Sunday, October 28, 2007

Indonesia announces National Bloggers Day

27 Oct. Indonesia has declared this day as the republic's National Bloggers Day ("It's National Bloggers Day in Indonesia Today", Unspun, 27 Okt).

I would like to congratulate bloggers in Indonesia and their government for creating this landmark, and join the blogger Unspun in marveling at the contrast in relationships between Government and bloggers in Indonesia and Malaysia. "If only the Malaysia Government could learn how to engage this vocal segment of the population ..."

Quoted in the Jakarta Post
today:
"Blogs can be educational, empowering and enlightening. That's why I can guarantee you curbing blogs will never happen in this country." - Communications and Information Minister, Muhammad Nuh.

22 comments:

1. National Bloggers Day in Malaysia? That will be the day! But it will happen when the government has nothing to hide from its citizens. Until they wipe clean the tainted slate; until they exorcise some of the possessed mp (note no caps); until then we will not be recognised.BUT WE SHALL OVERCOME.

2. The key word is "engagement" and that's what the Indonesian government appears to be forging with the bloggers.

Conversely, the Malaysian government seems to treat the bloggers in a confrontational manner. Hence, the absence of any form of engagement.

Conratulations to the government of Indonesia and the Indonesian bloggers.

3. Anonymous8:51 am

bisa diatur,pak!tunggu saja masa mengundi.

4. Rocky!

Not in this country, already Nazri the Fascist said the country does not take minority view, and their views are squat! He said bloggers are insignificant, so this government has and will never learn the art of engaging.
    -----------------------------------
    Overheard!A quote!

KH:"Pak Lah, we must allow Airasia to fly to Singapore and we will figure out something in return for S'pore, MAS is not proactive lah! And that man is more invloved with his church and people are talking about it, and another one always spent his time at the Lake Club bar getting drunk and bad mouthing you!"

Pak Lah:" Betoi ke ni! They do that?! We have to remove them for sure! Okay I will allow two flights for now and I will give the instruction!"

KH to TF later: "Easy peachy, the guy is a moron, I do believe we can do what ever we want, yipee!"

5. impressive, our Indonesian neighbors are showing zam ala kazam the way :)

6. Rocky, we should not wait for the government to do that. Blogger should organize this event. And it should be apolitical. Have a nice day.

7. Anonymous1:43 pm

Maaf bro,tak berkenaan post ini, cuma rakan saya seorang petani minta tolong - kata nya pm kata petani kita malas dan mesti fikir di luar kotak - apa itu? kata petani itu dia kuat kerjakan ladang nya dan tak pernah duduk dalam kotak. katanya juga menteri pertanian minggu lepas kata petani mesti naik kan nilai rantai, rantai apa itu?

8. There you go bro,the Indonesians are eons ahead of us in terms of "thinking" !And they even choose by birthday to commemorate National Bloggers Day ! "appa nak di kato "? I 'll drink to that man.....cheeers !

9. Rocky,
    We are so proud to tell people that we are a progressive nation but our every actions indicate otherwise. Very soon we will be tailing others even among Aseans. Thats the best the current leaders can do.

10. Anonymous3:20 pm

pak idrus betul la.....

11. Anonymous3:26 pm

Bru,

How do we expect government to learn from Indonesia and engage bloggers for the bigger good when a minister like Nazri Aziz, supposedly educated and bright, does not even read the blogs?

Please read the interview by Aniza in the NST.

Q: Do you read blogs?

A: I don’t. I don’t waste my time. The few pieces that people print for me are just rubbish.

I’d rather spend my time to do things that are constructive; that go down directly to the people who are really in need of the help of the government.

Our bloggers are really not up to standard. When they put up something, it’s not something that they want to discuss in a very intellectual way.

It’s more because of their anger - the language they use. Why should I read all this rubbish?

When the standard of our bloggers is upgraded, then probably I will look at what is written.

But anyway, they are a minority. My concern is for the majority.

12. Keep the brotherships by blogging, no diversity, keep the spirit of blogging.

13. Anonymous6:49 pm

Prez (if i may address you such)

i think your ideas and sentiments have been 'plagiarised' by our 'friendly' neighbour lock stock and barrel.

You were way ahead of the pack when you first mooted All Blogs and its mission but circumstance has impeded your way forward. *sigh*

We shall press on. i credit you for original thought. Indonesia's move is a celebration of your original vision. All said, you still have it, bro. Stay the course will ya?

14. Anonymous6:51 pm

How can we expect anything when we have a leader who relies too much on input from the 4th Floor?

And even when he doesnt and shoots off on an impromptu basis, he has the whole popular print media to 'spin' and cover any mistakes he has made?

Since NA is not concerned with minority views, lets see what the urban voters do during the elections.The rural voters will no doubt vote BN in anyway..NA knows this, no doubt.

15. our de facto law minister teruk la....quite a disgrace to our country la.....

16. Anonymous12:25 am

Thanks a lot so much..anyway
    I agree "Blogs can be educational, empowering and enlightening.."
    I U r Blogger, I hope your inspired of that.and believed The day will comes up, when Ur Bloggers Country still fight to make that will be

17. Anonymous12:46 am

Congratulations Indonesia!

Maturity is as maturity does.

18. Anonymous2:24 am

tell this to the loud mouth who continue to malign bloggers. this moron's major contribution to the country was to issue thousands of taxi permits to one favoured group. since then, he has done nothing of significance except to make an ass of himself.

19. Indonesian blogger reached this step because the government has no choice ;-).

The government must agree with us to develop our blogosphere in Indonesia or they're too late to knew the advantages of the blogger community.

Another reason, we have a minister of Information & Technology who came from academic background.

20. Hi Rocky,

Thank you for your kind words. Yesterday was a start, hopefully towards a positive direction where Indonesian bloggers can contribute more in efforts to solve Indonesia's many problems. Thank you!

21. Indonesia is fortunate to have a Minister of Information & Technology who practice excellent media relations via engagement instead confrontational approach.

22. Anonymous2:01 pm

I dont know what happened to Malaysia, blocking bloggers to spread information for the sake of “so-called” democracy.

In Indonesia, we even have our Defense Minister managing his own blog (personal blog), see at http://www.juwonosudarsono.com/