Friday, November 30, 2007

Come on, baby, light my fire

In support of ALL underprivileged Malaysians. Blogging lawyer Haris Ibrahim has proposed a Saffron Sunday that people from Perlis to Johor and from Sabah to Selangor light up candles to support all causes for Malaysians in need.
There'll be some candles burning in Singapore, where I'll be this Sunday.

There will also be a gathering among friends, probably at the Blog House, to mark the event. Peace and quiet. Visit The People's Parliament for details.

22 comments:

1. Anonymous4:02 pm

BRO BRU...I REALLY WONDER..WHAT'S THE RATIONALE BEHIND THE LIGHTING OF CANDLES !!! ESPECIALLY FOR THE SAKE OF THE UNDERPRIVILAGED.. THE MONEY YOU BURN I.E. BY BURNING THE CANDLES FROM PERLIS TO SINGAPORE !!!!CAN BE PUT TO GOOD USE BY GIVING TO THE REALLY NEEDY. THE REAL ISSUE IS THE REALLY POOR THINKS OF HOW TO FEED THE FAMILY. THEY DONT THINK OF BURNING CANDLES. THATS LUXURY AND SUCH A WASTEFUL THING TO DO!!.BUT IF THOSE WHO SYMPATHISE WOULD JUST LIKE TO BURN CANDLES THEN I PITY THE POOR.

2. bro anon 4:02pm,

This is a symbolic gesture. you can choose NOT to burn a candle and your act is still not going to put food on the poor's table.

Get together some friends, light some cheap candles, and discuss how all of you can help the poor hindus, muslims, christians, buddhists, atheists in our Malaysia.

You get the drift?

3. Anonymous4:44 pm

don't forget to cook and serve saffron rice...food is a very good uniting factor too, IMHO :)

4. Anonymous6:32 pm

Bro Rocky, kenapa semua sekarang dah tiru orang barat, semua nak pasang lilin. emmmmm...

5. Anonymous7:21 pm

Well said rocky.

6. Anonymous7:58 pm

Candles for the Darks
    or Blindness in the Heart!
    =====================
    Where are the lights
    when Laws are stuck
    with courts can distort grievances
    and lawyers for their own life?

Departments with their own Rules to rise
    Answer or not they can choose what they like!

Welfare of people at the mercy of the Parties
    to share in their own eyes
    Keeping people blind!

Fairness in Dark
    so Blindness in the heart!

Lit the Candle
    to lift blindness off the Heart!
    A Malaysian Heart!

FUND RAISING IS TO START
    BUT ONLY WHEN SYSTEM WORKS
    WITH HEARTS LIT UP!

7. Anonymous8:04 pm

HUMAN RIGHTS FUND?
    ==================
    Human Rights to be rooted
    for any lawyer to talk fairness en route!

NO toll can be raised
    with terms and conditions under OSA
    hiding BIAS or illogical in the contract!

Raise a "Human Rights Fund"
    a RM10 to a special account
    with direct deposit or transfer
    with same display on blog
    to cast a kind of vote!

Injunction to get transparency
    and accountability
    with straightening of any contradictory
    before any tariff please!

This should also help the Bail
    towards anyone challenged with Human Rights
    with contribution from ALL
    Hope Lawyers & Courts to put it right!

ALL Drivers a RM10 to a "Toll Fund"
    with fax or e-mail their details for a Toll Committee on the list
    giving numbers in grievance in one piece!

Both under Malaysian Rights Fund
    to be audited and transparent to run!
    Anyone like mavrky will help?
    http://www.projectmanagementysm.blogspot.com/

WALK THE RALLY REQUESTS TO COURT!!

8. Anonymous8:24 pm

Out of those who intend to burn a candle for this purpose, i wonder how many give regularly to charity.

9. Baby light my fire
    From Perlis to Johore
    Across the causeway maybe

Burning candles losing money
    You think it is worth the cause?
    Baby look at the light
    The sparks of gathering
    Thinking ways to help

Why not start the piggy banks?
    Money for the candles put in these pots
    From Perlis to Johore
    Across the causeway maybe
    There you will have a tidy sum
    It may not feed all of them
    At least there is light in the dark

Baby light my fire
    Let it glows in the dark sky
    Let the common goal achieves its aim
    Waste not brothers and sisters
    Put in the piggy banks

The Lord will grant our wishes
    So start the ball rolling
    In our small ways we can make it
    To light their lives that people care

10. Sigh for the bleeding heart liberals! I gave RM3,000 to a charity of my own choosing every three months for the last seven years and last I heard the money was well spent! I am sure all of you rich bleeding heart lawyers c an do more than I can. But burning candles all the way to S'pore?Firstly we will contribute to more pollution and secondly the last I heard the Malays there are quite well off!

11. brother rocky...i pun setuju dengan comments yang tak setuju dengan lighting a candle nih...I think everything is starting to be labeled and being romanticized...yellow saturday bolehla faham lagi...ni plak Saffron Sunday..pastu Lavender Monday..then Aquamarine Tuesday...then Bloody Red Wednesday...Pastel Pink Thursday...sampai Green Friday (when we all turn green from wanting to puke from the overdose...) why so Mat Salleh wan...I'm not against whiteys' la...I like the uber blond Chris Walken wat and that cool lawyer on Boston Legal..apa nama...James Spader...damn sexy I wanna slap him silly...tapi ada la batas sket...semua nak ikut for the sake of nak ikut...baik donate to charity the cost of each candle...start a Yayasan Bloggers for Malaysians in Need ka...ni so much western sentimentalism...makes a Taliban like me wanna give Haris 100 lashes...haha...Mat Salleh pun lagi pandai...macam2 charity depa buat to help those in need the world over...tgk mcm heroine kita Dr. Jamilah...tak dak sentimental tak tentu pasai...just got her hands dirty and gets things done...apa ke jadahnya kita dapat pun bakar2 lilin...lilin aroma tak pa gak....ada gak wanginya...

