Monday, May 05, 2008

Sedition charge against RPk and Syed?

RPK has been told to appear in the Magistrate Court at Jalan Duta, 930 AM tomorrow, where he is expected to be charged with SEDITION.

Author Syed Akbar Ali, an active commenter on blogs, has also been told to appear at the same court, at 10AM. Sedition, too?

36 comments:

1. Good! Its about time someone shuts him up.

He should learn how to be a responsible journalist. (Like you, Rocky, huh)

PS. I was also told that the so called 'missing record' of her entry into Malaysia was because it was on a different passport. Anyone wish to verify?

2. Anonymous10:52 pm

Can details of the Charge be made available?
    Then, we know how "hard working" the Police and AG have been running after "sedition" when the security and others ought to be done had been forgot!

Who will be the judge?

3. Anonymous11:04 pm

dammit!!
    Syed Akbar too?
    did he post as "Said"?...

May the force be with them... & many from the rakyat....

4. Anonymous11:11 pm

Bodowi is under sedation.
    Najis go gaga without seduction.
    RPK is charged with sedition.
    Justice is going down into sanitation.

5. Come rain or shine, plse past the word around. Be there with RPK. LKS, DSAI, DSAH, LGE, Azmin and the rest - Come forward and be counted!

MAYDAY! MAYDAY! MAYDAY!
    THIS IS A DISTRESS CALL!
    RPK IN TROUBLE.
    CALLING THE MAKKAL SAKHTI
    NEED UR URGENT SHOW UP AT COURT TOMORROW!

MAYDAY! MAYDAY! MAYDAY!
    THIS IS A DISTRESS CALL!
    RPK IN TROUBLE.
    CALLING ALL PAKATAN RAKYAT MEMBERS.
    SHOW UR PRESENT TOMORROW.

MAYDAY! MAYDAY! MAYDAY!

6. I dont care if the guy is RPK, he deserve it..But Syed Akbar Ali? For whut? Because he wrote 'Malaysia and The Club of Doom'? Its all about the collapse of the Islamic countries.. Cammon Malaysia!

7. big bully! da' gomen and police!!
    those umno people had been very seditious with their remarks but nothing was done to them!!

bloggers should all unite to support RPK!

8. Anonymous12:49 am

sedition my foot, u wanna see sedition its at UMNO General Assembly live broadcast on ASTRO.. WTF.

9. It is not about the person. RPK or Syed Akhbar, I don't give a damn.

But to charge them (or anyone) for telling the truth and asking for JUSTICE, thats my business. Is Malaysia a POLICE STATE? Many BN or more specific UMNO politicians had made more damaging remarks and speech .... WHY? WHY NO ACTION taken against them???? I demand for an answer as citizen of my beloved country, Malaysia!!!

10. Anonymous1:16 am

Sedition charge against Syed Akhbar Ali.Good.This is the head of anti hadith gang who write under "True Muslim"

He deserve it.If I have my way this guy should be arrest under ISA.

Allah Akhbar.

11. Anonymous1:26 am

Well it's about time re:RPK... the man spreads half truths and unsubstantiated allegations like they were facts and MT readers eat 'em up without question. And the police can't act on him just because he has a following?? Not only that, he mocks the police as if he is a government unto himself.Blogger pun blogger jugak... but there should rightly be a limit.

12. Anonymous1:59 am

saya bukan orang melayu...tapi saya akan tetap menyokong pendirian orang ini tanpa mengira kaum dan latar belakangnya.

13. Anonymous2:14 am

Good, about time too. Ju, how would you know that everything on RPK's site is the truth? His style of writing is very convincing i have to agree but that does not mean its all true. One has to be accountable for one's actions.

And before anyone thinks I am one of the umnoputra...no, I am just a normal person, I have gripes with the govt but I think objectively too.

14. Ali, I read not only RPK site but quite a handful including the MSM. The point here is the police is dragging RPK to court because of that Altantuya's case is really absurd!
    Why didn't they charge Hishamuddin who raised the keris and gestured that the malays will not hesitate to bath it with chinese blood? And many other incidents from the BN side!
    It's not about who is who being charged? Its about HOW & WHY?
    I am not a politician and I hate demostration but I will not hesitate to go down the road if INJUSTICE is not being dealt with in the right manner!!!
    And I am also just an ordinary person like you but with an extraordinary heart and soul as the true citizen of my beloved country MALAYSIA!

