Monday, November 05, 2007

Lagi TOLL!

City toll. The FT Minister says there is a plan to charge toll on motorists entering Kuala Lumpur.
Well over a million vehicles enter the city every day so one can imagine how much money Zulhasnan Rafique can force those who work in the city to give to him by creating a few toll booths here and there. A tolol way to boost government coffers; any idiot can do it.
Read the article here. It does not explain how the toll could regulate traffic but it does talk about three ministries discussing the city toll issue at a posh hotel.
One more Pak Lah's project to make us poorer.

poster courtesy of Mob

54 comments:

1. Now local councils are charging parking fees even on deserted roads and on public holidays.
    All that is free now is the air we breathe and that too is polluted.
    KL traffic congestion is due to poor public transport.
    If KL has the efficiency of Singapore's MRT and bus service, many motorists would leave their cars at home.
    Instead of improving the system they are taking the easy way out - impose TOLL.
    They only think of revenue.

2. "One more Pak Lah's project to make us poorer." And to make many others in right positions richeeeeeer and happieeeeeeeeer..:(

3. bro,
    we are the only country where the public,( read tax-paying non-voilent and law abiding citizens!) can be buggered/raped/screwed and conditioned to conform by this shitty government ! I too am anxiously awaiting the next Elections! fcuking change is long over-due !

4. Anonymous1:51 pm

Heard this talk before. Easier said than done. Lets not compare KL to Spore.

For one thing there are millions of lorong leading to the town centre . For another , do you think our datuks datins and their sons and daughters will be happy with that.

But of course, this COULD be a way to allow only our Lords and Barons the privilege of riding to town without the jams.

Us mortals would have to be happy with the train services.

BUT HELLOOO MINISTER !!! Are there enough trains for us ?
    Settle that then we can think about aping our beloved Singapore neighbour.

5. Anonymous1:56 pm

so bro,what happened at rapat setia........???????? u a grandpa..?? hehehe....

6. IT Agenda Baru Negara,
    Malaysia Melangkah Ke Cyberjaya,
    Teknologi Hebat, Penyebar Maklumat,
    Mencipta Satu Bangsa Berjaya.

IT Budayalah Hidup Kita,
    Kekayaan Baru Dunia,
    Cintai Pada IT,
    Sejahteralah Diri.

Kenal IT
    Suka IT
    Pelajari Setiap Hari
    IT Terkini

Oh ~ IT
    Guna IT
    Tingkatkan Ilmu IT
    Malaysia Bistari
    Terima IT
    Belajar IT
    Sayang IT
    Guna IT
    IT!!!

7. Beberapa tahun dahulu ada dua toll: satu di jalan Kuching dan satu lagi di Jalan Pahang. Kedua-duanya telah dimansuhkan.

Sekarang satu lagi projek toll akan diperkenalkan dan pastinya lebih hebat daripada yang dahulu. Semua jalan masuk akan dibina toll berbanding dengan dahulu hanya di Jalan Kuching/Pahang sahaja.

KL mungkinlah tak jem lepas dikenakan tol ini. tetapi jalan nak masuk ke KL macamamana? Dulu punyalah seksa nak lalu Jalan Kuching/Pahang setiap pagi.

Saya TIDAK SETUJU.

8. Your ministers really think you guys are "tolol".

and they sure know how to spend taxpayers' money...
    a retreat????

9. Anonymous2:37 pm

Pak Rocky,
    Janganlah bapak kalut sangat pasal kenaikan Tol dan barangan keperluan nih.Biarkan.Galakkan.Sokong.Hanya ini cara yang boleh menjatuhkan Kerajaan BN!

10. Why should they go to a retreat to discuss? You mean, a DBKL office where the documents are held won't do? A cleaner washroom at the posh hotel will cleanse the mind to focus better? Are they already the new lordships of independent malaysia?

How does imposing tolls reduce traffic to the city? Except for work, which idiot wants to go to KL? It is a dead city, made deader than dead by the marvellous geniuses of umno, this planet's greatest creation. It is the only city where half a minute more rain and you can have a free bath together with the mini-submarine that was your car.

Look-lah we are not Singapore so don't bother to compare; contrast, maybe. The CPI says two percent; people mutter gravely twenty percent. You think the people don't know? Prices are going through the roof, soon the children can't even have milo. These days more time is spent going round and round looking desperately for a 5kg cooking oil at 10.99. Some of us are so frigging hungry that we have to walk past that bread stall six times just to take what forms one slice of freebie dion bread from kyoto. Posh hotel, my pained foot.

