Wednesday, July 18, 2007

Endon drops out of race

Astro drops Endon, presses on with controversial, posthumous award. The late wife of the Prime Minister led in the sms contest, garnering more than 18 per cent of the total votes (here). But members of the selection panel have left her out in the cold when they shortlisted their last 10 candidates for this controversial.

1. Razak Hussein 2. Hussein Onn 3. Onn Jaafar 4. P. Ramlee 5. P.P. Narayanan 6. Sudirman Arshad 7.Zaaba 8.Tan Cheng Lock 9.Raja Mohar Badiozaman 10. Mokhtar Dahari

Read the Bernama's piece here. p.s. The Anak Gemilang Malaysia is, in English, Malaysia's Distinguished Son title. I suppose that's why the ladies didn't make the cut.

41 comments:

1. Will astro give a refund to all those who voted for her?

2. Bro...

In the first place, they should have come up with better and proper way to recognize these sons' of Malaysia's contribution for the country.

But when they decided to make it into an sms "contest" thing, this "Anak Malaysia" award is not different at all with that of Academy Fantasia..

Imagine, Tun Razak, Tun Hussien and the rest "have" to compete with each other in order to get the "Anack Malaysia" title. What makes it different with Mawi and the bunch of Academy Fantasia wannabe artistes?

HESMEL FAZNEE FAISAL

3. That was a bit of a shock.It is obvious most of those who voted are from the younger generation who couldn't relate to the older national figure and personalities.I believe the organisers didn't expect the late Endon to garner such high vote.It would probably be more of an embarrassment for the organisers if she had won.

We can also assume that Malaysians are more emotional than practical in this matter.

I have been following your blog for quite sometime.I have linked your blog to mine, I hope you can do the same to my infant blog.Mant thanks.
    My website is: http://hantulautan.blogspot.com/

4. I congratulate the panel for their choices, although I may have a different list that would have included Tun Dr. Mahathir, songstress extraordinaire Salmah Ismail/Saloma, and Raja Bola Dato Abdul Ghani Minhat.

5. Must anyone be dead first before he gets the votes?

6. Anonymous4:11 pm

Bro, I guess they have no choice but to drop her but it was such a poor taste indeed. She should never be in the list first of all.

If they did dropped her coz' of the "Malaysia's Distinguished Son" issue, are they saying there are no "Anak Perempuan" Malaysia yang terbilang? Wow, isn't that a discrimination. Or will they come up with another AFundi for the Anak Perempuan. Well, this people really know how to make money, don't they.

No matter how you look at it, the selection should not be initiated at all. How are you going to compare the like of Allahyarham Mokhtar with Tun Razak? With the current affaits of our footbal, Aruah Mokhtar is my first pick

BTW the result shown in the web is "Keputusan Terkini Internet" (http://www.astro.com.my/agm/keputusan_undi.asp)Are they saying that it does not includes the SMS polls. So what actually is the total result?

Looking at the internet poll (as at 4.11pm), PP Naarayanan only garners 0.16% of the votes as compared 2.29% votes by Tun Ghafar Baba. So, was Narayanan included to cukup the quota? But then again, Tun V Sambanthan garners 1,98%.What gives ? Was the shortlisted names based on the top 10 or the selection made by the cmomittee regardless of the result.

Just wondering where Endon stand in the whole result.

7. Anonymous5:09 pm

"...p.s. The Anak Gemilang Malaysia is, in English, Malaysia's Distinguished Son title. I suppose that's why the ladies didn't make the cut"..."

Err, Rocky... 'anak' is not 'son' in English...

8. Anonymous5:10 pm

Astro read the blog.They know the voice of blog.Everybody read the blog.Anyway everybody sceptics how sms vote are being done.
    Do you know that 95% of sms voter came from young girl below 25?
    and 5% came from mat sms.
    Do you know that this voting system is easier to manipulate?

Did you know that 100 % of young girl know who is our previous PM?
    Did you know that they are too stupid to let our negarawan down?
    Did you know that 95% young girl don't care..Who Endon? Endon Sapa?Embun?Indon..wait Indon, if Indon,that's why the indonesian give the higher voting...
    Even our primary schoolchidren don't know her..

9. Anonymous6:08 pm

aiyo.... nama masuk pon salah, tak masuk pon ada salah...semua sudah salah.............

