Tuesday, December 04, 2007

9/12 Walk off

No teargas, water canon needed.
Taken from Bar Council president Ambiga Sreenevasan's official statement published at http://www.malaysianbar.org.my/ a while ago:

"The Bar Council has given anxious consideration to the present
circumstances that surround this event, particularly the interests of the public and the Malaysian Bar. In consequence, the Bar Council has decided to cancel the walk from Sogo to Central Market. HOWEVER THE FESTIVITIES AT CENTRAL MARKET WILL PROCEED. We believe it is important that this event from 9am to 2.30pm be held, and the public are invited to attend it.
The Bar Council takes the position that the requirement for an application for a permit under the Police Act to hold this event, violates our constitutional right to peaceful assembly. In fact, the Royal Commission on the Police Force and SUHAKAM have said as much, and have called for a repeal of this law, as has the Bar Council. The police had asked for the Bar Council to apply for a permit for their consideration for the Walk. Apart from the circumstances that we have taken into account, we believe this is an unlawful fetter on our
constitutional right to assemble peacefully. We are mindful that many will be disappointed at the cancellation of the walk, but other more significant considerations have prevailed on this occasion."

Zam must be happy. But as Edmund Bon says in his "personal note": "We will continue to do what is right in the interests of the Bar and civil society. Rest assured, this difficult struggle will continue unabated."

27 comments:

1. It's just "BULLSHIT"

Quote:
    Ambiga also criticised the police request for a permit and described it as an unlawful fetter on our constitutional right to assemble peacefully.

The Bar Council takes the position that the requirement for an application for a permit under the Police Act to hold this event, violates our constitutional right to peaceful assembly,she said.Unquote

So your honourable Ambiga, why then the Freedom Walk Is cancelled?

If what the above statement by you is true, it is the more that the Freedom Walk must proceed with no second thought. If you give in now, there will be no more tomorrow for us all.

Think about it carefully Your Honourable Ambiga, if you are worried to be locked up under the ISA, pass the baton to someone else.

I was preparing to park myself this weekend in KL for your Freedom Walk, the walk to Parliament to hand over the memo protesting the proposed amendment to extend the retired age for the EC to 66 and the toll rate hike.

Do not give in so easily by their intimination, threat or what not.

I am very disappointed.

2. It looks like the bar is succumbing to pressure from Umno.

3. The bar has capitulated in the face of pressure from Umno.

4. Anonymous11:37 pm

From now onwards, let the Bar walk alone.

5. "...but other more significant considerations have prevailed on this occasion."..."

What others?

If the BAR wants its surroundings to be less smokey and more ttransparent, they'll need to humour us what the others are!

6. Anonymous2:27 am

"Unlawful" or Lawful Walk
    =========================
    Before the Walk
    The Bar already led a BAD walk!

Constitution give Rights to Walk
    Police took permit to illegal the Walk!
    So AWAY the "Honorable" Bar walked!

Permit was a topic during last 2-3 rallies
    Has this been raised in the EGM
    to vary?
    or no member in the Bar to worry
    for at least a motion to query?

So where is your Position in Laws?
    "Honorable" Bar?
    To Talk and not to Walk (in court)?
    ==============
    http://malikimtiaz.blogspot.com/2007/10/mr-incredible.html
    "Mr Incredible"

The Bar marched
    ---------------
    "The Bar is charged with upholding, without fear or favour, the due administration of justice by the Legal Profession Act. The Bar and the Judiciary are the twin pillar of the justice system. It was and is a big deal."

Democracy is not about majoritarianism. It is about exercise of rights by the majority having regard to the rule of law and the Constitution, and with regard to the equal rights of all.
    ==============

WHAT WAS BAR LOOKING IN THE LAST MARCH?

Is the proposed Walk for Freedom but not injustice or Democracy??

WILL BAR WALK IN COURT
    TO PUT CONSTITUTION RIGHT??
    ==================================
    richard: Your starting words - Loud & Clear!