Those mofos of all mofos are dreaming. Let their salaries, allowances and perks be removed for just one month and then throw them out on the streets to rub shoulders everyday with more 'ordinary' malaysians. At the end of that national service, they can then stand under the big flag opposite the courthouse and say they want to impose toll on motorists. We haven't had a lynching for a long time.

The problem is not about reducing traffic. It's about the brainless mofo way of doing things. The biggest bottlenecks are in front of parliament and along that jln tun razak; those mofos should stand at the trident junction where one road splits into three, one to umno/panpac, the other to jln ipoh and the third up the flyover to ampang. It is the one to jln ipoh which jams the main ones. The solution, my friend, is to demolish Wisma Umno. If you don't agree with me, we no more friends-lah.

Then the other jam is at that mad intersection below the flyover of jln kuching, you know where bank negara, and a few other places are. There are so many turnoffs and traffic lights and the stupid road going to puduraya is completely jammed up. The solution, my friend, is to demolish DBKL. If you don't agree with me, we no more friends-lah.

Then the third jam happens quite a distance away; one senses that under the full moon, it effects a national gridlock all the way to puchong (a much neglected township, mofos of toyo) and ampang new village (where you get decent yongtaufoo - halal, too). That bloody jam happens at the Mrr2 tollgate. The solution, my friend, is to demolish those toll stations and cancel that toll collection. If you don't agree with me, we no more friends-lah.

But if after all this ranting, you still wanna go ahead in order to get some under-the-toll-bar money for the next thirty years, say first you have done homework lah. How much a motorist in a wira spends a day driving to/from city, parking (charges will go up when toll goes up as clearly as you can read this, dumbkopf), replacing brakepads and suspension and burning oil at plus twenty percent increase in price AND consumption next year (?), add inflation for food, condoms and health bills (not necessarily in that order). Also, depreciation to zero resale value of existing car accelerated by extremely unhealthy automotive market in this country resultant of mad and maniacal policies courtesy of Umno the great.

They are mentally and emotionally unstable, those idiots of umno whether state or federal. Every now and then, they come out with some mad, loose-sarung scheme.

Got free food at posh hotel, ah?

11. IT Agenda Baru Negara,

IT Budayalah Hidup Kita,
    Kekayaan Baru Dunia,
    Cintai Pada IT,
    Sejahteralah Diri.

Kenal IT
    Suka IT
    Pelajari Setiap Hari
    IT Terkini

Oh ~ IT
    Guna IT
    Tingkatkan Ilmu IT
    Malaysia Bistari
    Terima IT
    Belajar IT
    Sayang IT
    Guna IT
    IT!!!

12. wanna discuss toll hike also needs a posh hotel? cooool..
    maybe we can use tat UMNO prize of 5Milion to subsidize toll my friend

www.bmahendran.com

13. why? why do we need to do this?

14. Anonymous4:35 pm

Bro & readers,

Why don't they study the london transport system before making any proposal that make look more stupid.

In London with population 3 times more than KL, they implement a system which is similar to the toll but only after taking into consideration of an efficient public transport system. See how many underground rail system they have, ontime bus, etc, etc and also campaign for cycling in the city and also the latest is eletric motorbike ( to reduce pollution )

Even a university student in Malaysia can come out with this basic ideas and it's up to the leaders and ministries to implement it in such an effective way.......it's the public interest first LOL and not your pocket.

go to transport for london website
    ( www.tfl.gov.uk ) and study their system and propose a good long term solution that suit our traffic, city plan and etc.

Haiyaaa.....penat lah rasa duduk kat Malaysia bawah AAB yang bodoh ni.

15. Kenapa Zulhasnan tak wajibkan pondok tol pada setiap akses di kawasan perumahan sekitar Kuala Lumpur?

Bukankah lebih mudah begitu? Apa tidaknya? Contohnya, mahu keluar kerja, bayaran tolnya sudah boleh dibayar di pintu masuk Taman Pelangi atau Taman Sri Hartamas dll. ^^

Mungkin KL akan dapat bertanding di dalam kategori bandar "7 Wonders" dengan adanya pondok tol di setiap akses taman atau kawasan perumahan.