10. Hmmm...is this only for dead people? And no women...tells you a lot, doesn't it?

11. Anonymous6:52 pm

hummm ... i think "anak" is "child" lah. "Anak lelaki" is "Son" and "Anak Perempuan" is "Daughter", or maybe you are playing a joke here that I am too straight to understand ... :)

12. Anonymous7:01 pm

Grow up Malaysia!!! Those that are gone have found their peace. Malaysians should be concentrating on creating Anak Gemilang from the ones that are living - from the Melayu Belacan, the Cina Yong Tau Foo and the Indian Masalodeh!!! Stop whingeing and get on with improving on the foundation set up by those before you. And especially for the Belacan Brigade (from another Belacan) - give up on that cheese and burger culture and the camel milk diet and sedar diri! And that also includes the women. Good for you Rocky for reminding us of the other half.

13. Anonymous7:52 pm

I would suggest another competition. Lets have 'The Greatest Balls Licker of Malaysia'.

Proposal for contenders is open now.

14. Anonymous8:39 pm

Haha, OJ (Old Jurongan),
    We won't run out of candidates for your proposed GBLOM competition.

I would like to propose Ananda Krishnan. Very smooth operator. He was very, very close with Mahathir and when Pak Lah became the Prime Minister, he got Pak Lah to go fishing with him in the Med.

15. Anonymous8:45 pm

Astro should scrap this whole thing.

It's just crap! No brainers these people at Astro.

16. Anonymous9:52 pm

Wonder who would have won if there is a contest for "Anak Terbilang dan Temberang Malaysia" and open for the living only?

17. Anonymous9:56 pm

penganjuran anugerah anak gemilang malaysia adalah penghinaan mutakhir kepada negarawan dan tokoh kita yang banyak berjasa kepada negara. apakah jasa sudirman sama dengan tun razak? atau mokhtar dahari dengan tun hussein? atau ibu zain dengan datin seri endon? di mana tun dr mahathir? mengapa nama beliau tiada dalam senarai? tercicir atau dicicirkan? ananda krishnan memang licik mengeksploitasi kelemahan/kebodohan bangsa malaysia/orang melayu.

18. Anonymous12:04 am

abang attan..

allahyarhamah...

mohon di jasa baik abang attan..
    MOGA TIDAK DI PERSOALKAN....

"MOGA ROH NYA DI TEMPAT DENGAN MEREKA YANG DI KASIH ALLAH"

19. Anonymous1:13 am

How come Rose Chan is not on the list?

Or the Towkay Soh Chin Aun if SuperMokh or Spideyman Aru can be?

What about Tan Ah Kow, Subramaniam Arokiasamy or Ahmad Abdullah? Or Jeswant Singh? They are brilliant sons of the country too what?

20. Anonymous7:09 am

As to old jurongian's suggestion, you are opening the floodgates for an SMS meltdown (their share price will soar!!)
    Contenders should be limited to
    1.highly educated Malaysians from local, British, US and Middle Eastern universities
    2.the nouveaux riches who made it on the backs of the rakyat
    3. the filthy rich who never seem to get enough and still moaning about their lack of opportunities to make a quick buck.
    Padi farmers, factory workers, middle aged women who sell nasi lemak, char kway teow and tosay are not eligible.

21. Anonymous7:22 am

I beg to differ!

For this competition, i dont think our young generation voted at all! I have teenagers, they are not that stupid, they will vote at something ' move, dance, cute etc on the telly". All these votes generated by adult mostly from Putrajaya!!!! ha ha ha you know lah the bangsa ampu one! So after they read Rocky bru's blog! alamak rashia sudah keluar in the open. Thats how they decided to drop Arwah Endon name. If she is alive today and see how these idiot misuses her name!

Cheers!

22. uncle rocky, "son" would be "anak lelaki", therefore it'll be translated into, "anak lelaki (or anak jantan) gemilang malaysia". since it is using a general form (not specifying "anak lelaki" or "anak perempuan"), shouldn't it be translated as "Malaysia's Distinguished Offspring/Child"? since the candidates are deceased, more accurately it's "Malaysia's EXTINGUISHED Child"

23. Anonymous7:38 am

"YA ALLAH BUKALAH PINTU HATI PAK LAH... JAUHILAH DIA DARI HILANG NYA PERTIMBANGAN SERTA TUNGGUNGJAWAB.."

MANGSA ITU TERKORBAN DEMI NEGARA...
    KAMU DIN ISTERI TUA ..BERCUTI KE PERTH...

ZALIM SUNGGUH KAMU SEBAGAI PERMIMPIN...

BUKAN KAH ZIARAHI JENAZAH SATU KEWAJIBPAN KEPADA KAMU..