"We’ll give inquiry panel a chance!
    http://www.malaysianbar.org.my/content/view/11363/2/
    when she knowing dam well she and many were asking for Royal Commission before the walk!

Was SHE leading a group of 2000 lawyers to endorse the Panel after being endorsed by an EGM or among those who walked?
    Or, it was She who had endorsed?

Do we see Politician working or Lawyer at work?
    Don't waste the energy and time of other potential lawyers!!

7. Anonymous2:43 am

"We’ll give inquiry panel a chance"!
    http://www.malaysianbar.org.my/content/view/11363/2/

Under the same Article
    ©Malaysiakini (Used by permission)
    by Soon Li Tsin

• United in a demand for justice
    • Walk for Justice ends with memo submission

Anwar: Well done
    ----
    "Meanwhile de facto PKR leader Anwar Ibrahim, who revealed the Lingam tape last week, congratulated the Bar over the march today in pursue of a royal commission of inquiry."

Ambiga Sreenevasan, Bar Council president
    ---
    On the panel of inquiry: We are surprised by the government’s statement yesterday, that they have set up an independent panel to investigate. We feel that it is a positive move, but we still want a royal commission to be established because it would have wider powers than the panel.

WHAT SORT OF DISCREPANCIES BETWEEN ANWAR & AMBIGA OR IN AMBIGA HERSELF??

8. Anonymous3:23 am

Rise up fallen fighters,
    Rise and take your stance again,
    'Cause he who fights and runs away,
    Live to fight another day.

As a man sow, shall he reap,
    And I know that talk is cheap,
    But the hotter the battle,
    The sweeter the victory.

Rise up fallen fighters,
    Rise and take your stance again,
    'Cause he who fights and runs away,
    Live to fight another day.

9. Anonymous4:41 am

Good to hear . If not I will see Anwar face again terpampang kat Al-Jazeera .

10. This is khaBAR tak baik.

Reconsider your hasty decision. Why your stand changed so drastically.

Don't back out now. For the sake of the country & justice face the caBARan.

11. Anonymous7:53 am

Hi Rocky,
    As I sit and read and listen to what is being said in both your blog and RPK's the general feeling is to continue with the momentum of both Bersih and Hindraf has created in opening the eyes of the nation on what is clearly going wrong in our beloved country. Before I go on let me clearly state that this is a merely a personal opinion. While both peaceful demonstrations were construed by the powers that be to be illegal, we the public in general know better and otherwise.It is true that we need and must continue to ride the wave to ensure maximum impact and show we true Malaysians want change. NOT JUST ANY CHANGE BUT A CHANGE FOR THE BETTER. We need to think rationally and take a step back to look at the whole picture. I do tend to agree with Ambiga in her stance to call off the walk and instead exercise our rights to peaceful assembly at Central Market. The walk itself of course will make a better impact but why add fuel to the fire and give the powers that be an opportunity to hit out at us. Sure, they will sing the same old tune of not having a permit but then again they are in power and have the perrogotive to do so. Its like barking at a hill or shouting at a wall. More so they will also continue to use the walk as a reason to cause more dissatisfaction among the the public with more road blocks and hence make life difficult for people in KL. In my humble and insignificant opinion lets not make life anymore difficult than it already is. Spreading awareness among the 'rakyat' of all the injustices, unfairness and miss use of power must be the primary objective. Not everybody in the country are internet or computer savvy. We of course are very much handicapped as the media is still under the control of the powers that be and hence makes spreading awareness that much more difficult.Why not take a more 'softer' stance in having a peaceful assembly without causing any havoc traffic wise. I am very sure if we get together in Central Market and celebrate our Human Rights to assemble peacefully the impact will be that much more significant. It will also show that we are sensitive to the current situation and will not in any way provide the powers that be any reason or excuse that we are causing difficulty to the 'rakyat' with causing traffic jams and disrupting and causing loss to business people. Getting together and spreading awareness would be that much more significant. We the 'rakyat' have certainly come of age and have matured to a new level of awareness of our rights. It is just so unfortunate that our 'leaders' are so out of touch with the masses. Lets all get together and show them 'people power'. We must show them that their existence depends on us and not the other way round. It is they who have not evolved and not us the 'rakyat'. I reiterate that although the walk will definitely make a BETTER and more SIGNIFICANT impact but it would be much better if we make ourselves heard without causing stress to others. There are many ways to 'skin a cat' why use the method that will cause damage to our noble cause. Salam

12. Anonymous8:12 am

Quote :

We believe this is an unlawful fetter on our constitutional right to assemble peacefully.