16. Anonymous4:48 pm

bro..pls lah bro. i masuk KL sudah kena 2 tol . last night. i went to pasar malam bought tepong gandum. wtt the seller told me..ni harga dah naik RM2.70..my God. saya kena beli jugak ,,nak makan..tol naik,minyak naik ,, so nak belasah sapa!!!

Pls lah inflasi naik ma! gaji naik pun tak bermakna. Pak Lah why u senyap. u tapa lah. pasar kuli pi beli.

Koken

17. Anonymous4:59 pm

1. They spend millions on ITIS
    2. They have Rapid KL &
    underground & monorail( GLC ? )
    3. They have DBKL
    4. They have traffic police

All these cost tax payer money million of RM and yet they are not doing anything to combine the sources & ideas of the above people and department in improving the traffic.

Instead they use the normal short cut way by charging the public...
    don't they know that all these people came into the city centre untuk sesuap nasi or otherwise might as well they stay at home and play with their children.

did they know that the London Public Transport ( excluding private taxis and other mode ) never make profits for years because they understand that it was meant as part of the city infrastructure and the responsible of the goverment.

Thay also understand that if these people can't go to work in case if there is any hartal made by the public transport workers or other reason, it will cost their economy million of dollar per day.

My suggestion is to bring in the minister of labour, Suruhanjaya perkhidmatan awam and public sector into the meeting as well.

start with a staggered working system for everybody working in the city centre ie :

0800 to 1700 hours - 1st shift
    0900 to 1800 hours - 2nd shift
    1000 to 1900 hours - 3rd shift

start the proposal on this working shift / hours, it might reduce the bottle neck in the city.

You might notice that the peak traffic hours on the road & public transport will be reduced and the peak hour will only be between 1100
    and 1500 hours.

Then only you start thinking of implimenting something on these super peak hours ( 1100 to 1500 hours)

this is just a tip of my ideas.

If they want more , they have to pay me. Nothing is free, Bro.

18. Bro,

Saya sudah menyediakan satu petition online bagi menggesa Kerajaan untuk mempertimbangkan semasak-masaknya cadangan ini di:

http://www.petitiononline.com/zaiman66/petition.html

Harap dapat disebarkan.

19. Anonymous5:15 pm

who is paying for this discussion, if it is the public's money, then the public deserves to know and have a say!

fcuking robbers

20. Sometimes our ministers defy common sense or logical thinking? If supposedly they build a toll booth entering the city ; won't that congest the traffic at the toll booths?? It defeats the purpose.

21. Anonymous5:48 pm

Cili~man said...

Enough is enough. The next round of meeting must be conducted place as follows:-

1. Genting Highland - so that they don`t gamble their luck!

2. KL Tower - at the revolving restaurant - so their mind will see more views rather then narrow minded.

3. Rumah Tumpangan Ah Keong - how dirty politics are!

4. Foyer Masjid India - so this people can kembali kejalan yang benar!

5. Maya Hotel facing Muslim Grave - so they know that death is near for those who cause pain to others.

Just a suggestion for the next round of meeting.

Note: You will not get my VOTE in the next election!

Neraka Berdarah kamu!

22. Anonymous6:53 pm

Palace of the Golden Horses. How very nice. Before Zulhasnan made that stupid statement, he shud have taken into account the reason why people actually drive into KL.

B'cos transport sucks. And those MF planners then were too shortsighted to plan for population expansion and the need for proper traffic dispersal.

Here, every study taken is with a shrewd eye trained on whose gonna make money on which concession.

This is what happens when u have a somnolent leader, a deluded bunch of acolytes, and a slumbering govt machinery.

In the nation of the sleeping multitude, the insomniac is King.

23. hey, come on fellas. KL traffic congestion isnt terrible enough as compared to jakarta and bangkok. this is where we should try to compete with our neighbours and show the world that msia Boleh!

24. Anonymous7:05 pm

The purpose of the toll is;
    1. To pay for more retreats in posh hotels
    2. For the salary people to take the public transport so that the roads will be free for the Datuks, Datins and thier little ones to get to KLCC faster to shop.

25. This comment has been removed by the author.

26. Anonymous8:53 pm

Bro, off track here:

Could you please highlight these MIC clowns, we are already hurt and they are pushing the dagger deeper... I'm ashamed and disgusted in having them as representatives!

Malaysiakini-MIC retracts ban on Deepavali events 5/11/07

27. Pity the KLites. I am one of them. In Sg, the govt think about the impact to its citizens before implementing something. The poor are always in the government's mind.