15. I thought RPK was pretty tame in his "let's sent Altan's murderers to hell" post this time, and I didn't see any wrong in it...just a call for the still many questions to be answered and for some justice for this poor woman.

I think ada orang tak tahan tgk certain gambar posted there by the commenters and got real pissed...the only innuendoes coming out of this is that the Police and AG chambers still running dogs of their masters.

16. Anonymous5:30 am

Wow! Anyone notice a sudden influx of UMNO cybertroopers here in the comments section?

Do you knuckle-dragging Neanderthals think just because you suddenly discovered blogs you're going to be effective in swaying public opinion with your oh-so-obvious comments?

17. Anonymous6:57 am

written by FFT, May 06, 2008 | 06:53:00

He wrote about allegations against the IGP, the PDRM, and the AG. No sedition charge.

He wrote about Khairy in the Chronicles. No sedition charge.

He wrote about Badawi's many alleged scandals. No sedition charge.

He wrote about SCOMI and Kamaluddin. No sedition charge.

He writes a tame article about Najib and Rosmah, that too backed by information revealed in sworn court testimony, and the sedition act is thrown at him.

That should instruct you as to who is the heart of darkness and a harbinger of the return to the dark ages of Mahathirism.

It is patently obvious that Badawi and cohorts, despite their faults and weaknesses, have a progressive open streak that places them relatively light years ahead of the Dark Lords of Mahathirism.

As Hishamuddin Rais' earlier article states "Najib Pembawa Zaman Gelap".

written by gundohing, May 06, 2008 | 06:32:56

This is the biggest joke in our police history. Atlantuya was murdured and Raja Petra goes to court!

18. Anonymous6:58 am

written by FFT, May 06, 2008 | 06:53:00

He wrote about allegations against the IGP, the PDRM, and the AG. No sedition charge.

He wrote about Khairy in the Chronicles. No sedition charge.

He wrote about Badawi's many alleged scandals. No sedition charge.

He wrote about SCOMI and Kamaluddin. No sedition charge.

He writes a tame article about Najib and Rosmah, that too backed by information revealed in sworn court testimony, and the sedition act is thrown at him.

That should instruct you as to who is the heart of darkness and a harbinger of the return to the dark ages of Mahathirism.

It is patently obvious that Badawi and cohorts, despite their faults and weaknesses, have a progressive open streak that places them relatively light years ahead of the Dark Lords of Mahathirism.

As Hishamuddin Rais' earlier article states "Najib Pembawa Zaman Gelap".

written by gundohing, May 06, 2008 | 06:32:56

This is the biggest joke in our police history. Atlantuya was murdured and Raja Petra goes to court!

19. Wow. Looks like lots of cyber troopers are spamming you, Rocky. No decent Malaysian would be glad when someone as honest and with integrity such as RPK is sent to the courts.

It's D-Day. BN Deviants vs Barisan Rakyat.

20. Anonymous7:37 am

Does ANYONE, logic thinking persons out there, just for a moment think, that Najib and his wife, was NOT involved in the murder of the Mongolian model? Do you seriously believe that?

Have you read the details of the case PUBLISHED IN THE NEWSPAPERS?

Malaysians are ONLY asking for JUSTICE! Is that asking too much?

21. Anonymous9:34 am

Rocky

Looks like you've got a lot of different views in your comments.

Anyway, was just curious, is it not a basic right to know what you're being charged for before needing to face court? I hardly think that it was the correct procedure to just call and ask him to appear in court, without first telling him what he's being charged for, and under which laws.

I thought only the ISA strips people of their rights. Does the Sedition Act do that too?

*I might be wrong, and correct me if I am, coz I'm no lawyer. But if this is the way the system works in Malaysia, then something is drastically wrong.

22. Anonymous9:44 am

Of late admittedly RPK have written many article that may be construed seditious, but probably, the authority chose to ignore it. RPK became swell-headed and posted more half-truth article hence debowever, I feel that he went to far in the case of Altantuya!! We'll see whats he charge is all about when he'llbe officially charged in court. Lets see also if RPK got enough ammo to defend himself, as claimed by him.