If that is so, is the Bar Council ready to take this matter to court to ensure the Rakyat's constitutional rights are not taken away?

13. Anonymous8:27 am

Hi, I am here to voice out my disappointment. Stop halfway? Yes, bravo! Clap! Clap!

14. Anonymous9:16 am

I am really disappointed with Ambiga, Richard is right to the point, it is just "BULLSHIT". If Bar Council can not uphold the truth, who can? Members of the must ensure that she will not have a second term in the Bar!

15. Bar Council walks
    Nothing on December 9
    The marching band decides to sing
    In the Central Market

The Constitution allows
    The freedom to express
    Words and action including rallies
    To say a piece peacefully

Now the walk gone to the wind
    Leaving many sleepless nights
    What will happen to the ordinary?
    When the learned lawyers can’t fight back

The draconian pressures
    Subtlety binds the Bar Council soul
    Now the ruling elite smile
    “See you dance to my tune alright!”

The marching band in Central Market
    Singing sad songs and many cry
    The walk for rights has been cut
    Now let’s dance in our backyards

16. Anonymous10:10 am

So, can it be concluded that the govn.'s using of violent means to end peaceful rallies are working after all? That their gangsteristic ways have succeeded in bringing the rakyat into submission once again?
    Is Malaysia doomed for ever?

17. Anonymous10:15 am

Sdr Rocky, I join your esteemed commentators in condemning the hypocricy of our Bar Council in particular and the legal fratinity in general.

The following report by Malaysikini is referred:

"Bar calls off Sunday march
    Beh Lih Yi
    Dec 4, 07 4:23pm Adjust font size:

The Bar Council has called off its annual human rights day march on Sunday, ostensibly due to pressure from the authorities to obtain a police permit and it being branded as an ‘anti-government’ rally.

“We are calling it off, but will proceed with the rest of the festivities (at Central Market),” council chairperson Ambiga Sreenevasan told Malaysiakini this afternoon.

In a press statement later, she said the council’s decision was made after “anxious consideration to the present circumstances that surround the event, particularly the interests of the public and the Malaysian Bar".

She described the controversy surrounding the event as “unfortunate and wholly unwarranted"."

1. Why ostensibly?
    2. Why succumb to government pressure?
    3. What's wrong in applying for police permit?
    4. Apply for permit and sue if they refuse.
    5.Is this the limit of courage of our lawyers?
    6. How can we trust our lawyars if they fool around with our emotion?
    7. These uncrupulous people of the Bar had led us up the garden path.
    8. Actually they are thinking only of money. No economy, no money. No conveyancing, no money.
    9. So it's all about power and money.
    10. To solve the problem, line up the Bar exco and "shoot" them. Period.
    11. From now on we have to fight our own battle, the battle of the people.

PS: Even you Mr Rocky are fooled by these two-faced serpants.

I humbly rest my case.

18. Anonymous10:16 am

I guess I will be there for this one ... :)

19. Anonymous12:23 pm

I am disappointed at the Malaysian Bar’s decision, cancelling the People’s Freedom Walk. The Bar is literally ‘chickened’ out. They all know damn well how local major media and the government would portray them should they proceed with the walk. By calling off the walk, it has effectively nullified momentum that was built up in the past month. The government would use it as mean to silent future people’s rally.

Why cancel the walk this year? If the walk violates the law, how would the gathering at the Central Market consider legal? It is mind boggling how the Bar could be such submissive?

I believe a good lawyer is a great liar and their action confirms my belief.