When the govt want to implement, please think about the existing public transport to the masses. A lot of people wouldn't mind using public transport if they are reliable.

With the raise in toll, petrol, bread and a host of other items, and now toll for going into the city to cari makan, urban poverty is going to increase.

28. It is not a bad idea if it is done properly.Firstly, the city fathers must provide an efficient and reliable public transport system as alternative.Secondly, the collection of toll should not be for the purpose of boosting revenue but to help ease congestion for the welfare and convenience of the city dwellers.Thirdly, a car pool system should be introduced to reduce the number of cars entering the city.

To encourage people to car pool, cars that have 3 or more passengers should not have to pay toll.This system was implemented in S'pore over twenty years ago and has worked quite well to ease congestion.

The KL traffic system is antiquated and I must say, badly planned too.Like most every thing in this country, the city planners did not take pride in their job.Not much thoughts were given to design the ideal system. During peaks hours policemen are deployed to certain areas in the city to take over the role of the traffic lights. More shameful are after having spent billions of ringgit on construction of flyovers and widening of roads, congestions are still a perennial problem.A city with congested roads lose much of its productivity.If you are stuck in traffic for two hours every days, you may not realise the amount of work or leisure time you have lost just sitting in your car.

Singapore is light years ahead of us in term of planning and implementation of its traffic and public transportation system.

With the kind of mentality our leaders have, believe me, it would be unbearable to live in KL five to ten years from now.

29. Anonymous10:56 pm

since they planning to send another one to space..how else to pay for it? squeeze the rakyat la...since not enuf squeezing in other areas.

sc

30. Anonymous11:45 pm

TOLL in KL City?? Even Capitan Yap Ah Loy will surely laugh off at the idea. All roads and streets leading to KL city are not properly alligned. No way any tol ideas could be implemented. Ask any cab drivers or despatch riders surely they will laugh off. This idea could only work in a well planned city like Putrajaya but not in KL city.

31. This comment has been removed by the author.

32. Anonymous12:38 am

pure bastards!!!!period.

Layari www.anakbapa.blogspot.com

33. Aiyah! Just put passport-sized photo of KJ on your vehicle windscreen and you will get 'protection' mah.

This fella's 'protection' got power. Sure can drive-thru FOC.

P.S. Bro, just like Insider, I'm also waiting for your 'I'm a Grandpa!' posting. Bila lagi?

34. i don't think it will work out... KL roads without toll booths are already jammed to the max!! what more when toll booths are everywhere to slow down traffic?!

if it is implemented i personally think that it is one which is not carefully thought before hand.

35. Anonymous7:37 am

cth2 menteri yg suka bercakap ikut bontot. dulu sudah angkut 4.4 billion nothing change pun.
    now husam kata might go as high as 70 sen..shud be around 10 billion.
    ckp je laa duit nak kasik scomi pun project besar2..skrang scomi semua nak angkat..rapidpenang laa..monorail, lrt ,
    KJ pun x segan2 ckp dier ade protection..that is son-inlaw.. kalau own son just imagine laa..

36. This comment has been removed by the author.

37. Anonymous9:13 am

Doesn't this sort thing kill businesses in Kuala Lumpur that aren't covered by public transport?

I may be an advocate of public transport, but judging after taking buses, taxis, the LRT lines, the Monorail and the Komuter for the past four years, we still have a long, long way to go.

If the government is thorough in covering routes in and out of KL, it's going to stress the already sardined and inefficient public transport system with more of those who can afford to pay tolls. Guess what happens next? KL becomes less affordable and inconvenient to enter and leave, and the city becomes less attractive to travel to among the more productive. Is it murder?

Then again, I'm not expecting this proposal to pass. It's too "ambitious" and there could be a backlash. Don't forget that thing that will go on on November 10.

----

IT Agenda Baru Negara,

IT Budayalah Hidup Kita,
    Kekayaan Baru Dunia,
    Cintai Pada IT,
    Sejahteralah Diri.

Kenal IT
    Suka IT
    Pelajari Setiap Hari
    IT Terkini

Oh ~ IT
    Guna IT
    Tingkatkan Ilmu IT
    Malaysia Bistari
    Terima IT
    Belajar IT
    Sayang IT
    Guna IT
    IT!!!

38. Anonymous9:44 am

Sdr Rocky,

Kita SOKONG dan Kita meng-alu2kan bayaran Toll ini
    kerana ianya TIDAK akan MENJEJASKAN ekonomi/poket2 rakyat.

