Friday, May 02, 2008

Editor of Malaysia's largest English-language daily blogs

Ah, Wong Chun Wai! The group chief editor of The Star told me of his plans to blog quite a while ago. He's been doing it quietly and has asked me to keep him a secret until the World Press Freedom day.
I told those who attended BUM2008 yesterday of his blog and also mentioned it to the adguys at a 4As forum in KL on Wednesday.
Personally, I believe this is the green light that many journalists at the Star have been waiting for. Now that their big boss is blogging, nothing can stop them from blogging.

To me, this could be the turning point in our pursuit for greater Press Freedom.

Read Chun Wai's latest posting It's Hot in Perak, too in the New Malaysia blog h e r e.

27 comments:

1. Anonymous8:09 pm

Wong Chun Wai is an insult to journalism. He has sold his soul to whoever holds the reins. He has prostituted journalism, just like Kadir A. Jasin, Ahmad A. Talib, Hishammuddin Aun.. They should be ashamed of themselves. They are the pits.

2. WONG CHUN WAI KETUA PENGARANG MSM PERTAMA BUAT BLOG...SILA REFER www.wilayahkini.blogspot.com

3. Anonymous8:19 pm

yo.. NSTMAN!
    wong chun wai is a blogger now, man. live with that, will yer!

4. Everyone gets to say one's piece! or forever hold your peace...

5. Salam Brader,

1. We work togeder

2. We make sure one day Prime Minister in this country is a 'Blogger'

3. Malaysia Boleh...Blogger Boleh !

http://www.penyokong-kj.blogspot.com

6. dear bro

do you to give wcw a leg up? he has no cfredibility left among right-thinking people.

you forgot his pre-election warning to us?

7. Anonymous11:04 pm

Dear Wai Kor (Brother Wai)

You are great! I long time waiting
    for you to be blogger.

I like You very much but not your
    newspaper...sorry lah. Now every morning I read your blog but no
    buy your newspaper...;ah. Save RM1.20 and also insulting my intelligence ...mah. This I no like mah because The Star thinks my
    intelligence is as bad as my Engleech mah!

Goodbye Star, Hello Ah Wai!

8. Anonymous11:05 pm

Dear Wai Kor (Brother Wai)

You are great! I long time waiting
    for you to be blogger.

I like You very much but not your
    newspaper...sorry lah. Now every morning I read your blog but no
    buy your newspaper...;ah. Save RM1.20 and also insulting my intelligence ...mah. This I no like mah because The Star thinks my
    intelligence is as bad as my Engleech mah!

Goodbye Star, Hello Ah Wai!

9. nstman sounds like an Islam Hadhari Imam!!
    Wonder if he is anywhere near a real newsroom, or is just someone real pretender.
    If Chin Wai is an insult to journalism then its more appropriate to associate him with Mr.Kali.
    Kali and Chun Wai would make great bed fellows.

10. well done bro that's the way they go, can't beat them join them so Dato' wong is a blogger now

11. Anonymous12:46 am

nstman,

u are one hell of a brave guy! hiding behind a name like nstman...these guys u name dare to put their mame on the line, but u hide behind anonymity.

chun wai, better late than never!

Yusof ex-star

12. Anonymous1:15 am

Datuk Wong Chun Wai should name his blog "The Bodek/Ampu chat show!"

13. Anonymous3:10 am

He is not original with his views and comments. He write according to "the wind of change" of the day.

I begin to dislike his views and comments

14. Sdr Rocky's Bru,

Can we now say that blogs have become mainstream?

With mainstream media editors and mainstream politicians blogging, blogging could become mainstream.

What efcects will this have on blogging?

Will blogging become one-sided, partisan and propagandized?

The public can lose confidence in the blogs as they do with the mainstream media.

Only time will tell.

15. Anonymous11:03 am

When you place all he has ever written over the years side by side, you will realise that they flow and sail with the wind like rudderless junks. Should I read articles written insincerely, even when the grammar is excellent?...Nay. whispering9

16. Anonymous11:30 am

This is what happens when everybody starts to boycott the newspaper.

He has to embrace the new technology to get his (master's) views through to the masses.