20. Anonymous12:46 pm

At the end of the day, lawyers are lawyers after all..They talk shits, plan shits, write shits and shit themselves...Which bollocks who would go into art stream, get so-so results for STPM and still get to study law - in intention of helping people and uphold justice? Only morons who couldn't comprehend basic sciences do that...And the Bullshitter Association of Rights-fighter (BAR) Council actions proved my points...Bollocks....

21. If the BC says it doesn't want to walk because it doesn't agree to the permit licensing model, why doesn't it walk to clamour for the removal of that model?

One shouldn't have to be licensed to practise human right, should one?

i am walla.

22. Anonymous2:32 pm

It's like you are about to climax and there was a knock on the door .....
    and all the foreplay and whispering went down the drain.

23. No NSTman, some lawyers are brave, lets you and I walk with THEM, this Sunday 7am at Sogo.

24. TRUST A LAWYER ?

A lawyer married a woman who had previously divorced ten husbands. On their wedding night, she told her new husband, "Please be gentle, I'm still a virgin."
    "What?" said the puzzled groom. "How can that be if you've been married ten times?"

"Well, Husband #1 was a sales representative; he kept telling me how great it was going to be.

Husband #2 was in software services; he was never really sure how it was supposed to function, but he said he'd look into it and get back to me.

Husband #3 was from field services; he said everything checked out diagnostically but he just couldn't get the system up.

Husband #4 was in telemarketing; even though he knew he had the order, he didn't know when he would be able to deliver.

Husband #5 was an engineer; he understood the basic process but wanted three years to research, implement, and design a new state-of-the-art method.

Husband #6 was from finance and administration; he thought he knew how, but he wasn't sure whether it was his job or not.

Husband #7 was in marketing; although he had a nice product, he was never sure how to position it.

Husband #8 was a psychologist; all he ever did was talk about it.

Husband #9 was a gynecologist; all he did was look at it.

Husband #10 was a stamp collector; all he ever did was... God! I miss him! But now that I've married you, I'm really excited!"

"Good," said the new husband, "but, why?"

"You're a lawyer. This time I know I'm gonna get screwed!"

YEAH ,,, TRUST A LAWYER ABD GET SCREWED !!!

25. Anonymous5:05 pm

et tu Bar Council!

26. Anonymous10:28 pm

Human Rights Walk? Talk? Thought?
    =================================
    Last two years Walks to remind
    Human Rights be raised and bright.
    No one care if it should be well defined!
    A day to memorize!

This years Human Rights been torn
    with Constitution fold-up by Power
    untouched by the Bar!
    Many know Human Rights are stuck and deprived!
    It is dark to remind
    so something at night??
    And Human Rights must be precise!

Continue with Candle Lights!
    along the River to see lights
    join in where it stuck
    or a free flow with joy!!

Think of Human Rights
    are equalities among partners
    Constitution and Policemen
    Clients and lawyers
    People and Government
    Buyers and sellers
    Consumers and Manufacturers
    House Buyers and Developers
    Residents and Councilors
    without the former, no latter!!

Send our hope with a small candle on a leave to float!
    Anywhere by the river with small water flow!!

BAR HAS LOST THE TRAIL!!
    Lit the Dark to tell where it stuck
    or nice flow to enjoy!!
    See BAR next year
    if Human Rights restored!

Satellite the River through Sogo
    http://www.4321.co.il/property/adxtra.asp?ad=22490
    from North to South it will flow
    I suppose!!

8/12 - Saturday Night??

27. Anonymous1:15 pm

We should not throw a tantrum at Ambiga and the Bar Council. Lawyers cannot disobey the law that requires a permit for an assembly to gather as it stands, though the law is flawed. I am disappointed too but the Bar Council has given us an opportunity. As an ordinary citizen, there is no law which says I cannot walk peacefully from the Sogo Complex to the Central Market at any time I choose to do so. And walk I shall this Sun. 9 Dec. at 7.30am. Wishing all a peaceful day upholding Human Rights for everyone.