12. Anonymous11:10 pm

Suggest using a burning candle (animation) to be more realistic ;-)

Found one here (bottom section)
    www.animationlibrary.com/sc/194/
    Candles_and_Torches//?page=4

13. Anonymous12:31 am

again i agree with you pasquale.

i know some might might say this is a symbolic gesture...as rocky said, to gather and to discuss how to help others. but you know, there are so many ways we can show the underprivileged that we care, at this very second. in fact there are many charities out there which are in dire need of money and if you really care, all you need to do is to sign the cheque right away. No need to burn candles lah. It wont put food on the table.

14. Anonymous12:33 am

This site is getting quite comical really.

Whatever one comes up with, there would be another one who disagrees!

It reminds me of a comedy, cant remmeber the name though, where everyone has their own ideas about a good night out and ends up not going anywhere! Now everyone is clueless as to what to do next! So, shall I now burn a candle or not? I might just eat it and call it quit.

Anyway, I am not disgreeing with anyone of you here, don't get me wrong. It's just that I find it very comical!

"Too many cooks spoil the broth" How true that is!

Just continue with the comical animation talk to tickle my toes!

No offence, folks. Just don't charge at me! I plead guilty!!!

15. Anonymous12:35 am

Candle or Heart or Mind?
    ========================
    A small candle to lit the heart
    at the time when People think hard!

Thousands or millions to join
    to think of why is so Dark
    even a candle light could mark!

Why many a chess in the hands
    to save the mess cannot act!
    The chess board is really a mess!

A candle is a spot
    be shared by many at the spot
    for a thought on future of many
    started by Rallies of many!

A lot on the Road out of the dark
    but only Human Rights to start!

A candle can lit many!
    The hearts it lits be plenty
    to see not only candle beauty
    but the hearts to share are sweety!

80,000 to 100,000 from the Rallies
    passing light to many many around
    a candle right!

To count the number of Candle light?
    or the number of hearts being Bright?

A spot in Malaysia history with Candle Light
    for Malaysian Rights!
    A HUMAN RIGHTS Candle
    on Dec 2 night!!
    *8:30pm*

16. What's wrong with you people? A candle light is a symbol of altruism and it is cheap enough to allow those who can't afford to write MR3,000 cheque, like pasquale and co, to join in and give a thought to those poorer than themselves. If you are worried about pollution caused by candles, you should be more worried about the pollution caused by cars. As for me, I'm going to light a virtual candle ...

17. now u confuse me,

...it always take little effort to tickle the toes of an imbecile...glad we all could help a needy person like you...

18. Anonymous9:52 am

I've been lighting real "candle" for the poor.

My family's involvement and commitment in one orphanage home have put kids thru schools and universities.

Kids with no parent/s, food on the table and even place for shelter have a life today. They have their own family and provided. Some became reached occupation of doctors, accountants, lawyers, engineers, and government officers.

Not to mention a food collection to be distributed for the poor.

That put food on the table for the underprivalege

Perhaps I could be perceived as boosting but the point I am trying to tell Harris is do real work with real world significance.

Too obvious he is being political and trying to be an attention seeker. Enough with tokenism and wimpy gestures!

19. Anonymous10:46 am

Thsi is a good start but you may want to reconsider the name, I understand why you guys chose saffron but I personally think that we should choose our own colour, in fact I do think that yellow is a good standard for the movement, there is strength, resolve and a certain purity (of purpose)to yellow.
    Anyway I am just picking at the details but helping the poor requires a lot of financial and physical muscle so please think of how you want to incorporate into your new-found consciousness the exsiting charities, which have been doing the same thing for decades what you are now advocating...

20. Anonymous3:27 pm

Can we please use other means than candle! Candles is closely assciated with religous pratics of Christian, Buddhist and what not.

AS a Muslim I am not comfortable. Under the constitution, Islam is ugama perseketuan ... Article 3 & 11. The rites and practices of other religions can be practised provided it is done in peace and harmony.

A rite that is participated by all religion shd thus place the sensitivity of Muslim and also others. It shd not cause discomfort and disharmony with Muslims.

I am just making a request which I hope be appropriately considered.

We can argue over this. Changing the way the rite is done would just solve everything.

Since Harris uphold tht Constitution is supreme and as Muslim, he shd know that, shouldn't he?

21. Anonymous8:52 pm

Is Candle religious?
    Is constitution, religious?
    Is Candle not for Rites and Harmony?
    ===========================
    A lot of candle are lit for light
    or even to scare the flies or alike
    or even for romantic of life!

The candle is to see the mind
    to see a way for Rites and Harmony
    so no race or religion be deprived
    so a peace in everyone's mind!

The Candle is calling the hearts
    to consider fairness for all, real hard!

If you look back to history
    Muslim, Christian, Catholic and ...
    started with the same God!
    Is prophet a God?

Religion are on the hearts or souls
    to guide your mind right.
    Constitution can only regulate BODY's rights!

Candle already lit here
    hope Muslim see the light!

If all Human are Right
    will Muslim not alright?
    If only Muslim got the Rights
    will all Human the same Rights?

Anyone should be a Human
    but not all human into Muslim!!
    Let a Candle be shared by ALL
    not excluding Muslim!

CANDLE LIGHT FOR ALL
    Candle or colours will gone
    but a clear mind (I hope)!!

22. just lit the candle lah,tak mau just biarkan.its a symbol je....nak confuse apalah pulak.......kat dapurkan mesti ada saki baki lilin,biasanya bila takde karan baru pakai.kali ni lain sikit..tats all...