17. Anonymous12:10 pm

Dear A. kadir jasin,

I am of the opinion that blogs would not be a one sided media.

most bloggers turn to blog because we want some neutral space to express our opinions, thoughts and views. in cyber, anybody can express their views without restriction unlike mainstream media where only views that support govt are published. You should know better.

in cyber, we can have both version of views, good and bad, pro and con. public can access to both views and make more conclusive judgment. Thus far, cyber is a perceived as a fair ground. if pak lah wants to blog, by all means, join in.

Blog would be a new mechanism to achieve freedom of speech. nobody owns cyber space. of course 'freedom' does not mean absolute or total freedom.

btw, i read your blog too.

18. Anonymous12:27 pm

Mr Wong Chun Wai, is it true that you have links to the triad..... we know we know we know... Jesus, he loves me, do as I say, not as I do.... True, Mr Chun Wai. or shall we reveal... or why wont you MrChun, tell us about yourself, and links to stockmarket syndicates, apart from TRIAD....Calling mr chun...Why? or you Wong or just WRONG!

19. Anonymous3:10 pm

now many people start blogging

20. Anonymous6:44 pm

guys,

Bro-Wai or as Chinese call wai-kor-kor has started censoring/blacking out unflattering comments in his blog.

That's why he doesn't get floods of comments like he should, being the taiko of 'shut-up-you-ungrateful-rakyat' journalism for his entire STAR career.

eh, eh, eh (like they exclaim in the drama minggu ini)

Cakap tak serupa bikin, lah, wai-kor!

21. Anonymous12:32 am

Well, its a turning 4 new media.New Media need support from people like Wong Chun Wai.NSTMAN talking rubbish.He didnt know wat he traying to say.Crap.Why not? Well, we seen Chun Wai as Group Editor and also comments in On The Beat Column and other commentry.Now,he going the share hes view by new media.Its a good start 4 us.He can play an important role 4 new media industry.Blogging is not something, we go and wack everyday, its a place for exchange information in more proper manner.We have to change bashing style.Bashing wth good intention wth rite facts - can be accepted.We dont go to personal.Its going to spoil the image of New Media.Lets share something for good cause of action.We need some changes.

22. Anonymous1:30 am

one has only to do a review of the Star since Tunku Abdul Rahman was given the left foot of fellowhsip by the Star. it fell to a barisan nasional driven seet of droppings. WCW has been the sheet manager andbeing fed at the corrupt but supple breasts of the kerajaan can be addictive.

WCW and the Star is well-know for its propaganda output. it has selective truth eclispe as it philosophy of stooping to be the PR rag shhet of the BN regime party boys.

WCW and the Star was driven to an all time low with vicious attacks against the opposition. fabricated allegations and distorted reports and pieces from anti-semites and racists like Chandra Muzzafar made it stink like clandestine belacan in petrid stages.

WCM is a shameful excuse for a journalist in any sense of the word.

23. Anonymous11:13 am

nstman said...
    Wong Chun Wai is an insult to journalism. He has sold his soul to whoever holds the reins. He has prostituted journalism, just like Kadir A. Jasin, Ahmad A. Talib, Hishammuddin Aun.. They should be ashamed of themselves. They are the pits.

People, give the guy a chance. Let's hear him out. We know a fool (or a pit viper) when we smell one. Reminds me of the shitty crap in Khir Toyo and Che Det aka The Senile and Forgetful Old Fool's blogs.

24. Awat? Tak cukup mamam teloq dan peliaq dalam coloumn dia , dia nak cyber HARLOM pulak dah ... ini sudah satu trend baru , Cyberharloming ....

25. Anonymous3:17 pm

I was a writer in The Star for 10 years until last year. I totally agree with nstman. He is a sellout and a lallang, conveniently going where the wind blows. He should not even be labelled a journalist. A shrewd businessman would be more appropriate.
    I'm not even gonna bother clicking on the link to his blog.
    Calling people like him journalists is an insult to us and to the profession worldwide.

26. Anonymous3:50 pm

I believed in journalism once. I loved journalism once. I ate, slept journalism once. Today I am a cynic who has lost faith in a once proud profession. The reason? Hishamudin Ann, Wong Chun Wai, Steven Tan, Brendo Pereira, Wong Sulong, Kadir Jasin, Ahmad Talib. They are the pits, they should be charged with crimes against journalism. They should face charges under Nuremberg style rules. Today I am still crying for journalism.