Sila lah Pak Menteri2 bawa rombongan sambil belajar keSeluruh Dunia dan Angkasa Lepas untuk memberi feedback yang terbaik...

Lepas ni kita beli the "junk SOYUZ" pula untuk pameran para pelancong!!

P/s

Perbahasan di sini pula jangan menyentuh perkara2 sensitif.....seperti dalam MAT
    (Mesyuarat Agung Tahunan)UMNO.

lilili

39. Anonymous9:48 am

Typical of these idiots who does things without thinking through the problem.

Solving the traffic woes is not a one dimensional solution. You must take a holistic approach. Just imposing toll without for example improving the public transport and traffic dispersal system is adding another layer of problem without solving the root cause.

I spoke to an ex KL boy designing traffic control system for cities such as LA, New York etc about doing something for his hometown. His blunt reply "KL is a lost cause". What he is saying is that it is not only the messy traffic system that he has to contend with but also the nightmarish bureaucrats that will hinder his efforts. Another Malaysian traffic expert who once worked with the London Transport system echoed this view.

40. Anonymous9:55 am

We have all the money to send more space participants....NOW I KNOW HOW THE MONEY IS FUNDED!

Bravo!

41. Anonymous12:04 pm

How else can they get all the money to fund the development of all the corridors and space tourisim. I read somewhere that the Russians are suggesting that UNMO hold their annual meeting in space. That would take the cake if they accept the offer! You never know. Malaysia Boleh!

42. Hey, in that case let's reconstruct the Jln Kuching, Jln Pahang & Cheras toll plazas AND build some new ones!!!

43. This comment has been removed by the author.

44. I'll take care of this.

Send me to Indonesia, QUICK!

Then all this wouldn't matter to me anymore. I'll just have to deal with the smog and the Jakarta traffic jams.

Please, please, please, exile me! NOW!

45. The Russians are interested to sell the Soyuz to us, so maybe they need the money desperately to buy this Soyuz. Therefore, imposing the toll seems like a good idea to bring in more revenue. Come on, who cares if its a big strain to those who needs to go to KL to work or shop. Afterall, everything is increasing, why not jump into the bandwagon and impose toll, the people can afford it. BUT.. I was thinking, shouldnt the Government be helping its people, reduce poverty, reduce and abolish tolls eventually, let the people have a better life..oh, how silly of me, that's not going to happen for a long long long long time.

46. This comment has been removed by the author.

47. This comment has been removed by the author.

48. Anonymous8:33 pm

kalu pm boleh pakai jet besak besak apa salah nya kuncu kuncu nya belanja wang sikit.

Bayangkan: jam 9 mesyuarat mula..dung deng dung deng ... jam 10 coffee break...borak borak...jam 12 makan jam 3 coffee break..

ini berjalan munkin 2 atau 3 hari. kemudian tauke lee hantak invois munkin 40 ke 50 ribu ringgit. ada minyak, apa susah no?

49. Anonymous6:28 am

Another RENT collecting mentality in the pertext of reducing traffic congestion????

50. Next, you have to pay toll to breathe.

51. Anonymous10:50 pm

muhsin said:

i hate this bugger zulhasnan. no brain.

52. tahniah ..undilah BN lagi...biar dia letak tol kat merata tempat...tahniah...semua harga naik itu naik..sampai jenayah pun dok naik...

53. Anonymous9:58 pm

giving registered car owners incentives not to drive into the city is one way of making the roads in KL free from traffic instead of putting up TOL booths to fleece the rakyat....bad enough we have suffered petrol increase twice already and i heard its gonna increase again...sudah brapa kali mau naik la...now i know what the Bersih Rally is all about, .......pak lah stop snoring and wake up la ur country is going to the dogs....i love malaysia and hate to see your rakyat taking to the streets to show their dissatisfaction for the whole world to see.....it pains me to say this .....ure a disappointment as a leader.

54. the transport policy for the klang valley cannot be thought about in a piecemeal way

some kind of a congestion charge might be sensible, but not without significant investment in a much better public transport and improved "park and ride" facilities

(i use the lrt and monorail far less than i want to because there is almost no parking at the stations and they are not always easy to get to without taking another form of public transport)

in london the congestion charge has worked very well indeed, and the city is now a much more pleasant less polluted place to be

still, if the same idea is introduced here it will be interesting to see if datuk bandar joins commuters on the lrt as ken livingstone, lord mayor of london, regularly does