I'm an ardent follower of his blog . I observed that he allowed so much rooms for people to post racial , uncalled for, non issue and unprofessional comments. I hope we all pray for RPK's safety!!!

23. I am for justice and helping the victims. For me, it just amazes me how fast the police and AG works. The ex minister groping case is a much earlier case yet no concrete decisions were made. Some more, nobody dares to mention this minister's identity and yet RPK was swiftly, proudly mentioned and extensively pillorized in MSM.

It just smells fishy.

24. Desperate clutching at straws while sinking with the Titanic!!?

25. The Kojak in Sedition charge
    This is below the belt…….

What he wrote
    It was picked up from the MSM papers
    So why the double lines
    It is the intimidation
    When there is nothing to pick
    The authority goes blindly

Now the people know
    UMNO people escape
    Even they spoke seditious
    Nothing is charged on them

The rally must be on
    It is to silent on our voices
    Picking up issues reported in MSM
    Yet nothing is done
    Until the Kojak painted the road

The Dark Vader on the prowl
    The black crows flying
    And the people gathering
    Stand up for freedom
    Of choices and noises

Where are the frogs?
    Pick your choice and be home
    Let the Dark Vader and his Emperor
    Suck into the dark hole forever

26. RPK has more balls than most of pricks who are commenting here. Have you not heard of freedom of the press and thats what rpk has allowed; people to speak their mind; however 'bad' it may appear.

RPK blog exposes the corrupt and extremist in the corridors of power, as well as educating the everyday Malaysian of their own inhibitions in race-religion relations.

For that; he has done more than any freaking politician dead or alive.

http://apakhabar.blogspot.com/2008/04/malaysias-democratic-revolution-2008.html

27. Guys,

Poor RPK and Syed!

For those of you guys that don't read the article by RPK - "Let's sent Altantuya's murderers to hell" - is available in MT. Read carefully...

Judge carefully, and tell us next time if it is seditiuos in nature.

If anybody out there can write a good article like this, I will be visiting your web blog everday. Until now, show some guts in your writing.

28. Anonymous12:42 pm

bro,

RPK dah rasa diri dia mcm tuhan, raja, kebal, tak makan saman! inilah balasan pada tulisan yg tak bertanggungjawab! padan muka!!!!

29. Anonymous12:44 pm

Not RPK fan (if he wrote things without evidence then he's guilty) BUT...

I feel scared of living in KL since anything bad can happen to me anytime - crime rate is SOARING

I feel scared for my family because rape/robbery/kidnapping are all on the rise and many multiple high profile cases are still not resolved

I have to install grills my whole house, quadrupple/quintuple locked every doors and install thousands of ringgit alarm/security system so that I can sleep at night...

and RPK is the one going to jail? HELLOOO!!!???

30. Anonymous1:17 pm

Berani Buat Beri Tanggung. Ini baru keadilan Dunia,Akhirat nanti?

31. Anonymous1:19 pm

The DPM, if he took offence what RPK wrote, should just sue.

There are existing remedies in our legal system for libel and slander.

Seditions Act is open to abuse by authorities.

In the light of today's judicial system, do you think we can rely on the judges not not take the literal rule when it comes to definitions like these?

According to Wikipedia,
    XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
    Sedition is defined as
    (a) to bring into hatred or contempt or to excite disaffection against any Ruler or against any Government;
    (b) to excite the subjects of the Ruler or the inhabitants of any territory governed by any government to attempt to procure in the territory of the Ruler or governed by the Government, the alteration, otherwise than by lawful means, of any matter as by law established;

(c) to bring into hatred or contempt or to excite disaffection against the administration of justice in Malaysia or in any State;

(d) to raise discontent or disaffection amongst the subjects of the Yang di-Pertuan Agong or of the Ruler of any State or amongst the inhabitants of Malaysia or of any State;

(e) to promote feelings of ill-will and hostility between different races or classes of the population of Malaysia; or

(f) to question any matter, right, status, position, privilege, sovereignty or prerogative established or protected by the provisions of part III of the Federal constitution or Article 152, 153 or 181 of the Federal Constitution.
    XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Seditions Act really makes anything the powers that be dictates, to be seditious.

This is like saying "we will screw you, screw your family, friends, and the entire country. Hell, we will also blow you up with C4", but if any of you make noise, then we will subject you to an all expenses paid holiday to the lovely place called Kamunting.