"PAK LAH... NIKMAT TUHAN YANG MANA SATU , YANG KAMU INGIN DUSTAKAN..."

24. Anonymous7:51 am

The voting by sms is a money spinner. You think the bozo who come up with the idea cares about who wins. The really two winners are the one who comes out with the idea and MAXIS.

Those "HEROs" are already dead. Why argue about who is the greatest? They all have contributed to the country in different ways. Why split hair?

Just like all our present and past prime ministers. Is it good to say or vote who is the greatest and contributed most to the country?? The answer is NO.

In fact a big company like ASTRO and MAXIS should be more sensible about this? They should vet through this before allowing such rubbish to sufface?

25. Anonymous8:28 am

My wife ;)

26. Samy Vellu will definitely get the Greatest Ball Licker title. See how proud he is whenever he brings out the name "YAB Perdana Menteri Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi"....

Pathetic guy who fails his own community.

27. Anonymous8:52 am

Bru!

This is a real scam! There's time to make profits but there shouldn't be a time for greed. In this case is greed and in bad taste! Its insulting to the names and it insukts the intelligence of Malaysians. SO there!

28. Anonymous9:40 am

I would suggest they count in KJ, Kalumullah and LKY as well for next year's competition....

29. Bro,
    Apa ini semua. Bagaimana dengan perajurit-perajurit kita yg terkorban dan tercedera dalam mempertahankan negara kita tercinta sebelum dan seleaps merdeka. Apa telah dilakukan utk mereka ini. Ayah aku seorang perajurit - selepas perangan kedua. Tapi beliau tidak memdapat apa2 dari perjuangannya.

30. Anonymous11:35 am

Yes--semivalue is a damn good contender. A real dark horse indeed.
    What about that man Zamzam Alakazam ? I'm sure he has one helluva task trying to get into the good books of badawi.

31. Anonymous11:47 am

Including Endon in the list is a clear case of 'bodeking'.

And turning this into an sms voting is just so wrong.

32. Anonymous12:36 pm

D. Endon;s name been dropped. So what?

Those whole thing stinks to high heavens!

It's all about money, greed and where endon's concerened about "mengampu-ing" the PM.

Dont have to choose people who are already dead died to confer them the title of "anak malaysia gemilang". Their names already written in hsistory for their contibutions to the country.

Tan Sri K. Ananda plse dont underestimate the intelligence of Malaysians.

33. i just lost words to say anything...just pathetic way of making money....

34. Anonymous1:45 pm

I'm aggree why Tun Mahathir name was not in the list......why....can anybody give the answer....

35. anon 1.45pm,

Tun Mahathir's name is NOT on the list because this award is meant for great Malaysians who are no longer alive, or sudah meninggal dunia.

36. Anonymous2:41 pm

I suggest the organiser drop this whole sms contest. Sms contest??? it sounds so terrible to compare those who have contributed to the country, more so when they are dead. How can anyone vote between mokhtar dahari and hussin onn, tun razak, sudirman, p. ramlee etc..each one of them have contributed to the country in their own way. Why dont the organiser just name all of them as anak gemilang malaysia. and close the case...? Bro, tak sampai hati tau to even participate in the sms.. Semuga roh mereka di tempatkan ke dalam golongan orang yang beriman.

37. Anonymous4:36 pm

ASM Rocky,

Saya syorkan supaya Astro mengasingkan nama-nama calon mengikut kategori masing-masing untuk memudahkan perbandingan dan penilaian dibuat (contohnya orang politik diasingkan daripada anak seni).

38. Anonymous8:11 pm

Anything is possible with astro (read : Akademi Fantasia'a AFMASUK). Shortlisted she may not, may still make it into final round whatsoever. Malaysia boleh!

39. Anonymous9:41 pm

rocky,biasalah-astro-sms ala AFundi-perniagaan-keuntungan-ianya tak ada kena mengena dengan mencari what's that? 50 anak gemilang?it is all about making profit dpd masyarakat yg memang mempunyai keinginan tinggi untuk participate dlm perkara-perkara yg bersangkutan dgn pengundian secara sms.

40. Anonymous6:24 am

I agree entirely with Molten Cake. Why is there a need to rank them and choose the top three?

For goodness sake - this is not a song and dance number. These people have given their lives, ideals, principle, ideas and talents for the betterment of the nation.

They are all dead now! Why do they need to be ranked any more?

Let them be! Let their souls rest in peace!

Just recognise their contributions!

41. Ridiculous 10 ..only 10 eh? What about soldiers and individual who fought and died for the independence? Fogotten already?