Thursday, July 19, 2007

Amnesty raps Malaysia over blogger arrest

Police state. Amnesty International Malaysia has issued a statement on the arrest and treatment of Nathaniel Tan by the police. It is concerned, especially, with the cops' "Arrest first, Investigate Later" attitude in this case. AI has urged the Malaysian Government to a Royal Commission's recommendation on this point.
"We believe that the police clearly abused the due process of investigation by arbitrarily arresting a person without due reason. The attitude of “arrest first and investigate later” which was highlighted by the Royal Police Commission affects a person’s freedom and rights without a just cause. Furthermore the maximum period remand application made by the police is a strong indicator that the police failed to conduct thorough investigations before the arrest."
You won't find the press statement in any of the mainstream newspapers that represent the press in this country. Go to BlackinKorea's blog for it [Arrest and detention of blogger undermined fundamental rights].

The abuse of the due process by the police is one of the issues that bloggers are going to discuss tonight at this forum on police state in the webworld.

5 comments:

1. is Josef Roy Benedict an Ipoh Michaelian?? Sound like an ex-school-mate to me.

2. Anonymous1:00 pm

This is increasingly becoming a police state and one day we will be no better than Myanmar. Freer society under this PM? your take.
    By the way, this whole scam is a waste of the police resources. Wouldnt it be better if these resources are utilised to combat the rising crimes in the country.

3. Anonymous2:09 pm

Bro...
    I heard the nuclear scientists working in the cyber-crime dept of PDRM confiscated Nat's monitor without the CPU and were expecting to uncover something incriminating... they came back the next day looking for the CPU...heheh. Our best in blue!!. Amnesty Int'l, please understand lah, you are dealing with a different type of species here..

4. sdra
    kata NAT polis yg soal siasat dia tak gheti sangat pun pasal internet. jadi arahan politik yg diterimanya suruh cari abende...

5. Anonymous10:09 am

copy&paste,
    'You won't find the press statement in any of the mainstream newspapers that represent the press in this country'

We believe that the police clearly abused the due process of investigation by arbitrarily arresting a person without due reason.

YAHOO!NOW WE CAN TAKE ACTION ON OUR OWN.
    TO KILL OR BE KILL!!!