Draconian laws must go. Open discourse must be encouraged. People have a right to talk, because in Altantuya's case, justice is being delayed.

Justice delayed is justice denied. And to many of us, it seems like justice may never be served in this case.

And they talk about public order?

What public order when cops can secretly blow op a defenceless civilian?

And btw, why is RPK singled out? Simply because Malaysia Today, rightly or wrongly, has become a powerful opinion shaper.

32. Anonymous7:05 pm

Well, RPK mmg berani buat berani tanggung... hope more others like him will spring out from among us than let the corrupt & dubious take us on a "field trip".

At the end of the day, for a country as diverse as ours, its the principal that matters and not just pure rhetoric bullshit that satisfies the "upper strata of society" while ignoring the real and ppl at the grassroots level.

Changes for the good can only happen when the truth is spoken and communicated. Otherwise its just more dust and planks in the eyes.

33. Anonymous9:29 pm

I like to read Malaysia Today but sometimes the articles and especially the comments made by some are way out of line. In this case, RPK's head got very big, too big for his brain. This is obvious after the recent political tsunami and his fans think that he can do no wrong!

34. Anonymous12:55 am

Rocky, your site really have a lot of "cyber trooper" huh??
    take care man...watch your back

35. Anonymous4:10 pm

Friends, do you read RPK's reply to Najib's press sec's letter.It sucks, man!! It lack diplomacy,mannerism and undoubtedly arrogant. The press sec did indicate the intention to institute legal redress, but RPK chose to be confrontational.

We must not be misconstrued that the action under Sedition Act is perpetrated bu Najib. It is not between Najib and RPK, but since offence under the Act is being disclosed, it is between the police and RPK. Najib have indicated legal suit, but the law took its own course.

36. Anonymous4:14 pm

Dear Friends & Colleagues,

Raja Petra Kamaruddin was recently charged under the Sedition Act 1948, specifically under Section 4(1)(c) related to publishing a seditious article,
    and DPM Najib Tun Razak is saying that DAP stalwart Karpal Singh too could be charged if the Attorney General felt it could jeopardize
    national security, really now ?
    The way I see it they are squeamish about using the ISA (Internal Security Act) which is under heavy criticism both locally and internationally,
    because of the fact that one can be detained without being charged , so they feel using the seditions act they can bring legitimacy to an illegitimate act,
    so they can sing the same old song " It was done according to the law" .
    I spent the last few days browsing through the Seditions Act 1948, and I cannot help but agree with that it is a cryptic , archaic and obscurantist
    piece of legislation that has no place in the 21st century.
    No less than Bar Council Chairman Ambiga Sreenivasan has called for it to be done away with.

As it is still "Law" I urge that police reports be made against the individuals I have appended below, who have potentially run foul of the act.
    I have their names underlined in block letters, starting with Najib since he is so eager.

They should be charged under section 3(1), those acts defined as having a seditious tendency include:

3(1)(d) - to raise discontent or disaffection amongst the subjects of the Yang di-Pertuan Agong or of the Ruler of any State or amongst the inhabitants of Malaysia or of any State;
    3(1)(e) - to promote feelings of ill-will and hostility between different races or classes of the population of Malaysia;

So we should demand that Mr.Attorney General ,Tan Sri Abdul Gani Patail prosecutes or have him removed , how -you ask?
    The Attorney General is the principal legal adviser to the Government. His role and responsibilities are provided for in Article 145 of the Federal Constitution. Article 145 of the Federal Constitution provides:

145(1) The Yang di-Pertuan Agong shall, on the advice of the Prime Minister, appoint a person who is qualified to be a judge of the Federal Court to be the Attorney General for the Federation.

145(5) Subject to Clause (6)*, the Attorney General shall hold office during the pleasure of the Yang di-Pertuan Agong and may at any time resign his office and, unless he is a member of the Cabinet, shall receive such remuneration as the Yang di-Pertuan Agong may determine.

(6)* The person holding the office of Attorney General immediately prior to the coming into operation of this Article shall continue to hold the office on terms and conditions not less favorable than those applicable to him immediately before such coming into operation and shall not be removed from office except on the like grounds and in the like manner as a judge of the Federal Court.

So Dear citizens , if he does not do his job, we should protest and send a memorandum to His Majesty, Yang di-Pertuan Agong .

