhaps, the defacto law minister also should be drag to face ACA over his suspension in UMNO,or ACa may refer him to a tribunal for abusing of alcohol....., how about syariah court, can't take action against alcohol intake by Muslim minister?

18. Anonymous10:37 am

Rocky, have you read today's Sun, interesting comment by P. Gunasegaram...what do you say to it, read pg 14...

ANWAR SHOULD NOT EVEN IF HE COULD

19. As sure as the sun will shine tomorrow...16th September will see ...all are Malaysians..and let those braggart scumbags in UMNO and BN...keep dreaming and bullshitting...keep playing race and religion politics.
    So glad...so many have resigned.
    Those resigned ..are real politicians with love for Malaysians.

20. Bro,
    I bet with my last cents in pocket that ACA have 'no balls' to do anything against UMNO top bustrds...they are just another Chiwawa..like PDRM.

21. Anonymous11:16 am

Frankly I am quite amused by one particular comment on the "has beens".

So what, do u mean to say only the "will be" has the right to express and participate in the political life in this country.

What "standard" are u using anyway? Are you cocksure that today's has been cannot or will never become tomorrow's "man or woman of the moment"?

Let me give you an Islamic standard - even in Padang Mahsyar, we are still asked to "cultivate something" i.e don't just wait there like a dungu for your judgment time.

Maybe Jeremiah Matthews cannot comprehend that since he's not from the Islamic faith. Hey man, look at Reagan, Mother Teresa, Khomeini, Gandhi, Arafat, Mandela, Monroe, Nik Aziz, Dr M...the list goes on...

It's definitely not the question of has been or otherwise (or has been to you perhaps but not to others)

Don't simply write people off. Mind your manners sikit tau.

Bottomline: There is something of real substance in their blood. Got it?

22. Anonymous11:28 am

this is god damn bloody fucking hilarious! ACA, UMNO, PAK LAH & MONEY POLITICS...

a perfect recipe for "corruptmisu cake".

23. Anonymous11:49 am

Whatever you may want to say about Mazlan and kadar, these two guys are determined. They may not be a clone of their dads, but they seemed focus on what they are doing. This is really good and should be encouraged. YAB AAB need not loe sleep if he's got nothing to hide...unless of coure if the ACA itself suddenly lose sight of the whole episode. ACA people also know which sie of the bread is to be buttered!

KAWAN

24. Anonymous12:11 pm

Anything that involves Anwar or Pakatan Rakyat,ACA becomes super efficient.

Investigation to charges all can be done in a matter of weeks.
    But when cases involving PM, DPM or other cabinet ministers come to their attention their brain will spontaneously malfunction. Things never come to conclusion and investigation will go on for the rest of their life.

Where can we find such an efficient agency?

suresh

25. To Be Or Not To Be, That is the Question. (Nak jadi ke tak jadi, Itu Soalannya)

Phrase from William Shakespeare's Hamlet, Prince of Denmark
    To be, or not to be, that is the Question:
    Whether 'tis Nobler in the minde to suffer
    The Slings and Arrowes of outragious Fortune,
    Or to take Armes against a Sea of troubles,
    And by opposing end them: to dye, to sleepe
    No more; and by a sleepe, to say we end
    The Heart-ake, and the thousand Naturall shockes
    That Flesh is heyre too? 'Tis a consummation
    Deuoutly to be wish'd. To dye to sleepe,
    To sleepe, perchance to Dreame; I, there's the rub,
    For in that sleepe of death, what dreames may come,
    When we haue shuffel'd off this mortall coile,
    Must giue vs pawse. There's the respect
    That makes Calamity of so long life:
    For who would beare the Whips and Scornes of time,
    The Oppressors wrong, the poore mans Contumely,
    The pangs of dispriz'd Loue, the Lawes delay,
    The insolence of Office, and the Spurnes
    That patient merit of the vnworthy takes,
    When he himselfe might his Quietus make
    With a bare Bodkin? Who would Fardles beare
    To grunt and sweat vnder a weary life,
    But that the dread of something after death,
    The vndiscouered Countrey, from whose Borne
    No Traueller returnes, Puzels the will,
    And makes vs rather beare those illes we haue,
    Then flye to others that we know not of.
    Thus Conscience does make Cowards of vs all,
    And thus the Natiue hew of Resolution
    Is sicklied o're, with the pale cast of Thought,
    And enterprizes of great pith and moment,
    With this regard their Currants turne away,
    And loose the name of Action.

http://patek1472.wordpress.com

26. Anonymous1:45 pm

can't wait any longer!

jbtrooper

27. Anonymous1:50 pm

Another Sandiwara Unfolding....

This year alone we have seen so many sandiwaras ...beats watching TV3 Dramas.

Do people REALLY think that ACA will come down on THE PRIME MINISTER OF MALAYSIA? If so Pigs will Fly. Heh heh

An Astro Watcher

28. im tired.

all this politicking are just making msia moving backwards.
    tourism will be affected...

i dont care who is the PM as long as the people have enough to eat, got job, can live healthy, inflation contained, not too much of corruption (don't be silly.. 100% no corruption is Mission Impossible).

I'm sure many things this way too.

Please... give me back my Malaysia and we want to move on....

http://forum.bolehlah.com.my
    connect as ONE

29. Anonymous4:32 pm

keep on dreaming dude...!!!
    UMNO will get stronger even after 16 Sept....DULU, KINI dan SELAMANYA.

30. Anonymous11:39 pm

(heha) : mana boleh one !? how can the aca menjamah the PM...cheh !...kurang ajar !!

31. Anonymous12:50 am

Jeremiah Matthews,

I guess you're a very simple man! If everyone else is doing it, so do we?

Hantu Gigi Jarang