Monday, January 21, 2008

Zam: I'm not anti-blog

New Zam? It was the first time the Kempen Minister has said it in public. "People say I'm anti-blog. I am not anti-blog. I am anti mischievous rumours spread by some irresponsible blogs," Zainuddin Maidin said at a dinner last Friday.
At the reception, bloggers were placed under a category of their own. That's unprecedented first, a Kempen staff told me. In his address, Zam even mentioned "journalist friends who are no longer in newspapers but who are now bloggers".
[Read Agenda Daily's article here on what Zam thinks newspapers should do to ensure that blogs don't cause them to be redundant].
Guest list of bloggers.
Other pics of journos, bloggers and former journos at the media night here.

24 comments:

1. rock, you're showing those people address lah.... better not...

2. Anonymous11:55 am

Oooh did you just publish the home address of another blogger in your page???

3. pa'chik and anon 1155,
    thanks. u guys are sharp!

4. this is a very welcome sea change.

5. Rocky...u shaking hands with someone who is suing u?

6. my bad.....dont know why i thought zam was kali for some unknown reason!!!

7. rocky: how come you did not peck him --that would maketh a beaut #3!
    Oh, zorro shyly whispers you do the peck-ing at the Press Club only -- wit' Shar and a Shanghai fishy2?:(

8. oh oh, there's my name there but couldnt attend as our fght from Penang was late. and also received news that someone in Liverpool died. So, realy couldnt make it.

9. Anonymous1:16 pm

Eh ZAM you know bloggers got alota information ah ??

You should thank them for sharing more info man !

Information minister can also get info there man !!

10. Anonymous2:03 pm

I don't believe this guy. After his consistently anti-bloggers stance, he does this.

And all the while he has also said the MSM shud not quote the blogs or source from them.

Why the about turn? And by the way, even if he does, do we care about this has-been?

I find it hard to forgive an ex-newsman who joined the cabinet and started spouting the same Jurassic rhetoric while being the MInister of Information.

He has proved that he has

no brains
    no ethics
    no conscience
    no tact
    no consistency
    no relevance

11. Bro, I was not invited. Wonder why?

12. Anonymous2:59 pm

Zam sudah terasa bahangnya, maka terpaksalah ditukar arah haluannya. Setelah begitu banyak yang telah mengkritiknya ekoran tersasul cakap di AlJazeera, maka kali ini terpaksalah dia mengampu balik bloggers.Kena pulak erection, oops, election tengah nak datang.

13. Anonymous3:20 pm

He is not even a malay.. pure mamak maidin

14. Anonymous4:11 pm

Zam : I'm not anti-blog, I'm just
    goblog.

After he find out that he'll drop from the next GE list.

Khairy was really mad at him
    (as info minister) over the aljazeera episode and khairy himself have to appear on aljazeera to cover it.

15. Anonymous4:17 pm

Did you read KaliUlar article in the sunday times yesterday ?

Look like this guy is not being the MACHAI for dollah only but Air Asia and Naza as well.

seems that the CEO of Air Asia and Naza is more powerful than NST Chief Editor-Advisor.

What to do, that's his agreement with KJ before being appointed into NST.

Note : This the so many times he wrote after saying that he's not writing in Sunday Times again.

16. Anonymous4:18 pm

Ah Zam ... banyak pandai belit.

17. Anonymous4:27 pm

Hmm...was Jeff Ooi on the list of invitees? Marina M? Tony Pua? Cik Nuraina? Kadir Jasin? RPK?

I think not!

18. Well, that's what they say about the Net.

Information overload.

And ZM ain't cut out to be the MOI minister.

So NOW he wants to be nice to good bloggers?
    ----------------------------------------------------------
    Desi, behave yerself.

19. Skilgannon1066,

I know several other journo-bloggers were invited but could not turn up (London-based Awang Goneng and wife Zaharah, for example, were delayed by their flight from Penang) or would not attend for some reasons or other.

I decided to attend because I believe in engaging Zam and in trying to make the government understand how important blogs are for the country.

And I thought it was brave of him to invite bloggers to his ministry's event, and I told him so.

I hope he will include more bloggers and not just journo-bloggers in the ministry's future functions. The least he'll get (from the bloggers) is honest feedback.

was there that night and bro Rosli from Agenda Daily. London-based bloggers Awang Goneng and wife were invited but could not make it.

20. Zam on charm offensive. Anything for the GE. Even courting bloggers ... rhetoric and crumbs.

21. How come I wasn't invited???

22. Anonymous8:44 pm

suka hati korang lah.. nak seribu daya tak nak seribu dalih

23. Anonymous9:10 am

Hmm, Pak Rocky....do I detect a note of defensiveness?

Chill, brudder.

Zam is Zam, and always will be Zam. Until he gets a swift kick up his you-know-where.

Plenty of news about Malaysia to regale the "toffee-nosed little red-dotters" (as opined by our own Tunku Abdul Aziz - NST commentary, Jan 20)down south. Maybe Zam should focus on this, yah?

And did anyone see Tony Fernandes being interviewed on Singapore's Channel News Asia TV? The man actually made some sense!

24. Anonymous2:50 pm

Does Zam know what a blog is? The last time i check, he is so super internet-idiot....