NAJIB TUN RAZAK
    --------------------------------------
    It is widely documented that in the days preceding Operasi Lallang in October 1987, Najib Tun Razak then as the head of UMNO Youth, made a speech at a rally in Kampung Baru where he vowed to bathe his keris in the blood of Malaysian Chinese citizens. And this speech was delivered against a background of banners by UMNO Youth saying such things as "MAY 13 HAS BEGUN" and "SOAK IT WITH CHINESE BLOOD".

BADRUDDIN AMIRULDIN
    ---------------------------------------
    Member of Parliament (At the time MP for Jerai Kedah), Badruddin bin Amiruldin, has stated in the Dewan Rakyat house of Parliament that "Malaysia ini negara Islam" ("Malaysia is an Islamic state") and that "you tidak suka, you keluar dari Malaysia!" ("You don't like it, you get out of Malaysia!") Badruddin refused to take back his statement
    http://videos.apnicommunity.com/Video,Item,974713824.html

NAZRI AZIZ
    ------------------------------------
    In June 2005 Nazri caused controversy when he shouted the phrase "bloody racist" (or variants of it) 28 times in Parliament. A request by opposition Democratic Action Party (DAP) lawmaker Fong Po Kuan for Nazri to take back his comments went unheeded. The incident occurred during a debate on the Malaysian Medical Council's derecognition of Crimea State Medical University (CSMU) medical degrees; most Malaysian students sent to study there were of Indian extraction.

WIRA ALI RUSTAM
    ---------------------------------------------
    On 15 October 2007, the Chief Minister of Melaka, Mohd Ali Rustam, officiated the People’s Progressive Party’s state convention he said this:
    "Umno has ruled Malaysia for 50 years, said Ali Rustam, and they can rule for another 50 years more. And Umno does not need PPP, MCA, MIC, Gerakan, Sabah, Sarawak or anyone else to do this."

He also insulted the Indian community by proposing to revoke the citizenship of Hindraf protesters.

Recently, Malacca Chief Minister Mohd Ali Rustam started a blog.
    Not long afterwards, he put up a posting on the Selangor centralized pig farm, which was entitled "Pig farm, a gift from the elections".

He congratulated Selangor voters including Muslims for voting in the Pakatan Rakyat (PR) government, which decided to implement the project originally conceived by Barisan Nasional.

"The Selangor people should be happy because, very soon, they will receive an election gift of high value, for supporting their parties in the general election."

The way I see it this remark can cause disharmony among the Malays and Chinese in Selangor.

KHAIRY JAMALUDDIN
    ---------------------------------------
    Khairy Jamaluddin, deputy youth chief of UMNO Youth in August 2006
    “The internal split within Umno will weaken the party’s position and this will pave way for the Chinese Malaysians to make various demands to benefit their community.”

Portraying the Chinese as the bogeyman to rally UMNO youth, I consider this highly irresponsible.

He also famously branded the "Mat Rempits" as "Mat Cemerlang" .....you may ask how is this seditious ? look at clause 3 (1) (d) of

the act it says " to raise discontent or disaffection amongst the subjects of the Yang di-Pertuan Agong "

well, that statement would certainly cause discontent and disaffection to the victims and families of Mat Rempit victims

who are afterall subjects of the Yang di-Pertuan Agong .

ABDUL GHANI OTHMAN

-------------------------------------------------------

Abdul Ghani Othman said in November 2006 there was no need to reinvent a national identity when the Constitution had clearly defined the various races that make up the citizens of this country.“Even if the term Bangsa Malaysia is to be used, it must only be applied in the context of all the peoples of Malaysia with the Malays as the pivotal race,” he said.Did he insinuate that other races are inferior citizens ? Hey , you upset us Abdul Ghani Othman.

By now you can see how cryptic,subjective and open to abuse this law is, but before it is struck of the statutes lets use it on the very same persons

who abuse it, I am reminded of this quote :-

Let me not be understood as saying that there are no bad laws, nor that grievances may not arise for the redress of which no legal provisions have been made. I mean to say no such thing. But I do mean to say that although bad laws, if they exist, should be repealed as soon as possible, still, while they continue in force, for the sake of example they should be religiously observed. [Abraham Lincoln]

Best Regards

Vijay Kumar Murugavell